Faith In Action?

It looks more like “religious showboating” in action, to me.

I am not a Democrat or a Republican, and this is not a political blog. I will, however, speak out when faith collides with politics – primarily because TRUE faith is often the victim in such a collision, and the shameless promotion of politicians prevails.

Unless you live under a rock, you know that this is the week of the Democratic National Convention in Denver. Of course, it’s better known as the ascension and formal anointing of Barack Obama – the redeeming “messiah” (and his “new heaven”) who will endow the world with “change we can all believe in”.

Anyway, the Dem’s have decided to trot out all manner of “religious leader” to prove that they believe in God too. The Dem’s sponsored a (first ever) “Intefaith Gathering” on the eve of the start of their convention this week.

Take a look at a slide show of some of the highlights.

You’ve got the usual props for such an event (ecumenical choir, religious prayers from “Christians” who won’t mention the name of Jesus, and talk about how God loves all of us despite our aversion to following His way). And believe me, the Republicans will trot out the same gimmicks to show “hey, the Dem’s don’t really believe in God – we’re the party chosen by the Almighty Himself!”.

So you’ll see the usual “stuff” in the slideshow. What caught my attention, however, was that some folks interrupted the “show” to voice their displeasure with the Democrats embrace of abortion (i.e. “a woman’s right to choose”) – as well as the words of a prominent Bishop:

We know that our party will understand and acknowledge the moral and spiritual pain that so many of us feel because of this disregard for the lives of the unborn. Those of us who support the Democratic Party, despite our disagreement on this issue, support it because the Democratic Party articulates and pursues more of the positions that are relevant to the lives and circumstances of our people.

That “prominent Bishop” is Charles Blake, the Presiding Bishop of the Church of God in Christ (the largest black pentecostal denomination in the world). Not content with trying to keep COGIC’s skeletons in the closet, Blake decided that although the Dem’s clearly embrace the murder of innocent babies in the womb, at least they’re not as bad as those darn Republican devil worshippers (my interpretation, of course).

Yet another example of what you get when you beg the Lord to give you a king “just like everybody else has” :

1 Samuel 8:10-20 (New American Standard Bible)

10 So Samuel spoke all the words of the LORD to (A)the people who had asked of him a king.

 11 He said, “(B)This will be the procedure of the king who will reign over you: (C)he will take your sons and place them for himself in his chariots and among his horsemen and (D)they will run before his chariots.

 12 (E)He will appoint for himself commanders of thousands and of fifties, and some to do his plowing and to reap his harvest and to make his weapons of war and equipment for his chariots.

 13 “He will also take your daughters for perfumers and cooks and bakers.

 14 (F)He will take the best of your fields and your vineyards and your olive groves and give them to his servants.

 15 “He will take a tenth of your seed and of your vineyards and give to his officers and to his servants.

 16 “He will also take your male servants and your female servants and your best young men and your donkeys and use them for his work.

 17 “He will take a tenth of your flocks, and you yourselves will become his servants.

 18 “Then (G)you will cry out in that day because of your king whom you have chosen for yourselves, but (H)the LORD will not answer you in that day.”

 19 Nevertheless, the people (I)refused to listen to the voice of Samuel, and they said, “No, but there shall be a king over us,

20(J)that we also may be like all the nations, that our king may judge us and go out before us and fight our battles.”

Sure, Barack Obama:

  • Claims that Jesus isn’t the only path to God the Father
  • Believes that women should be able to murder babies on demand
  • Believes that the bible is obscure as it relates to homosexual sin
  • Believes that government is the magic potion to all the world’s ills

But so what – he’s black, right? Plus he’s photogenic and speaks well, and we’ll never see another viable black candidate so we better “get on board” now.

Right?

Yeah, that’s it. 🙄

33 Responses to “Faith In Action?”


  1. 1 naturalsystah August 27, 2008 at 4:33 pm

    Hi Speaking Truth!

    It’s funny your post mentions Mr Blake/COGIC, I was pondering whether or not to post about them today. The Scripture you quoted is spot on. What communion does light have with darkness? Why the need to be part of an interfaith, ecumenical prayer meeting? A desire to be seem as “progressive” and to be like eveyone else?

