“…Christ has been raised from the dead…”

christs-empty-tomb

1 Corinthians 15:12-24 (New American Standard Bible)

12Now if Christ is preached, that He has been raised from the dead, how do some among you say that there is no resurrection of the dead?

 13But if there is no resurrection of the dead, not even Christ has been raised;

 14and if Christ has not been raised, then our preaching is vain, your faith also is vain.

 15Moreover we are even found to be false witnesses of God, because we testified against God that He raised Christ, whom He did not raise, if in fact the dead are not raised.

 16For if the dead are not raised, not even Christ has been raised;

 17and if Christ has not been raised, your faith is worthless; you are still in your sins.

 18Then those also who have fallen asleep in Christ have perished.

 19If we have hoped in Christ in this life only, we are of all men most to be pitied.

 20But now Christ has been raised from the dead, the first fruits of those who are asleep.

21For since by a man came death, by a man also came the resurrection of the dead.

 22For as in Adam all die, so also in Christ all will be made alive.

 23But each in his own order: Christ the first fruits, after that those who are Christ’s at His coming,

 24then comes the end, when He hands over the kingdom to the God and Father, when He has abolished all rule and all authority and power.

…and life is worth the living, just because He lives!

12 Responses to ““…Christ has been raised from the dead…””


  1. 1 escapeetoo April 11, 2009 at 2:22 pm

    His Death = Paid the penalty of the Law.
    His Resurrection = Defeated The Satan and Gave US all Power!

    Thank God for what was done over 2000 years ago!

  2. 2 holland April 11, 2009 at 3:27 pm

    “and life is worth the living, just because He lives!”

    AMEN!

    Offtopic:

    [ST NOTE:I removed the rest of your comment because this article is specific to the Resurrection of Christ. Your comment has some merit, but I ask that you repost it in a more approriate article – like the one I suggested in my email to you. That would breed more productive discussion than this forum. Happy Resurrection Day to you…]

  3. 3 Lavrai April 11, 2009 at 4:59 pm

    Thank you, Christ Jesus for being born, dying, getting buried, resurrected and ascending back to YOUR place with the FATHER… just for me.

    Thank you, HEAVENLY FATHER, for sending YOUR SON whom YOU love so much into this wretched world to reconcile me unto YOURSELF.

    Thank you, Holy Spirit, for bearing witness to this unmerited and freely given gift.

    One day, every knee will bow and every tongue confess this TRUTH, whether they believe it or not today. The day will come.

  4. 4 mel April 12, 2009 at 5:41 pm

    “Happy Resurrection Day” to you all. I have not heard that before but I like it. He is risen, Hallelujah! Amen.

  5. 5 Michael Pharr April 12, 2009 at 9:00 pm

    Thank you Lord for your sacrifice for a wretch, like myself.

    But God demonstrates His own love toward us, in that while we were yet sinners, Christ died for us. (Romans 5:8)

  6. 6 John 8:32 April 13, 2009 at 10:01 am

    Amen!

  7. 7 Lady D April 13, 2009 at 12:55 pm

    Ysdty at prison ministry, the Rev preached a sermon about the resurrection of Christ that was awesome! Then the male choir sang “That’s Love”, and here’s one of the verses:
    “And that’s not how the story ends
    In three days, He rose again
    That’s love, that’s love”
    The power of Christ resurrection was the focus of the message and song, some men were crying tears of repentance over their sins. He has risen indeed!

    • 8 Michael Pharr April 13, 2009 at 8:27 pm

      Lady D,

      At the church I attend the choir sung the same song and it sent chills down my spine. Another song I was sing today: I don’t know why Jesus loved me, I don’t know why He cared, I don’t know why He sacrificed His life….Oh but I’m glad, so glad He did.

  8. 9 pierced April 13, 2009 at 1:16 pm

    Although one day of the year is set aside to observe Resurrection Day – I thank God I can celebrate Jesus’ resurrection every day!

    Every day I am reminded of the price He paid so that I, wretch that I am, might have everlasting life and to have it more abundantly. His gift was unmerited and unearned and one that I will never be able to repay.

    Thank God that we have a risen Saviour. He lives!

  9. 10 prayrwarrior April 13, 2009 at 2:57 pm

    Hallelujah! HE is risen, like HE said! And when HE rose HE gave us all new life in HIM. HE is LORD!

  10. 11 Lady D April 14, 2009 at 2:01 pm

    Response to Michael Pharr, Brother you gon make me shout in my office!!! That’s another humbling song,thank you.
    Our God is truly Great~

  11. 12 MikeyA April 15, 2009 at 11:24 am

    Great posts!

    Last Thursday, the Thursday before Resurrection Sunday, I sat in my office and cried like a baby reflecting on His sacrifice for “a wretch like me.” It was a real God moment. The only other time I ever cried at work was when my son moved away from home (which quickly became shouts of joy).

    “Resurrection Sunday” is now my new favorite term to call this day, which is the greatest day in redemptive history. “Independence Day” is a good name too. Because of His resurrection from the grave, I am free. I am forgiven. Now that’s exciting!

    … MikeyA


Comments are currently closed.



AddThis Feed Button Add to Technorati Favorites
twitter

Get Daily Email Updates:

Sign up for email updates and get the latest articles in your email inbox!

People Looking For Truth:

  • 1,082,951 ...and counting

RSS John MacArthur Sermons

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS John Piper Sermons

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS RC Sproul Sermons

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS The White Horse Inn

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Categories

Archived Articles…


