A Pimp And A President

I was content with just letting the 2008 fade away and continue preparing a few articles to finish the year out right. My plan seemed to be working until I got an email from Eddie Long:

eddie-and-obama-party

Eddie Long is an opportunistic snake-oil salesman who seeks to cast himself as relevant as “a voice of God for the nations” (as he declares from his “pulpit” regularly).  As our brother Independent Conservative eloquently noted a few weeks ago, Eddie has decided that he needed to pimp the new president – in addition to the lemmings who line his pockets weekly – by creating a hybrid “worship service/inaugural viewing party”. Eddie has lined up to the trough for Bill Clinton and GW Bush in the past (famously declaring that he went to Bush’s White House but “didn’t have intercourse”, and bragging about how he “deals with the White House…I deal with Tony Blair…”), so it would stand to reason that he’d try to climb into bed (figuratively) with “No Drama” Obama.

Like the many subway hucksters selling t-shirts, buttons, and magazine covers, Eddie is employing his EXCELLENT marketing strategies to host an “inaugural party” on January 20th – thus the “ticket” you see above.

That’s right, I said “EXCELLENT marketing strategies” because Eddie is a masterful marketer. He has created a brand with his church Club New Birth, so much so that he uses the “goofy trident”symbol as opposed to a representation of the Cross of Christ. Before I fled Eddie’s club in search of my dignity and self respect, I heard him say on many occasions that he wanted “the New Birth brand to be as famous as McDonald’s Golden Arches”. Not to be content with just creating a brand, Eddie even had expensive jewelry designed to replicate the “goofy trident” symbol, and he wears it faithfully. He also has the jewelry replicated so that he can present baubles to various “ministry sons”  as a sign of allegiance…like a thug rapper presents gold chains to his crew.

Eddie is such an excellent marketer that he has created a revenue stream from licensing the “goofy trident’s” likeness to various “ministry sons”. Back in 2004, Eddie charged $10,000 a year to “sons” like Terrell Murphy of New Birth Charlotte and Andre Landers of New Birth South (as seen in this archived site from 2002) so that they too could market the “goofy trident’s” likeness for their New Birth satellite churches. Landers grew tired of paying the annual licensing fee (now well over $10,000 a year), so he broke away from Eddie’s marketing machine to start his own marketing empire (Landers is still Long’s dutiful son, however – he’s just happier pimping his own congregation instead of kicking money up to the Alpha pimp).

Eddie Long is such a masterful marketer. He figured that in addition to launching his own homegrown “ministry sons” from the “mothership” to wreak havoc on unsuspecting sheep, he could establish the “New Birth Family of Churches” in order to collect even more money from lemmings all across the land – so he convinced at least two pastors to turn their churches over to him:

New Birth California

Since the early days of New Birth Church in 1997, our goal has been to reach out to the Bay Area with the love of God and the good news of His Son, Jesus Christ. Early in 2004, this vision stepped into high gear as we became part of the 25,000+ member strong New Birth Family of Churches under Bishop Eddie Long

New Birth Greenville (SC)

July 1, 2006, after much prayer Pastor Getties and Elder Anita Jackson met with the United Christian Ministries Church family to make the announcement official. We will officially become New Birth Greenville January 1, 2007

Eddie decided that he also needed to step up his “television game”, so he appeared on two Atlanta-based reality shows within the last two months: “The Real Housewives of Atlanta” (a show detailing the excessive lifestyles of wealthy black “housewives” in Atlanta) and “Keyshia Coles: The Way It Is” (a reality show follwing R&B singer Keyshia Cole and here dysfunctional family). On the “Housewives” show, Eddie thinks that he’s marketable enough to be auctioned off (along with his wife) for a lunch date in order to help one of the vapid housewives raise money for her “charity”. On the “Keyshia Coles…” show, Eddie is chosen to counsel Coles’ mess of a sister (in front of the cameras, off course – what a shock!). Yup, that Eddie Long is a doggone marketing genius!

You almost have to (grudgingly) give Eddie Long his due – he is a masterful marketer who rakes in millions of dollars in personal income annually. I say “almost” because you must remember that Eddie Long props himself up to be a minister of the Gospel – which means that he is a degenerate pimp who uses God to attract and abuse spiritually immature “Christians”, all the while extracting cash and property from their possession with surgical precision.

