Why Do You Stay?

“I’m waiting on God to tell me when to leave”

“I can tell when he’s lying, so I just close my ears on those parts”

“I’m going to pray and intercede until change comes”

Do these quotes sound like the arguments from an abused wife on why she stays with her abusive husband? They do – but they’re also the same excuses that people use when they talk about why the continue to submit to their pulpit pimp and his twisted doctrine. Nobody is perfect – except God and Jesus. I don’t seek perfection from ministers, and I have ABSOLUTELY NO PROBLEM praying for them when they make mistakes while pursuing Him, repent, and seek to do the right thing.

I draw the line, however, when a viper intentionally twists God’s Word to enrich himself, all the while knowing that most folks will either let him run rampant (because of their lack of study), or feel that they can “pray him” back on the path of righteousness. I WILL NOT support anyone or any organization that seeks to distort, misrepresent, and malign the Gospel of Jesus Christ – PERIOD. Not with my time, nor my money.

For background, I attended a mega church for most of my adult life, and I served in ordained ministry for the past several years. I know Apologetics, Hermeneutics, the Old & New Testament, Pastoral Care, and much more – yet I still fell under the spell of a charasmatic pimp (or pimps, more specifically) because they appealed to my selfish flesh, and my pursuit of material gain. I finally had the scales lifted from my eyes and I now see the clear message – as well as the mandate of the Gospel.

Even when I discovered that my pimp wasn’t operating under the unction of the Holy Spirit, I still struggled with leaving (because I was “comfortable”, and moving up the ministry ladder), and I diligently sought the Lord for strength to leave – as well as the comfort that His Word provides.

If you’re struggling under the influence of a pimp who massacres the Word of God, you are compelled by the Word of God to leave his presence (Proverbs 14:7). Let me make this even more clear – YOU MUST REMOVE YOURSELF FROM THIS HERESY & FALSE TEACHING! You can still pray for him, but you don’t have to be in his physical presence – or under his “spiritual authority” to do so.

I hear you…”I’m waiting on God to tell me to leave”. I was in that boat as well, and I came to realize that God already told us to leave this heresy behind. Want proof? Well, here you go…God says that we must turn & keep them away, reject them, don’t keep any company with them, rebuke them, not partake of their lies with them, not be equally yoked with them, have no fellowship with them, etc. We’re not even supposed to invite them into our homes (your pimp probably doesn’t even know you exists – let alone where you live):

Now I urge you, brethren, keep your eye on those who cause dissensions and hindrances (A)contrary to the teaching which you learned, and (B)turn away from them. (Romans 16:17)

Now we command you, brethren, (A)in the name of our Lord Jesus Christ, that you (B)keep away from every brother who leads an (C)unruly life and not according to (D)the tradition which you received from us. (2 Thessalonians 3:6)

Leave the (A)presence of a fool, or you will not discern words of knowledge. (Proverbs 14:7)

1But realize this, that (A)in the last days difficult times will come. 2For men will be (B)lovers of self, (C)lovers of money, (D)boastful, (E)arrogant, (F)revilers, (G)disobedient to parents, (H)ungrateful, (I)unholy, 3(J)unloving, irreconcilable, (K)malicious gossips, without self-control, brutal, (L)haters of good,  4(M)treacherous, (N)reckless, (O)conceited, (P)lovers of pleasure rather than lovers of God,  5holding to a form of (Q)godliness, although they have (R)denied its power; (S)Avoid such men as these. (2 Timothy 3:1-5)

13But as for you, (A)brethren, (B)do not grow weary of doing good. 14If anyone does not obey our instruction (C)in this letter, take special note of that person (D)and do not associate with him, so that he will be (E)put to shame. (2 Thessalonians 3:13-14)

 5For this you know with certainty, that (A)no immoral or impure person or covetous man, who is an idolater, has an inheritance in the kingdom (B)of Christ and God. 6(C)Let no one deceive you with empty words, for because of these things (D)the wrath of God comes upon (E)the sons of disobedience. 7Therefore do not be (F)partakers with them8for (G)you were formerly (H)darkness, but now you are Light in the Lord; walk as (I)children of Light 9(for (J)the fruit of the Light consists in all (K)goodness and righteousness and truth),  10(L)trying to learn what is pleasing to the Lord.  11(M)Do not participate in the unfruitful (N)deeds of (O)darkness, but instead even (P)expose them;  (Ephesians 5:5-11)

