Ahhh, Now I Know Why…***UPDATED***

…the Pimp of Hampton (GA) is demanding that his club members “get me my money”. A concerned citizen has shed some light on just how desperate the Pimp of Hampton has become recently.

It appears as though he’s 4 months behind on his property tax bill (scroll to the end of the post for an update as of 3/2/09):

landers-tax-bill 

 

Click the picture above for a better view (and zoom in). You will see that the Pimp of Hampton lives in a home valued at $1.04M, and owes $15, 570.27 in property taxes – which was due 11/17/2008. Well, the bill is still unpaid (as of 2/19/09), and there are $1,557.03 in late penalties and $622.80 in interest, totaling $17,750.10 due on this account.

Before I go any further, let me say this: stand down, haters. I can hear you now: “That’s none of your business what the mand of gawd has, gawd will get you for snooping through his stuff!”. Well, this information can be found on the website of the Henry County (Georgia) Tax Authority– and it’s public information. A concerned citizen found it, brought it to my attention, and I am bringing it to the blogosphere for an important illustration.

Like all word of faith, prosperity pimps, the Pimp of Hampton preaches a message of “Look at me now! I am a living example of what God will do when you tithe faithfully and sow into good ground.” The Pimp of Hampton has also preached regularly about the importance of paying bills on time, not dodging bill collectors, and being faithful over your affairs.

I find it a bit ironic that this “living example of God’s desire to see us financially prosper” hasn’t paid his own property tax bill – proving that he and his ilk preach a false gospel of prosperity that continues to invalidate itself time after time. If the prosperity gospel message was true, then NO ONE who “sowed money into good ground” WOULD EVER EXPERIENCE FINANCIAL DIFFICULTY, let alone the chief evangelist of the lie. It appears as though the pimps lose again, and the Word of God is further solidified as the truth!

Well, now we know why the remaining sheep are flogged weekly and extorted into giving under duress – the pimp is having problems paying his own bills.

Allow me to remind you of what God says about fulfilling our obligations (my emphasis in bold):

Romans 13:7 (New American Standard Bible)

7(A)Render to all what is due them: (B)tax to whom tax is due; (C)custom to whom custom; fear to whom fear; honor to whom honor.

And let me also remind you of the qualifications of an elder worthy of following (my emphasis in bold):

1 Timothy 3:1-7 (New American Standard Bible)

1(A)It is a trustworthy statement: if any man aspires to the (B)office of overseer, it is a fine work he desires to do.

 2(C)An overseer, then, must be above reproach, (D)the husband of one wife, (E)temperate, prudent, respectable, (F)hospitable, (G)able to teach,

 3(H)not addicted to wine or pugnacious, but gentle, peaceable, (I)free from the love of money.

 4He must be one who (J)manages his own household well, keeping his children under control with all dignity

 5(but if a man does not know how to manage his own household, how will he take care of (K)the church of God?),

 6and not a new convert, so that he will not become (L)conceited and fall into the (M)condemnation incurred by the devil.

 7And he must (N)have a good reputation with (O)those outside the church, so that he will not fall into reproach and (P)the snare of the devil.

Folks, this is a clear reminder that desperate people do desperate things. Ask yourself: how can a man with such a poor reputation in the County tax office bring glory to God as the leader of a 10,000+ member church?

If you are still a member of this club after everything else you’ve read here, then I implore you to seek God for strength to flee this pimp, his false doctrine, and his desperation to keep his own lights on by taking your light money. There are pastors who are earnestly seeking God and teaching sound, biblical doctrine that glorifies God, and you do much better finding one of the “good guys”. In fact, you’d do better gathering your family together at the kitchen table and studying the Word for yourselves than trekking to this pimp’s $22M club (which is also hemorrhaging cash and gaining a poor reputation in accounting offices across Metro Atlanta).

Don’t waste anymore of your time with a desperate pimp who cares about the upkeep of his own gated estate more than he cares for the upkeep of your eternal soul.

May God have mercy.

***UPDATE 3/2/09***

It appears as though the Pimp of Hampton has some influence with Henry County (GA) Government (a few officials are sumbitted to him at his club). The website that allows Henry County (GA) residents to pay their tax bills online has been “down” for the past 7 days. A call to the County tax office yielded an “I don’t know when the site will be back up” from a clerk. Call me a cynic, but I think the Pimp’s influence is on display for all to see.

60 Responses to “Ahhh, <i>Now</i> I <b>Know</b> Why…***UPDATED***”


  1. 1 escapeetoo February 19, 2009 at 5:45 pm

    ST,

    Great post. Now I am wondering…Will the sheeple come up with the $ Sunday (8th Anniversary Service) to help the Club Owner out?

    • 2 speaking truth February 22, 2009 at 1:10 pm

      escapeetoo,

      I just caught the “live feed” of the Pimp of Hampton’s celebration service on Streaming Faith. So far, he received a “sword” and a “staff” (and some are now referring to him as an “apostle” but they haven’t trotted out the “Kentucky Fied Chicken” buckets to collect the loot).

      Oh, and remember – Landers stood before the congregation a few weeks ago to beg for help in paying the church’s $18,000 utility bill, yet he’s paying an honorarium for Micah Stampley and pimpette Sheryl Brady to come in and grease the sheep out of their remaining cents

      And as of today (Sunday February 22, 2009 @ 1PM EST), his delinquent tax bill is still UNPAID.