    Likewise, notice how COGIC ape the Roman Catholic “church”? The scarlet and purple vestments/robes that the bishops wear, the bishops’ ring, the bishops’ coat of arms with keys, the boastful titles (eg “The Presiding Bishop and Chief Apostle, The Most Reverend Charles Edward Blake, Sr” on his webpage), the scandal coverups?

    Hmm…

  2. 2 Brian Foulks August 27, 2008 at 5:06 pm

    We have a right and a need to vote in this election. Now the tension comes becasue none of the candidates really hold true to bible text. So within that tension how do we vote? I would like your perspective on this.

  3. 3 DT August 27, 2008 at 5:14 pm

    Well said my friend.

  4. 4 Douglas K. Adu-Boahen August 27, 2008 at 6:52 pm

    This is why I believe faith and politics should never meet…

  5. 5 speaking truth August 27, 2008 at 7:35 pm

    Brian,

    I have gone back and forth over this very issue until I let go and stood on the foundation of Christ regarding the upcoming election.

    We have a right and a need to vote in this election.

    As a black man, I completely honor and respect the sacrifice that my forefathers made so that I can enjoy the liberty that I have today. My grandmother died when she was 92 years old, and she lowered her head and said “yes sir” or “yes ma’am” to white folks until the day she died – whether they were 15 or 150 years old.

    I also think about the sacrifice that Christ paid on the Christ for my sinful, decaying flesh so that I could relinquish my will for His and proclaim the liberty that I have found in Him. The other side of the coin (that many of us don’t like to think about) is that we gained the right to vote through struggle – but we can also choose not to vote as well.

    I would rather (and probably will) vote for a no-named 8th party candidate who has a better chance of being elected to the school board than the presidency – if that no-named candidate is a Blood-bought sold out believer in the Lord Jesus Christ AND they defend His Word no matter what. I realize that some may think I’m wasting a vote, but I’m standing on the Word – and I can’t compromise just because the likely next-president looks like me and is on a journey into the history books.

    This is where the rubber REALLY meets the road for true Christians. We can talk all-day long, yet when given the opportunity to defend the Gospel or compromise by electing someone who embraces such blatant anti-Christian philosophies – do we turn a blind eye to the Word because of the smooth talking “change agent”?

    Sadly, many will do just that.

  6. 6 LaVrai August 27, 2008 at 8:28 pm

    Thank you thank you thank you!

    I’m so sick and tired of everyone behaving like they have officially lost their mind and all manner of sensibility — and some folks aren’t even acting.

    Mr. Obama is not a Christian, based on what I’ve heard and read from him — so I know off the bat that he’s a compromised man. I figure any ‘successful’ politician is. But nevermind that.

    Also, nevermind that everything he says has been said before — he’s just found a new way of saying it and has decided to translate some of it into Spanish.

    Black people, young people and people who don’t even know what’s going on are worshiping this man because he’s black, fits the profile and has a nice-looking family. No matter how beautiful it may look to have a First black family in the White House — that’s no toss common sense and ethics out the door and definitely no reason to compromise your faith.

    Anyway, when Mr. Obama wins, and he will — he’ll be inheriting a sinking ship — unless the LORD is merciful. So I pray Mr. Obama will be ready to have the last watch.

    And, considering if we somehow got a true man or woman of the Christian faith in the White House — he/she wouldn’t last long unless GOD protected him/ her. And the country would be in chaos because more than half of us are depraved and take all pleasure in wickedness.

  7. 7 LaVrai August 27, 2008 at 8:30 pm

    **Correction: **that’s no REASON toss common sense and ethics out the door and definitely no reason to compromise your faith.

  8. 8 Brian Foulks August 27, 2008 at 8:41 pm

    ST,

    I know that was a loaded question but the problem will still be in our face if you vote for a “no-named 8th candidate.” That being either Obama or Mccain will win the election. So does your choosing a candidate that hold closer to our spiritual views make that much of a difference. Maybe in our sphere of the world it will but for the country I do not think so.

    Herein lies the greater tension for me.In most cases we will not choose anybody else for a postiton based on scriptural accurance but we are holding these candidates to that task. Truth be told we all are questioning the legitamacy of their salvation.