So for Pimp Eddie the Masterful Marketer, there is hardly a better way to attach yourself to the newest marketing superstar – Barack Obama. If you notice the “ticket” above, Eddie’s “goofy trident” symbol is overlayed right on top of Obama’s “hope/change” symbol” – and Pimp Eddie is pictured essentially sitting on Obama’s back. If that doesn’t scream “I’M WITH OBAMA!”, then I don’t know what does. Lets forget the fact the Obama’s personal beliefs (abortion, homosexual unions and “rights”, the irrelevancy of scripture) are enough to make a TRUE minister not even want to be photographed with him.

But we must remember – Eddie Long is NOT a minister of the Gospel of Jesus Christ, he’s a balding slick-haired, tight shirt wearing, “watch this” spouting marketing genius…so there is no compromise to speak of.

When you look at the facts, Eddie and Obama have a lot in common:

Too bad the Apostle Paul wasn’t as savvy a marketer like Eddie Long. If he would’ve just co-opted his ministry with the rulers of his day, he wouldn’t have had to live off handouts from the early Christians who desired to know God’s truth. Instead of roaming town to town proclaiming the TRUE GOSPEL, Paul should have marketed himself better, and avoided this testimony:

2 Corinthians 11:24-27 (New American Standard Bible)

24 Five times I received from the Jews thirty-nine lashes.

25 Three times I was beaten with rods, once I was stoned, three times I was shipwrecked, a night and a day I have spent in the deep.

26 I have been on frequent journeys, in dangers from rivers, dangers from robbers, dangers from my countrymen, dangers from the Gentiles, dangers in the city, dangers in the wilderness, dangers on the sea, dangers among false brethren;

27 I have been in labor and hardship, through many sleepless nights, in hunger and thirst, often without food, in cold and exposure.

Such a waste.

But hey – Eddie Long is WAAAYYY smarter than the early Apostles. He has this whole “we’re here to take over” dominionism/alignment with the “kings of this world” thing all figured out.

Yup, old Eddie Long is a masterful marketer :roll:

41 Responses to “A Pimp And A President”


  1. 1 escapeetoo December 30, 2008 at 10:43 pm

    ST,

    I am shocked, yet again I am not. This type of Hustle and Flow is familiar. Man I feel sorry for the folks who are going to pay $25-$35 for Eddie to tickle their fancy and get them hype. You know an offering will be collected.

    I’d like to see how far the WoF Pimps will get with the upcoming administration. The President elect is very gun shy as it relates to controversial preachers.

    What really ticks me off is how Long and his sons dogged the Democrats 4 years ago for their liberal views on homosexuality. Yet now they are willing to throw parties for them. Shame.

  2. 2 speaking truth December 30, 2008 at 11:19 pm

    Escapeetoo,

    I’m shocked that you still have delicate sensibilities after your time on Long and Landers’ plantations :lol:

    The President elect is very gun shy as it relates to controversial preachers

    HA! Tell that to Rick Warren :lol:

    Warren is about as theologically deep as rainwater collecting in a sidewalk crack, yet he’s catching hell right now for daring to agree with scripture in regards to homosexuality.

  3. 3 gcmwatch December 31, 2008 at 1:01 am

    From NBC or CBNC:

    As a result of this divine merger and the leadership of Pastor Smith, New Birth grew to over 800 members. In July of 2008, in another divine appointment, New Birth completed the unification of its ministries with those of Changed Life Church in Pittsburg and its Spanish Church of 150 members, now called New Birth Latino. With this synergistic move, another 700 members were added for a combined multicultural church of 1500 members.

    Gee, so thats how you get your church to grow real fast!

    IST, CNB should be renamed Greater Eddie Long Temple. I mean, really its all about him.

    • 4 speaking truth December 31, 2008 at 10:48 pm

      CNB should be renamed Greater Eddie Long Temple. I mean, really its all about him

      :lol:

      Nah, he’ll crown himself as an “apostle” before he names the building after himself. That very well may happen in 2009…

  4. 5 CiCi December 31, 2008 at 7:25 am

    ST,

    I was just enjoying my morning cup of coffee, checking my email, looking forward to a lovely day, and then I come across this….. :-(

    This is just too disgusting for words. You know that I’m a great supporter of the president-elect. But, unfortunately, I think i detest Long even more. I am so offended that he would try to hijack a political movement that so many people worked hard and sacrificed for and truly believe in (regardless of what you or I think of the movement, etc..) for his own personal enrichment. This man has no shame.

