REAL Apostles Don’t “Retire”

***hat tip to regular reader CiCi for the link to this story***

The REAL APOSTLES died on the mission field:

2 Timothy 4:6-8 (New American Standard Bible)

6 For I am already being (A)poured out as a drink offering, and the time of (B)my departure has come.

7 (C)I have fought the good fight, I have finished (D)the course, I have kept (E)the faith;

8 in the future there (F)is laid up for me (G)the crown of righteousness, which the Lord, the righteous Judge, will award to me on (H)that day; and not only to me, but also to (I)all who have loved His (J)appearing.

The FAKE ONES just fly their golden parachutes into “Emeritus” status and hand the reigns over to their Pimp Heir Apparents:

fred-price-son3 

FREDERICK K. C. PRICE ANNOUNCES SEMI-RETIREMENT: Founder of Crenshaw Christian Center gives leadership to his son

Pastor Dr. Frederick K.C Price, founder of the Crenshaw Christian Center (CCC) passed the baton to his son, Pastor Frederick Price Jr., recently during the church’s 35th anniversary celebration. Pastor Price, Jr. will be installed as pastor of the 22,000 member mega-church on Sunday, March 15, 2009, his 30th birthday. 

Fred will start his public ministry at the same age Jesus did. That is prophetic,” said the Elder Dr. Price who will be 77 next year. “I will still be around as your Apostle and working with the board of directors, but it’s time for Pastor Price, Jr. to get into the driver’s seat. I will still mentor him.”   

Since when did “Apostles” need a “Board of Directors”? What is so “prophetic” about Lil’ Freddy stepping into his dad’s fuzzy fedora and fur trench coat at the same age that Jesus started His public ministry – does this mean that Lil’ Freddy is going to preach the TRUE GOSPEL OF JESUS, or that same “blab it and grab it” crap that his dad has been spouting for the past 30+ years?

I’ve already written at length about how much error surrounds “Apostle” Fred. Still, I had hoped that the sheep in his congregation would flee that heresy and sit under sound biblical teaching. Instead, Lil’ Freddy is going to add to his “success” as a “hip-hop youth pastor” and take his dad’s heresy into the stratosphere:

“Becoming Pastor of Crenshaw Christian Center is an honor of high esteem,” said Pastor Price, Jr. “To follow in the footsteps of my father, the Apostle of Faith, is a privilege and a challenge I look forward to taking on.”

I will still uphold the same high standards of teaching and excellence my father brought to the pulpit” said Pastor Price Jr.

Oh brother.

Is Lil’ Freddy going to try to become an “Apostle” too – or will he settle for just being the Senior Pastor Pimp? Come on, CCC’ers – if you never thought about running away before, you might want to start packing a bag now…

 

22 Responses to “<b>REAL</b> Apostles Don’t <i>“Retire”</i>…”


  1. 1 Pastor Jim December 4, 2008 at 6:38 pm

    I’ve never understood why a church should get passed on to a son? Does the church belong to them?

  2. 2 N' Catina December 4, 2008 at 7:36 pm

    What I have become personally tired of is all of the unnecessary grand-standing, self-aggranziding behavior of those such as Price (ironic name) exhibit. In the midst of one of the worst economic crises of our time, this is not the time to flaunt opulence, especially on another person’s dime.

    As far as your question, Pastor Jim, concerning having church leadership passed to the son, specifically for CCC, this is done as a means of carrying forward a family legacy. Price, Sr. founded this church, and with all of his children and their spouses having significant roles in CCC, it seemed fitting to keep it all in the family by passing it onto Price, Jr.. That process, of course, has no biblical basis, but given the apostate practices and doctrine of Fred Price, Sr., his regard for scriptural authority would be fleeting, at best.

  3. 3 Preach Preacher Preach December 5, 2008 at 7:36 am

    Pastor Jim it is all about the dollar. If you look around at the other pimps I mean preacher they are doing the same. Those that don’t the club I mean church goes to someone else.

  4. 4 gcmwatch December 5, 2008 at 3:40 pm

    Hey in all fairness, passing on an inheritance to one’s son is biblical. Start with God and his Son. Even OT wicked rulers passed on their rule (and property) to wicked sons and sometimes righteous kings passed on rulership to the wicked sons and vice versa.