    Let me say it like this do I want someone who can get the job done with knowledge and wisdom or do I want a believer that has faith but no apparaent skills to lead in that area.Another way of putting it is do we want a doctor is is an atheist but a great surgeon or a man of faith that is a terrible doctor.

    I really do not have the answer to that but it weighs heavy on my mind.

  9. 9 speaking truth August 27, 2008 at 8:54 pm

    I understand your larger point, Brian – believe me I do – and I understand that my stance doesn’t make me popular with my “brothers and sisters of color”, but I have arrived at this decision after a lot of prayer and reflection. Trust me when I tell you that it was a difficult decision because my flesh is proud at what Obama has been able to accomplish (on a surface level).

    I also know the larger implications of taking such a stance, particularly because this is a huge election with huge issues. As usual, both candidates are playing games with the electorate (telling them what they want to hear) and I’m tired of the games.

    I don’t screen the religous views and beliefs of my dentist, my general M.D., the guys who haul my trash, or my mechanic. Frankly, I pray for them (as I do everyone that the Lord wills me to) and I share Christ and live a fruit-bearing walk so that I exhibit what I believe. If I hear any of these folks say some of the things that I’ve heard Obama say, I’d stop patronizing them as well. Again, it’s a drop of water in a bucket of relevance, but it means something to me.

    I’m simply tired of playing games. You’re right – it does weigh heavy on the mind, but we must always default to foundational biblical truth.

    Sola Scriptura.

    Solus Christos.

  10. 10 Brian Foulks August 27, 2008 at 9:00 pm

    “it’s a drop of water in a bucket of relevance”

    I once heard a old man say that it only takes a drop of water to crack a rock. But that drop of water must learn to be constant. If we would stay consistent in our walk what an example we would be for the unbeliever.

    though it may not sound like it i understand you and feel the same way…

  11. 11 speaking truth August 27, 2008 at 9:26 pm

    Brian, I know you understand what I’m saying, and I appreciate you expanding the argument for the sake of clarity – particularly for those who see this as a slam-dunk decision (to vote for Obama no matter what). Hopefully the fact that you “peeled the onion” to get to the core of the argument will aid another believer in feeling better in standing for Christ.

    But hey, if you would plant more churches across the country then we wouldn’t have to worry about these things 😀

  12. 12 Brian Foulks August 27, 2008 at 9:31 pm

    well in 4 to 5 years we will be in baltimore or cleveland doing it again.pray for us because we have just started on the journey my friend.

    I am sure we will be chopping it up somewhere else.

    constant reformation

  13. 13 EnochWalked August 27, 2008 at 9:47 pm

    Praise the LORD!

    Brother Speaking Truth,
    I am WITH YOU on this especially with this election. Our “King”dom is not of this world–Democrat or Republican or the Constitution…We are accountable to CHRIST! Now, I do not endorse not paying taxes or rebeling against the government…all who take up the sword, perish by the sword…Christians are here to stand for the Truth, and NOT BE ASHAMED of HIM, HIS NAME, and HIS GOSPEL! Amen.

    I will share a response I had with another Christian blog.

    This is a very complex election process and very very discouraging–Brother Speaking Truth, I am discerning this election as NO VOTE, but to me it seems like it is getting harder and harder to choose between Democrats and Republicans. Pastor Harvey Burnett posted a statement earlier this summer from late Former Presiding Bishop Of COGIC, Bishop Dr. G.E. Patterson who said,”The Republican, religious right is for every human right except when it comes to the rights of leveling the the playing field of racial equality and seriously addressing the issues of the minority community.”

    I grew up in “Confederate Flag Waving” Southern Virginia, the Bible Belt, in Jerry Falwell country. These right wing Christians (white folks with influence and money and po’ white folks(poor)) were about themselves, they spoke a form of godlinessness but they did not have the fruit of CHRIST.
    I remember they attacked black welfare mothers vicisiously in the 80s and 90s and it was more whites on welfare than any other race in America. I just do not believe McCain, Bush, Cheney and others like him can relate to the common man–they are elitist, entitlist with a “god” complex(I label most right-wing Christian Republicans as deists–not born-again repentant sinners saved by grace).

