One Of The Fastest Growing U.S. Exports Is…

sowing

…the false gospel heretofore known as “the prosperity gospel”.

From Africa to Asia, across Europe and more – pastors are propagating, furthering, and deifying the false “pay to play” gospel of greed. The ignorant (or willfully deceptive) enslave millions of followers with promises of riches and favor untold if and when you “pay God”.

I’m a bit virulent in my open disdain for such lies – lies that I bought into (literally and figuratively) for years, but John Piper is a bit more plainly spoken, and well, reasonable about his thoughts on the matter:

John Piper and the Prosperity Gospel

John Piper – “Why I Abominate the Prosperity Gospel”

Related Posts:

8 Responses to “One Of The Fastest Growing U.S. Exports Is…”


  1. 1 Anna Renee November 12, 2009 at 3:49 pm

    This is so powerful!!! I truly needed to hear this today, not because I desire riches or believe the prosperity gospel (I dont) but because I have been suffering in my marriage and have wondered why many many times. I always tell God I trust and rely one Him, but this pastor has brought the message home for me in a way I havent experienced from other pastors (my own pastor comes close) Pastor Piper has reminded me, and I hope not to forget for a while at least, the reason for suffering, which then makes it so much easier! God is with us through the suffering! A profound thing to realize.

    • 2 speaking truth November 12, 2009 at 5:21 pm

      Anna

      John Piper has so much more rich expositional sermons and discussions at his blog (DesiringGod.org) and on YouTube and the web. You can also download his latests sermons by clicking on the “John Piper Sermons” link on the right-hand column of this blog.

      I am praying for God’s will in your marriage.

  2. 3 Anna Renee November 13, 2009 at 2:15 am

    I don’t even remember how I got to this (Desiring God) site, but as God would have it I’m already following it! Just hadn’t looked into it carefully because I follow so many blogs. What a blessed coincidence! I thought the name John Piper was vaguely familiar! Thanks so much for your prayers, it’s one minute at a time in my relationship with hubby. We desparately love each other but so many fears and obstacles in the way. Things are up as of now! Blessings to you, brother. I must admit I’m surprised (maybe not) about Eddie Long! I watch him on TV regularly, but now with a new discerning eye!

    • 4 Darlene May 6, 2010 at 7:22 am

      I love how you worded that Anna, with a “new discerning eye.” I feel like that has happened with myself and other friends as well. I’m going to borrow that quote. 😉

  3. 5 Anna Renee November 13, 2009 at 2:17 am

    Actually my blog is wrestlegod.blogspot.com

  4. 6 C. A. Blackmon November 14, 2009 at 10:53 am

    I truly believe you have to be beyond greedy to “preach” some of the most poverty stricken people in the world out of the little bit of money that they have! These prosperity pimps have to bereft of their consciences. Under no circumstances could I talk someone that I know is already as poor as they can get out of their money so that I can add to my riches. There’s no glory for God in misusing the poor!

    Unfortunately, there’s greed on BOTH sides. These people wouldn’t be giving up their money in the first place if they didn’t honestly believe that God could be manipulated into givng them more by supporting these pulpit pimps. Being greedy and biblically illiterate is a lethal combination.

    • 7 Vaughn November 14, 2009 at 3:24 pm

      “Being greedy and biblically illiterate is a lethal combination.”

      Indeed this is a powerful combination, too bad it’s to the negative. Hosea 4:6 comes to mind;

      Hsa 4:6 My people are destroyed for lack of knowledge: because thou hast rejected knowledge, I will also reject thee, that thou shalt be no priest to me: seeing thou hast forgotten the law of thy God, I will also forget thy children.

  5. 8 Darlene May 6, 2010 at 7:12 am

    I lost my first post…so here goes…

    If you do some checking, you will learn that the source of most of the prosperity gospel message is rooted in Kenneth Hagin’s teachings and his Rhema Bible Training Center in Tulsa, Oklahoma.

    According to some articles that I’ve researched, Kenneth Copeland trained under Hagin. My husband and I have distanced ourselves from that ministry because of serious doctrinal differences. Not only do we oppose the prosperity gospel, but their “Jesus Died Spiritually” or “JDS Heresy” teaching as wel. They teach that Jesus’ death on the cross was the smaller part of the sacrifice because Jesus was dragged off to hell and tortured there on our behalf before being raised and “born again.” This FABLE is being touted as the greatest show of Christ’s love for us. Hello? It seems that Paul, Peter, James, and the others neglected to mention this great event in the New Testament.

    My husband and I left a beloved church back in the 80’s because the new pastor was a Rhema school graduate and ordained there (a 2 year stint at the school will earn the title, by the way). Our most recent church, which we also left, is also indirectly connected with Rhema. Our former pastor has invited his nephew (a Rhema graduate and pastor) to solict funds for the new Rhema school built in Egypt. The young pastor has big plans for the nation of Africa and considers this school the hub for those plans. He has been on an 80-day tour here in the US, visiting various churches, seeking funds for this project. If you go to youtube you can look up “Rhema Egypt 2010” and verify what I”m saying. You will here the name of Jesus mentioned and view the spread of promotional materials….all Kenneth Hagin books…that are being translated and sold in Africa.

    I wish people would do their homework. I listened to this guy’s podcast as he described visiting a 7 MILLION SEAT church in South Africa. Say What? I imagined my former church friends nodding away, innnocently, as he spoke those words, but my skeptical side got the better of me. I did some searching and found that such a church does not exist. 7 MILLION? How big is that?

    I am sickened to see the development of this project, knowing that it is nothing more than a sewer pipe running from the US and this man’s church in England, set to adulterate the purity of the good things that have been happening among the saints in Africa. AS IF Africa needs what we have here in the US. AS IF!


Comments are currently closed.



AddThis Feed Button Add to Technorati Favorites
twitter

Get Daily Email Updates:

Sign up for email updates and get the latest articles in your email inbox!

People Looking For Truth:

  • 1,092,996 ...and counting

RSS John MacArthur Sermons

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS John Piper Sermons

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS RC Sproul Sermons

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS The White Horse Inn

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Categories

Archived Articles…