    Did you notice how he put HIS picture in the foreground of that poster? I have seen many Inauguaral Ball Invitations/Posters, and guess what? Most of them don’t have anyone’s picture on them and if they do, it’s the president-elect not the host of the event!! Did he strike that “deep thinker” pose just for this latest “campaign” of his? Does he really think that this is about him?

    This is so disgraceful on so many levels I can’t even begin to expound on them all…..

    This is really making me sick…..

    • 6 speaking truth December 31, 2008 at 10:46 pm

      I have to wait until after my morning coffee before I read some of this stuff CiCi – I’m tired of cleaning my monitor after spitting out my coffee in utter surprise :lol:

  5. 7 Pastor Jim December 31, 2008 at 8:53 am

    Skilled Marketer. Great insight and description ST. Enjoying my coffee too and not quite as sick as CiCi, but maybe I don’t have the context and actual experience in the pews for years.

    I guess my reaction – to most of your posts about the WoF groupies – is grief. And moaning too. I’m glad you all are angry. And I’m my heart is encouraged as I visit your site because I see that God IS at work to will and to do what is right.

    By the way, I spent a little time at Impact 2008 this weekend and THAT encouraged me in a big way. May God bless the faithful men and women who humbly teaching and obeying His Word of grace through Jesus Christ alone.

    Praying to stay humble in our righteous indignation!

  6. 8 gcmwatch December 31, 2008 at 9:42 am

    Pastor Jim I was at IMPACT too. Exhilarating!
    I presented on Monday morning and afternoon. I was very encouraged by the young people’s thirst for God’s word.

    I remember in my session there was a mention of Paula White and a lot of them let out an audible groan at the mention of that name. I was pleased that the young people are seeing through these charlatans.

  7. 9 Jeanie Franklin December 31, 2008 at 1:15 pm

    ST,
    I have been laying low for a awile and I have been reading your posts. I am not surprised at what Club New Birth is doing. Did Eddie Long start out as what he is doing now? If not,what changed him? How sad for him and the people under him. They are truly blind. Just celebrating my 56th birthday on the 27th of December and what a gift I received,my in laws and my sister and her son,who I have been praying for.They came from Houston to San Antonio and surprised me God is truly working in my sister and her son’s life! To God be the glory! God has blessed me to see another day and enjoy my grandson,who people think is my son( yeah,I don’t look my age ) Smile. Another blessing. My husband and I are like teenagers since the kids have left! To God be the glory!!!!! Have a blessed New Year all!Lord willing!

    In the Love of Christ,
    Jeanie Franklin

  8. 11 N' Catina December 31, 2008 at 2:36 pm

    I took the time to read this post & the responses, and looked at portions of videos for Eddie Long and the one titled “Frankie And Keyshia Cole’s Foster Mother Fight For Affection” listed in the link for DimeWars.com. There are many comparisons I can make between Keyshia Cole and Eddie Long, but one specifically I find is one for attention via marketing. Both use slick ads to promote themselves and they both use people shamelessly for their own selfish ends.

    For Eddie Long to even have a PASSING ASSOCIATION with such garbage spilled forth from BET is shameful. Anyone living above rocks for the last two decades knows what type of mysogynistic and classless programming the station has. For this supposed “Man of God” to appear on there, as though to help a family that does not want to get out of their situation, is beyond hideous. Just as Keyshia has dragged cameras back and forward through her “life” for over a year exposing her family, woefully lacking class, for ratings. Long has parallel activities to shamefully rip his congregants of THEIR funds WEEKLY and more often, all while the cameras are rolling!!

    Essentially, two specific scriptures come to mind for these two: Luke 16:8 “And the lord commended the unjust steward, because he had done wisely: for the children of this world are in their generation wiser than the children of light.” & 2 Peter 2 – 4 “…And through covetousness shall they with feigned words make merchandise of you: whose judgment now of a long time lingereth not, and their damnation slumbereth not…” Both parties understand their methods of operation in using and having access to top marketers to promote themselves at the detriment of those being used that simply do not know any better. The difference is that Keyshia Cole is using her family to this end (she can’t sing worth a ….) and Eddie Long is using the church to accomplish his means. There is absolutely NO CONCERN for the people they use as their personal steppings stones, stripping them of their dignity and self-respect, all for a few minutes of attention and a pat on the head. The continual media exposure to have the world shower you with affection is not worth an eternity in hell.