    I just can’t see myself voting for McCain. I can’t vote for Obama because of his views on abortion, gay rights, and really anti-christian views. Back in 2004, at least with John Kerry(a Catholic), he was liberal but he was pro-life and believed in marriage from GOD’s view(he did believe in civil unions–the man is a politician, not a theologian) I saw right through George W. Bush’s “phony” christianity. There were a lot of big time black pastors here in DC, one was Bishop Harry Jackson(I believe Pimp Long endorsed Bush too), that endorsed voting for Bush..but Bush used Christians to get elected. Bush was a liar then and still a liar.

    I say stand for CHRIST. Don’t take sides with the Democrats or the Republicans. I am a registered independent. If that means, I voice my opinion by not voting for either one. So be it! I want my voting record to be recorded in heaven for voting for GOD, not with man and man’s agendas!

    Now, IF… (A BIG IF)… If I discern that McCain will stop abortion and gay marriage with Supreme Court nominees, legislation…I will have to deny myself and vote McCain. This could mean it might be 10 years down the road before this comes to pass?

    All true Christians(Pastors to the common believer) must get back to preaching the wages of sin is death but the gift of GOD is eternal life through JESUS CHRIST ALONE. WE must live holy. We will ALL answer to GOD. The churches, especially the black churches must repent and get our voice and witness of relevance back because we have fallen! It is the churches (black and white) fault that we have the spiritual condition that is in America today and we have no solid moral choice for next President.

    GOD bless you brother Speaking Truth!

  14. 14 Ken August 28, 2008 at 9:31 am

    ST,
    The comments so far are very thought provoking. McCain or Obama is not really the issue as far as believers are concerned. There is a larger issue and that is so many professing Christians refusing to think biblically about the political process. For far too long the Church has allowed itself to be used as a pawn by BOTH major parties. And this ecumenical gathering in Denver is just the latest evidence of this cynical, manipulative approach. And the Republicans are no better with their so-called “family values” platforms. The saddest part about all this is how so many Christians are willing to ignore the blatant disregard for scripture and the plain teachings of Christ that Obama and McCain have clearly shown. We can be involved in the process without being used by the process. We must always remember to put our trust in God, not in sinful, fallible,fallen mankind. “Trust in Him at all times,o ye people, Pour out your hearts to Him, God is our refuge” (Psalm 62:8)

    God Bless Us All,

  15. 15 N. Spears August 28, 2008 at 2:24 pm

    Please remember all what the last two elections proved. Presidents are selected by few, not elected by the people. For example, what are the odds that John Kerry and Bush, both presidential candidates, be both members of Skull and Bones. Now here we are with Obama and McCain. Both are members of the CFR, so despite who you choose the outcome is the same. The CFR has it covered. If Hillary was chosen, oh, she’s a CFR member also, doh! The fact of the matter is the one world government is coming fast and this political game that the public seem to think it real is just a smoke screen and has always been. Open up your eyes and just trust in Jesus Christ, because when they start throwing us in concentration camps, we are going to need every bit of endurance and faith the Lord wills for us. God Bless.

  16. 16 Ebert August 28, 2008 at 7:05 pm

    Even as I type, I have tears in my eyes, because my heart is broken.
    Speaking truth, you have spoken my heart. As a black man, I am, like you proud, (in my flesh).
    My parents felt it important enough to go to the March on Washington 45 years ago, and take their 1 year old son (me) by bus from Brooklyn, NY to DC to witness history.
    Tonight, my born again Christ-loving parents will sit and rejoice over Barack Obama, and will more than likely shed tears of joy and pride, as will Many of their generation. I understand it completely, but I cannot.
    I cannot rejoice because my commitment to the truth of Christ comes before all else, and neither of the major candidates is acceptable. I am scouring the votesmart.org website for someone to vote for, baceuse I MUST vote.
    Too much has been suffered and sacrificed for me NOT to, even if it is a write in ballot for myself….
    Lord have Mercy on us.
    Ebert

  17. 17 Jeanie Franklin August 28, 2008 at 9:15 pm

    My question is why do seemingly intelligent people like Susan Taylor of Essence magazine, Michael Dyson and his wife, and other blacks on TV one and i am really saying this loosely are ga gaing over this man? I heard Dyson and his wife are minister and that’s another story. Where is the common sense. I was wary about Obama from the start. I see no one that i will vote for at this time and this will be a first. I will not compromise my faith. I truly believe as one has said earlier, politics and faith(religion) don’t mix. They treat him like a god and this disturbs. The Lord says in Exodus that we should have no other gods before Him. He is the One True God. Our God is a jealous God! He has to be grieving but yet He is Sovereign and in control. It’s all in His hands and nothing can thwart His plans! My husband and i watched it and he just thinks this is stupid!

