Well, Look Who’s Bowing To The Pope!

***hat tip to Jesus Christology & Independent Conservative***

My personal beliefs regarding the apostate Roman Catholic Church are pretty well documented. This, however, is an illustration of the many denominational leaders who lined up to bow before the apostate Joseph Ratzinger (i.e. “the holy father, Pope Benedict) when he visited the U.S. earlier this Spring (I know it’s late, but better late than never).

Take a minute (actually 6 minutes) to view this video to see if your “leader” was in line also:

“The One World Ecumenical Religion Is Here!”

Ok, so let’s do a roll call, shall we?

  • National Baptist Convention
  • Evangelical Lutheran Church
  • United Methodist Church
  • Reformed Church in America
  • Presbyterian Church
  • The Pentecostal Church
  • The Lutheran Church
  • Council of Churches – City of New York (Rev. A.R. Bernard)
  • “Elder” Bernice King (New Birth Missionary Baptist Church)
  • The Episcopal Church

===>To find out if your denominational leader bowed to the antichrist pope, click here for links to their websites<===

I guess TD Jakes and Eddie Long were busy bowing to the homosexual lobby during the pope’s U.S. visit, otherwise you’d see them slobbering all over his ring as well.

I know that these denominations have a loose “reporting structure”, so if you belong to any of these denominations chances are that your local minister, district “elder” or “bishop may oppose the apostate RCC.

That doesn’t change the fact that the antichrist pope is on video receiving a bow from someone who claims to lead you.

My goodness…wearing robes and assuming titles like the apostate RCC, receiving the “holy father” like Jesus Himself…

What’s next, confessionals in every church in America? Penances and purgatory? Patron saints of “first fruit” and “speaking in tongues”?

Yet more illustrative evidence that our only hope can be found in God through Jesus Christ ALONE – not men in robes who appear to be Christ-like and tie you to their inane church traditions.

Have mercy, Lord…

Oh, and remember you Cult of Mary/RCC apologists – 2 John 1:10-11 – move along, nothing to see here.

31 Responses to “Well, Look Who’s Bowing To The Pope!”


  1. 1 Pastor Jim September 5, 2008 at 9:26 pm

    ST,
    I have to ask you to be more precise with your church history and current denominations than the person who provided the captions on this broadcast. Accuracy matters when you are making accusations.

    # Reformed Church in America
    # Presbyterian Church
    # The Pentecostal Church
    # The Lutheran Church

    These are too vague to describe the representatives at that ecumenical prayer breakfast.

    There are at least 7-8 distinctly different Reformed/Pres churches and 4 Pentecostal denoms that I can name off the top of my head that do not associate with liberal leaning, ecumenically-minded denoms listed.

    Also, within several of these denominations specifically and correctly identified, there are hundreds, maybe thousands of orthodox pastors who are fighting the drift toward ecumenicism (i.e. UMC).

    A blogger recently challenged pastors to take a pastors quiz about such matters… 😎

  2. 2 speaking truth September 5, 2008 at 9:39 pm

    Pastor Jim

    I know for a fact (and agree with you) that the rank and file (and most leadership) in mainline denominational churches across the USA are fighting against the ecumenical surge and the vanity of aligning with the RCC.

    Thus my statement:

    …so if you belong to any of these denominations chances are that your local minister, district “elder” or “bishop may oppose the apostate RCC

    .

    The fact remains that the opposition must grow even louder and more visible because it is scenes like the ones above that give the impression that EVERYBODY is lining up behind the pope.

  3. 3 Douglas K. Adu-Boahen September 5, 2008 at 10:38 pm

    The ecumenical movement is a cancer which threatens the spiritual health of the church. It is almost as those they are saying the Reformation was a mistake and we must return to Mother Church…

  4. 4 Lavrai September 5, 2008 at 11:35 pm

    You’d think any Bible-believing Christian would run upon hearing of a man calling himself ‘the holy father.’ … We have only ONE FATHER… and HE is in heaven.

