“I’m Yours”

It seems that lately the Lord has been really ministering to me through His Word and song lyrics. Now, mind you, I’m not “hyper-charismatic”. As I’ve mentioned previously, I’ve become a follower of Reformed Theology – and though I’ve embraced reverent worship, it doesn’t mean that I only listen to hymns through my MP3 player.

I am genuinely appreciative when songwriters write lyrics that align with God’s Word and speak to the heart of the many issues that we as believers face every day. The gospel group Men of Standard have an awesome track called “I’m Yours” on their “Surrounded” album (released several years ago).

The Lord brought this song to mind recently as I was ministering to a young man who is battling His own flesh – desperately reaching out for restoration through Jesus Christ:

Here I am again, knocking at Your door
I know that I have sinned, but please let me in
You’re used to my mouth talking, but listen to my heart
Surely You can see, I really wanna be free
I’m chasing after You, I’m such a desperate man
And if you let me catch you I’ll be
Yours, Your’s, I’m Yours

Please know that restoration can’t be found in things that “take your mind” off of your problems – restoration can only be found through Jesus Christ.

None of us are perfect.

None of us have “got it going on”.

All of us have sinned and fallen short (Romans 3:23). All of us have grieved God with our allegiance to sinful things – deserving His eternal damnation (Romans 6:23).

Many of us have fled God’s embrace in search of the treasures of this world – only to return weeping and begging for his never-ending mercy to cover us again.

May the Lord never allow us to brag about our “sinless lives” since we “found” Jesus.

Rather, let us ALWAYS remember the overwhelming relief we feel when He forgives us, embraces us, and affirms our inheritance in Him (1 Peter 1:3-5).

2 Responses to ““I’m Yours””


  1. 1 Carlos September 4, 2008 at 5:05 am

    I love biblically correct lyrics. Check out anything by Sovereign Grace Music. All of their music is on point. If you like Christian rap, you have to listen to shai linne’s, “The Atonement” or any of the other artists at Lampmode.

  2. 2 N. Spears September 4, 2008 at 10:11 am

    I agree Carlos. Shai Linne’s Atonement is the best Christian Rap album I have ever heard. I have listened to many Christian rappers and this is tops in the Lampmode group in my opinion.


Comments are currently closed.



AddThis Feed Button Add to Technorati Favorites
twitter

Get Daily Email Updates:

Sign up for email updates and get the latest articles in your email inbox!

People Looking For Truth:

  • 1,082,951 ...and counting

RSS John MacArthur Sermons

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS John Piper Sermons

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS RC Sproul Sermons

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS The White Horse Inn

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Categories

Archived Articles…


