“I Will Care For My Sheep”

Ezekiel 34:10-12 (New American Standard Bible)

10‘Thus says the Lord GOD, “Behold, I am against the shepherds, and I will demand My sheep from them and make them cease from feeding sheep So the shepherds will not feed themselves anymore, but I will deliver My flock from their mouth, so that they will not be food for them.”‘”

The Restoration of Israel

 11For thus says the Lord GOD, “Behold, I Myself will search for My sheep and seek them out.

 12“As a shepherd cares for his herd in the day when he is among his scattered sheep, so I will care for My sheep and will deliver them from all the places to which they were scattered on a cloudy and gloomy day.

Frequently, I speak with people who have fled the false teaching and control tactics of a pulpit pimp. Time after time I hear “I know he/she’s not teaching 100% bible, but where else can I go?”. When they do flee, they feel lost and hopeless – as though they’ll never find another “church home” again.

It’s a sad state, especially since the Word of God is true and never changes. If we clung to the Word like we cling to false teachers, then we would never have fallen for their charismatic deception in the first place.

If you have recently left the control of a false teacher, then take heart. The Lord knows the steps of your path, and He has prescribed a remedy for you – and for those who fed you a false version of His truth.

Repent of your allegiance to man instead of the Word, and don’t look back. Digest the pure Word of God so that next time you can see these wolves afar off.

Oh, and don’t beat yourself up over falling for their games (like I did when I got away). Rather, praise the Lord that He loved you enough to pull you out of deception and back to Him – and that you’ve gained insight to keep others from falling into the same mess.

5 Responses to ““I Will Care For My Sheep””


  1. 1 Jeanie Franklin September 9, 2008 at 4:30 pm

    I seem to be doing a lot of writng here, but before i left this last church on Sunday, a couple of weeks ago he mentioned if we were caught up on our tithes. That was a warning flag then, but then he said that he didn’t want to pray because God would not answer my prayers because i didn’t tithe. That was the gist of it. I even wtote down what he said. I just summarized it. When he said that the church went dead and you could hear a pin drop. I was discerning this also. I was shocked he said it because I know tithing is OT. Can you imagine that?

  2. 2 David L. Williams September 9, 2008 at 10:03 pm

    I don’t beat myself up over having been fleeced at my church. I believe with all my heart that God caused me to go there. And to fall in love with that church, and then to see what was going on behind the scenes there. And after confronting them, I was persecuted, put on trial on lies, and was found guilty.

    I believe God wanted me to see just how wicked even the most famous pastors are in their hearts. I knew it from the Bible, but it had to become revelation. But fortunately, Jesus’ words on the cross also became revelation to me. That: “They know not what they do.” So when I see a movement such as Lakeland, I remember that they know not what they do.

    But even so, I sure wish that now that I and so many others are “out of church,” that there was face to face fellowship. The network is great, but it can’t compare to close conversations with brethren… DavWms

  3. 3 speaking truth September 10, 2008 at 11:06 am

    David,

    I agree with you – maybe God wanted all of us who have been deceived by men to see just how wicked man can be in his heart – even if he professes the Gospel (or rather, a gospel) – and leads as a “representative of Christ”.

    But even so, I sure wish that now that I and so many others are “out of church,” that there was face to face fellowship. The network is great, but it can’t compare to close conversations with brethren

    While it is great to find a network of bible-believing Christians on the web (websites, blogs, etc.), we must remain committed to “face to face” fellowship (whether small home groups or weekly assembly services on Sunday’s) – as commanded in the Word of God (Hebrews 10:23-25).

    Bottom line, keep reaching out to brothers and sisters for real fellowship as well.

  4. 4 ready4change September 10, 2008 at 11:40 am

    David,

    If you don’t mind me asking, do you currently attend a fellowship at all? If you are looking for one, I’m sure any and all commenters on this site would be glad to help you find a good one in your area that is solid biblically. If you’re interested, let me know…

    Solus Christus,

    R4C

  5. 5 Jeanie Franklin September 10, 2008 at 1:02 pm

    David,
    No matter how painful the exit was for me, it wasn’t until recently that I learned that God is atill in control of everything! He knew this would happen to all of us before the foundation of the world. When i read just how special i was in God’s eyes through His Word, it changed everything. I did deal with anger,bitterness,unforgiveness and even anger with God because of what happened to me. But God showed me His grace and mercy in this trial. He allows the situation to know Him and the power of His resurrectionand the fellowship of His suffering being made conformed to His death( Phillipians 3:10-11). He showed me He is all I needed and be dependant upon Him.I did forgive them because God’s Word commanded me to forgive. Not for their sakes but for mine. I was being obedient to God and I did not want my prayers hindered.God sees it and in this life we will have trials,sufferings and pain. It’s not easy being a disciple of Christ!But I count all of it as pure joy! James 1:1-8. I have developed an intimacy with Him that i did not have before.What happned to me brought me to my knees and i pleaded for God’s mercy and repented of that idolatry. He deserves all the glory for it and you also. God has a plan for you David as for all of us. He is separating the sheep from the goats and judgement is staring in God’s house.He is El Roi,Who sees all,He is Sovereign,He is in control He is El Elyon,He is in control. We are being shaped in His Son’s likeness,Jesus Christ. Jesus learned obedience through suffering( Hebrews 5:8 ). So are we. I am praying for you also David.

    Jeanie Franklin
    Proverbs 3:5-8


Comments are currently closed.



AddThis Feed Button Add to Technorati Favorites
twitter

Get Daily Email Updates:

Sign up for email updates and get the latest articles in your email inbox!

People Looking For Truth:

  • 1,082,689 ...and counting

RSS John MacArthur Sermons

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS John Piper Sermons

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS RC Sproul Sermons

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS The White Horse Inn

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Categories

Archived Articles…