    Let’s keep in mind 2 Peter 2:4 that reads “For if God spared not the angels that sinned, but cast them down to hell, and delivered them into chains of darkness, to be reserved unto judgment;” This is where Eddie Long and others are headed to hell until the time to be cast in the lake of fire providing everyone repents of their sinful activities. Lord, help us all!

  9. 13 lavrai December 31, 2008 at 6:07 pm

    Hello, ST.

    Beautiful headline – “A Pimp And A President.” Just as good as your “Pimps: The Gathering” one. I can’t wait for the next installment of this tragic trilogy (assuming it’s a three-parter). :)

    GOD Bless you, Brother.

  10. 15 Kyle December 31, 2008 at 10:04 pm

    ST said, “Warren…………., yet he’s catching hell right now for daring to “agree with scripture in regards to homosexuality”. (Paraphrase)

    Not so! I sent this link to Pastor Foster first at GCMWatch and I hope he runs with it regarding Rick Warrens flip flop over the whole Homosexuality and the Inaugural address. Click the link below.

    http://www.huffingtonpost.com/melissa-etheridge/the-choice-is-ours-now_b_152947.html

    Kyle

    • 16 speaking truth December 31, 2008 at 10:39 pm

      Very astute observation Kyle (and where have you been, BTW?). Ricky Warren is indeed a flip-flopper, and I was far too gracious in calling him a defender of the Gospel in relation to homosexuality. This just goes to show how far left Obama is if it takes the likes of Ricky Warren to look like a defender of the Gospel :roll:

  11. 17 Kyle January 1, 2009 at 12:40 am

    I’ve been away from the blog-o-sphere lately as I have been sitting back watching the world financial markets collapse. However, after a 2 month hiatus I’ll be back posting now.

    Kyle

  12. 18 Melvin Jones January 1, 2009 at 11:35 am

    Outstanding post. You have given Fast Eddie the…uh…exposure he so richly deserves. And it’s always good to give the ex-sheeple the information they need to aid in the rescue of people caught in the sheeple net.

    It’s good to see that more and more bloggers and blog readers are starting to pay attention to the antics and abuses of the the pimps and pimpettes.

    Melvin Jones

  13. 19 make money January 1, 2009 at 12:23 pm

    reading your blog daily its great . i keep on coming back all the time

  14. 20 Jeanie Franklin January 1, 2009 at 1:24 pm

    ST,
    Grace and peace be multiplied to you! Thank you for your encouragement and I encourage you to keep your eyes on Him Who is able to keep you from falling. Yes, I realize that God loves me so much that He gave His only begotten Son for me. When I TRULY realized what that means,it humbles me to fall on my face and cry out for His mercy! My humlest desire is to please Him and I truly want to be obedient to His will in everything.I surrender all of me and everything that concerns
    me,life,family,goals,desires,emotions,will,my heart,just ALL of me and MORE of Him.I am His slave and that’s all that matters. I just want others to see Him in me and not me. He has me in a place right now where He has taken everything that I thought i wanted: status( namely in church,because I was a part of the music ministry;asst minister of music,a job teaching,could buy anything i wanted apart from my husband. In other words,my pride stumbled me big time and I am as humbled as can be, i love submitting as to the Lord to my husband and He has given me a love for my husband,i am just humbled to the core and He is still working with me on that and I want Him to. I was humiliated but He took us from an abusive church and when i look at it now,He loved me then and He loves me now! It was because of His grace and mercy! Know what ST? I have forgiven them and moved ahead. I pray for them now with fervency and for others,i am a student of the Word,I attend a great Bible Study which teaches verse by verse and it’s apologetics. Would not have done this had i stayed in that church. To God be the glory! It’s all Him and not me!
    Happy New Year to you and your Family!

    In Christ’s Love,
    Jeanie Franklin

  15. 21 escapeetoo January 1, 2009 at 9:05 pm

    ST,

    Gu shy as in Rev Wright et al. The sad thing about all of this is that folk are going to this mess and PAY for it. But Long is the ultimate hustler!

  16. 22 Bro Peter January 2, 2009 at 3:49 pm

    I am more shocked that Barack agreed to this that is the sad part. I already knew and know how sad the Long story is but for Barack to go on their is just terrible.