    We are even told that we will (as sons of God) inherit the kingdom of God given our spiritual state is what it should be. 1 Cor 6:9-11 That may not be the most accurate scripture, but you can deduce.

    I dont think this should be the core concern (passing on) should lie, but whether Fred Jr will uphold righteousness and not carry on the false teachings of his father. Even though his father’s false teachings may have gotten all of what he inherits, I would not be quick to blame FPjr for it. Ezekiel 18

    Perhaps (and it remains to be seen clearly) he will change the direction of CCC.

    “I will still uphold the same high standards of teaching and excellence my father brought to the pulpit”

    I know…that statement is complicating my flow, here. lol

    If so I hope it doesnt come to that Schuller and son situation.

    Does anyone have any youtube of FPjr? Then we could perhaps evaluate him on his own merits.

    Sound fair?

  5. 5 speaking truth December 5, 2008 at 10:36 pm

    I dont think this should be the core concern (passing on) should lie, but whether Fred Jr will uphold righteousness and not carry on the false teachings of his father.

    I hear your overall point, gcmwatch – and Lil’ Fred isn’t (necassarily) responsible for his father’s crap BUT Lil’ Fred has publicly declared his intention to CONTINUE in his father’s foundational crap (or heresy, if you prefer), so one could only hope that he changes his mind. I too am searching for Lil’ Fred preaching – although I have seen him on TBN preaching the same heresy from the stage at CCC…

  6. 6 CiCi December 6, 2008 at 3:02 am

    GCM and ST;

    I beg to differ a bit with you both a little bit on this one. I think that this idea of “passing on” a ministry is very disturbing. Can it really be compared to property or other assets? Is a ministry calling and appoinment to be passed on and inherited simply because of genetics? Or is it something where God himself does the calling and appointing?

    And then there are the biblical qualifications for ministry that have to be considered as well. I wonder how effective someone with a limited (and some might venture to say sheltered) life experience will be capable of pastoring people from all walks of life. Even if the thrust of the preaching is the WOF doctrine, how much real validity will it have coming from someone who has virtually had everything handed to him? Does the word “novice” come to mind? How much “faith” did that take?

    This is a pattern in many of these ministries where the church is handled as a business and an employer of only resort for the leadership’s (especially the pastor’s) family. I’ve seen it too many times to mention and again, I find it extremely offensive and troubling.

  7. 7 speaking truth December 6, 2008 at 7:22 am

    CiCi,

    I hate to disappoint you but you and I actually agree 😆

    I see gcmwatch’s overall point, but I deduce that Lil’ Freddy is prone to pimpdom because of his fathers influence, and I’m sure Freddy’s money (or should I say the congregants money that Fred greased from their hands)</em) benefitted Lil’ Freddy in some way as well.

    You’re right – these days, church is just another business that is passed down through the family.

  8. 8 gcmwatch December 6, 2008 at 4:27 pm

    Yeah, I agree CiCi in the context you are presenting your objection. My comments were in response as to whether “passing on” is biblical. It is whether righteous or unrighteous. We may not like it, but its there and fairly clear.

    If this were a righteous man and his son met the qualifications of ministry, then succession is indeed in order.

    You brought up issues of immaturity and ST mentioned (in this case) FPjr prone to continue FPsr rather cultish teaching. You both are right. Im sure in FPsr eyes, he is right and the appointment of his son is to ensure that “rightness” (and the money flow he-he) are maintained to his specs. Of course, there’s a wrong way and a right way.

  9. 9 CiCi December 7, 2008 at 9:41 am

    ST,

    I apologize in the delay in getting back to you, but I’ve just recovered from the shock of reading that we actually agree :-). That was almost as shocking as the Jamal Bryant and Zane story…. 🙂 ….just kidding.

    And I have heard Fred Jr., teach and from what I’ve heard he’s pretty much just a younger version of his father.

    GCM,

    I totally agree with you that “passing on” an inheritance bothe spiritual and financial is biblical. However, I suppose that I never considered public ministry as an inheritance to be indiscriminately passed on with no regard to spiritual principles and the will of God. Please give me the biblical references that you base your thoughts on.

    I’m not sure about the “succession” issue even if his son met the biblical qualifications of ministry. What about the will and calling of God in this instance? I’m sure that there are plenty of people that met the biblical qualifications of ministry but were never even considered for the position (as is the case in most of our independent charasmatic/penecostal churches.

