The Things I’ve Learned…

thinking-mind

It has been a very interesting year.

In His infinite wisdom and sovereign grace, God through Jesus Christ saw fit to allow the cloud of delusion to be lifted from my eyes for a literal moment – long enough to see that I was in submission to a scripture-twisting pimp who got more and more wealthy (and brazenly heretical) as his congregation grew poorer and more hopeless.

As I fled the plantation with my family and the remains of my self-respect, I developed and insatiable thirst for the TRUE Word of God, and I committed to reading His Word for myself instead of being spoon-fed by those with malcontent in their hearts. Through God’s grace, the gelatinous mass between my ears began to thaw – transforming me from a subservient drone to a student of the Word – and a walking, breathing BS detector with the ability to spot a false teacher a mile away.

Thus, the inception and development of the blog you read today.

Along the way, my mind has been exercised – and I’ve learned quite a few things, namely that you folks enjoyed reading these top 8 articles I posted in 2008:

  1. Why I Speak Truth  – 1,592 views

I learned that there are some excellent blogs out there defending the Gospel of Jesus Christ (just take a gander at my blogroll on the right column of this page) – including some of the newest additions to my personal reading list:

I learned that no matter how the wolves, vipers, false teachers, pulpit pimps et al deceive the sheep, there are legions who will defend their shenanigans to the fullest – as evidenced by the countless hate emails and death threats I have received this year (although the hate has been tapering off for the past few months…I guess I need to poke the vipers with a bigger stick in 2009).

I learned that as detached as I try to make myself appear, I get vehemently upset when I read of/hear/am informed of a pimps assault on God’s people – and I weep when I receive a note of thanks from those who gather the strength to flee. I know that I am a wretched man apart from the Blood of Jesus Christ – and that my daily surrender of my sinful flesh to the Will of God is a just enough to keep me from becoming one of the dolts I blog against. I am not stupid enough to think that I am anything more than a pawn in God’s plan – and I am ever humbled that He would find me worthy of His service.

I learned that there are still thoughtful pastors out there who care for the sheep more than they do their own wallets – and I am fortunate enough to have them read and comment on this blog.

I learned that there are awesome men and women of God who agree and disagree with me throughout the comment threads here. They admonish, chastice, and encourage me publicly and privately, and agree to disagree without being disagreeable. They bless me with their wit and insight, and pray for me when I teeter close to “the edge”.

Finally, I learned that what started out as one man’s public venting space has in fact become a ministry. No, not a building fund money begging, 3 services a day having, pastor & 1st lady Bently driving ministry – an earnest, grassroots call to a return to traditional, historical, biblical Christianity.

I invite you to join me as I venture down this “blog road” in 2009. I can’t guarantee that I won’t use harsh (yet not vulgar) language, that I won’t call out one of your favorite ministers, or that I won’t get so angry that I nearly toss my computer across the room while revealing the latest blow to the Body of Christ.

I can guarantee, however, that I will remain as humble as I can (through God’s grace) – and that I will without hesitation always honor God through His Son Jesus Christ…and I will continue to speak truth as the Lord wills – and leads.

19 Responses to “The Things I’ve Learned…”


  1. 1 Pastor Jim January 1, 2009 at 12:27 pm

    ST,
    Having joined in this year’s discussion in August, I’d missed some of your more salient entries in my review. Thanks for bringing those forward. I particularly found the entry on BVS and Why More Blacks Aren’t Interested in Reformed to be very insightful – in both your post and in the commentary!

    Not to get triumphalistic (if that is a word) but tears come to my eyes as I read because I get the sense you and this league of regular commentators are God’s men for this day. To wrestle with God’s call to His Word and the purification of His Bride the Church, may point, imho, that we’re observing the beginnings of a movement of the Spirit, perhaps similar in kind to the first Great Awakening. Oh, may we stay humble, biblical, faithful and prayerful.

    And I must say two more things in my full heart: ‘Amen’ and ‘Bring It! to Ready4Change’s comment that many white reformed pastors I know who desire to reach the city of Atlanta would love to have an African American elder or three in their church! And perhaps to succeed them as Sr Pastor. If not their membership, then their wise counsel. This city of 6 million will not be reached by white folk alone!

    And lastly, if you were to call a day to meet for lunch or for prayer or both anywhere in the metro Atlanta area, I would love to meet you and other like minded modern-day reformers. I am honored to be counted among this assembly. Deeply honored. Deeply moved.

    Thank you Lord Christ for reconciling us to your Father and to each other!

  2. 2 gcmwatch January 1, 2009 at 2:57 pm

    The sentiments of my heart, brother. Let the Lord use you and all that is within you to rebuild the walls which have been broken down. Its a difficult position to be in, for sure, but every lesson learned is a lesson worth learning.

    Blessed to be in fellowship with you.

  3. 3 holland January 1, 2009 at 4:56 pm

    I really like your site and it’s very good that you expose false teachers and teachings. What I do miss(personally) is a clear public call for repentance to these pastors each time you publish something. When they visit your site it would be good for them.