  18. 18 wannabereal August 28, 2008 at 9:37 pm

    Speaking truth, N.Spears, Ebert:
    Thank God i read you guys’ comments. I have been saying similar things for the past few months (especially you, ST). I really feel as if i cannot in good conscience cast a vote in this election. As I have grown as a Christian, my belief in JESUS takes precedence over all else. Of course, there will never be a “perfect” candidate however, on the flip side, how can i cast a vote for someone I know espouses views that are antithetical to my Lord??? All in the name of saying, “i voted”??? When did casting an actual “vote” become sacred??? It is my RIGHT to vote that many of our ancestors fought for and quiet as its kept, that ALSO means voting “NO” (by not voting)—the problem comes when someone/anyone tells me “You CANNOT vote”. I think that’s where we miss it. Those of use who sit this one out (despite the probable outcome)after studying the issues and views of the major candidates are speaking just as loudly as those who blindly march into the voting both and pull the lever just to say they”voted for somebody”. After all, we are all called to PRAY for our leaders regardless of WHO they may be.
    I heard someone say, “the lesser of two evils is STILL evil”. Very true at the end of the day.

  19. 19 dupednomore August 29, 2008 at 8:54 am

    Great post my brother!

    I’m considering using you as my write in candidate!

  20. 20 EnochWalked August 29, 2008 at 10:07 am

    Brother Speaking Truth

    I have attached a link called the save California presidential report card on both candidates. I think this link makes the case against Obama very, very clear from a born-again Christian believers viewpoint.

    Click to access PresidentialReportCard.pdf

    Obama’s words and statements on this report card condemn him. I pray his eyes are opened to the truth and that he repents–but I am afraid Obama has “sold his soul” to be where he is today.

    I have said, “If I discern that McCain will stop abortion”, and I see based on his voting record, he is also for biblical traditonal marriage and adoption only for traditional families. This is very, very significant not to be overlooked. Yeah, the man was against the MLK holiday–he is from Arizona and he has said that he was wrong for taking the wrong side(I know, I know..he is a politician)

    I know this GOES against every value my late loving kind mother(she was a true Christian before her passing BUT she had some idols, she was active NAACP, Delta Sigma Theta, black Eastern Star, NEA-Teacher) instilled in me, but I am at this point right now: A. No Vote B. Vote McCain

    I am very, very wary of McCain following Bush/Cheney’s idiotic foreign policy. Prophetically, the USA(modern day Babylon) is going to occupy Iraq(Old Babylon) until the USA is kicked out or scared out or defeated militarily (Judgement from GOD). So no matter, what Obama says about bringing troops home…let’s keep it real…IT AIN’T HAPPENIN…

  21. 21 James August 29, 2008 at 10:41 am

    OHGosh! Man, I didn’t see this video, but I’m glad I did. This so sad. I am still in shock and disbelief at how soooooo many people are just moved beyond any Biblical wisdom and teaching to follow this candidate. Then try to make justifications for it. The delusion runs deep!

  22. 22 EnochWalked August 29, 2008 at 11:10 am

    My Brothers & Sisters-in-Christ, we need to start a secret prayer group among ourselves(maybe via Conference call or blog). How many black men and women of GOD think like we do in your neighborhood, or community on these issues, this election in general. We must unite in CHRIST. This is happening on our watch.

    GOD bless all of you in JESUS NAME!

  23. 23 gcmwatch August 29, 2008 at 1:18 pm

    If this dont look like one world religion, I dont know what does. And you know who’s going to be the presiding bishop/chief apostle of the OWR church…

  24. 24 CiCi August 29, 2008 at 4:37 pm

    It has been very interesting to read the postings here on this most fascinating topic. I really appreciate the comments of all that I have read and the sincerity behind them.