    I remember watching all the public events during his visit… and I just can’t figure it out. People lose their mind… our president gets giddy and practically turns over his soul (for lack of a better word) to the demon-possessed man (he looks like it anyway).

    What is it, ST? Why do they all line up and bow and kiss the ring of this very human MAN? Shouldn’t vicars/pastors be some of the humblest people in the world?

  5. 5 Lavrai September 5, 2008 at 11:50 pm

    OK, ST. I just read this… which pretty much explains the absence of rational, seemingly independent thought among those rushing to bow to the pope.

    Rev.17:12 “The ten horns which you saw are ten kings who have received no kingdom as yet, but they receive authority for one hour as kings with the beast. 13 These are of one mind, and they will give their power and authority to the beast. 14 These will make war with the Lamb, and the Lamb will overcome them, for He is Lord of lords and King of kings; and those who are with Him are called, chosen, and faithful.”

    So our same so-called religious leaders will be some of the first to line up behind the beast and won’t hesitate to turn on true believers… even to kill us on behalf of the beast.

  6. 6 gcmwatch September 6, 2008 at 10:26 am

    IST wouldnt this be a case of apostates of a feather flocking together?

    Ecumenicalism is demonic and a sure forerunner of THE one world church.

    Wow, what a strange and chilling sight to see this. I would like to know specifically what Pentecostal this was.

  7. 7 Keb September 6, 2008 at 10:37 am

    yeah, and think of all the people in the congregations that will follow their leaders, that follow the beast for the lack of knowledge of knowing God for themselves.

  8. 8 Pastor Jim September 6, 2008 at 11:24 am

    ST
    I should be more clear.

    You were exactly right that the rank and file members disagree with the popery. But, it is also brave leaders who were in some of these denoms represented in the video that fought and finally left positions, power and pensions in order to form (or shall we say re-form) a new denomination that bears a similar name.

    So in this video ‘The Reformed Church in America’ DOES NOT represent all reformed denoms. ‘The Presbyterian Church’ DOES NOT represent all Presbyterian denoms, etc.

    This is important because the Church is STILL Christ’s bride whom He loves. There are vibrant denoms in America bearing old meaningful names that are very biblical. I am blessed to have been led to one that isn’t perfect, but has become a home to me over the last 8 years.

    See, I had never been taught a proper biblical view of the church in my baptist, charismatic and bible church experience. Perhaps this is a vital study that is lacking for so many who are leaving the club scene.

    When I got fed up, I threw out all churches in my frustration with a specific church. This seriously hampered spiritual growth and was an arrogant move on my part. I was broke but not quite broken.

    The CHURCH is beautiful. Christ is preserving and preparing her (us) for His Day. I would highly recommend Ed Clowney’s book called ‘The Church’ for a wonderful, reforming, at times devotional, read on the important doctrine of ecclesiology.

    The African theologian, Augustine of Hippo said about the church, “The church is a whore, but she is my mother.” May God bless the Church, purify and turn our hearts to truthfully identifying the apostate church and tenderly reforming His Church for His day!

  9. 9 speaking truth September 6, 2008 at 5:07 pm

    So in this video ‘The Reformed Church in America’ DOES NOT represent all reformed denoms. ‘The Presbyterian Church’ DOES NOT represent all Presbyterian denoms, etc.

    We fundamentally agree – and I wasn’t throwing anybody who claims these denom’s under the bus. I simply wanted to alert them to the dealings of their so-called leadership.

    Further, I understand the need for accuracy – particularly in my blunt and unapologetic defense of the Gospel, so here are the details of the leaders who bowed before the pope. Members can click the links to see if that particular leader heads their denomination:

    – A representative of Bishop Mark Hanson, Presiding Bishop – Evangelical Lutheran Churches of America

    Bishop Jeremiah Park, United Methodist Church

    Wesley Grandberg-Michaelson, General Secretary of the Reformed Church in America (RCA)

    Rev. Dr. Clifton Kirkpatrick, Stated Clerk of the General Assembly of the Presbyterian Church USA

    Rev. Dr. William J. Shaw, President – National Baptist Convention

    – Bishop James Leggett, General Superintendent – International Pentecostal Holiness Church

    Leith Anderson, President – National Association of Evangelicals

    Rev. Dr. David H. Benke, President – Atlantic District of the Lutheran Church (Missouri Synod)

    Rev. Dr. A.R. Bernard, President & Rev. Jimmy Seong G. Lim, Executive Director- Council of Churches, City of New York

    The Right Rev. Mark Sisk, Bishop, Episcopal Diocese of New York

    Again, folks can do their own research to determine if their denominational leadership is kowtowing to the antichrist pope.