10(AJ)For there are many (AK)rebellious men, (AL)empty talkers and deceivers, especially (AM)those of the circumcision, 11who must be silenced because they are upsetting (AN)whole families, teaching (AO)things they should not teach (AP)for the sake of sordid gain. 12One of themselves, a prophet of their own, said, “(AQ)Cretans are always liars, evil beasts, lazy gluttons.” 13This testimony is true. For this reason (AR)reprove them (AS)severely so that they may be (AT)sound in the faith, 14not paying attention to Jewish (AU)myths and (AV)commandments of men who (AW)turn away from the truth. 15(AX)To the pure, all things are pure; but (AY)to those who are defiled and unbelieving, nothing is pure, but both their (AZ)mind and their conscience are defiled. 16(BA)They profess to know God, but by their deeds they (BB)deny Him, being (BC)detestable and (BD)disobedient and (BE)worthless (BF)for any good deed. (Titus 1:10-16)

The bible is full of such admonitions, so you get the point. It literally grieves me to see God’s people mistreated – and for them to subject themselves to such abuse on a regular basis.

If you are contemplating leaving your pimp and his false heretical doctrine, I pray your strength in the Lord.

I pray that the Lord grant you enough clarity to see His truth, denounce the teaching you were submitted to, and seek His Word for your self – and a bible based church that will grow you for His service instead of shake you down for their enrichment.

…hat tip to Cry Loud  for the inspiration to explore this subject

4 Responses to “Why Do You Stay?”


  1. 1 Pat March 23, 2008 at 10:04 pm

    Thank You!!!

  2. 2 Jeanie Franklin September 8, 2008 at 5:37 pm

    Dittos and thank you!!!!!!

  3. 3 Melvin Jones September 20, 2008 at 11:14 pm

    Good presentation. It really gives a lie to the sanctimonious claim by folks who simply haven’t the faith and backbone to get the heck out of dodge.

    1. I’ll wait for God to tell me to leave – I’m not sure how He’s going to tell me, but the stars forming “Get Out Of That Church” the way they did last night doesn’t count.

    2. I can tell when he’s lying. I just shut my ears to the lies. But the interesting thing is that the more I listen, the less I hear him lying.

    3. I’m going to pray and intercede until change comes. And the more I stay, pray and interceded, the more I change.

    Much more comfortable to hang around and be comfortable.

    Melvin

  4. 4 pianoslammer February 26, 2010 at 11:29 pm

    Thanks for this. I was a founding member of a church that, over the course of 14 years, ended up in the prosperity gospel. After sticking with it for the reasons you described in your post, I finally resigned from my staff position and left the ministry. My family, marriage and health have all improved dramatically since leaving. It is ironic that the false teachers preach that through giving money and (their favorite) the first fruits offering, I should have been already been experiencing those things. Instead I was participating in false doctrine. Since leaving at the beginning of 2009 I have continuously been slandered and lied about by the “leadership” at my former church. Even this week I learned that they are continuing to speak ill of myself and my family. Yet, we are happy and whole for the first time in many years. Still they need to slander me to the people of the church. Nothing says “godly leader”, like lying about people and refusing to walk in love.

    Reading what you wrote sounds like my exact personal story. The very scriptures that you reference were the ones that God used to lead me out of the false religion I was participating in. Despite what has been told to the church members, I left because God spoke to me through his Word and showed me the lies that were being preached as truth.

    I appreciate your site. The Holy Spirit has not released me to expose anything yet about the heresy and wrong-doing at my former church. The only specific instruction that I received from the Holy Spirit when I obeyed the truth and decided to leave, was to leave in a manner that “left the door open” for others. He has asked me to remain silent, but to live openly so that others can see that I am NOT cursed, have not “fallen away from God”, and that you CAN leave the cult that is the church that I helped lead. I do call it a cult due to the tactics that have been used for over a decade on members that leave or desire to leave.

    I pray every day for those that still attend, that their eyes would be opened to the truth. It is so true that you cannot tell people that have “bought in”, the truth about their “shepherd”. It has to be the Holy Spirit speaking through the Word. My heart remains heavy with the knowledge that I helped build such a monument to heresy and one man’s ambition/career/money grab. I know that God has forgiven me. Grace is precious to me.


Comments are currently closed.



AddThis Feed Button Add to Technorati Favorites
twitter

Get Daily Email Updates:

Sign up for email updates and get the latest articles in your email inbox!

People Looking For Truth:

  • 1,154,008 ...and counting

RSS John MacArthur Sermons

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS John Piper Sermons

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS RC Sproul Sermons

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS The White Horse Inn

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Categories

Archived Articles…