“You Did Not Choose Me, But I Chose You…”

Many people say things like “when I stopped running from God” or “I gave my life to God” – and in reality, they are speaking in error. The bible is full of evidence (from the mouth of God) that we didn’t choose Him, rather He preordained our relationship with Him (John 15:15-17; Ephesians 1:5; Ephesians 1:11; Romans 9:15-16, and many more).  

Here’s a great video from Mark Kielar at Cross TV (found on Lane Chaplin’s youtube page) with a fundamental explanation of predestination in God’s plan of salvation:

Believer, You’re Saved Because God Chose You First Not Because You Chose Him First

I believe that our “free will” is actually God’s Divine Sovereignty…

14 Responses to ““You Did Not Choose Me, But I Chose You…””


  1. 1 Independent Conservative October 2, 2008 at 5:43 pm

    Good post brother.

    I always find it interesting when people claim they “opened their heart to Jesus”. As if they of some tiny little bit of living good within themselves decided to open a door that was 100% wicked and dead. No dead man opens his own dead door. “Free will” is what we’re saved from! The will of our flesh to do evil continually. Left to free will, we’re reprobates always turning against God. It’s only because God grants His grace to the elect that any are saved.

    And regarding the “opening of the heart”, Acts 16:14 lets us know clearly without any debate or doubt who opens the heart.

  2. 2 speaking truth October 2, 2008 at 9:22 pm

    It is interesting IC, isn’t it? We are sin-sick and dead apart from Christ – how can we make a rational decision toeven hear the Gospel were it not for God’s sovereign will?

    Our brother Keith over at the blog “In Submission to Sovereignty” wrote a great article on free will some tima ago.

  3. 3 GaryV October 3, 2008 at 12:56 am

    Truuuuuuuuuth!!

  4. 4 Kyle October 3, 2008 at 1:19 am

    Hey Guys,

    I know all too well God’s Sovereign Grace. I was saved in my car while I was driving. No Church, No prayer line, no baptismal. My salvation was mutually exclusive from ANYTHING I could have done. Only the divine God could interject himself at that moment in time and change a dead man into a one that is alive in Christ.

    I’m sure many of us were Arminian in the past. I for one was. When I fully embraced monergism it was the second most profound thing to happen in my spiritual walk next to actual salvation. In fact I would like your opinions on this. It was not until this year that I “fully” accepted monergism. I was in the process if you will. I was a “four pointer” if you know what I mean. However, when I fully embraced the Sovereignty of God the clarity of EVERYTHING came to fruition. I was floored. Everything made sense. Since then my walk with the Lord has changed dramatically. All of my short comings made sense. My sin nature was fully exposed for what it was. In fact let me say that it was this very thing of fully embracing monergism that broke the yolk of many sinful desires that pertained to me. For the longest time I was on a plateau if you will. However, since the time of my acceptance of monergism my spiritual growth has been exponential. And you want to know why? Because even if you have a modicum of doubt about God’s Sovereignty and think YOU have something to do with it then your flesh will always blind you and mislead you. That IS the essence of the flesh. Once you fully submit to God then it is no longer your flesh attempting to dictate but God’s Sovereignty.

    Kyle

  5. 5 speaking truth October 3, 2008 at 10:55 am

    Kyle,

    I was wrapped up in the WOF “name it and claim it, we’re all little gods” cult most of my adult life, so I didn’t realize my error until recently. I was taught that I controlled God, and I was directly responsible for God’s will in my life. I was even told by shameful pulpit pimp “Dr.” I.V. Hilliard that God’s will “is not automatic” – that I had to activate God’s will in my life.

    The idea of God’s unfettered sovereignty scares most WOF’ers, Arminians, and others – simply because it confirms their total lack of control over their own fate. The deceptive nature of our sinful flesh is at work in the these folks, and it is only God’s will that they ever come into His full truth.

    I’m working on a post about monergism to further explain the concept to the unlearned (of which I was one until recently).

  6. 6 Brian Foulks October 3, 2008 at 11:52 am

    It is amazing how far our man centered thoughts will take us. We, in all of our arrogance believe that God’s decision is based on us.

    I have been talking with this pastor who agrees with God’s sovereignty but goes as far as to say that it is universal. He asserts that God will save everybody. Rather they want it or not he will ultimately purify everyone through the lake of fire and bring them spotless before God. It is a strange thing he has going on in his church. So we see that that bad doctrine is surfacing all over the place.

