How Would You Like To See Him At Your Doorstep?

And by him, I mean Prince – the famous (or infamous) entertainer.

Prince goes door to door for Jehovah’s Witnesses. The famously shy musician takes his beliefs on the road

Prince, who said in a 2001 interview that he’s become a Jehovah’s Witness, takes his new faith seriously. So discovered a woman named Rochelle, who told the Minneapolis-St.Paul Star Tribune that her husband answered a knock on the door to their Eden Prairie, Minn., home last Sunday to find the purple pop star proselytizing. He introduced himself by his full name, Prince Nelson, and came inside, accompanied by his bassist, former Sly and the Family Stone member Larry Graham, Rochelle told the paper.

”My first thought is ‘Cool, cool, cool. He wants to use my house for a set. I’m glad! Demolish the whole thing! Start over!’ Then they start in on this Jehovah’s Witnesses stuff,” Rochelle recalled. ”I said, ‘You know what? You’ve walked into a Jewish household, and this is not something I’m interested in.’ He says, Can I just finish? Then the other guy, Larry Graham, gets out his little Bible and starts reading scriptures about being Jewish and the land of Israel.”

I know, I know – “at least the guy found the Lord”, right? But – which “lord” did he find? Certainly not the Lord of the Bible.

The Jehovah Witness “faith” is actually the Watchtower Cult. Here’s a quick snapshot of some of their misguided beliefs:

  • Jesus was God’s “first creation” – not fully God and man
  • Jesus was not made a king in heaven, rather he became a “king” in 1914
  • God is not Triune (since Jesus is not God), and the Holy Spirit is “God’s active force”
  • Salvation through works and not faith in Christ alone
  • The belief that 144,000 are going to heaven to mediate on behalf of the world
  • And much more…

Of course, the bible is full of admonition about refuting false doctrine, and there are excellent resources out there on how to understand and refute the Watchtower Cult with the Word of God. There are also great videos out there that expose the truth about this cult (Jehovah Witnesses, Part 1 and Part 2)

Pray that Prince comes to his right mind (as the Lord wills) and flees this cult for the True and Living God of the Bible.

In accordance with 1 John 1:10-11, I won’t entertain comments from apologist of the Watchtower Cult…move along, please.

14 Responses to “How Would You Like To See <em>Him</em> At Your Doorstep?”


  1. 1 lavrai September 26, 2008 at 10:01 pm

    Hi, there.

    Don’t forget what I think is the most curious belief of this cult — they preach that there is no hell.

    I used to enjoy reading their literature (mostly for the pretty illustrations when I was a kid). An old neighbor of mine was also Jehovah Witness and I used to borrow her books. So, as I got older, although I believed in the Christian faith, I would still accept a pamphlet from the folks hanging out on the block.

    One day, I was so shocked to come across in one article about death being the end of it all — essentially. The article was saying that there is no hell and that once you die, you just die — your consciousness goes and you’re basically just missing out living in paradise, eating fresh fruit and reclining about with lions (that’s pretty much what all the colorful illustrations portrayed).

    I immediately started on a letter to the publisher questioning how they could preach that hell isn’t a literal figurative place of suffering and punishment when the Holy Bible says plainly in many places that hell is indeed a real place — not a figurative darkness or a psychological lake of fire.

    If you say there is no hell — no permanent separation from our CREATOR GOD ALMIGHTY — and that I’ll truly just rest in peace when I die, why would I even want to listen to anything else you have to say?

    These people don’t make any sense. No wonder they attract types like Michael Jackson and Prince — you can do what you want and you just may get into heaven… or you’ll just rest in peace when you die. GOD forgive me for being presumptive, but do we see any evidence of these two pop artists living a clean life? You can’t see GOD if you don’t live a holy and sanctified life before HIM.

    Isn’t that one of the greatest lies the Devil likes to promote — That hell isn’t real?

  2. 2 lavrai September 26, 2008 at 10:02 pm

    And that’s a crazy photo of Prince, by the way.

  3. 3 Brother K September 27, 2008 at 2:16 am

    Oh, I don’t know; I think it depends on your perspective. Listening to a couple minutes worth of blather about “only 144,000 saved” and this week’s “End Times” date* seems like a small price to pay for a chance at some war stories from Prince & Larry Graham. That’s like, a combined 70 years of backstage debauchery right there, man!

    “Say, Larry…was Sly EVER sober?”

    “And uh, Prince is it? Purple Rain I dug, but Under the Cherry Moon…what was up with that?”

    Heck, I might even buy a Watchtower & invite ’em BACK to hear those tales told.

    *Look it up; one of the greatest embarrassments the JWs have is the fact that they were, at one time at least, an End-Times cult with several specific dates for THE BIG EVENT. As of this writing, all remain “unfulfilled” (and good luck getting a JW to talk about it when they wake you up tomorrow!)

  4. 4 Keith Tolbert September 27, 2008 at 12:39 pm

    Oh man, say it’s not true!!! Not Larry Graham too!! He has been my bass hero since the 70’s. I thought he was a believer. He always used to have Scripture references on his liner notes and album covers (Graham Central Station) and they weren’t from the New World Translation either. I bet the little fella Prince corrupted him! Oh well, there’s no denying that LG plays the h#$l out of the bass guitar (plenty of his stuff on YouTube BTW), I’ll be praying that he dumps the JW’s and is found by the true Jesus Christ. Yeah, yeah Prince too.