    Thanks for the discussion….

    • 10 speaking truth December 7, 2008 at 10:19 am

      I’ve just recovered from the shock of reading that we actually agree :-). That was almost as shocking as the Jamal Bryant and Zane story..just kidding

      😆

      CiCi – maybe people need to know just how hard you poke at me in our email dialogue…

  10. 11 Donald H December 7, 2008 at 2:17 pm

    Man ain’t no shock that Freddy Kruger is going to mentor his son, fall back and let Junior continue this nightmare on Crenshaw. He will keep the game going and the same old front will be maintained, and the flock will be fleeced, and the people won’t be any more discerning today than they were when Fred first got started.

  11. 12 gcmwatch December 7, 2008 at 10:01 pm

    “However, I suppose that I never considered public ministry as an inheritance to be indiscriminately passed on with no regard to spiritual principles and the will of God.”

    CiCi,Neither do I and that’s not what is advocated in scripture as right. I dont think this is necessarily a pentecostal/charismatic issue. Being qualified biblically is the same as following spiritual principles and being in the will of God.

    The call to ministry can be seen as both an “inheritance” and a personal issue.

    I would argue that my children have a call to ministry, and that I as their pastor and father should cultivate that under the Spirit’s guidance. As a matter of fact, I should be the first to see the call of God in their lives whether it be pastoral or otherwise and train them up to serve God in righteousness.

    Examples:
    (a)David ,through war, brought his kingdom to the peak of power. He passed that on to Solomon. Solomon was chosen by God for special favor because of David’s relationship with God.
    (b)Paul told Timothy his gifts were passed on to him and evoked the influence of his mother and grandmother. 2 Tim 1:5,6
    (c)Philip the evangelist fathered 4 daughters who were all gifted prophets in the early church.

    These arent cases of nepotism nor haphazard coincidence but an authentic spiritual inheritance passed on to sons and daughters by the will of God.

    I hope Ive explained it a little better this time.

  12. 13 CiCi December 8, 2008 at 8:03 pm

    ST,

    I have absolutely no idea what you’re talking about.
    Me? Poke at you? Perish the thought! 🙂

    GCM,

    Thanks for the clarification. I think that we basically agree here. The key here is that it is God’s choosing and not ours as to the destiny/ministry of our children. Your scriptural examples are well taken.

    Unfortunately, what I have seen these past 20+ years is a lot of pastor’s and leader’s children being “called” by the pastors and leaders themselves, and not by God. Many times this is done out of simple nepotism, but sometimes it is out of a misdirected zeal to have their (our) children serve the Lord while not realizing that our children can serve God in many ways outside of a formally recognized ministry office.

    Ultimately, our children must choose to serve the Lord for themselves and discover the various things that He’s called them to do. We must love, lead, guide, teach, train, and motivate them as scripture and the Spirit of God directs us. And then we must trust God to do the rest and direct their paths as they grow into adulthood.

    Thanks again for the discussion.

  13. 14 eucatastrophe December 9, 2008 at 6:31 pm

    Another item that has not been noted is not only how young Fred Jr is (Who else this young do you know that has had a megachurch put in their lap at 30 without having to build it themselves … other than Joel Osteen), but that he has known nothing but but wealth and privilege. Brought up in the church’s ministry and influence, no education outside of the Word-Faith circle, no ministry experience outside CCC, probably can’t remember a time when his dad didn’t fly around in a private jet and own a Bentley. Meanwhile multiple older, more experienced pastors on staff are passed over for this position. Does anyone smell a disaster waiting to happen?

  14. 15 CiCi December 10, 2008 at 10:55 am

    Eucatastrophe,

    I agree with you totally and briefly referenced those concerns in an earlier comment that I made:

    “I wonder how effective someone with a limited (and some might venture to say sheltered) life experience will be capable of pastoring people from all walks of life. Even if the thrust of the preaching is the WOF doctrine, how much real validity will it have coming from someone who has virtually had everything handed to him? Does the word “novice” come to mind? How much “faith” did that take?”

    Disaster, travesty, mockery….a lot of words come to mind when thinking of this situation.