      • 3 CJ April 11, 2009 at 2:55 am

        Ok I looked at this bill you posted on here and I looked at the bill on Henry County website both dated 2008. Can you tell me why the bill you posted here dont seem to match the bill on henry county website? Talking about the 2008 bill since that is the one you posted.

        • 4 speaking truth April 11, 2009 at 8:00 am

          The bill posted here is the original bill (issued in 2008 and due in November of 2008), CJ – the Henry County website now has the paid receipt (as indicated in my follow-up post). I included a link to the County’s website so that no one could accuse me of “photoshopping” a bill to make the Pimp of Hampton “look bad”.

          The point of this post (and the follow-up) is to show that those who preach the lie of a “prosperity gospel” do it to make a living off of others who are struggling to pay their bills – with the irony being that some of the false teachers have troubles paying their own bills.

          Yup, that sounds like a valid gospel to me 🙄

          • 5 CJ April 11, 2009 at 11:29 am

            Ok please answer this. If this is former Elder Hall who is coming up with this new church. If his wife sit on top of the board that deal with the money of the church and Elder Hall knew about it. Why wait until now to bring this up and should there been records to show where this money went, and also how did Pastor get a hold of this money? I just would like to know?

            • 6 CJ April 11, 2009 at 11:35 am

              It just seem odd to me as to how all this bad talk about Pastor has come about when this New Vision church is coming about. I have seen everything that Pastor said they needed the money for used just for that. If this is Elder Hall I’m hurt that you would come up and speak like this when Pastor has spoke so highly of you to the members of the church. It just really seem odd as to how you down this pastor and yet speak about this new church. Is this done to try and build members at this new church?

              • 7 speaking truth April 11, 2009 at 1:35 pm

                CJ,

                I am not Elder Hall – I’ve been blogging long before Hall ever left the Pimp of Hampton’s side.

                I have seen everything that Pastor said they needed the money for used just for that.

                No you haven’t, CJ. You’ve seen what the POH wanted you to see (and hear). I know for a fact that the POH makes well over $750K per year off the labor of you and others. If you see where the money goes, then why is the POH asking for help to pay the utility bills at his club – isn’t that where your money is supposed to go? Did you know that the POH recently upgraded his Bentley to a newer model – but he wanted to keep the same body style so that the sheep wouldn’t think he was wasting their money?

                The POH is “saying all these nice things about Elder Hall” because he knows that Hall could bury him with some of the things he’s seen as well. The POH is a false teacher, CJ – I and other insiders know it, and the POH knows it as well. As you’re probably denouncing me for “putting my mouth on the mand of gawd” and “touching God’s anointed” – let me give you a few reading assignments, and have your bible out to read along as well:

                “…get me my money!” (This article biblically debunks the lie of the tithe that the POH uses to intimidate you into giving)

                Rotten Fruit (This article biblically debunks the lie of the first fruit offering – a cashfall that goes DIRECTLY to the POH)

                The Love Has Nothing To Do With It” Offering”

                – An excellent article biblically debunking how pimps and their sheeple misuse the “touch not God’s anointed” refrain

                I have no reason to lie, CJ. I get no glory out of exposing the POH and other false teachers – all glory belongs to God, who teaches us how to read His Word for ourselves.

                If you can’t read your bible (not the parts that the Pimp tells you to turn to, THE ENTIRE BIBLE IN CONTEXT) and see how off he really is, then the Lord’s will be done concerning you and others at the POH’s club.

            • 8 speaking truth April 11, 2009 at 1:38 pm

              As I said, CJ – I’m not Elder Hall…and The Pimp of Hampton got “all this money” because people gave it to him!

              Why don’t you ask for a copy of the club’s financials for the past 4 years. As a donor, you’re entitled to that information – and as a non-profit organization, they are obligated by law to give it to you. Just don’t hold your breath waiting for a reply…

              • 9 CJ April 11, 2009 at 2:33 pm

                POH is not is name. If you want to call him out on things you should use his name. Secondly I was in service that day he spoke about the bills being 18k. He never once asked for a speical offering to pay this bill. He just made a statement as to how much it cost to to keep this church up and running. I did not feel he was asking me to give more money to pay that. If that is how you feel then that is you and dont’t try to speak for everyone by saying he was asking us to pay the bill. After all tithes do pay for things to run the church and pays the Pastor some money out of it. It is mighty clear that a Pastor of a large church would make more than a pastor of a small church. After listening to want you said, its clear you sit and judge him with a 6inch ruler, but then ask God to judge you with a 12inch ruler. I’m sure me and other members know that our Pastor is not God so we don’t look at him as someone to be without wrong( if any is done here). I don’t take every word that Pastor say and run with it as it being gold. I do have my owe mind and can think for myself. Just as you trying to down him you are not sitting here trying to push your thinking off on people that he is a POH and we should stop going to the church. Take a moment and ask if I am with out sin can i case the first stone. It’s clear you must have had some type of church hurt in your pass and you takening out on him. I have at one point been hurt by the church, but I never speak on someone when I know my sin is still present and I can’t ask god to judge me with a longer ruler but judge someone else with a short one.