    Is it sad to say that I am not even shocked by the pulpit pimps anymore thats how sad it is, you can already guess what they will talk about anytime they are on tv, POWER and the victory we have I heard one say that Because of Jesus death that mean’s we are supposed to just inherit money because he broke the lines of poverty. People think that is the turth now.

    If only more people understood what Jesus reallly did for us through his death.

    I look forward to reading more of your blogs this 2009 season

    God Bless YA

  17. 23 speaking truth January 2, 2009 at 4:02 pm

    Thanks for the sentiment Bro. Peter. I would venture to say that Obama doesn’t even know that this event is taking place. Eddie probably got permission from an Obama low-level flunky to use the images, but I doubt Obama has any clue as to the existence of this event…

  18. 24 Cop January 2, 2009 at 11:36 pm

    After looking at the advertisment I have to ask a question, Is Eddie Long the PRESIDENT and Obama the vice president?

    Like Escapeetoo wrote. Even after charging admission you know they’ll still take up an offer or 2(or more)

  19. 25 Ly Syin January 3, 2009 at 5:43 pm

    A friend referred me to this blog because I posted something about New Birth on my face book profile and I have talked about New Birth in my blogs. I don’t know if what is being said about Bishop Eddie Long in the is blog is true or not. I believe that yes he is a great marketer. I have heard that he has some issues with sound doctrine, but I am not an expert in that area. I can tell you that when I was homeless and went to New Birth they ministered to the homeless. I can tell that I joined New Birth while I was in Atlanta. I can tell that people from New Birth helped in all kinds of ways while I was homeless.

  20. 26 speaking truth January 3, 2009 at 8:33 pm

    Ly Syin,

    The things that I (and others) post about Eddie Long are true – we have no reason to “sling mud” or tell lies about a man who lies regularly. Eddie Long has MAJOR issues with preaching sound doctrine because he is incapable of doing so. He demands the tithe and says that God will curse you if you don’t give, he is soft on condemning homosexuality, and reguarly butchers God’s Word (you can type “Eddie Long” in the search box in the upper right hand corner of this blog for more articles on him, or visit Independent Conservative and search his blog archives – both of us attended New Birth for over 5 years).

    You mentioned how NB helped you while you were homeless. This is not uncommon – there are good people at Club New Birth, and Eddie Long has done good things in the past as well (most notably for attention as opposed to blessing others in secret so that God would reward Him). God can and does use anyone to bless those in need, so you were in the right place at the right time to be blessed by God. That said, it doesn’t excuse the fact that Eddie Long is a false bishop and a false teacher.

  21. 27 Kyle January 3, 2009 at 8:33 pm

    Ly Syin,

    No one will ever dispute what you have said about your situation and the reception and help you received from New Birth. However, we need to look at other religions as well to clarify. Do not the Muslims help their fellow man? So are we to imply that Islam is equally valid to Christianity? No God Forbid! The idea of help and sound doctrine is mutually exclusive. YES! it is a blessing by God that you were helped during this time of need, however apostasy is still apostasy. Never assume earthly love and kindness is equal to sound doctrine. An atheist could have easily helped you out just as much.

    The facts are clear that the Prosperity and health and wealth gospel are heretical. Although you were indeed helped, this was by God and God alone and in no way was attributed towards Eddie Long’s heretical teachings. In fact lets look at the flip side of this heresy. Did you know that Christians in China are getting arrested for merely being Christian? Do you know that many of them are considered enemies of the state and their punishment is death by having their organs harvested and sold on the black market? Or what are we to say of the Christian Sudanese who are being slaughtered by Muslims? Have either of these CHRISTIANS received a financial or physical blessing? No! not at all. Should we then imply that their lack of faith caused this? No! God Forbid!

    Ly Syin, God’s common grace is extended to all mankind it totality but NOT in equality. Let me expound. The very fact that ANY single person alive today should even have the ability to take another breath is an example of God’s common Grace. We are fallen people steeped in sin from our birth as the Bible describes. That being said, God being a jut God did not have to save anyone of us and could have rightly destroyed all of us a long time ago. However, by God’s Sovereign Grace some of us were saved into eternal life and saved from the righteous punishment God could have inflicted upon us all. However, God showing his Sovereign Grace to some has saved us into eternal life with him.

    Therefore, the idea of material blessings and salvation is mutually exclusive and in no way is implied or taught throughout the Bible. The poorest of poor who were never saved will wind up in hell just like the wealthy degenerate unsaved Hollywood types.