  5. 5 GaryV September 27, 2008 at 1:46 pm

    Maybe his next name will be “Prince Of The Power Of The Air(heads)”??

  6. 6 speaking truth September 27, 2008 at 9:09 pm

    Brian, Keith, Brother K,

    Isn’t it hilarious that Larry Graham is shilling for the JW’s? I thought the same thing as you guys – I would’ve immediately starting asking questions about the “good old days”. I always wanted to know what really happend to Wendy & Lisa 😆

  7. 7 gcmwatch September 27, 2008 at 9:49 pm

    Hey Prince,if youre reading this are in the Atlanta area spreading the gospel of the Watchtower, I would love to have a “talk” with you. Just email IST and he’ll forward the email to me. I NEVER turn Jehovah’s Witnesses away from my door whether young, old, famous or not.
    Well… except once when I was eating pancakes. 🙂

  8. 8 Kyle September 27, 2008 at 9:57 pm

    Depends? If he breaks out in, “Wanna be your lover” or “When doves cry” that would kind of cool to tell the guys at work.

    Guys! You wouldn’t beleive who showed up at my door step. Prince did and he started singing and…………………………..

    Kyle

  9. 9 Keith Tolbert September 28, 2008 at 4:42 pm

    Speaking truth,

    I met Denise Matthews (Vanity) a couple of years ago while on a layover in Alexandria, LA. She is evangelist Denise Matthews theses days and I’m glad she has been saved. However, I must say I couldn’t help remebering the poster of her/Vanity I had in my bachelor pad back in the day. God is good!

  10. 10 speaking truth September 28, 2008 at 4:50 pm

    I remember that poster too, Keith – and it hung in my room as well (I’m a bit younger than you 🙂 )

    God is indeed good 😀

  11. 11 James September 29, 2008 at 2:47 am

    LOL!!!! Ya’ll get back on point and off Vanity!!! LOL…I mean Denise Matthews. LOL!!!

    I have to admit, I’d let Prince in and let him read the Watchtower and play the guitar solo from “Let’s Go Crazy.” Then after all that was done, I’d pull out my handy “Religious Cults Handbook” and go to the chapter on JWs and tell him a few things concerning the Organization.

    It’s so funny. I had a “discussion” with a JW about 2 months ago @ the gym and all he kept referring to was “The Organization,” and not once did he reference back to Jesus Christ. Then when he saw that I knew a bit more than he expected, he backed off and left me alone.

    Prince, come to Atlanta!!! Sang and play that guitar for us….LOL

  12. 12 speaking truth September 29, 2008 at 12:43 pm

    I have to admit, I’d let Prince in and let him read the Watchtower and play the guitar solo from “Let’s Go Crazy.” Then after all that was done, I’d pull out my handy “Religious Cults Handbook” and go to the chapter on JWs and tell him a few things concerning the Organization.

    😆

    James – I’m ashamed to admit it but all weekend I’ve been thinking of songs that I’d want Prince to play if he showed up at my doorstep (oh, and I was praying for him too). The JW’s don’t come to my door anymore – they just pass on by when they hit the neighborhood – I guess they’re tired of my barking dog, my sermons on the doorstep, and the eye rolling from Mrs. Speaking Truth and the kids 😀

    Anyway, the JW’s are in need of prayer, but the Lords will be done.

    Oh, and I almost forgot – I’d also ask Prince to play a riff from “Anotherlovaholeinyohead”. It was a song from a weak movie (“Under The Cherry Moon”), but it was a cool album…

    Lord have mercy on all of us…

  13. 13 prayrwarrior October 8, 2008 at 3:14 pm

    I would still probably freak out to see Prince at my door! He still is one of my favorite artists, but I would quickly be disappointed in his proselytizing as a JW. I would be polite and hear him out, but then I would sit him down and give him the WORD of GOD, just like I did one of those Mormons that came to my door that had the nerve to tell me that JESUS and the devil were blood brothers! I’ve known several JW’s and their belief allows them to do all manner of secular, worldly things, which is why Prince can still perform all his Purple Rain music and feel no remorse. I pray that he meets someone like me at the next door he knocks on.

  14. 14 speaking truth October 9, 2008 at 2:10 pm

    prayrwarrior

    We should thank God that we know (and are learning) enough about Him in order to defend His Word. Imagine those who fall into the devil’s snare when they hear the garbage that the Mormons, JW’s, Roman Catholics, and other cultists manipulate to deceive.

    I tell folks all the time – if you can’t defend the Gosple then don’t open your door at all…there’s less harm done that way.


Comments are currently closed.



AddThis Feed Button Add to Technorati Favorites
twitter

Get Daily Email Updates:

Sign up for email updates and get the latest articles in your email inbox!

People Looking For Truth:

  • 1,082,689 ...and counting

RSS John MacArthur Sermons

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS John Piper Sermons

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS RC Sproul Sermons

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS The White Horse Inn

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Categories

Archived Articles…


