“Holy Ghost Dance-Off”?

There certainly is liberty in Christ – through prayer, worship, and more. There is also common sense and overall reverence for the House of God, particularly because of the weight of the Gospel message that should emanate from the pulpit.

Believers should always rely on 1 Corinthians 14 (and sound judgement) where matters of church conduct are concerned.

That said, what do you do with a pulpit: Preach about the Doctrines of Grace? Expound on the state of unregenerate sin? Exhort believers in the hope only found through Christ?

Nah, you have a “Holy Ghost Dance Off”!:

A tip of the hat goes to Ann over at the blog The Old Black Church. Notice Gospel artist (and now “Bishop”)Hezekiah Walker getting jiggy with it at the 1:18 mark.

🙄

Ann gives a great commentary, so I won’t add anything else…I’ll turn the comment thread over to you folks. Personally, I’m grateful that God led me to historically biblical Christianity through Reformed Theology, and away from such theatrics.

Related Posts:

31 Responses to ““Holy Ghost Dance-Off”?”


  1. 1 Claudia June 8, 2009 at 3:44 pm

    This is a bunch of nonsense. I’m not surprised that they didn’t start breakdancing!

  2. 2 Vaughn June 8, 2009 at 4:48 pm

    Ahem

    Good point about church order in 1 Cor. 14, they probably justify this by saying that they’re dancing like David danced,but they were not bringing the ark to Jerusalem;

    2Sa 6:14 And David danced before the LORD with all [his] might; and David [was] girded with a linen ephod.

    2Sa 6:15 So David and all the house of Israel brought up the ark of the LORD with shouting, and with the sound of the trumpet.

    They just looked like they were showing off, more like a spirit of competition disguised as a love fest.

  3. 3 naturalsystah June 8, 2009 at 5:58 pm

    *sigh*

    I thought I’d really seen everything!

  4. 4 N'Catina June 8, 2009 at 6:59 pm

    This is among MANY of the reasons why I left the institutionalized “church” behind. I quickly became tired of so much of the “service time” and may day off being swallowed up by these ridicuolous displays. If anyone thinks about it, calling this garbage “having the Holy Ghost” is blasphemous according to what was outlaid in 1 Corinthians 14. It directly counters one of many characteristics of the Trinity (doing things decently and orderly). I would say that the people in the video have caught a spirit, but it certainly was not the Holy Spirit. It’s total garbage primed just in time to pillaged the sheeple during “offering time.”

  5. 5 DMac June 8, 2009 at 7:05 pm

    Vaughn, I’m not sure I would use that specific verse to suggest that dancing before the Lord is only applicable when one is transporting the ark. There is absolutely a place for worship to include dancing before the Lord. I’m not sure where this form of dance/tradition fits in with that. Clearly, people are getting caught up in the moment.

    • 6 speaking truth June 8, 2009 at 10:07 pm

      I’m still on the fence about “praise dancing” in church, DMac, though I understand your overall point to Vaughn. I know there are some praise dancers who reverently worship through liturgical dance (in modesty and adoration to God), and I’ve seen some rump-shaking in skin tight leotards that make you need a glass of water afterwards. Paul said clearly:

      1 Corinthians 10:23 (New American Standard Bible)

      All things are lawful, but not all things are profitable All things are lawful, but not all things edify.

      I guess the question is who is edified by this minstel show? Does this glorify God and His Son in ANY way – especially since it started as a dance contest in the pulpit?

    • 7 Vaughn June 8, 2009 at 11:34 pm

      I used a verse that i’ve had privilege to study and know something about, this video was a show, so much so that they had turns in their dance-off.

      David danced out of his clothes, so much so that his wife got mad at him(I think looking through the window). See you made me go get my facts;

      2Sa 6:16 And as the ark of the LORD came into the city of David, Michal Saul’s daughter looked through a window, and saw king David leaping and dancing before the LORD; and she despised him in her heart.

      Well let me tell you something, I’m not mad at them, you or anybody else. I just think and know that they can do better, and if this is how you rejoice then rejoice on. But you ought not need music or another to rejoice as unto The Lord.