    The fact is that Eddie Long is teaching heresy. He like everyone else on TBN is an apostate. God saves whom he wills just as God blesses whom he will.

    Kyle

  22. 29 Job January 4, 2009 at 4:00 pm

    Wow. Eddie Long on “Keyshia Cole” and “Real Housewives of Atlanta”? Well, it is no surprise. Church is now a full – fledged part of the entertainment business. There really is no line between the church and the world anymore. So the very idea of bringing the world into the church no longer exists, let alone trying to go out into the world to represent Jesus Christ and get someone saved. With the latter in particular, it is perfectly fine to be a Christian in a totally corrupt environment and act as they do because the fact that the unsaved people around you are on their way to the lake of fire never crosses your mind. You have a sort of mental assent to it, but it really doesn’t affect your thinking, which means that it doesn’t affect your behavior. I have not been exposed to Keysia Cole or Real Housewives, but I will imagine that the last thing that Eddie Long or anyone else who professes to be Christian on that show tells them is that “if you don’t accept Jesus Christ as your Savior AND Lord you will go to the lake of fire” is ever stated. As a matter of fact, I wonder how often Long even says such a thing from his pulpit.

  23. 30 speaking truth January 4, 2009 at 7:51 pm

    …but I will imagine that the last thing that Eddie Long or anyone else who professes to be Christian on that show tells them is that “if you don’t accept Jesus Christ as your Savior AND Lord you will go to the lake of fire” is ever stated. As a matter of fact, I wonder how often Long even says such a thing from his pulpit.

    Excellent point Job – I wonder if he still even talks about salvation at all (at least he did that in the past).

  24. 31 Growing in Grace January 5, 2009 at 1:01 pm

    Excellent post!

  25. 32 SearchingforTruth January 5, 2009 at 10:26 pm

    Thank you for continuing to expose the wolves!

  26. 33 Mercedes January 13, 2009 at 10:04 pm

    Lay no charge to God’s elect.

  27. 34 speaking truth January 14, 2009 at 1:36 pm

    OK Merecedes – you’re going to have to do better than that comment.

    Are you implying that I’m “touching God’s anointed” by calling out Eddie Long for being the degenerate and desperate pulpit pimp that he is, or are you implying that I am comitting the ultimate sin by “charging” Barack “new jesus” Obama as he is the new King of the World?

    You’ve got to do better than that weak attempt at a drive-by comment… :roll:

  28. 35 hiscrivener January 15, 2009 at 6:53 am

    OH MAN! This was hilarious! Absolutely ri-dork-ulous!

    You know, I never understood his “goofy trident” symbol anyway. I mean, who the heck does he read in the Bible he is? Neptune? What, does he equate preaching with the Clash of the Titans.

    I suppose with all the nappy weaves in his audience, we could find Medusa somewhere in there warming a pew.

  29. 36 jay January 23, 2009 at 2:39 am

    I read all the posted about Bishop Long and some maybe true but many are far fetched. For example saying that he does not preach against homosexuality is not true, The church sponsered a march a couple years back in protest. Also his undergrad degree is in business so that would explain the marketing tactics which seem to be pretty successful. As far as refering to him as a pimp that’s a little disrespectful. Some question some of doctrine he preaches but that’s where your ability to read and study for yourself and pray to God for understanding comes in to play. I refuse to believe that everything he teaches is wrong. I’m guessing most of you are followers of Christ? if that’s the case then we should be praying for Bishop Long, not blogging about him.

    • 37 speaking truth January 23, 2009 at 9:18 am

      For example saying that he does not preach against homosexuality is not true, The church sponsered a march a couple years back in protest.

      The march through downtown Atlanta eas several years ago, jay – Eddie’s meeting with Soulforce (the homosexual organization) was this past summer…several years after the march. Eddie has clearly altered his views since then. And since you assert that I and others are just blogging hate towards Eddie instead of calling him to repentance, he was approached face to face (attempted) and by letter – and he refused to even address the matter.

      Also his undergrad degree is in business so that would explain the marketing tactics which seem to be pretty successful.

      You’re correct, jay, Eddie’s marketing tactics are successful at marketing himself as a “voice for God for such a time as this. His efforts as a minister of the true Gospel of Jesus Christ? Not so successful, and let’s remember that ministry is supposed to be his calling, not perpetuating his wicked “if you don’t pay God then you won’t get fed” and replicating himself in pimp “spiritual sons”

      As far as refering to him as a pimp that’s a little disrespectful.