    Also, just as an aside – Many get the impression that I am a bitter man who hasn’t recovered from being “hurt by the church” and I’m lashing out (arrogantly) at anything/anybody who doesn’t see the bible like I see it. The reality is that God healed me long ago of any bitterness that I harbored as a result of my allegiance to pulpit pimps. I merely sound the alarm to warn others.

    The Word of God is plainly available to all who endeavor to search and study it so I don’t seek to create followers of my own philosophy. Rather, I seek to declare the truth and Word of God and let the chips fall where they may.

  10. 10 gcmwatch September 6, 2008 at 10:29 pm

    AR Bernard??? Ih my God this is the second time his name is involved in mess. The other time it was hosting the “gospel” concert of jezebel witch St. Patti of Labelle.

    Norman Quick, a COGIC bishop from NY is in that Council of Churches of NY. This is no surprise given Bishop Blake’s ecumenical forays. COGIC’s general secretary German Ross made a pilgrimage to Rome once to kiss the beloved ring. COGIC under Bishop JO Patterson was one of the first black pentecostal bodies to adopt the vestments of Rome.

    Im thankful for the strong stand RC’s take agains abortion, but it is greatly overshadowed by the apostasy.

    Come out of her my people.

  11. 11 Independent Conservative September 6, 2008 at 10:39 pm

    ST, really Pastor Jim is 100% correct. If you ever list denominations yourself in writing of your own hand, it’s best to always be as pin point specific as you possibly can. I didn’t write out the list in my post and figured people can hear that the speaker gave more details than were made in the captions.

    You have to understand, you’re stepping on very touchy territory to say “The Lutheran Church” and some others as a blanket statement. Trust me from my own experience in calling out frauds. When dealing with groups like Lutherans, Episcopalians and even some of the others, you’ve got to be as exact as possible, use the longest detailed full name of the group they are part of as possible. The MSM often makes the BIG mistake of being very broad and general when speaking about denominations. Just as they often speak of things Roman Catholics do as being “Christian”, when actually we Christians reject their teachings.

    Please be as detailed exact as possible if you write out the name of denominations in your own hand or at the very least link to the group’s web site. Basically what you detailed in your comment is the better way to do it. That’s exactly the best way to do it every time 😉 . Really the history of how these groups developed requires it.

  12. 12 speaking truth September 6, 2008 at 10:52 pm

    IC & Pastor Jim,

    I accept your godly rebuke. I know how important it is to be as accurate as possible and one can get dangerously lazy by not peeling the denominational “onion layers”.

    I get it…and I will remember it.

  13. 13 joyfulfreedom1 September 7, 2008 at 8:17 pm

    Thanks for clarifying the issues brethren. I would say we all should guard our hearts and motives as well. Nuff, has been said here. Once the specific were added there was no shock or suprise for me.

    Thanks ST for being more specific. But all defenders of truth must guard against this Jim Rome, Stephen A. Smith method of apologetics. Boldness doesn’t equal brashness. I’m not saying ST is guilty, but we can hear other apologist (I won’t name names) that feel they are called to bulldoze people with the truth.

    Also, many mistake passion with bitter aggression, which is also a mistake. When one comes out of error, there is a zeal to get others out. It’s like being scammed and having your money ripped off, credit messed up, and then telling others buyer beware. Matthew Lesko, and Carlton Sheets sound good on paper, but you still end up making them rich, and face the risk of getting nothing in return.

    So,

    I see everyone’s point of view. ST I feel you on the passion thing, man.