      David had reason to rejoice, having seen the ark outside of Jerusalem for a great period, as well as seeing a man slain of The Lord for trying to keep the ark from falling.

      My point?

      I revere The Lord as well as His house, that we praise Him in.

      1Cr 14:40 Let all things be done decently and in order.

  6. 8 lavrai June 8, 2009 at 9:12 pm

    These carnal “Christians” are displaying what my pastor likes to call “faking the fruit.” And it’s obvious this fruit is ROTTEN and stinking.

  7. 9 gcmwatch June 8, 2009 at 11:23 pm

    On one hand I dont want to be like Michal (thats the real lesson of the David’s dance off):

    When David returned home to bless his household, Michal daughter of Saul came out to meet him and said, “How the king of Israel has distinguished himself today, disrobing in the sight of the slave girls of his servants as any vulgar fellow would!”

    21 David said to Michal, “It was before the LORD, who chose me rather than your father or anyone from his house when he appointed me ruler over the LORD’s people Israel—I will celebrate before the LORD. 22 I will become even more undignified than this, and I will be humiliated in my own eyes. But by these slave girls you spoke of, I will be held in honor.”

    23 And Michal daughter of Saul had no children to the day of her death. 2 Sam 6:20-23

    Dancing before the Lord is biblical AND commanded. How we do it really is left up to us. To balance, one cannot be unseemly, un controllable or sensual in their dance. But at the same time there is no qualification of salvation or relationship with God to do so (let everything that has breath).

    David’s dancing was generally a result of his victories in war, thus it was not for entertainment, but a true praise. When you get in a battle and win, you’ll dance too!!

    In the video, I would not think this was “as unto the Lord” but rather entertainment for onlookers. In that case I wouldnt give it a thumbs up.

    One of the things we have to consider is the culture/ethnicity of those dancing. Our expression is going to be primarily cultural and there’s nothing wrong with that. I mean it was the same in the world. Black folk danced like other black folk. Im sure the Irish Christians probably have a some of that “riverdance” stuff in their praise too. 🙂

    Still, I would not despise it lest someone was actually giving God praise. I would not want to be barren by doing so.

    I used to be upset by the folks on BET award shows thanking God etc until I realized that God is DUE the praise from every voice no matter who they are. I also understand that praise does not mean relationship, but hey HE set that up not me.

    • 10 N'Catina June 9, 2009 at 9:36 am

      GCM, thanks for the explination. As always, intent behind the action is paramount. While I did not think of the cultural elements involved in dance, in general, clearly what we see here is unseemly at minimum.

    • 11 Vaughn June 9, 2009 at 5:17 pm

      I think we just said the same thing, you just said it better!!!

      I’ll be more concise next time.

  8. 12 Barry K June 9, 2009 at 1:41 am

    What was the purpose of that dance session. A dance competition ?
    For that matter what is the purpose of happenings like angels feathers, gold dust, jewels,laughter,barking and other animal behaviour etc. How is God glorified in these? How will it point unbelievers who are present to the cross of Jesus Christ,convict people of sin, leading to repentance and salvation.Or is it just another entertainment based worship.

  9. 13 DMac June 9, 2009 at 7:10 am

    great points gcmwatch…

    I guess when, how, why and where should all be greatly considered in re to this issue.

  10. 14 searchingfortruth June 9, 2009 at 8:55 am

    All of it is as unto man and not unto God. This is a fleshly show of how fast one can move their feet to the beat! Nothing to do better in church but to have a dance show-off! Disgusting as it may be this is what most of them do and say they are honoring God. The real sad part about it is that when they leave all they will remember is that dance-off and how well the “Man of Gawd really danced not how he rightly divided the Word of truth. Help us Lord Jesus!

  11. 15 pierced June 9, 2009 at 12:53 pm

    Reminded me of a Greek (African American fraternity/sorority) “step show” – only speeded up.

    Entertaining and spirit filled – but what spirit?