  7. 7 speaking truth October 3, 2008 at 11:58 am

    Brian,

    By “this pastor” – do you mean Carlton Pearson? 😆

    Sorry brother – couldn’t pass it up…

  8. 8 Brian Foulks October 3, 2008 at 12:01 pm

    You know I laughed when he first sent me the email myself.

    Unfortunately, it wasn’t but this dude is serious about what he is teaching. I do not think that he is out to begule the people but he think that he is write. I have been talking with him for about a week and no change whatsoever.

  9. 9 Kyle October 3, 2008 at 2:08 pm

    Brian,

    The main problem with this heresy of Universalism is that it makes God unjust. To even fathom the idea that an unrepentant sinner would be saved is absolute blasphemy. Why? Simple! Let’s look at scripture.

    Luke 16:24

    And he cried and said, Father Abraham, have mercy on me, and send Lazarus, that he may dip the tip of his finger in water, and cool my tongue; for I am tormented in this flame.

    Notice that the unrepentant sinner NEVER WANTS SALVATION. THIS IS VERY VERY IMPORTANT. The Arminian STILL thinks that man can choose salvation. Not even the torment of Hell can make one change their mind. This Luke 16:24 is quite profound and often overlooked for it’s other significance pertaining to Free Will VS Sovereign Grace. In fact look at what the rich man wants. He wants his physical needs tended to. He calls out for man (Abraham) for his salvation. And calls out to man (Lazarus) for his physical comfort. NOWHERE does this man repent. NOWHERE! The Arminian fails to understand the depths of the depravation of mankind. This verse firmly implies that man has NO desire for repentance EVEN in the midst of hell.

    Kyle

  10. 10 Douglas K. Adu-Boahen October 3, 2008 at 2:24 pm

    ST,

    The Bible teaching of election and the sovereignty of God is not comfortable to man. Man wants to be in charge, man wants the glory and God will never share that glory with anyone!

    To be honest, I long for God to brush away this nonsense from his Church and for us to get back to what the words of the page say…

  11. 11 Pastor Jim October 4, 2008 at 10:48 pm

    Some great stuff here. I’ll have to say this, Arminianism is alive and well in the broad evangelical church too. It’s not only in WOF, it is the predominate error and false gospel.

  12. 12 Job October 8, 2008 at 2:27 pm

    A most wretched book on John Calvin written by Alister McGrath that I had the displeasure of reading (he claimed that Calvin would have supported the theory of evolution!) made much of the fact that Calvin did not emphasize double predestination in Institutes of the Christian Faith, and that the people that came after Calvin were wrong for making something that Calvin did not speak much on a litmus test for being an adherent to Reformed theology. McGrath in his muddled confusion did not even recognize that the reason why Calvin didn’t write much about predestination and election was that he presumed it to be obviously true. Calvin wasn’t writing to convince Roman Catholic Pelagians, or addressing future Arminians that did not even exist yet, but was rather assuming that the reader already agreed with Augustinian soteriology (and if they didn’t and was only reading his book out of curiosity or to find something to criticize, it wasn’t going to convince them anyway). I mean, do mathematicians write 20 page dissertations trying to prove that 1 + 1 is 2? (I suppose that some do, but not the good ones.)

    To think that a doctrine that was invented by a fellow who refused to leave the Roman Catholic Church and had a bunch of other confused ideas (as one of my links to your other posts states, Arminius was not the creator of Arminianism, but rather the person chosen to advance their views because they knew the problems of having their views associated with a Roman Catholic) has now become by far the dominant position of Protestantism. For that we have to thank John Wesley, for whom we honestly also have to indirectly thank for Pentecostalism (for the Asuza Street people like Charles Parham and William Seymour were actually Methodists).

  13. 13 speaking truth October 9, 2008 at 2:14 pm

    Job,

    Thanks for adding your usual insight – I didn’t know that Arminianism ( or shoould I say synergism) didn’t really begin with Arminius. Isn’t it like the wicked RCC to have their tentacles in on this as well?

    Either way – thanks be to God through Jesus Christ that His truth is made evident to His elect!


  1. 1 “You gave your life to God? WRONG! You Did Not Choose God, But God Chose You…” John 15:16 « Jesus Christology Trackback on October 8, 2008 at 2:32 pm
Comments are currently closed.



AddThis Feed Button Add to Technorati Favorites
twitter

Get Daily Email Updates:

Sign up for email updates and get the latest articles in your email inbox!

People Looking For Truth:

  • 1,087,522 ...and counting

RSS John MacArthur Sermons

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS John Piper Sermons

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS RC Sproul Sermons

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS The White Horse Inn

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Categories

Archived Articles…