                • 10 speaking truth April 11, 2009 at 3:35 pm

                  Your pastor is a pimp – and I will continue to use that term to describe him and other false teachers as long as he continues to pimp people in the name of the Lord.

                  Church hurt is not what drives me to expose false teachers, my love for God’s Word AND His sheep does. If you’re happy where you worship, then so am I..so stay right where you are. Like I said – the Lord’s will be done. Oh, and you’re right – I am judging the Pimp of Hampton…according to the Word of God.

                  Since you have a mind of your own (as you said), then why don’t you take a moment to read what God says about tithes, love offerings, and first fruit (for starters) and let’s have a debate about the irrefutable Word, as opposed to the way the Pimp of Hampton twists it? I gave you ample reading material – so break open your bible and tell me how wrong I am in that regard.

                  In fact, don’t leave another comment until you can defend the Word like you do the Pimp of Hampton.

                  • 11 CJ April 11, 2009 at 3:53 pm

                    lol…wow now you don’t want me to leave a comment…seem like i offended you…funny. But anyways you put all this stuff out there and who has called you to say that your teachings is the right way God as said. How about that. I’m done with this page and you. I will pray for you and I’m so happy to find out that is was not Elder Hall that was saying this stuff about pastor. It turns out to be someone who don’t have anything else to do with themself but to sit around and talk about someone else. Good day and my favor rest upon you.

  2. 12 gcmwatch February 19, 2009 at 5:52 pm

    The price of worshipping mammon is a heavy one to pay. And when you reject HIS counsel, God will mock you because you chose mammon over him. Proverbs 1:25,26

    This situation reminds of me a pastor I was under who every Sunday preached that not paying tithes would subject you to the worst curses in God’s aresenal of curses. And I believed it.

    To be honest there were times when I didnt even have money to put gas in the car to get to church, but i made sure I “sowed my seed” so I wouldnt be cursed…with a curse. As a man I was ashamed to say that I was struggling financially, even though I faithfully paid tithes like I was told.

    That was until I found out this thief was not paying tithe. He was getting a fat check from the church, and getting fat checks from “running revivals” and had pretty much unlimited use of the church credit card for starters. He was a grand liar. While standing next to him in the pulpit one Sunday, I saw the check he claimed was tithe. It was just a little more than what I paid. I was shocked as I did some quick math in my head.

    Eventually, he was caught in a prostitution sting and his “career” went down the toliet.

    People, dont be deceived. These robbers are out to ensure their own comfort at your expense. Dont keep going until you are so jaded that you give up on God. Not all pastors are pimps, but there is a lot of deception in the church today. Open your eyes and obey the Holy Spirit. Dont feed these degenerate habits any longer.

    Thanks IST for your courage to warn the people of God.

    • 13 speaking truth February 19, 2009 at 7:40 pm

      Thanks IST for your courage to warn the people of God.

      I wish it were courage, gcmwatch. It is simply my disgust with the ways of men who claim to represent God. People are literally lamenting about whether to give “tides” or pay their bills – and they end up paying the pimp because they really believe that God would strike them dead if they didn’t.
      Husbands and wives are literally splitting up because one throws money at the pimps feet while the other argues against it.

      And to think – behind these struggles which have been escalated to moral crisis’ because the pimp says so, he is funding a lavish lifestyle and NOT meeting his own obligations.

      I’m nauseaus over these degenerate hirelings.

  3. 14 N'Catina February 19, 2009 at 8:22 pm

    Thank you for this information, IST. There is no doubt the information you have and continue to post on Landers requires much courage. I also have a great deal of admiration for the level of detail in continuing to expose the lunacy involved with the WOF doctrine and those that parade it as a badge of honor. May God continue to empower you with the courage and biblical acumen to expose Landers further.

    GCM, I can relate to the financial dynamics of always having money for tithes (among other things connected to the “church”) and finding myself having to delay purchases for things I absolutely needed. God brought me to my senses with this back in September 2007, 15 months after I moved into my house. I already knew prior to that time that my tithing, paying for clothes, shoes, hose, make up and accessories on the regular for the privilege to sing on the P&W team WAS NOT going to work in tandem with my paying for a hosue and all its related expenses, utilities and still eat for the long term. As I came across IC (and by extension, this site, PP & yours), my eyes began to open concerning all of the focus and emphasis on money, prestige and prosperity (“in faith”). That information affirmed my decision to stop “supporting” someone that clearly is w/o conscience in his fleecing activities.

    Given the magnitude of the Landers’ tsx bill in arrears, it will just be a matter of time before we see a repeat of the Juanita Bynum situation of home foreclosure via tax deliquency. Having a $22MM edifice in need of financial attention to boot will only hasten this process.

    Prayerfully, the “dumb sheep” will wise up and make the much needed permanent pilgrimage out of that spot before they eventually share in the public shame at the hands of the county tax office and the local media.

  4. 15 Keith Tolbert February 19, 2009 at 9:53 pm

    ST

    Perhaps ‘Dre loosened the ties with Club New Birth a little too soon. Or perhaps this is the curse for forsaking the Bishop.

    All the prodigal son has to do is “come to himself” and go home to CNB. The Bishop will run/drive to meet him in his Bentley, call for the fattened calf and have a grand ol’ welcome home bash! Hemight even arrange a bail-out!