  15. 16 eucatastrophe December 10, 2008 at 11:05 pm

    CiCi,
    Yeah, I noticed your observation after I posted *sheepishly*. I just watched the apostle-making ceremony–found it online–one of the weirdest things I’ve seen in a while. There were robes and collars like an episcopal convention, catholic-styled shepherd staffs, swords like you’d find at a dungeons and dragons convention and music straight out of some white-bread “first baptist” church.

  16. 17 hiscrivener December 11, 2008 at 4:03 am

    Intelligence is sorely underrated in the Church today, and this conversation is proof that there is still a place for it.

    Just because a pastor has a kid doesn’t mean said kiddo has the same propensity to preach and proclaim they way his (or her) old man did.

    Ask Joel Osteen and see a clip of his daddy and you’ll see what I mean. Not to be crass, but anointing is not given through sperm. It’s touched upon man by God, and him alone.

    I don’t know who is more arrogant, misled and fooled: the progenitor who believes his tutelage is just that amazing it drips on his kids like honey (Price), or the progeny who is convinced school, education and common sense can take a hike because if “Dad can do it, so can I.”

    I agree with you, brother. If CCC folk aren’t packing now, I would hailing a cab as soon as Lil’ Pimp takes the floor and strolls round and round like Daddy.

  17. 18 Pastor Jim December 12, 2008 at 1:54 am

    Wow. Thanks for the frank and insightful discussion. It is still very troubling but better understood on my end.

    Btw, ST, GCM, CiCi and all, I love reading y’all’s comments. (Yes that is a double contraction and perfectly acceptable Southern English.)

  18. 19 ROCK March 21, 2009 at 3:02 pm

    After reading the posted article it is very clear that most not all but most fail to study the scripture. This is ridiculous to say the least, an apostles role in the church as a whole is to venture out and establish more churches all over the world. It is impossible to do that while pastoring a 22,000 member congregation. It is also very obvious that the roles of the two positions are very different. I have a task for the person who started this blog: find an apostle in scripture that was pastoring a church while fulfilling his obligations as a apostle. I don’t believe you’ll find one. We as believer’s must come off of our high horses and stop tearing down our own and start supporting in every way we can. God see’s everything and these actions you have taken to tear down another does not fit into the commandment Jesus gave us to Love. Let’s stop letting the enemy use us as a tool to divide the body. Let’s follow these two men as they follow Christ or until they’re lifestyle say’s otherwise.

    • 20 speaking truth March 23, 2009 at 2:00 pm

      ROCK,

      I agree – most people do fail to study scripture, particularly those who follow Fred Price, or deem him credible in any context apart from hustling and pimping.

      Let me be clear: FRED PRICE IS NOT AN APOSTLE – HE’S A FALSE PROPHET WHO LIES FOR MONEY. I won’t retype previous material, so see this article that details the the apostolic office was a foundational office and non-applicable today (except for pulpit pimps who use the title to take even more money from the sheep).

      Fred Price and his son don’t follow Jesus The Christ, they follow another gospel – and I will have no part in supporting him. If you read your bible (as you allude to), then you’d be more concerned about defending and contending for the faith as opposed to running cover for a degenerate pimp and his heir apparent.

  19. 21 ROCK March 24, 2009 at 1:48 pm

    Speaking Truth,

    First of all let’s get one thing straight I’m not defending anyone. As a brother in the faith it is our job to help others, it is also our duty to walk in LOVE and to LOVE our brother as we LOVE ourselves that’s one. The bible says There’s only one judge and He is in heaven. and it also says judge not for with the same measure you use it will be measure unto you. I love everyone be cause I was commanded too by My Lord Jesus the anointed one. And even if all these things you’re saying have any truth to it. It’s still not your job to judge. As a brother it is my job to bring to your attention because I love you because we are one in Him who created us for a much more bigger purpose. I say let God be the judge we all know the enemy the devil accuses us daily before the Father but he’s using us to do it because of our right standing which gives us access daily before the throne of righteousness. So with that being said I will stand up for you as well if someone was coming at you in way that’s not in line with walking in love.

    • 22 speaking truth March 24, 2009 at 3:01 pm

      ROCK,

      Although you use your personal email address, it appears as though your IP address (as well as your computer server) comes from Fred Price’s church club. Since you, Fred, or his staff have an interest in what’s being said here, I will succinctly address your reply and then I’ll be finished discussing Fred Price and his heretical babbling.

      First of all let’s get one thing straight I’m not defending anyone.