    There is much that I could say, but I think at this point I would like to pose the following question:

    There are many posting here who have stated that politics and religion should not mix. If that’s the case, then why are we mixing our politics with our religion? Why are we demanding that a secular politician support our Christian views in order to gain our support? Why do we even ask our politicical leaders their views on religious issues?
    They are not vying for Christian leadership posts, but leadership in the secular arena in a country where freedom of and from religion is guaranteed by our governing constitution where all have the right to be represented.

    Perhaps it is this “mixing” of the two arenas, religious and secular,that the “politically active” Christian community has done that should really come into question as opposed to the religious beliefs of these two or any other candidates. Was this organized entrance into politics done to gain influence and power?

    Perhaps another question we need to as is why are some Christians looking for a “king” in this earth, when our kingdom is really not supposed to be of this world? Is not Jesus our king? If so, why can’t we simply let secular leaders be just that — secular leaders without passing a ‘religious test’?

    Just some thoughts…..and I’d love to hear yours. Please know that this is not meant to start an argument or debate…just some thoughtful dialogue.

    Thanks everyone…..

  25. 25 gcmwatch August 29, 2008 at 8:42 pm

    CiCi, every other demographic does it? Why should Christians be excluded? Are our biblical beliefs as American citizens to be discounted because of a fictious separation of church and state? If they should be, then so should every other voting bloc. You said all have the right to be represented. Arent we included in the “all”?
    We are in the world, but not of the world…we are citizens of this country but not partakers of its sins.

    Our citizenship in the country requires that we are a part of the process (salt, light, city on a hill, etc) of governance and our citizenship of the Kingdom demands that we represent our King in the governments of the world.

    The prominence of Christian faith/belief in this country is hard to ignore for any politician. It is engrained of our establishment and its influence is a major writer of our history.

    I think it is wrong to suggest blame on the “politically active” Christian community as if it is some analomy. Further, it should not be assumed that politically active Christians are “looking for an earthly king.” We should consider the impact Daniel, Nehemiah, Esther and Joseph had on the “secular” governments they were in. I think that provides us with excellent examples of what is expected of us.

    Of course, this is no pronouncement that Christian pacs are perfect and never misguided in their actions. But if CPACs to just let it be I would shudder to think at how quickly our nation would descend into hell. And guess who would suffer?

  26. 26 speaking truth August 29, 2008 at 11:06 pm

    CiCi,

    First – welcome back! Good to hear from you again. I believe Doug said politics and religion don’t mix (and I’m sure he’ll come back around to clarify/expound on his statement). I believe that most Christians end up compromising their faith when their faith “mixes” with their politics. My point was that I’m tired of having to hold my nose while voting for a politician that I don’t agree with theologically.

    Maybe I’m naive, but I can’t seperate a person from their core values and beliefs. If I KNOW that you are diametrically opposed to my religious views, then I’m not going to give you my vote. I can no longer pretend that it doesn’t matter and that somehow their leadership decisions are made in a “vacuum”.

    I’m really simple minded so please bear with this simple illustration. Would you knowingly vote for a man who cheats on his wife, cheats on his taxes, and does other immoral things? Of course not (I hope) – primarily because they have already proven themselves to be untrustworthy. Bill Clinton was a cad and a snake, yet folks believed that his marital infidelities were “none of our business”. I contend that you can’t turn your moral core on or off.

    You pose a great set of questions, and I’d love to hear more insight from others. I just can’t (and Lord willing I won’t) get over it. I’m raising the bar.

  27. 27 Jeanie Franklin August 30, 2008 at 11:07 am

    When i mentioned that religion and politics don’t mix i meant also that there are usually compromises to be made and thus the gospel is diluted.I believe that they started out with good intentions, but somehow there were compromises being made and there was no difference between the secular and christian organization. Christ left us a mandate to go and witness to the world preaching repentance and the forgiveness of sins saving us from the wrath of God.By God’s grace we are saved and it is a free gift of God. Yet we are worthy of death but because of His grac and mercy,He is offering us the gift of eternal life through His Son,Jesus Christ,our Lord and Savior.I am a slave to Jesus Christ and i will follow His orders. I submit ti His Will and therefore I am seeking His direction concerning this direction. So far, i have not. I weigh the candidates against the Word of God, and so far i see no fruit. Which is why it grieves me to see the church like this. I pray that blind eyes are opened and i am praying that the candidates come to the knowledge of the truth,repentance for God does not wish that anyone should perish but that they would come to the knowledge of His Truth.I hope this makes sense. I didn’t mean to write so much.