    • 16 speaking truth February 19, 2009 at 10:00 pm

      Brother,

      “Dre'” is nowhere near the guy you knew way back in the day. He is losing it more and more daily. And he and “the Bishop” had a falling out because “the Bishop” told him to slow down but “Dre” wanted to have his “own identity” and his own stuff, so here we are today.

      He’s too big to go back to CNB now 🙄

  5. 17 gcmwatch February 19, 2009 at 10:44 pm

    A quick question.

    Lander’s bio states:

    “In less than one year, Higher Living’s congregation cancelled their land debt.”

    In reference to this post, what does this mean? Is everything completely paid for is just the land paid for? I know you mentioned a 22million dollar church, but this does sound misleading if there is still a cloud of debt on the church’s back.

    • 18 speaking truth February 20, 2009 at 8:43 am

      The land was indeed paid off with cash – the congregation paid it off in 1 year, and the land sat there for a few years before it was cleared and construction began on the church.

  6. 19 young1lookin4thetruth February 20, 2009 at 7:20 am

    Great post ST…as always.

    GCMWatch,

    When I was reading your comment, I felt something in my heart sink because I think my dad feels the same way you did. My family really is in a bind financially and being that he is the head of the house and he’s the only one working (my mom is not able to work) there’s not a lot of income coming in. We needed a new car (praise the Lord we finally got one last week) but it sounds like to me he had a hard time trying to get it. I know there are some things he is probably neglecting because he has to pay tithes and offerings and being that he is a minister and a leader in the church he is even more obligated. I have tried telling him what I have learned. He listened to me but he made sure he told Pastor that I was going off the deep end. I talked with my pastor about how tithing isn’t biblical for new testament believers and he brought up most of the arguments people bring up here. He said well Abraham was justified by faith like we are and he paid tithes. I was like yeah but it’s recorded one time and it was off the spoils of war. He was like well he had to get the idea from somewhere. He was saying that God gave him the “principle” of tithing and we should follow suit.

    I don’t know what to really say to my dad because what does it look like for me to step to my dad and tell him something against what he has believed all his life? My mom time and time again tells me that they have been tithing faithfully since they’ve been married but she throws in how they haven’t seen any of the blessings that the “mand of gawd” had promised them. I wish I could just wave a magic wand across their eyes so they can see what I’m beginning to see but I know it’s not that easy. Help me pray for them guys that God would shine some light on the areas where they are blinded by the tricks of the pulpit pimp. I still don’t like saying that about my pastor because it feels so wrong but some of what he says and does reflects that image.

    still waiting on the first fruits post man! 😀

    • 20 speaking truth February 20, 2009 at 8:46 am

      All you can do is pray for your father, and the Lord’s will be done. I wrote an article last year about >how my wife put up with my delusional devotion for well over 3 years. She approached the subject gently from time to time, but backed away when I repeated my pimp’s mantra word for word. She prayed for 3 years, and nearly fainted (literally) when I came to her one day and said that we were leaving.

      Prayer does work. You can’t make someone see your point of you, otherwise, they agree with you instead of agreeing with God. Let the Holy Spirit convict and reveal…it will happen if the Lord wills it so.

      I am certainly keeping you and yours in prayer. Oh, and the first fruit post is coming…I do have a life, you know 😆

  7. 21 young1lookin4thetruth February 20, 2009 at 9:15 am

    You know I’m sitting here thinking you’re the man in my computer that has info ready on hand right when I ask for it…naw I’m just kidding but yeah I realize you have other things to do than just sit here and blog all day 🙂

  8. 22 truthofgod February 20, 2009 at 11:29 am

    Brother Imspeakingtruth, I will need to add your website to my blogroll. The most recent posts have been very much on point and timely. Especially considering the state of the economy, I don’t see how these “prosperity” churches will explain the financial hardship of the congregants when they have been promised blessings for thier obedience to tithing. This is always a touchy issue within most churches, because of tradition and the teachings of men. But you can’t deny the truth of the scriptures. As the scriptures say “Let God be true and every man be a liar.”

  9. 23 steward February 20, 2009 at 2:50 pm

    Interesting find! This reminds me of the story in the bible where a man owed a huge amount of debt, and was forgiven. Then right after that he went and harassed and jailed those who owed him a small amount of debt. This kind of harassment sounds much like the pimp of hampton acts towards his club members.

    Lord i wish i had your kind of patience with these kind of people.

  10. 24 dupednomore February 20, 2009 at 4:40 pm

    It’s clear now that he is unfit for leadership. When he was under “eddie” there was some oversight, but now, who will stop him. Everybody there complies without question and without blicking an eye. This will ultimatley result in more negative revelations for this “idol” of Hampton.

  11. 25 escapeetoo February 20, 2009 at 7:09 pm

    dupednomore,

    I used to argue people down that would entertain the notion of “oversight” over the “mand of gawd”. I now realize I stupid I sound.

    However you can only be a victim if you allow people to lord over you and not let the Lord rule over you.