  12. 16 Lady D June 9, 2009 at 2:21 pm

    What? No soul train line?
    May God continue to have mercy~

  13. 17 prayrwarrior June 9, 2009 at 6:14 pm

    Oh, now that was some sanctified rug-cutting there!! It had to be sanctified, because Bishop Walker was dancing, too… yeah, right!!They were all operating under the spirit of dumb. The LORD is first a GOD of order, this did not have anything to do with the LORD; rather I believe it was a mockery of a real holy dance. Way to go Bishop Hez, continue to give the world permission to mock the HOUSE of GOD! I think if you are dancing unto the LORD there ought to be a testimony that ought to follow. Did the LORD spare your life and you are dancing for joy in your salvation?!? Great. We can all get in on that dance!! My most spirited rug-cutting happens in the confines of my home. More than half of what passes for a “holy dance” in the church is about as fake as a 3-dollar bill. It is purely flesh on display.

    • 18 Villiam11 June 10, 2009 at 12:40 pm

      @ Prayer Warrior……………….Amen there should be a testimony that either precedes or follows said dance, although some may justify it by saying the Lord woke me up this morning. Praising the Lord for waking you up in the morning is honorable, but if you praise him this way for that, what will you do if you get healed!!!……….Run around your City??
      The point has been made already but for redundancy sake………the motivation is what is paramount.

      • 19 truthofgod June 10, 2009 at 12:56 pm

        …………And to add to that, the word “decency”. Alot of what we call “Praise Worship” could easily be mistaken for dancing in the club. The knocking people over the head, bent out over the pew, slobbering like you have rabies, doesn’t constitute as even remotely orderly, sober, or dignified. Outward show of emotion? who am I to judge? But make sure we do all things to the glory of God; (not man).

  14. 20 Pastor Jim June 10, 2009 at 1:54 pm

    Is this a way to humiliate all the men in the church who want to be in ministry because some of these guys look rather reluctant to be put on the spot.

    • 21 speaking truth June 13, 2009 at 12:45 am

      Pastor Jim – this is just an example of minstrel entertainment disguised as spirit-filled worship.

      I didn’t see any reluctancy in the participants – but I can see your point about men participating because they want to be in ministry (the whole “go along to get along” theme). I would’ve probably been up there doing the Running Man, the Electric Slide, the Funky Chicken – and finishing it off with the Souljaboy “Supaman” (I know I left you behind sometime ago – just Google these dances 😆 ) when I was in ministry training.

      Thank God for grace and maturity..

  15. 22 Barry K June 10, 2009 at 9:38 pm

    Pastor Jim,
    No one is trying to humiliate ministers who stand for Jesus and His Word. But it is crucial for the brethen to point out errors and prevent certain ministers from bringing disrepute to the body of Christ and worst still those who preach a different gospel or encourage the burning of strange fires.

    • 23 dmac June 11, 2009 at 1:00 am

      Forgive me for speaking for PastorJim, but I think he was refering to the fact that some of the men on the stage looked very reluctant to join in the “dance-off.”

      However, I entirely agree with your sentiments.

  16. 24 hiscrivener June 11, 2009 at 4:14 am

    Had I gotten here faster, I would have stole Pastor GCM’s thunder. David danced… a lot. Butt naked, even.

    But it was all before the Lord. His audience was one. It was glorified and welcomed. And to this day, we have an example of how to worship through dance.

    What these fools are doing is no more sacrosanct than a scene from “Breaking 2: Electric Bugaloo.”

    I mean, back in the day, when I used to line up in choreographed means, dancing under a spotlight in rhythmic fashion hoping for applause… it was stepping and I was at a Greek show (Ice. Cold. ’06! if you need it.)

    However, this is nothing more than “Church’s Got Talent.” And if anyone has a qualm with that, note homeboy TEXTING WHILST HOOFING! Are you kidding me?!

    Great find, brother. I’m going to go pray now before I pour sackcloth and ashes or something really heinous.