      Oh really? How about taking money from people by claiming that they are cursed if they don’t give…or intentionally and continually twisting the Word of God even when confronted about it (face to face) time after time – is that disrespectful? If you take a moment to study the nature, tactics, and lifestyle of a pimp, jay, you’ll find that Eddie not only fits the title but he’s helped redefine it even more!

      Some question some of doctrine he preaches but that’s where your ability to read and study for yourself and pray to God for understanding comes in to play. I refuse to believe that everything he teaches is wrong.

      You’re correct jay, people should study the Word themselves and pray to God for understanding – that’s the sole purpose of this blog. Your refusal to believe that everything that Eddie teaches is wrong frankly puzzles me. Eddie long built Club New Birth on the foundation of the heretical Word of Faith and Prosperity Gospel – and he preaches it weekly without fail. I admonish anyone who sits under this pimp to flee his wicked assembly because his leaven negates any “good sermon” he could ever give at this time (until he repents and removes the leaven).

      I’m guessing most of you are followers of Christ? if that’s the case then we should be praying for Bishop Long, not blogging about him.

      We are praying, jay. We’re praying that (1) Eddie Long fall on his face in repentance to the Lord Jesus Christ and that he return to the Lord – he wasn’t always like this, but he’s changed over the past 15 years, and (2) people avoid him and his twisted theology until he repents and returns to the Lord.

      jay, I hope you see that this is about more than just Pimp Eddie Long, it’s about all of the wolves and false teachers out their deceiving God’s people – and it’s a call for people to wake up and flee the pimp and return to God.

  30. 38 Latonia March 16, 2009 at 4:12 pm

    If you don’t give your tithes and offerings, you are robbing God and your finances WILL be cursed. That’s not a lie – it’s TRUTH!

    If Bishop Longs ministry is not of God’s, God will bring down. You are not called for this purpose. Be very careful whom you put your mouth on.

    Even while Saul was attempting to take David’s life because of his jealousies, David had enough sense to know that He was God’s anointed and said…Touch not God’s anointed and do His prophet no harm.

    Be Careful.

    • 39 speaking truth March 16, 2009 at 4:36 pm

      Latonia,

      It literally grieves me to learn that people like you are still repeating the often incorrect/flawed exegesis of those who either (A) don’t know the Word and butcher it out of ignorance or (B) know the Word and intentionally butcher it for personal gain.

      Let me be completely clear: YOU WILL NOT BE CURSED FOR NOT “TITHING”. Are you a Levitical priest? Are you an original Israelite who still lives under the Old Covenanat? Do you deny that Jesus brought us a better covenant (the New Covenant) when He died and rose again?

      If you answered “no” to any of those questions – then you are NOT under the Law. Giving is biblical and mandated throughout scripture – but the tithe is a lie that most continue to use to guilt you into giving. And although you didn’t mention this, first fruit and love offering are also scams created to fleece the sheep. If you simply studied for yourself as opposed to submitting to your “spiritual parents” (as you call them on your webpage), then you would see the Truth in black and white for yourself.

      And your misunderstanding of the often misquoted “touch not mine anointed” defense is more evidence that you need to read the Word (in context and in full) for yourself. I have been called to expose the vile hirelings and pretenders to warn the sheep. I am acting in accordance with Jude 1:3 (in fact, read the entire book of Jude for context) and Ephesians 5:11.

      If you want to succinctly debate sound scripture, then you’re welcome back. If you want to hysterically repeat misquoted phrases of those you idolize in “ministry”, then keep it moving.

  31. 40 Random June 29, 2009 at 9:38 am

    I just stumbled by and noticed that the symbol in the picture is actually a pitchfork, the symbol that represents a certain street gang in the US. Do you think that was intentional?

    • 41 speaking truth June 30, 2009 at 5:14 pm

      I can understand how New Birth’s symbol resembles the pitchfork symbol of the Black Ganster Disciples here in the U.S., Random, but it is their version of a stylized “cross”.


Comments are currently closed.



AddThis Feed Button Add to Technorati Favorites
twitter

Get Daily Email Updates:

Sign up for email updates and get the latest articles in your email inbox!

People Looking For Truth:

  • 864,131 ...and counting

RSS John Piper Sermons

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Categories

Archived Articles…


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 82 other followers