  28. 28 Independent Conservative August 31, 2008 at 2:40 am

    We have a right and a need to vote in this election.

    This is to claim that the solutions are in the politics of man. I think any Christian who studies the Bible and prays about that will be led by the Holy Spirit to realize we don’t have a “need” to be in politics. And the early church fully abstained from involvement, with the exception of those who were politicians before conversion. And even the converted tax collector ended up being persecuted, for refusing the proclaim Caesar supreme Lord.

    With all the issues the early church in scripture faced, there is no record of them seeking political solutions. Even when great famine came, Acts 11:28, they looked to the church helping its own rather than government, Acts 11:29-30. Today, instead of the church helping widows as in scripture, some pastors go with the widows to protest for more from government.

    I personally vote, however I know that this world with it’s current leaders is NOT my home. So I have no reason to associate my name with anyone I find objectionable. At this point I’m planning to vote for all races on the ballot except President. If a decent candidate comes along, even if they only get 2 other votes, than I’ll vote for them. But my review of the candidates, Alan Keyes and all political party candidates included leaves me wanting to really endorse none of them. I did like Duncan Hunter, but he’s out, so that’s mute at this point, regardless of how I or anyone else feels about him.

    My Bible tells me that this world is going to bow to the Antichrist, not that I’ll save it via a vote. Only Christ saves those who call on Him. The Lord’s will be done.

  29. 29 Brian Foulks September 2, 2008 at 10:21 am

    IC,

    The “right” and “need” is not based upon that I believe that the answer is in the vote but I do believe that there is an responsibility in voting. Wheter that is for the presidency or in your leadership in you local church.

    It amazes me how disengaged we are about the thing that we can particpate in but refuse to because the world has presented a few obstacles for our engagement. thisis the same reason why people have moved out of the inner cities to the suburbs. We do not want to engage people with our faith if it calls for any type of uncomfortablenss or challenges what we stand for. We then proceed to hide behind the scriptures like God is against our taking a stand for him in politics. I am by far not a fan of ploitics but i see if as a way to project my beleifes to a larger demographic.

    Now finding a candidate that stands firm on what you believe is a daunting task that we all can engage. We do have a responsibility to government whether we agree or not. (Romans 13:1-7)

  30. 30 Stewardship & Tithing September 3, 2008 at 8:04 am

    That video just fired me up. I can’t believe someone had the audacity to state that. Talk about responsibility. Your responsibility to God comes first. Life is a fundamental principle. i want to go on a rant, but at this moment a million things are running through my head, and wouldn’t know where to start. Unbelievable. God’s grace and patience is unfathomable towards these people.

    -Jared B.

  31. 31 Stewardship & Tithing September 3, 2008 at 8:38 am

    I don’t know if you have heard about the S.L.E.D acronym as an argument against tithing, but here’s a website that explains it pretty well

    http://www.caseforlife.com/sled.htm

    This also describes how the excuses for abortion also can be used to excuse slavery as well.

    -Jared

  32. 32 joyfulfreedom1 September 13, 2008 at 4:00 pm

    I appreciate the post, and what was pointed out. I won’t drop any jokes today, since I got jammed up on another blog for using a little humor,

    But I still have a hard time voting for NO-BAMA, or McCain-saurus. Oh, I’m sorry believers aren’t supposed to have a sense of humor.


  1. 1 Taking one for the Team « Revolutionary Intent Trackback on August 29, 2008 at 6:37 am
Comments are currently closed.



AddThis Feed Button Add to Technorati Favorites
twitter

Get Daily Email Updates:

Sign up for email updates and get the latest articles in your email inbox!

People Looking For Truth:

  • 1,154,008 ...and counting

RSS John MacArthur Sermons

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS John Piper Sermons

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS RC Sproul Sermons

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS The White Horse Inn

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Categories

Archived Articles…