    The sheeple down in Club Hustle & Flow should think twice about giving the Club Owner a dime this Sunday (8th anniversary) to pay off this debt or any other personal debt. The Club Owner makes well over 350-700k per year in salary and an undisclosed amount in “love offering”. According to the Club Owner’s 2007 Federal 990 (Return of Organization Exempt From Income Tax)Andre Landers Ministries made off with $221,471:

    http://www.melissadata.com/Lookups/np.asp?ein=760777059

    I don’t think it is right to bail out Wall Street and I don’t think we should bail out Pimps of this age! And if you Club goers “sow” into this man you are “bailing” him out. Ask yourself “where is your bail out?”.

    Oh yea Club Goers, check daddy’s wheels. Word in and around Hampton he has a new ride-once agin on your dime!

  12. 26 dupednomore February 20, 2009 at 7:42 pm

    Escapee- I heard that also today? I hope it’s not true, but it would not surprise me……”How you like me now”, is what he’ll be saying riding into the sunset with all the money.

  13. 27 escapeetoo February 20, 2009 at 8:55 pm

    dupednomore,

    You and I already know what Landers will say about his ride “he followed a principle”. But as we know the club goers fund this madness! He tithes a tithe!

    And to top it all off the Club Owner requires a cover charge to work in the Club.

    http://escapee.wordpress.com/2009/01/25/when-the-hustle-aint-flowin-part-iii-payin-to-play/

    If Landers says he understands his flock he is a World Wide Lie! Landers only knows 2 figures-The Sunday and Wed collection totals, and oh yea First Fruit (Can’t wait for that post ST). I hear Landers will call the counting room from his Bentley asking what the count was!

  14. 28 Sugacoles February 20, 2009 at 10:00 pm

    It’s so sad to read that Landers has gone in this direction. Quite a few of the minister that have left New Birth looks like they are drifting into this direction Murphy, Alvarado and Gaither. I certainly hope Curney is going in this direction. My, my, my the seducing power of money! This is certainly what I Timothy 6:3-10 is speaking of:

    3 If any man teach otherwise, and consent not to wholesome words, even the words of our Lord Jesus Christ, and to the doctrine which is according to godliness; 4 He is proud, knowing nothing, but doting about questions and strifes of words, whereof cometh envy, strife, railings, evil surmisings, 5 Perverse disputings of men of corrupt minds, and destitute of the truth, supposing that gain is godliness: from such withdraw thyself. 6 But godliness with contentment is great gain. 7 For we brought nothing into this world, and it is certain we can carry nothing out. 8 And having food and raiment let us be therewith content. 9 But they that will be rich fall into temptation and a snare, and into many foolish and hurtful lusts, which drown men in destruction and perdition. 10 For the love of money is the root of all evil: which while some coveted after, they have erred from the faith, and pierced themselves through with many sorrows.

  15. 29 escapeetoo February 20, 2009 at 10:31 pm

    Sugacoles,

    You hit the nail on the head! Money makes a person change. Money (Love of Money) has certainly changed Landers. Landers has always enjoyed bling! After every money giving scheme he’d bust out with something! The Money has him blind! His love for money and stuff is causing him pain.

  16. 30 Preach Preacher Preach February 21, 2009 at 10:12 am

    Salvation is Free but the Ministery cost something. GOD Love a cheerful giver 2 Cor 9:7. I always teach that you give to God and not to man. For only GOD can bless.

  17. 31 gcmwatch February 21, 2009 at 2:37 pm

    thanks young1…

    It probably weighs doubly hard on leaders because you are pressured to “look blessed” and that includes how much money you plop down on the table.

    Taking care of my wife and children should take precedent over some guy’s monument he has built to bolster his own reputation. And why should I be penalized and punished if I choose to take care of my family within reason? When you sign onto churches like that (ie get with the vision) then you subject yourself to that type unbiblical pressure.

    Its sad because these people build these big buildings and then beat the people to pay for it “debt free”. But (and I know this for a fact at several big ATL churches) members cannot use the facilities.

    I pray for your parents.

  18. 32 escapeetoo February 21, 2009 at 6:40 pm

    PPP,

    You give to God and HOPE the Preacher does right by it. Let me break down WHY the money is not making it to God’s Ministry or His people.

    First of all, what is ministry?

    “Ministry” is from the Greek word diakoneo, meaning “to serve” or douleuo, meaning “to serve as a slave.” In the New Testament, ministry is seen as service to God and to other people in His name. Jesus provided the pattern for Christian ministry—He came, not to receive service, but to give it (MT 20:28 MK 10:45 JN 13:1-17)
    You are 100% correct. “Ministry” costs money. It costs money to serve people. Club Hustle & Flow and its club owner does a great deal of spending on Gospel talent, cars homes and bling. Today the Club does bare evidence of a lot of “Ministry” or “Helping People.” At one point, Club Hustle & Flow exhibited great ministry. But greed and arrogance began to take over the mind of the club owner. This is a shame because Landers started out ok and was trying to do it differently.

    So what is a ministry “minister” supposed to do? According to the example of the apostles (In the early Christian church not your nut job self proclaimed apostle),minsters are to free themselves from all encumbrances, that they may give themselves wholly unto the word and prayer (Acts 6:1-4). Their work is “to labour in the word and doctrine (I Tim. 5:17); and thereby to “feed the flock over which the Holy Ghost hath made them overseers” (Acts 20:28). Landers does act as a mininster by this defintion. However, it is evident that he has gotten so tanggled up into his worldliness that it has began to impact the “Ministry” aka helping people and serving them.