  17. 27 Barry K June 11, 2009 at 11:34 am

    dmac,
    I am not sure if they were reluctant in the sense that they felt it was not right and proper for such frivolous display in church.If they did, these things won’t start in the first place.There are too many wrong happenings going on in church for us to be making excuses for them.

  18. 28 N. Spears June 18, 2009 at 1:05 pm

    “There is also common sense and overall reverence for the House of God, particularly because of the weight of the Gospel message that should emanate from the pulpit.”

    What do you mean Speaking Truth? While I could care less about the dancing, these men aren’t defiling their bodies. Isn’t the body the temple of the Holy Ghost and not the building? What is a pulpit and what makes it special? I don’t recall the early Christians making a special place in their gatherings sacred. The video is just a sad result of Churchianity, “Not being the Church but making it a place you go to”.

    • 29 speaking truth June 18, 2009 at 8:51 pm

      My point, N.Spears, is that these men (who were clearly in some form of leadership) did not edify God in their display, nor did they advance the preaching/teaching/advocacy of the Gospel in their display – they held a dance off in the pulpit. They did not defile their bodies (i.e. dance nude or suggestively), but they clearly teased one another to “outdance” the next participant.

      While the extent of our relationship with God does not start or stop at the church building, it is still a sanctuary – an assembling place where people come to worship, learn of, and soldify their allegiance to God.

      I don’t recall the early Christians making a special place in their gatherings sacred.

      I respectfully disagree. The book of Exodus details the construction and purpose of the Tabernacle – the place where God was to be worshipped. The terms sanctuary/temple/tabernacle (connoting a dwelling place for God and a focus of gathering for His people) is mentioned throughout the bible, specifically: Acts 7:45, Joshua 9:23, 18:1, 19:51; Jeremiah 7:12; Joshua 22:19; Judges 18:31, 20:18, 26, 31, 21:2; 1 Samuel 1:7, 24; 3:15, and so on. I do realize that God no longer resides solely in a place made by hands (Hebrews 9:1-2, 8-9; Acts 7:48-49; Matthew 23:37-38, 27:50-51; Mark 15:38; Luke 13:34-35,23:45 and so on).

      That said, there is still a measure of respect that we as believers owe God through His house. I don’t like false teachers spewing heresy from the pulpit (or from their position as alleged leaders in the church), and I don’t like seeing a minstrel show from the pulpit either.

      The pastors job is to consider the weight of the Gospel – and his call – everytime he stands before a group of people. Using the church (or more specifically, the pulpit) as a stage where people can “play church”, laugh, giggle, prod one another to “dance better” than someone else, and more is a sensless activity.

      In my opinion, the display is just in poor taste.

  19. 30 Ace June 20, 2009 at 2:52 pm

    You know, I remember my Grandmother getting upset when churches used to do this and I didn’t know what her problem was. I thought it just made it more “fun”. Then I also thought people who “don’t dance” were wrong (I still do, somewhat) but when you see this crap you just wonder to yourself what on earth this possibly has to do with God? What is the difference between this and a night out at a club. Ok, the girls were not bumping and grinding the guys…but hey, I understand THAT is going on at some “churches” as well.

    Goodness gracious, some people have NO fear of the Lord. That is all I can chalk it up to. I bet they sold stuff after the meeting like anointed oil and stuff too..

    Many Blessings 🙂
    Ace

  20. 31 Ace June 20, 2009 at 2:56 pm

    GCM, if you think for one minute the “god” that “performers” and “entertainers” are thanking is the true High and Holy One you are seriously mistaken. Their god is gold and silver and satan.

    If I call myself a duck and quack…doesn’t make me a duck.

    Goodness!

    Many Blessings 🙂
    Ace


Comments are currently closed.



AddThis Feed Button Add to Technorati Favorites
twitter

Get Daily Email Updates:

Sign up for email updates and get the latest articles in your email inbox!

People Looking For Truth:

  • 1,087,522 ...and counting

RSS John MacArthur Sermons

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS John Piper Sermons

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS RC Sproul Sermons

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS The White Horse Inn

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Categories

Archived Articles…