      Your initial statement that “we must stop tearing down our own” sounds like a defense of Fred Price to me, if I’m wrong then I’m wrong. That said, Fred Price is NOT one of “my” own because he doesn’t preach the Gospel of my Savior – Fred preaches the prosperity lie, and he twists the Word of God into an unrecognizable mess in the process.

      As a brother in the faith it is our job to help others, it is also our duty to walk in LOVE and to LOVE our brother as we LOVE ourselves that’s one. The bible says There’s only one judge and He is in heaven. and it also says judge not for with the same measure you use it will be measure unto you.

      It is the job of every believer to share the Gospel message to a dying world, and to defend and contend for the faith (Jude 1:2-4). Part of doing so is to expose those who pretend to be brothers of the faith (Jude 1:12-13) as the charlatans that they are, and to warn the sheep to stay far away from them.

      So many miscontrue God’s love as a “blanket pass” to accept any and all kinds of behavior from anyone else. If you properly exegete 1 John , you’ll see that (1) God is Light and there is no darkness in Him (1 John 1:5); (2) God is Righteous (1 John 3:7); and (3) then, God is Love (1 John 4:8). Further, 1 John 4:9-10 demonstrates God’s love for us – that He sent His only Begotten Son to satisfy our sin debt. So when properly exegeted, we see that God if first and foremost Light, then Righteous – removing all doubt of His Sovereignty…making His love apparent. When we see the extent of His love in sacrificing His Son for us, our response is to contend for the very Gospel that liberated us from sin – and to expose His enemies all the more.

      Regarding accusations that I am judging Fred, you are correct – God is the Ultimate Judge, but He has called us to judge as well, specifically:

      1 Corinthians 6:2-3
      Proverbs 3:21
      John 7:24
      Jeremiah 22:3
      Philippians 1:7
      Philippians 1:10
      – and so on…

      I repent of my sins before the Lord daily, and I understand that I am a filthy rag apart from the righteousnous of Jesus Christ. Matthew 7 has been so improperly exegeted that folks think you can’t call wrong wrong and a lie a lie. If I were a scripture twisting pimp who erroneously taught people that they were “little gods” and can command wealth, then I could be called a hyprocrite for calling out another scripture-twisting pimp like Fred Price. Jon MacArthur succinctly exegetes Matthew 7, if you care to listen (I know, he’s not as exciting as Fred, but he speaks the truth).

      And even if all these things you’re saying have any truth to it. It’s still not your job to judge.

      Even if what I say is true? I have no personal agenda here, ROCK – I don’t get paid to blog, I sell no advertisement, I don’t get a commission on every sheep that flees false doctrine. I am simply adhering to God’s call on my life in exposing the unfruitful works of darkness. I speak the truth according to the Word of God, nothing more. Do I have my own opinions about vipers like Fred and his ilk? Absolutely, but the Word of God (unaltered, unfiltered, unmitigated) is THE ONLY standard by which I measure my words and the information on this blog.

      I say let God be the judge we all know the enemy the devil accuses us daily before the Father but he’s using us to do it because of our right standing which gives us access daily before the throne of righteousness.

      God will ultimately judge Fred’s soul, along with mine, yours, and everyone else’s – that DOES NOT stop me or others from warning the sheep about Fred’s heresies in this life. God will also judge criminals, murderers, and everyone else should we ignore their crimes and tear down jails because “they’ll get theirs in the end”? Of course not, so why should the sheep continue to be victimized by Fred’s lies now?

      So with that being said I will stand up for you as well if someone was coming at you in way that’s not in line with walking in love

      I don’t need your defense, ROCK – I can take the heat because I can dish it out as well. I’d rather you stand up for the Word of God when it’s trampled under the feet of people like Fred Price. The bottom line is this: no bible reading believer can listen to Fred’s crap and surmise that he is speaking the Gospel of Jesus Christ.

      Period.

      With that, I’m done.


Comments are currently closed.



AddThis Feed Button Add to Technorati Favorites
twitter

Get Daily Email Updates:

Sign up for email updates and get the latest articles in your email inbox!

People Looking For Truth:

  • 1,091,577 ...and counting

RSS John MacArthur Sermons

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS John Piper Sermons

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS RC Sproul Sermons

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS The White Horse Inn

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Categories

Archived Articles…


