More “Crunk” Youth Services

OK. My last post about the youth pastor crashing a motorcycle while driving into a youth service got me to thinking.

Let me first start by defining “crunk”. The word is a combination of “crazy” and “drunk”, thus “crunk”. So when you hear your youth pastor (or the kids in your “new generation” youth choir) use it, that’s what they mean. Yup, more worldy influence on the church.

So I want to take a moment to provide a few illustrations of what you get when you want to make your youth services more “seeker sensitive” in order to make the Gospel message “relevant” to the youth of today. I present to videos for your consideration:

Here’s “Young Dirty” doing his thing at New Birth South Church (my former plantation). By the way, “Young Dirty’s” birth name is Edward Louis Long…yup, son of Alpha Pimp Eddie Long!:

But wait, here’s lil’ Eddie (um, I mean Young Dirty) getting “crunk” at his daddy’s youth conference in 2007:

I know, I know – it’s hard to believe that the bishop’s son would glorify God in this manner, especially since his dad is such a principled leader…

πŸ™„

Lastly, I’ll leave you with some footage of rapper T.I.’s recent visit to Eddie Long’s “Hype Night” youth service earlier this year. T.I. is a celebrity friend of Eddie Long, so it’s only fitting that he come by Club New Birth and blow it up! Please keep in mind – this vile wanna be thug rapper is “performing” in the pulpit of a “church”:

Now you know why I and others refer to Eddie Long’s New Birth church as “Club New Birth” – the only thing missing was the open bar!

Just something else to think about when you drop your kids off at the weekly “youth explosion service” at your church…

19 Responses to “More “Crunk” Youth Services”


  1. 1 Douglas K. Adu-Boahen August 8, 2008 at 12:51 pm

    He hosts a show that my bro watches…why on earth is called “Young Dirty”. Ain’t s’posed to be nothing dirty about believers πŸ™„

    And what is T.I. doing in church performing??? Your plantation clearly lost their minds a long time ago with all that cheddar…

  2. 2 rascoe1 August 8, 2008 at 3:11 pm

    Was that in church? The young lady in the last video had her legs wrapped around the young man. What was she thinking? For her even to try something like that in church says a lot about the church.

  3. 3 speaking truth August 8, 2008 at 3:27 pm

    Yes rascoe1, the last video was taken at Club New Birth a few months ago – they moved the lectern out of the way so T.I. could perform IN THE PULPIT!

    The other videos are taken at (video 1) a conference center, and(video 2) a concert venue for the RE/Present youth conference for Club New Birth.

    Oh, and thanks for welcoming back from vacation. As you see, I’ll need another soon…

  4. 4 rascoe1 August 8, 2008 at 4:13 pm

    Yes you will. You came out swinging, smile. Isnt T.I. the same young man on the news, who has some trouble with the law. I see he has found gawd. Such a shame, he is being exploited by Big Daddy Long in this very troubling time of his life. I wonder where his father is? Without careing, godly fathers, these young men go astray and in turn lead others astray. They also become easy pray for men like Eddie Long.

  5. 5 speaking truth August 8, 2008 at 4:42 pm

    That is the same T.I. that you’ve heard about on the news rascoe1. If you read my post “When A Pimp Throws A Party”, you’ll learn all about T.I.’s troubles – and how he and Eddie are using each other.

    But why should T.I. be any different than anyone else that Eddie exploits?

  6. 6 Pat August 8, 2008 at 9:17 pm

    I forgot to tell you your club had a thing this past Saturday for the youth in the community. Buses everywhere-Big concert style theme for the youth..yep

  7. 7 LaVrai August 9, 2008 at 1:22 am

    Uh, what?! In the tabernacle?! … When are we gonna get it together and stop compromising? We can’t be holy servants of the LIVING GOD and partake in the sins of the world. The Young, Dirty rapper-wannabe is not glorifying the LORD in his lyrics. I didn’t listen to the whole thing, but I can guess that ‘Beats In My Trunk’ has nothing to do with the Gospel.

    And T.I. — the rapper who was busted for having assault rifles, silencers and stuff only the military should have in his home? Yeah…

    It’s one or the other. Not both.

  8. 8 dupednomore August 9, 2008 at 10:11 am

    Did you even notice the business angle from the Young Dirty rapper?? He was hawking those songs right there on stage. I wonder if he split the funds raised with NBS?

  9. 9 Godlysoldier1 August 9, 2008 at 8:06 pm

    Strange fire INDEED!

  10. 10 hiscrivener August 10, 2008 at 1:16 am

    ST, check out this post from the Wall:

    http://hiscrivener.wordpress.com/2008/04/23/the-spirit-of-hip-hop/

    It’s related to this crunk writing in here, but a little different because this was related to a story found on CNN about a dude that believes he can work his jelly and still not compromise.

    It’s really that hard to be a pimp.

    Peace.

