An Award In Excellence…For Me?

 

The Lord has blessed me to serve Him.

As I’ve mentioned ad infinitum, I blog to contend for AND defend the faith that I hold dear, and to warn the sheep to avoid all manner of false teachers, apostates, heretics, wolves and vipers stalking pulpits today. My reward is knowing that the Lord is glorified in all that I do – and an occasional email thanking me for giving someone the inspiration to return to God’s Word and flee the control of a pulpit pimp.

Imagine my surprise to learn that Doug (my younger brother in the Lord) over at Contemplations of a Young Calvinist has passed a blog award on to me. Maybe it’s because of my biting wit, or my recent ascension to the office of Apostle (why should Fred K.C. Price have all the fun?), but the Lord saw fit to use Doug to direct a little more light on my small corner of cyberspace. Glory to God – and God alone!

The Award in Excellence was created by Dan King over at Bibledude.net for a specific purpose:

I have to admit that I am a bit of a lurker, and really should comment more. However, there is a great deal of excellence out there amongst Christian bloggers, and I wanted to take a moment to recognize that fact. So I created this “award in excellence”. This award in excellence has two short statements on it. The first one is, “love the creator.” The first thing that I notice about certain bloggers is that they have this great passion for God. They are serious about their faith, and want nothing more than to see God move. The second statement is, “love the creation.” This one appears on the award because these people also display a great love for God’s various creations. For some, it might be the people that He created. For others it might also be the planet (or some other part of His creation). Whatever it is, they realize that God made all of it. They look at God’s creations through His eyes, and see all of the goodness that He put into it.

A requirement of receiving the award is that I have to pass it along to three others – and I do so with distinct honor. I could give this award to any and all of those folks represented on my blogroll (and well beyond), but I want to draw specific attention to three brothers who defend the Gospel with holy boldness and stand flat-footed on the irrefutable Word of God:

  • Darnell McGavock over at Independent Conservative: This brother was the first person I reached out to after fleeing the plantation and has been a source of personal strength to me
  • Melvin Jones over at Pulpit Pimps: Boldy calling out the various pimps and their “pimpistries” and directing people back to the Word.
  •  Pastor DL Foster over at Gay Christian Movement Watch: This brother masterfully deconstructs the gay christian movement and hearkens us all back to holiness through God’s Word.

I’m blessed to be able to blog about God’s truth – and to serve alongside these true men of God (as well as the other men and women who grace my blogroll, and who’s blogs I visit often). May the Lord continue to strengthen EVERYONE who sees fit to share the Gospel of Jesus Christ, and defend that Gospel until His return!

12 Responses to “An Award In Excellence…For Me?”


  1. 1 Roger Servin July 20, 2008 at 9:28 pm

    Congrats on the award brother. May you continue to stand for righteousness and truth!

    Grace & Peace,

    R.A.Servin

  2. 2 Carlotta July 20, 2008 at 9:48 pm

    Congrats to you SpeakingTruth!

    Your site has been quite a blessing to me and I know to others as well.
    And the ones who haven’t felt blessed by you yet are being convicted in its place. You know you’re doing your job if that happens!

    Keep up the great work!

  3. 3 ready4change July 21, 2008 at 12:00 am

    ST,

    Congrats my man!!!! Sorry for the absence…I’ve been in transition for a while (thanks to the Navy), and I haven’t had an opportunity to catch up on my blogwork (is that a word???). Anyways, this is a well-deserved award for someone who is most certainly contending for the faith!!! Good job my friend, and keep doing watcha’ doin’!!! (BTW, way to represent for the CHI!!!!)

    Soli Deo Gloria,

    R4C

  4. 4 speaking truth July 21, 2008 at 9:58 am

    Thanks everyone – all glory belongs to God alone. I’m thankful to be used in His service.

    Oh, R4C – I’m still waiting for somebody to come back and take the award from me…some of my post have incited a few quiet riots. You know how we do it on the Southside! 😆

  5. 5 Dan King July 21, 2008 at 11:38 am

    Congrats dude! Your passion for what you are doing here is obvious. Keep up the great work!

  6. 6 thatdengfilipino July 21, 2008 at 12:19 pm

    Congrats on the award, bro. You’re truly blessed.

    This is my first time on your blog. I wanted to comment on your “about” page, but I’ll just comment here.

    I admire your fervor and love for the Lord. Truly inspriational.

    Keep the faith, bro. And, doing what you do.

  7. 7 rascoe1 July 21, 2008 at 1:22 pm

    Congrats my brother. To God be the Glory.

  8. 8 speaking truth July 21, 2008 at 1:30 pm

    Glory to God – and thanks rascoe1 and thatdengfilipino.

  9. 9 EnochWalked July 21, 2008 at 1:41 pm

    Congratulations–Keep up the courageous work brother!

  10. 10 dupednomore July 21, 2008 at 3:05 pm

    Awesome…I’m watching in amazement what God is doing in your life!

  11. 11 gcmwatch July 21, 2008 at 4:07 pm

    My brother I echo the comments of others here. There are many who may never say anything, but you words are giving them strength to break away and find safety in the Lord’s Strong tower. Its to us as it was to the man whom Jesus first spoke the words, “when thou are strengthened, strengthen your brothers…”
    Stay faithful to God.
    Much love,
    Pastor Foster

  12. 12 GaryV July 26, 2008 at 11:45 pm

    Congrats brother……..but be careful with whom you associate. That R4C dude is BAAAAAAAAAAAAD news.

    (J/K R4C LOL!!……..how you doin’ my friend??)


Comments are currently closed.



AddThis Feed Button Add to Technorati Favorites
twitter

Get Daily Email Updates:

Sign up for email updates and get the latest articles in your email inbox!

People Looking For Truth:

  • 1,095,657 ...and counting

RSS John MacArthur Sermons

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS John Piper Sermons

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS RC Sproul Sermons

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS The White Horse Inn

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Categories

Archived Articles…