  14. 14 Independent Conservative September 7, 2008 at 10:02 pm

    Guys such as Jim Rome and Stephen A. Smith sensationalize for the sake of getting another big media contract.

    When Peter, an Apostle, was used by God to call false teachers as the proverb, dogs returning to their vomit and swine after washing returning to wallowing in the mire. It was not for any profit motive, but to make clear the danger involved in following false teachers. Saints who know the truth have to be straight with those allowing themselves to be led to delusion. Still it must be done to the glory of God through Jesus Christ. Standing on the gospel truth and not on seeking vengeance of ones self.

    Exposing False Teachers is to be Done to the Glory of Almighty God. Help the Sheep!

  15. 15 Pastor Jim September 7, 2008 at 10:39 pm

    Words of a humble man:

    “I accept your godly rebuke. I know how important it is to be as accurate as possible and one can get dangerously lazy by not peeling the denominational “onion layers”.”

    Growing to love you ST. Feeling the passion. Hope you and your family worshipped well today!
    Broken and graced,
    PJ

  16. 16 Jeanie Franklin September 8, 2008 at 9:43 am

    I have to tell you that the church I am, now was,attending is hsting a conference called The Church of the City Conference. You may say well what’s the problem? It’s an ecumenical event with charismatics catholics and evangelical christians. I was shocked because the pastor has spoken about the doctrines of the catholic church.Their theme is love unity and vision for city transformation. One of the speakers is catholic and his calling and i am reading this from the announcement that i got:to teach about the gifts and power of the Holy Spirit within the catholic church and to promote ecumenism in the body of Christ. Red flag here!!!! Then they will have an evangelical speaker,along with a priest and others. I have the paper in my hand! I noticed how many members have left in the last few months. But yesterday was the last straw. I could not worship because i was praying for them. His sermons don’t seem to have the annointing as they once had. I am shocked now and i don’t feel well because of a bad cold. I have been crying and praying for them.

  17. 17 Jeanie Franklin September 8, 2008 at 10:22 am

    I am now praying and looking for another church. I live in San Antonio,TX.

  18. 18 Jeanie Franklin September 8, 2008 at 2:49 pm

    I need some clarification. Do all catholics believe and worship Mary? I was talking to a friend and she said not all catholics worship Mary. Do they all answer to the pope also? I thought the answer was yes to both questions. I really need your help for that one. This catholic conference is really weighing on my mind. Even though they are leasing it to them, would you agree that they are agreeing to this? In my heart I am saying yes.Can’t talk to the pastor about this,he would get defensive. Thank you so much!

  19. 19 speaking truth September 8, 2008 at 3:17 pm

    Jeanie,

    It sounds as though your church is jumping on the “ecumenical” bandwagon. It’s usually more marketable when Catholics and charismatic evangelicals “get together” because it blurs the doctrinal lines (and attracts people who wouldn’t typically be drawn to the RCC), so you end up having priests like Father Michael Pfleger of Chicago and his all black charismatic “catholic church”. He can prance and preen all he wants, but Pfleger is under the authority of the ArchBishop of Chicago – and the pope. When they told him to sit down and shut up, he did.

    You asked:

    I need some clarification. Do all catholics believe and worship Mary? I was talking to a friend and she said not all catholics worship Mary.

    Is your friend catholic or simply asserting their opinion? I don’t know the answer for sure, but I do know that Mariology is an official position of the RCC. You’d have to google or do more extensive research to find that answer for yourself.

    The bottom line is this – if your “church” isn’t adhering to sound biblical doctrine (and the bible alone – not the personalities of men), then you should seek guidance through the Word and leave.

  20. 20 gcmwatch September 9, 2008 at 1:11 am

    Jeanie, it saddened me to read your comments. Very sad. But sometimes God wants to put a diploma in our hand and send us on to the next school where he will teach us more and grow us more. That is cause to rejoice. Trust he will guide you and he will lead you into all truths through the Holy Spirit.

    Sometimes I encourage people to stay and fight for your church, but I dont feel that unction from the Spirit.