    Many christian blogs seem like gossipclubs these days. Always exposing never calling. Just my thoughts….

  4. 4 Douglas K. Adu-Boahen January 1, 2009 at 5:23 pm

    Well it was a joy to fire up my RSS reader and read up the great stuff coming from this blog. The teaching blogs were just as fantastic – Lord bless your labours in the coming year!

  5. 5 escapeetoo January 1, 2009 at 8:57 pm

    My Brother,

    I told you that this was your calling. Keep living the will of God. I too am better off a year later off the plantation!

  6. 6 KyleNYC January 1, 2009 at 9:47 pm

    “…(although the hate has been tapering off for the past few months…I guess I need to poke the vipers with a bigger stick in 2009).”

    Uh, no, they don’t have any money left to pay their Internet bill!!!

  7. 7 Ann Brock January 1, 2009 at 10:39 pm

    Happy New Year and keep doing what you’re doing. I read your blog on a regular basic and I will comment if time allows. I read were some one mention reformed. I honestly don’t understand what reformed mean as far as the Christian life is concern. I first heard of reformed on Lionel blog. He often speak of it but I am not getting it. Maybe along the way I can get a better understanding. Again Happy New Year!

  8. 8 speaking truth January 2, 2009 at 2:49 pm

    Happy New Year to you (and everyone), Ann. I addressed the details of Reformed Theology in several posts last year, but a clear and concise explanation can be found in RC Sprouls book “What Is Reformed Theology” and Anthony Carter’s “On Being Black and Reformed” and “Experiencing the Truth: Bringing The Reformation to the African American Church”. In a nutshell, RT is the return to traditional and historically biblical Christianity. I like to think of it as Christianity with “no fluff”. I will do more articles on it in 2009…

  9. 9 speaking truth January 2, 2009 at 2:53 pm

    holland,

    Thanks for your comment – and I appreciate your visit to the blog. You said:

    What I do miss(personally) is a clear public call for repentance to these pastors each time you publish something.

    I can appreciate your evaluation, and I have called for public repentance for those whom I mention on this blog. I’ve written over 120 articles, so you’d have to go through them to see the specific mentions, but I get your point – and I will do a better job of calling these pimps to repent more frequently. As an aside, the majority of the pimps that I write about have been approached privately and publicly and they still refuse to preach the truth.

  10. 10 CiCi January 2, 2009 at 2:59 pm

    ST,

    Happy New Year, my brother!!!

    I just wanted to let you know how much I appreciate you and the work that you are doing and the spirit in which you do it.

    As you know, and probably everyone else that reads this blog regularly, you and I disagree from time to time. But, I truly appreciate your openness and willingness to consider different views and perspectives on this journey that we share. The thoughtful and intelligent dialogue that we share on this blog and through our email conversations are priceless to me. And for this, I thank you.

    May God bless you and all that you hold dear…….

    CiCi

  11. 11 Rosebud January 2, 2009 at 4:00 pm

    I’m speaking the truth, I am thanking God for leading me to your blog.
    I have been wrestling with attending my church, no let me restate that, I have been LEAD not to attend my church since Sept. 08. I prayed and prayed for a sense of relief to feel good about going to church every Sunday, but low and behold I was not and am not compelled out that door on Sunday morning.
    My church is affliated with Eddie Longs, and my Pastor frequently refers to Long as his spiritual Father, who often calls him to Lithonia for fellowship.
    I felt that God was isolating me from church and associates for a reason, and like you, I can see clearer now the function and role of my use-to-be church. I don’t feel sad, lonely, or guilty for not attending church. I found myself distancing myself from a friend of nine years due to the same church affilation.
    I am sorry this post is so long, but I prayed again last night asking God what does He want me to do, and He showed me a vision which will come to pass, but until then I am to strengthen myself in His word, and His word only.
    BTW-Happy New Year, God Bless my Brother in Christ.

    • 12 speaking truth January 2, 2009 at 4:08 pm

      Thanks for your comment Rosebud – and I thank God through Jesus Christ that He led you to this blog, and away from false teaching. I have not been a “formal member” of an assembly for 1 year, and I have immersed myself in God’s Word during that time. I did miss the “fellowship” (i.e. music, entertainment, etc.) but I have never been more fed by the Word in my life. My prayer is that you continue to abide in Him and His Word and He will lead you to a faithful shepherd after His heart.

      God bless you – drop by again…

  12. 13 speaking truth January 2, 2009 at 4:03 pm

    Thanks for the sentiment CiCi, and Happy New Year.

    You’re really not helping my street credibility by mentioning my reasonable and thoughtful side, however 😆

  13. 14 Rosebud January 2, 2009 at 5:46 pm

    speaking truth

    Thank you for replying so promptly! I know I have to go through a process of ridding my mind of the false teaching.

