A Housekeeping Note…

It’s been awhile since I did some housecleaning around here, and now is as good a time as any. I’ve written well over 260 articles on this blog in the last 2 years – and I’ve received almost 4,000 comments on those articles. Subsequently, I find it laborious to argue points that I made in an article written over 2 years ago – especially when the article has over 2,000 words and I believe I made my point within the article itself.

As such, I’ve decided to close comments on articles older than 180 days (that’s 6 months for those of us who went to state college). While this move will certainly keep the dialogue “fresh” and “relevant”, it’ll save me from getting worked up over something written long ago.

C’mon folks – I promise to give you fresh material to piss you off make you uncomfortable…don’t make me go into history to get you all worked up…

That is all…

18 Responses to “A Housekeeping Note…”


  1. 1 N'Catina May 3, 2010 at 12:04 pm

    LOL @ the last comment!

  2. 2 gcmwatch May 4, 2010 at 12:25 am

    hey IST I cut mine down to 90 days. Cmon get that knife out again. lol

  3. 5 Goodman May 4, 2010 at 2:25 pm

    How do you feel about Pastor and Co Pastor Jinwright our of Charlotte NC’s situation? I have not seen you say anything in your blog about them…if you don’t know what I’m talking about go to qcitymetro search his name and let me know what you think???

    • 6 N'Catina May 5, 2010 at 1:33 pm

      Goodman, I followed the case via another blog and The Charlotte Observer myself. All I can say, given what I heave read, that it was absolutely astounding, shameful and inexcuseable on their part. It becomes more glaring when you have those that have no regard for the Gospel were able to see this sham for what it is rather than teh believers!

      I can ony hope the sheeple there and elsewhere will wake up!

    • 7 speaking truth May 7, 2010 at 9:27 am

      Goodman,

      I hadn’t heard about any of the Jenwright debacle – until you made your comment and I checked this article in the Charlotte Observer. I can’t say that anything these alleged “spiritual leaders” do surprises me (short of them repenting openly and returning to the Gospel). Here’s an interesting note from the article (emphasis added):

      Defense lawyers told the jury that to convict the couple, they had to find that the Jinwrights acted willfully in underreporting income. The lawyers insisted that Anthony Jinwright was a busy preacher who trusted professionals to get his tax returns right. They said the couple made honest mistakes, not willful omissions, in underreporting their income.

      In particular, they said the Jinwrights were confused about whether to report money from speaking fees, pastor’s anniversary collections or other “love offerings” congregants gave them. Anthony Jinwright’s lawyer, Ed Hinson, said Greater Salem was one of many churches confused about the taxability of such income.

      “Neither Bishop (Jinwright) nor the church got these technical things right,” Hinson said. “But that does not make him a criminal.”

      So these people are supposed to be so “anointed” that they can righlty divide the Word, “cover” others, and more – yet they don’t have enough wisdom to understand that ALL cash receipts must be reported to the IRS? Further, aren’t they a non-profit – and can’t they write off/down their expenses to absorb the cash payments? As I wrote in an earlier article, the love offering is a cash windfall that is paid directly to the pastor, so I hope that other local authorities start watching these clubs more closely.

      • 8 Pat May 9, 2010 at 8:55 pm

        “What are we supposed to do?” one woman exclaimed. “We don’t have any other hope!”
        Their hope should be on the almighty-it is not in a man on earth-it is Jesus Christ.

  4. 9 Steve May 5, 2010 at 10:17 am

    Good Deal. I forgot what I said from last week.

  5. 10 anointedvessel May 6, 2010 at 9:53 am

    oh ok and on the 179th day i will stop by and drop off a novel hahahahaha!!!!!!

  6. 12 Darlene May 8, 2010 at 2:26 am

    All I want to know is how do you make those hilarious strike-through words? Your hilarious words remind me of an old pet-peeve that I have about “Christian-ese”. Did you ever notice that when Christians want to say something, they have to get a bit overly spiritual about it? They can’t just say something, they “share” it. They can’t just say that they cried about something, they say “I just wept.” It slays me!

    I once heard a story about a woman who was angry about something with her church leadership. So she had a “prophecy” that went something like this….”And I shall write ‘MICHELOB’ over your door…” It will hit you in a minute….

    πŸ˜€

  7. 13 GaryV May 14, 2010 at 6:59 pm

    Well, there goes my 3 page commentary on Benny Hinn’s 9 person Trinity.

  8. 14 gcmwatch August 23, 2010 at 8:31 am

    Are we not speaking truth on our blog anymore?
    😦

  9. 17 ready4change August 30, 2010 at 8:16 pm

    Me three…(smile)…

    Solus Christus,

    R4C

  10. 18 Dave October 21, 2010 at 4:08 am

    I gotta subscribe, i don’t get pissed off in the Spirit enough, obviously πŸ™‚


Comments are currently closed.



AddThis Feed Button Add to Technorati Favorites
twitter

Get Daily Email Updates:

Sign up for email updates and get the latest articles in your email inbox!

People Looking For Truth:

  • 1,087,522 ...and counting

RSS John MacArthur Sermons

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS John Piper Sermons

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS RC Sproul Sermons

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS The White Horse Inn

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Categories

Archived Articles…