    You are also right God does love a cheerful giver. In addition, He also hates a thief and a liar. Landers is telling the sheeple lies in order to fund his lifestyle and not a ministry. He is telling people that if they don’t give that they are cursed. Christ died to cover this curse. Club Hustle & Flow pays more for anniversarry entertainment, Pastoral salaries, and maitenance on that idol of a building than they do on benvolance aka service!

    Let me leave you with this. If Landers was comfortable about how he attained his wealth than he would not have any trouble paying taxes for it is written…But The blessing of the LORD brings wealth,and he adds no trouble to it (Prov 10:22)

  19. 33 Douglas K. Adu-Boahen February 22, 2009 at 2:01 pm

    ST, you da man! Funny – I heard many of the TV guys saying that they refused to participate in the coming recession. Looks like they are now!

  20. 34 young1lookin4thetruth February 22, 2009 at 6:47 pm

    Thanks for your prayers GCMWatch.

    Today’s service (I went home for the weekend) was disturbing and hilarious to me at the same time because my pastor started talking about the vision and how we should help him with the vision. During offering time he asked us, “How many of you have ever fell out [got slain in the Spirit] during offering? How many of you have ever shouted because you gave your tithes and offering?” Then he went on to say if we really wanted a miracle we should pull out an extra envelope (separate from tithes and offering) and put a special seed in it believing God for a miracle. My mouth dropped and I got upset because I said to myself that we shouldn’t have to pay God for him to bless us. He does it out of the goodness of his heart right?

    I just had to throw that in. Sorry ST it has nothing to do with Landers but it was just upsetting to me to hear some of these same things (maybe not to the same degree) being said out of my pastor’s mouth. I used to be like “not my pastor.” But the more I hear him talk, the more I can’t bear it.

    • 35 speaking truth February 22, 2009 at 8:36 pm

      No apologies necessary Young1, it’s heartbreaking to see the man you loved and respected literally transforming before your very eyes. Landers, your pastor, and many more are all cut from the same cloth – mammon worshippers who despise God and embrace the god of this world.

      Next you’ll start kicking youself for “ever falling for this”, but don’t beat yourself up. We all come to the truth that the Lord allows us to see in His time, and we are better for it – and we defend His true Word all the more. Still keeping you and yours in prayer.

  21. 36 GaryV February 22, 2009 at 10:02 pm

    LOL!! ST, you kill me man!! That is a great find brother. Oh, the irony is delectable, is it not??

    • 37 speaking truth February 22, 2009 at 10:22 pm

      Brother, I am thoroughly convinced that God has a sense of humor, especially when it comes to fools pretending to speak on His behalf. I know a lot more on this character, brother, so believe me I’m biting my tongue.

  22. 38 escapeetoo February 22, 2009 at 10:17 pm

    “…if we really wanted a miracle…put a special seed in it believing God for a miracle…”

    Once again another Pimp trying to “Do something” human to get a miracle from God.

  23. 39 young1lookin4thetruth February 23, 2009 at 9:27 am

    Escapetoo, you’re right…you can’t do something out of your own will to get anything from God. Every time I hear something about “sowing seeds and God is going to bless you” it infuriates me because people jump and shout and believe it.

    And another thing, it hurts when I can’t just stand up and tell everybody in service that they need to open up their bibles and read it for themselves instead of reading the screen that shows the selected verses. Most of the time he misses the context because he picks and chooses verses and everybody just nods their head and go on with life while I’m sitting there diligently searching trying to add up what he said against the full context of the scripture. Most of the time I leave out wondering what in the world did I just learn, while most everybody else is leaving ready to go eat.

    I’m getting off subject now for real so I will stop but thanks for your prayers. Of course I’m praying for you guys as well so you all can continue contending for the faith we all hold so dear.

  24. 40 John 8:32 February 25, 2009 at 11:17 am

    You know, this is a real sad “state of affairs”. Dre’ and his wife are fleecing the sheep for more than $750,000.00 a year, living in a home worth more than 1.4 million, has a Bentley, two Cadillacs, and a Mercedes Benz and can’t or won’t pay a $17,700.00 property tax bill. I wonder if he paid the taxes on the previous mansion he still owns. Oh and I also heard that the new leader of his elite security team, a man trying to be made in Dre’s image, has required his ministry members to not only tithe, but they are also required to give a consistant “love offering”. The Club is like the Titanic and there are only a few lifeboats left. True people of God, please wake up!!!

    • 41 escapeetoo February 25, 2009 at 6:25 pm

      Wow John 8:32! 750k in salaries. I guess love offering and 1st Fruits are his bonus pay.

      But Dre’s lifestyle can only be funded by those who refuse to seek “truth.” I too gave blindly to this man and defended him just as the new security “android” does.

      Dre can only pull this pimpistry off by preying on the blind, and those who are not studying for themselves. Notice, the folks who have fled are those who are thirsty for true discernment and understanding of God’s word. I guess those still in the Club are part of God’s divine plan. Until then I figure I will be like Habakkuk:

      “See, he is puffed up;
      his desires are not upright—
      but the righteous will live by his faith (Hab 2:4)
      “Dre Day” (8th Anniversary Service) only built his image up even more. But in the end God’s will and order will prevail!