    As IST has said once you sense that there is a departure from the word of God, its time to look at things seriously.

    God’s best for you,

  21. 21 Jeanie Franklin September 9, 2008 at 9:23 am

    GCMWatch,
    I am at peace with leaving the church. There is no hesitation in that. It’s just a shame that this happened. God is just revealing things so clearly now and I have started to see so many things and at the same time looking at how it lines up with the Word of God. So there is no hesitation. I have had the experience of God telling me to leave and I didn’t hear Him or I was too busy doing “church work” to listen. Then He removed me which was very painful, but by His grace I made it.So I was not going to make that mistake again. By the way, I look at your blog also. Through it all,God gets the glory for taking me out of that church and I thank Him continuously for that! Amen! God is also showing me to be dependent upon Him and trust Him. Poverbs 3:5-6 in every thing and he will direct my path.Thank you and grace and peace to you!

  22. 22 ready4change September 9, 2008 at 1:07 pm

    Jeanie,

    I echo the sentiments of pastor Foster…I’m excited about where your journey will take you, and I want to encourage you that despite any backlash you may feel from leaving, the grass is ALWAYS greener on the side of true biblical doctrine and gospel-saturated, God-glorifying fellowship. In addition to the mariology link ST has already posted, let me also add for your reading pleasure an apologetics page for all things Catholic:

    http://www.apologeticsindex.org/c16.html

    As you prayerfully and humbly consider talking with your current (or former?) pastor about your concerns with his affiliations, this will have you armed and dangerous my dear!!! (LOL!!!)

    Also, I don’t exactly know the particulars of what you are looking for as you search for a new place of worship, but please allow me to give you two links to churches in the SA area that appear to be doctrinally sound:

    http://www.gccsatx.com/

    http://www.believers-fellowship.org/new/

    Blessings to you, and please know that I am praying for God’s wisdom to you in these matters…

    Solus Christus,

    R4C

  23. 23 Independent Conservative September 9, 2008 at 1:20 pm

    Some posts with information about Roman Catholicism, Jeanie Franklin you should review all of these:

    Roman Catholicism Is Not Biblical

    Avoid the Idolatry of Mary Worship

    Roman Catholicism Versus The Bible. As Always, Bible Wins! (*Updated*)

    Someone claiming some of them don’t worship Mary is like saying there is somebody at Creflo Dollar’s spot who does not promote the heresy of Prosperity Doctrine. Perhaps someone in opposition is there, but they’d be much better off leaving. Every time they are in the company of the group they are taking in the heresy. With Roman Catholics there are always prayers to Mary, that’s worship regardless of what they call it. That Mary is a mediator between God and man is a VERY integral part of Roman Catholic doctrine.

    When Roman Catholics and hyper charismatics mix, you get mess like this: How Roman Catholics are Directing the Hyper Charismatic Movement.

    And consider how the errors have sad similarities: How Roman Catholicism and Word of Faith Gets it Wrong.

    Bottom line, as IST noted, if a man claims to be a Roman Catholic, who that group has permitted to speak as one of their own, he’s got to make a verbal oath to the POPE AND if the Pope comes his way he will bow and kiss the ring, literally.

    We know the Pope is false, so what good would come from taking any instruction from any man that is committed to the authority of the Pope or joining with them for anything in the Lord’s name? No good at all, it’s allowing a blind man to hold some lead and wrong, Luke 6:39-40.

  24. 24 Jeanie Franklin September 9, 2008 at 1:49 pm

    Oh wow! This has to be God!R4C, I have already bookmarked these two churches. I looked it up under Nine marks of a Healthy Church! They are near where we live! Oh my Goodness!!!!!!! Before this churchI attended, my husband and I attended a spiritually abusive church which left me having a nervous and physical breakdown. I was in leadership and I was attempting suicide. God had other plans! it left my husband with a bad taste because that church turned their backs on me when i left the hospital. He was hurt and a new believer at that. Classic abusive church and still is. Thank you so much and I want that diploma real bad! To God be the glory! Can’t talk to the pastor because in times past, he gets defensive. He has changed a lot. So I know when to not say anything but pray. At one point he would talk about the wrong beliefs of the RCC. Wow! I have bookmarked those churches last night! To God be the glory!!!!!!