  11. 11 speaking truth August 10, 2008 at 11:48 am

    hiscrivener,

    Great article over there bro. We’re definetly on the same page because I wrote about the same thing around the same time you did!

    Birds of a feather…

  12. 12 wannabereal August 10, 2008 at 8:28 pm

    Hey ST,
    Had to comment on this one as i too escaped from the club plantation of New Birth several years ago…..
    Didn’t know Long’s son was rapping—err, uhh, excuse me i mean “Young Dirty” (so many things i could say about THAT but i digress)….
    Anyway, as a musician I have a love for many styles although “gospel hip hop” or whatever is not particularly one of my favorites. But i did come across this rapper who actually blew me away with the theological depth in his rapping. His name is Shai Linne–there are several posts by and about him on youtube and i did one at my blog. I couldn’t help but think about his deep theological musings when i contrasted them with “Young Dirty’s” typical street braggadocio and rantings pretty much about nothing. Sad.

    Check out some of Shai Linne’s stuff:

    and here:

  13. 13 speaking truth August 10, 2008 at 11:35 pm

    Thanks for the tip on Shai Linne, wannabereal. I’m not really into the medium myself, but if it’s an antidote to the garbage out there I’d be willing to give it a try.

    Doug is a fan of religious rap – maybe he can weigh in on this one…

    Doug?

  14. 14 rascoe1 August 11, 2008 at 11:57 am

    WOW, WOW, WOW….., wannabereal, I just listened to Shai Linne and I am just speechless, AWESOME. ST, with preaching like that who need a crunk fan? the words says it all. At almost a half of a century, rapping and such has never been my cup of tea, (cannot understand the words, nor do I like the beats). I am was more of a “praise and worship”, kind a girl (emotional stuff, you know). However, as I stop having a desire to listen to the cds I have, I find myself enjoying the christian rappers. It is the words, The WORD is preached. I pray that they are living what they preach.

    The video “Mor Random Thoughts”, just gave me goose bumps. May the Lord continue to strengthen and keep Shai Linne

  15. 15 escapeetoo August 11, 2008 at 1:44 pm

    I had to chime in on this.

    These club owners think they have to follow the world to lead kids to Christ-WRONG. Whatever happened to evening BTU (Bible Training Unit’s)? BTU is not ‘sexy enough”. The message of the Gospel and the world are like oil and water they do not mix.

    I witnessed 85+ High School Football players give their lives to Christ last night. T.I. was not there, there was no “crunking”. Instead, the message of the Cross was delivered. The boys were told what would happen with good decisions or bad decisions. The team Chaplin explained to them the most important decision of all-A personal relationship with Jesus Christ. Those boys got the message and it was not “dumb down” for them. Nobody had to use a hook and a beat.

    We are loosing our youth because we think we have to entertain them and amuse them to learn.

  16. 16 speaking truth August 11, 2008 at 4:23 pm

    Excellent point escapeetoo – we assume our children are mature enough to deal with everything the world throws at them (“have sex just protect yourself, take the car keys just don’t drive drunk”), yet we try to dumb-dwon the message of Christ crucified.

    When we really present the Gospel AS IS, it’s truly by the power of the Holy Spirit that “he that has an ear” will hear it – no matter the age!

    Good example!

  17. 17 Jenn August 12, 2008 at 11:28 am

    There really are solid Christian alternatives. God’s blessed many brothers in the medium of rap. Shai Linne, already posted, is a wonderful brother in the Lord that I have the pleasure of serving with at our church. Some other solid brothers to check out are:

    Shai Linne, Evangel, Timothy Brindle, Stephen the Levite, Hazakim:
    http://www.lampmode.com

    The Cross Movement Records family:
    http://www.crossmovementrecords.com

    The Reach Records family:
    http://www.reachrecords.com

    The above men are truly living for the Lord and have lives that reflect it. This ‘Young Dirty’ business… Where is Scripture bearing fruit in his life? The church should be far different from the world. We’re admonished in 1 John to not love the world, yet what is above in the clips is the total opposite… loving the world and indulging in its schemes.

  18. 18 speaking truth August 12, 2008 at 11:32 am

    Thanks for the info Jen.

    So there you have it folks – there are alternatives out there if you’re into it.

  19. 19 Douglas K. Adu-Boahen August 12, 2008 at 5:59 pm

    Yup, the Reach Records, Lamp Mode and Cross Movement guys are a million times more Biblical than “Young Dirty”. I would heartily recommend shai linne’s new album The Atonement as well πŸ˜€


Comments are currently closed.



AddThis Feed Button Add to Technorati Favorites
twitter

Get Daily Email Updates:

Sign up for email updates and get the latest articles in your email inbox!

People Looking For Truth:

  • 1,082,689 ...and counting

RSS John MacArthur Sermons

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS John Piper Sermons

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS RC Sproul Sermons

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS The White Horse Inn

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Categories

Archived Articles…