    • 42 escapeetoo February 25, 2009 at 6:32 pm

      Oh one other thin John.

      The Security Android is a sad case! He is a true “Kool Aid” drinker who is probably going to go broke just trying to be like his master (Landers).

      He and others are emulating classic cultic behavior:

      http://escapee.wordpress.com/2008/11/02/are-you-drinking-the-kool-aid/

      Pray for the troubled sheeple!

    • 43 dupednomore February 26, 2009 at 8:00 am

      I’m shocked by this!! It should be the other way around. Those folks are standing on their feet for two services and opening his door where ever he goes……They are probably tasting his food now. The “idol” of Hampton has reached a new low.

    • 44 HOW U KNO April 1, 2009 at 1:11 pm

      how do u know all of this, you all seem to be so interested in following what the pastor drives and his home that this is the very reason you sit in service and learn nothing. Its really sad that this is even entertained, i know exactly why your marraige has failed, you lost your job and your kids can’t stand you…because you are empty when the Lord is trying to feed you through his Shepherd, you are checking his suit and shoes out or you are focused on his jewels. Pathetic souls should not be pouring non sense into others. How about you pray until your knees bleed for putting your mouth on God’s annointed and chosen one and then maybe HE will save your soul from the hell you will rot in.
      * HATAS ARE OUR MOTIVATORS*
      MAY GOD BLESS YOU ALL

      its funny how you are all probably members of HLCC to this day but are betraying the pastor in such a hateful manner. Neither of you have the guts to post your statements in your birth names and on service days stop running up to MY PASTOR FOR A HUG AND SPECIAL PRAYER FOR YOUR FAMILY & SICK SOULS. IF YOU WANT TO HATE THEN BE CLEAR ABOUT IT AND STOP FAKING. SMILING IN THE FIRST FAMILY FACE IS TOTALLY FAKE AND YOU HAVE BEEN EXPOSED BY THE TWISTED SPIRIT YOUR VIBE REVEALS WHEN IN THE PRESENCE OF GOD’S ANNOINTED.

      • 45 speaking truth April 1, 2009 at 7:13 pm

        HOW U KNO,

        It is obvious that you are a sorely misguided individual with either schizophrenic or sociopathic tendencies. Your random and pointless babbling is a clear sign that you are in need of prayer – and I will pray for you.

  25. 46 anointedvessel February 25, 2009 at 12:24 pm

    This sounds like judgment to me, God’s judgment. I believe God is allowing all Mammon worshipers to see just what the true cost of worshiping their material God is. Now all the Pimps and Pimpettes are scrambling trying to squeeze money out of a group of fleeced sheeple in the middle of a recession. Nobody has money to continue fueling their life of excess, because it wasn’t kingdom oriented work it was all self fulfilling and materialistic. Huge sanctuaries with gaudy decorations and such. People are tired of it and don’t want to pay into it anymore! The only successful large ministry in my area right now is the one that is helping everyone out, feeding folks, free health clinic, thrift stores, free after school programs, schools and academies that are income based and the church is a fixed up ware house and half the ministers are ex gang members the pastor drives the same type of care everybody else does and lives right up the street. All of the offering money goes into their 101 community programs, not a dime wasted. Even in this time of struggle people still give to this ministry hand over fist because of this. This is the way the church should function. These Pimp pastors have forgotten that and for that amnesia they are now being judged and kicked out of their playhouses.

  26. 47 speaking truth April 11, 2009 at 4:27 pm

    You know, CJ, you have (unfortunately) proven yourself to be a true follower of the Pimp of Hampton – and I approved your final comment to illustrate it.

    Rather than take my challenge and read the Word to prepare for a discussion about it verses your pimp, you chose to defend your pimp (yet again).

    And by the way – since your pimp “says such nice things” about Elder Hall, why don’t you ask him why he’s threatened anyone who dared visit his former “sons” church?

    Like I said before, next time (on another blog), defend the Word and not a false teacher like the Pimp of Hampton.

    And with that, I am officially done with you.

    • 48 escapeetoo April 12, 2009 at 11:28 pm

      I read CJ’s POOH for about 30 minutes and never once has he referenced scripture. CJ stated:

      “…you put all this stuff out there and who has called you to say that your teachings is (are) the right way God as (has) said…”

      Doesn’t CJ know that we are all called to rightly divide the word:

      “Study to show thyself approved unto God, a workman that needeth not to be ashamed, rightly dividing the word of truth”
      (2 Timothy 2:15).

      But then again the POH will often mis-quote/use scripture (Romans 10:15) to say only people who are “Sent” can preach/teach. Check this commentary from Dr. Thomas L. Constable from the Dallas Theological Seminary regarding Rom 15, The POH favorite scripture against Elder Hall these days

      • 49 speaking truth April 13, 2009 at 9:09 am

        You make a very good point, escapee. Like you, I escaped the cult only after seeking the Lord. I would have NEVER left because someone told me the truth about the Pimp of Hampton – I was too blind and “submitted” to see the truth apart from an intervention by God through Jesus Christ himself.