  25. 25 Jeanie Franklin September 9, 2008 at 1:53 pm

    Thank you everyone! I have been doing research on the RCC anyway and I do know they take orders from the Pope. Thank you IC also.

  26. 26 Jeanie Franklin September 9, 2008 at 4:24 pm

    Does anyone understand whatI feel right now?
    So free and at peace! I feel as though a load is off of me and God’s Word and everyone’s encouragement here! Thank you so much!

  27. 27 Jeanie Franklin September 9, 2008 at 4:33 pm

    I have a question? What’s the rational for kissing a ring? That’s not scripture. Seeing that in the picture and video, I will say is total ignorance.

  28. 28 EnochWalked September 9, 2008 at 5:32 pm

    Praise the LORD!

    Sister Jeanie, The answer to your question is Idolatry of man. They are bowing to the Pope because RCC says the Pope is Equal to CHRIST HIMSELF. The same thing as worshipping the golden calf, only today it’s a man.

  29. 29 Independent Conservative September 9, 2008 at 5:34 pm

    Jeanie,

    I have a question? What’s the rational for kissing a ring? That’s not scripture. Seeing that in the picture and video, I will say is total ignorance.

    You actually answered your own question without knowing it. The difference between you and Roman Catholics is that Roman Catholics don’t see the Bible as the sole and final authority for reference. They’ve got a “bible” with MORE THAN 66 books and all the statements of their “fathers”, especially if that “father” claimed their statement was final, which means they take it as “infallible” are treated as words on par with scripture. Much like the Word of Faith nuts that do anything somebody claiming to be a “Prophet” or “Apostle” says. You’ll see in the post links I provided how it works in Roman Catholicism. It’s an ever growing thing, that has built up into a gigantic tidal wave of man made “traditions”.

    The fact Christians said they would hold to scripture alone was the reason Roman Catholics have literally waged sword drawn war against us when they had the ability to do so.

    This is something you should keep learning about, because you will encounter people who will challenge you and you’ll need to be ready to give a defense knowing the views they are trying to impress upon people and the terms they’ve twisted. You’ll even start noticing when you’re watching TV shows and movies, Roman Catholic UNGODLY influences in the plots that you’ve never noticed before.

  30. 30 Jeanie Franklin September 9, 2008 at 5:51 pm

    I have always thought RCC was not christian. I have relatives in the church and also on my husband’s side of the family.It’s just that now i have gotten research and obtained information on it also. By the way IC, your website is bookmarked. Has been for a good while and Melvin’s blog. I just feel like the lone ranger amoung friens and family. One goes to Lakewood in Houston( Lord help me),and the RCC.Again, thank you for the encouragement.All it takes is to read God’s Word and study to show yourself approved,like the Bereans did. I don’t take things at face value anymore and I DO look to God’s Word even as I read the blogs.I just pray that their eyes are opened to the Truth. I don’t have to be there anymore.

  31. 31 joyfulfreedom1 September 13, 2008 at 4:10 pm

    Hey IC,

    my reference to Rome and Stephen A. is in regards to certain brethren that come do off as arrogant like Jim Rome and Stephen A. do.

    Not a reference to anyone posting here, nor to their penchant to sensationalize for a media contract. I’m fully aware of the dynamics of apologetics, polemics, hermeneutics, theology and the spirit (by that I mean humble mindset) in which it should be done according to scripture.

    I’m just clarifying where I came from with that statement. I don’t take issue with anything that was said.

    God Bless. Keep up the good work.


Comments are currently closed.



AddThis Feed Button Add to Technorati Favorites
twitter

Get Daily Email Updates:

Sign up for email updates and get the latest articles in your email inbox!

People Looking For Truth:

  • 1,092,996 ...and counting

RSS John MacArthur Sermons

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS John Piper Sermons

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS RC Sproul Sermons

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS The White Horse Inn

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Categories

Archived Articles…


