Are You Prepared To Die?

not-persecuted

The modern day “church” is sound asleep.

It has been gently rocked into malaise by smooth-talking false teachers – aided by greedy Christians who want their “best life now”, and can scarcely read and understand enough of God’s Word to compel them to even leave the bed every morning.

I don’t write that arrogantly – I lament and mourn at the state of Christ’s Bride today (or Christianity, Inc. as I often call it). For every sound teacher and sheep thirsty for the Word, their are thousands of pretenders who are leading millions dutifully into the lake of fire.

News Flash – as Christians, we must be prepared to suffer for the sake of the Gospel…and even die for it. I know that’s not the sexy “just speak health and wealth over your life and God will move!” message “taught” in churches across the land, but it is God’s truth. Here are two excellently presented (and sobering) reminders of our role as Ambassadors for the Word of God:

“Prepare to Die!” by ProclaimHisWord

“You Will Suffer” by John Piper (posted at sermonindex)

May God continue to grant peace and strength through His Son to His sheep so that we are able to stand for Him and declare His truth in these final and evil days.

12 Responses to “Are You Prepared To Die?”


  1. 1 Rick Dawson January 6, 2009 at 1:25 am

    Long time back now, when I was in early (very early) recovery from a 13 year run on drugs/booze, I was still struggling with a lot of the concepts I was learning about Christ and Christianity as practiced (and as it fails to be taught yet today), and on top of all that, I was despairing of living. One of the two lay ministers of a little storefront non-denominational church I was attending asked me a question that has stayed with me since: “Are you prepared to die for Jesus?” I answered with no hesitation “Yes!” He then asked the zinger “Are you prepared to live for Him?” The answer I stammered then has only been affirmed since then – Yes.

    Thanks for a great post!

  2. 3 naturalsystah January 6, 2009 at 3:58 pm

    It can’t be a coincidence that much popular teaching in the church today is making us too comfortable in the world, as well as the deceitfulness of riches. The enemy must love it this way. The prophet Amos put it this way:

    “Woe to those who are at ease in Zion,
    and to those who feel secure on the mountain of Samaria,
    the notable men of the first of the nations,
    to whom the house of Israel comes!”

    Should persecution come, I fear that many Christians won’t be girded with truth.

  3. 4 holland January 6, 2009 at 4:46 pm

    ST, thanks for your answer in your januari 1 entry.

    Yes, persecution is coming and it’s coming like never before (i guess).I heard several *latter rain* teachers like Rick Joyner and others talking about how the *religious spirits* (sola scriptura people like us)must be removed if they don’t go along with the *new thing*. It’s likely the persecution comes from within the *church*. Joels army.

  4. 5 speaking truth January 6, 2009 at 4:54 pm

    Should persecution come, I fear that many Christians won’t be girded with truth.

    Worse than that naturalsystah, many Christians will deny the Truth and side with the antichrist – partly because of expediency, partly because of ignorance.

    holland – you are 100% correct, the church is imploding from the inside out. May God continue to use willing vessels to continue to declare His Word.

  5. 6 holland January 6, 2009 at 5:02 pm

    Indeed ST, may God continue to use willing vessels to continue to declare His Word. Amen to that, brother.

  6. 7 Pastor Jim January 6, 2009 at 6:44 pm

    Good point ST. I’m ready. As an Iranian Christian elder and friend of mine said to me, “I’m not volunteering but I’m ready if the Lord asks me to be a martyr.”
    Graced

  7. 8 speaking truth January 6, 2009 at 10:19 pm

    Pastor Jim,

    First – thanks for your kind words in a previous comment thread. You are a true man of God and your humble and transparent spirit is an example of how a shepherd should lead God’s people – in brokenness and humilty at the weight of their calling. I can’t guarantee when, but we (and others here in the ATL) will meet and pray and work together soon.

    As an Iranian Christian elder and friend of mine said to me, “I’m not volunteering but I’m ready if the Lord asks me to be a martyr.”

    I saw various articles on your blog where you speak of associates who are on the mission fields overseas. Could you elaborate on more of the struggles that you are aware of for the saints evangelizing in hostile territories? Your first-hand accounts (and I know that you don’t reveal names in order to protect the saints) could really shed light on the issue of persecution for the sake of the Gospel.

  8. 9 Rose-Bud January 8, 2009 at 3:45 am

    ST, great article! I am ready to die for Christ and live for Him also. It is the most I can do, which is to spread the gospel, witness to others what He has done for me and with my life. By all accounts I am not supposed to be alive today, but because He had plans for my life, here I am in all His glory.

    BTW-I read your request to Pastor Jim, and thought this website would be helpful. It contains some compelling stories from countries all over the world.
    http://www.persecution.com/

  9. 10 Pamela January 17, 2009 at 5:16 pm

    I know a person that has been on staff of Voice of the Martyrs for several years. In fact I reconnected with her Monday evening. The ministry is based in Bartlesville, OK, about an hour from where I live in Tulsa. If you want them to speak at your church they do NOT ask for honorariums.

    The church I attend preaches AGAINST the prosperity gospel extortion message and a life of ease. In fact the leadership is preparing us for persecution when we do not line up with the popular gospel messages of the day. One minister that has many teachings against the extortion message fully expects to be imprisoned in the US for his stance against popular sins in this country. You can guess that we are not very popular in Tulsa where a good bit of the creature comfort gospel is headquartered. We are being prepared for persecution from our government and other deceived followers of Christ (or that is what they call themselves).

    I sincerely wonder which is worse, dying for Christ or living for Him. None of us that have lived all their lives in the US have really faced persecution like those is other nations. What if it really came down to having to give up friends and family for the cause of Christ? For those that are married, are you willing to give up your marriages for Christ? For those that are parents, are you willing to go against your children to stand for Christ? Will any of us be willing to stand for Christ if it means losing our status in life (our jobs, position in the church structure, political office, etc.)?

    I have felt for at least 20 years that at some point I would be threatened with my life for serving Christ. My goal is to be mortified in my life to be able to stand no matter what I face. This is no joke. Persecution is a real possibility in this country. One of my former pastors could very well be one to support laws to put me in prison for standing for Christ.

  10. 11 Erik January 18, 2009 at 9:01 pm

    The three pictures say it all. Yikes, the American church has no idea what persecution is like in comparison to previous decades and centuries. By the way, I just stumbled onto your blog…I like the Christ-centered focus and the “exposing the unfruitful fruits of darkness” content. Keep up the insightful posts!

    Soli Deo Gloria

  11. 12 speaking truth January 18, 2009 at 10:37 pm

    Thanks stopping by, Erik – I am glad the Lord led you here.

    Soli Deo Gloria indeed…


Comments are currently closed.



AddThis Feed Button Add to Technorati Favorites
twitter

Get Daily Email Updates:

Sign up for email updates and get the latest articles in your email inbox!

People Looking For Truth:

  • 1,082,689 ...and counting

RSS John MacArthur Sermons

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS John Piper Sermons

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS RC Sproul Sermons

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS The White Horse Inn

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Categories

Archived Articles…