        Calling out false teachers gets me agitated, but I am particulary agitated – and heartbroken when I engage followers of the POH because I know that he is a false teacher (and I don’t even divulge half the stuff I KNOW about him – not heard, but I KNOW). I know what it feels like to trust him and be dissappointed when you hear and see ungodliness coming from him when he’s not onstage. I know what it feels like to KNOW that his club is his revenue generating business, not the House of God.

        I have no agenda apart from exposing darkness and pushing people directly to the Word – that’s it. I would love to see the POH repent and return to the Lord and teach sound doctrine. I would love to see the sheep growing in the Word, not his interpretation of it but the TRUE Word. Until that happens, he needs to sit down – or those who submit to him need to repent and flee his assembly.

        This entire blog is not about me being “right”, or making people see things “my way” – it’s about seeing that God is right, and we should ALL see things HIS WAY.

  27. 50 GodsProperty April 16, 2009 at 1:53 pm

    I am deeply disturbed by what I have read today but not at all surprised. My wife and I are currently members of HLCC and have been talking about some of the things presented in this blog for some time now starting with the Bentley purchase. Mine eyes have been fully opened to the deception and affluent lifestyle being lived in front of so many struggling members for the last two years. I have made my choice, it’s time to leave HLCC.

    • 51 escapeetoo April 16, 2009 at 4:18 pm

      GodsProperty,

      I wish you God’s grace as you “pimp escape”

      Now the real journey begins as you reconnect to GOD and Him alone.

    • 52 speaking truth April 16, 2009 at 6:36 pm

      Glory to God, GodsProperty. I thank God through Jesus Christ that He opened your eyes to the delusion purported by your (now) former pastor. Still pray that he repents, and that God have mercy on him according to His will, but it’s better to observe this foolishness from afar off.

      I pray that the Lord lead you to a teacher after God’s heart…

  28. 53 Carla January 15, 2010 at 5:25 pm

    OMG…

    Money is not the root of all evil…The LOVE for money is the root of all evil. I attended NBC on several occasions. I must say that I enjoyed Bishop Long more, but Landers was a great teacher. I certainly hope that rumors of an affair are false. No church is perfect, but if the head is not right – the body will never fall into place. The atmosphere is not as welcoming with much fakeness among the members. C’mon people – this is not a dam country club – it’s a church.

  29. 54 escapeetoo January 17, 2010 at 12:27 am

    Carla,

    “For the love of money is a root of all sorts of evil, and some by longing for it have wandered away from the faith and pierced themselves with many griefs.” 1 Tim 6:10

    All sorts of evil and plain old “mess” has come to Club Hustle & Flow because of the love of money and stuff. From 2001-today the Club Owner at da club pursued “Stuff” and now that money and head count is down he’s after territory and market share.

    I hope I am wrong but Club Hustle & Flow’s desire to move back to MT Zion after a 3 year Exodus reeks!

  30. 55 Searching March 13, 2010 at 8:55 pm

    ST,
    Thank you so very much for your information. My husband and I have been looking for a church in the Clayton area, looking for one specifically with couples ministry. We found HLCC, and wanted to investigate a little more, your website popped up.

    May YOU continue to be blessed, thank you for saving us from such disappointment.

    Sincerely,

    Still Searching

    • 56 speaking truth March 14, 2010 at 8:02 am

      Thanks for stoppping by Searching. I pray that the Lord lead you and your family to a bible-based church that chases after Him and not money and things. Also, please pray for HLCC and the leaders because they still need to be in right-relationship with God.

  31. 57 N'Catina March 14, 2010 at 9:28 am

    Being that it has been a year since this article was first written, will there be an update coming; whether or not HLCC is still on the raging money path?

    • 58 speaking truth March 14, 2010 at 9:36 am

      N’Catina,

      As of my last communication with some within HLCC (last month), membership has fallen from over 10,000 down to 800-1000 (prayerfully those folks have found biblical teachers but I suspect they’ve been scattered to other enterprising pimps that will feast on their vulnerability). The $22M building is at the brink of financial ruin, so Landers is sending some people back over to their smaller facility (in an office park) to try to appeal to folks in the country they fled. There are also rumors of an impending public scandal/fall, so just keeps these folks in your prayers…

      • 59 N'Catina March 15, 2010 at 5:14 pm

        WOW! That is a very steep drop in membership; not since the same thing happened to Without Walls when Randy & Paul White divorced about 3 years ago.

        You’re right; people that often leave these asylums stemming from ungodly activity usually fall prey anew under a different “covering” in their grief and disillusionment (been there, done that, ain’t happening no more).

        I will continue to be in prayer for all to come to the saving knowledge of Christ.

  32. 60 escapeetoo March 20, 2010 at 11:21 pm

    N’Catina,

    I pray that HLCC does not fail financially. Long tried to warn Landers that the road less traveled was full of pitfalls. Landers was too arrogant to listen. Landers name got “caught in the wind.”


Comments are currently closed.



AddThis Feed Button Add to Technorati Favorites
twitter

Get Daily Email Updates:

Sign up for email updates and get the latest articles in your email inbox!

People Looking For Truth:

  • 1,082,689 ...and counting

RSS John MacArthur Sermons

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS John Piper Sermons

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS RC Sproul Sermons

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS The White Horse Inn

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Categories

Archived Articles…