    God Almighty worked in my life at the time to expose me to several things at once, and when the truth was revealed, I had a revealation of how much He loves me and will go through extraordinary lengths to show me His unconditional love. Once you have a revealation, you can’t ignore it. I tried to once before and wasn’t pretty!

    I just join this church about 2yrs ago, under the false pretense of getting married. My male friend talked me into going to this church so we could find one to attend together, eventhough my girl friend had been inviting me to this church for over 5yrs. The short story was that he turned out to be still married, unemployed, and a sheep in wolves clothing. He played the ‘christian role’ so well he had everybody fooled at church. I dumped him and still attended the church, shocking people when they asked where he was, and I told them the truth.

    My God used my flesh, my lust to show me that all christian men are not in fact christian. A friend of the family told me that I only gave God my flesh to work with so He used my weakness, in turn, it made me strong.

    Eventually, I started to see the pastor and church for what it was, and was torn in my spirit about attending. I do miss the healing hands floor shows, but I have learned that once I am in agreement with Gods word, I can heal myself, which I have.

    So, as I move forward into the new year, I gracefully await my next opportunity to grow in Christ.
    Keep your the good works, RB

  14. 15 Brad January 3, 2009 at 11:20 am

    IMPORTANT CHECK OUT http://westernstandard.blogs.com/shotgun/2009/01/todd-bentley-inc.html TODD BENTLEY INC.

    Wait until Revenue Canada gets wind of the following

    Having sat in his audience while Mr. Bentley talked up the blessing of giving to his work, I suspect that he would still receive what he calls “Pentecostal handshakes”, and still have people sticking money into his pockets as he talks, to get the particular blessing from God that he is speaking about at that moment. I saw this happen. He could get donations without having to issue receipts. So, perhaps he might prefer not having to answer to tax authorities at all.

  15. 16 John January 3, 2009 at 8:56 pm

    SPEAKING TRUTH…

    Your Blog has been an inspiration and a light in a world that is rapidly drifting away from the truth. People only want the truth if it fits into their perception of truth; If they even accept that there is any truth at all. These days, any Blog (such as yours) that regularly exposes those distorting the truth, is often regarded as offensive. Consider that a compliment 🙂

    To the Jews who had believed him, Jesus said, “If you hold to my teaching, you are really my disciples. Then you will know the truth, and the truth will set you free.” ~ John 8:31-32

    Only through the truth of the Word is life found. Only through the Gospel of Jesus Christ can the Way be found. May 2009 find more followers of Christ standing for, speaking for and living for the truth.

    “I am the way, the truth and the life. No one comes to the Father except through me.” ~John 14:6

    What a sad thing it is when those who claim to be Christians avoid the truth by surrounding themselves with man-made psycho-babble, how to experiences, culturally-relevant programs and feel-good books & seminars. The truth remains the same regardless of what the ‘needs’ of the ‘seeker’ are. Your Blog is a reminder to us all that the real source of truth, direction and engouragement in life remains in the Bible. Period.

    For the time will come when men will not put up with sound doctrine. Instead, to suit their own desires, they will gather around them a great number of teachers to say what their itching ears want to hear. They will turn their ears away from the truth and turn aside to myths. But you, keep your head in all situations, endure hardship, do the work of an evangelist, discharge all the duties of your ministry. ~ 2 Timothy 4:3-5

    Keep speaking the truth!!

    ~ktf~
    John

  16. 17 hiscrivener January 4, 2009 at 3:08 am

    ST,

    Anyone that spends an iota of time in here can tell you are clearly brought here to the blogosphere with a purpose, and a passion. I know a multitude of pastors that could learn a thing or two from your sage counsel in here.

    Someday when I grow up, I’ll be like you on this Internet.com thingy, but until then, you keep writing and I’ll keep admiring.

    Peace,
    HiScrivener

  17. 18 C. A. Blackmon January 6, 2009 at 5:11 pm

    I praise God, Brother, for your faithfulness in speaking up for the true gospel of Jesus Christ, speaking against the prosperity nonsense that tries to pass itself off as the truth, and speaking about the wolves in sheep’s clothing who are nothing more than pulpit pimps. I’ve learned a lot from your blog this year and it has truly been a blessing to communicate with like-minded saints. I’m looking forward to this year’s round of contending for the faith, if the Lord tarries.

  18. 19 speaking truth January 6, 2009 at 10:07 pm

    Thanks for the kind words, and your presence and comments on this blog C.A.. I can appreciate the depth that you bring to our discussions, but I also fell out of my chair laughing at your comment in the Barb King article.

    Priceless.


Comments are currently closed.



AddThis Feed Button Add to Technorati Favorites
twitter

Get Daily Email Updates:

Sign up for email updates and get the latest articles in your email inbox!

People Looking For Truth:

  • 1,091,528 ...and counting

RSS John MacArthur Sermons

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS John Piper Sermons

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS RC Sproul Sermons

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS The White Horse Inn

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Categories

Archived Articles…


