“Stop Slandering God’s Leaders!”

“Stop slandering God’s leaders!”

That’s the typical edict that I get on average. Of course, some admonitions are a bit more…descriptive, but the message is still the same: “God said ‘touch not my anointed’, so get your mouth off the man of God!”.

My brother Independent Conservative edited an article written by GaryV on his site this past February that shines more light on the twisting of scripture used to protect pimps:

“Touch Not My Anointed”..The command of God or the cries of the misled??

Those who feel the call to be watchmen on the wall during this time of apostasy have heard this phrase repeated ad nauseum, by those who seek to defend their favorite “ministers” against the claims of Scripture. In fact, along with “Judge Not”, it’s probably among the most frequently used (though commonly misunderstood) texts in the entire Bible. Have any of them ever actually read the verse in question??

Click on the title to read the rest of that excellent article (one that I’ve emailed to countless friends, family, and foes). Why is it that those of us who blog God’s truth to expose deceit are always attacked, yet those who KNOWINGLY AND WILLFULLY distort, butcher, and assault God’s Word for selfish gain get protection?

These pimps rail against their detractors (i.e. mature bible reading Christians who dare take God’s Word over theirs), yet they (and their followers) get thin-skinned when the light of truth is shined on them. I pray that more sheep learn to defend the faith more than they defend their resident wolf, viper, false teacher, pulpit pimp, apostate, and heretic. I think those names sum it all up quite nicely.

So, why do I “call people names”? Simply because the names that I use aptly describe the pimps, heretics and apostates that stalk the “pulpit” today. I’m not “bitter” or “church hurt” – I’m just a former sheep of two skilled pimps (one Alpha Pimp, and one wanna be pimp) who decided to read my bible for myself and expose the doctrinal error that permeates Christ’s church today.

Since slander is defined as “a malicious, false, and defamatory statement or report”, I clearly DON’T engage in slander when I provide links to videos and text of the pimps own words for validation.

The Apostle Peter called people “names” when he exposed them for their deceitful works against the Gospel (2 Peter 2 NASB) Even Jesus used “harsh language and tone” when calling out the Pharisee’s and corrupt religious leaders of the day (Matthew 23 NASB).

Now, I’m not comparing myself to Peter or Jesus…not in the least. I am, however, comfortable that I am operating in biblical order with sound precedence – and sound biblical doctrine.

So, I’ll keep “calling people names” and calling out the wolves, vipers, apostates, pimps, heretics, false teachers and their ilk until they simply go away.

There, that outta keep my inbox full for a while…

49 Responses to ““Stop Slandering God’s Leaders!””


  1. 1 escapeetoo July 3, 2008 at 4:41 pm

    Good post IM. Good post!

    People that are “caught up” in the “club” are quick to defend their pimps, but slow to defend the Word of God. This is because the typical club goer is trying to “get a word” from the “mand of gawd.” they look at these pimps as if they “were” gods. After a while they become attached to the pimp and fall in love with “daddy.” All the while they neglect studying the word of God and receiving revelation from His word. The Word of Faith (WoF) is a dangerous message. People need to go back to the bible, The Word of God and receive a revelation from God and not a man. I have 2 blogs that go right to the heart of why people follow the pimps of this world:

    http://escapee.wordpress.com/2008/07/03/speak-those-things-the-word-of-faith-heretic-theology/

    http://escapee.wordpress.com/2008/07/02/this-is-why/

  2. 2 gcmwatch July 3, 2008 at 5:13 pm

    I grew up being fed that scripture and yes…I believed it without question. That was until I started KNOWING that the “anointed” were not anointed. And they certainly were not God’s anointed. They were ravenous wolves who came to destroy the flock. Not only that but the scripture was being missapplied and used a cloak to conceal evil. How wicked is that?

    So I picked up my sword and charged.

    IST, the sheer (am I am NOT being arrogant) lunacy of these people is maddening. You can present clear, irrefutable evidence coming from the wolf’s own snoozle and they will cry: “Hey touch not mine anointed.”

    I have come to the conclusion that the enemy has not only deployed his cadre of “ministers of righteousness” and “angels of light” but a host of support troops who will defend them no matter what.

    Reminds me a little too much of the Omen. But its true.

  3. 3 Independent Conservative July 3, 2008 at 6:03 pm

    Christ is my example and the apostles said imitate them as they imitated Christ. So I dare not imitate those who refuse to call a viper a viper. I’ll imitate Christ and call them vipers, false teachers and even PIMPS.

    I should imitate Christ and His Apostles more closely and more often call them dogs eating their own vomit, 2 Peter 2:22!

  4. 4 Douglas K. Adu-Boahen July 3, 2008 at 6:45 pm

    I’ve always said that the law which governs freedom of sppech doesn’t end in church. A man who cannot call out a killer is a coward, and even more so a spiritual killer. The doctrine these men spout out is enough to kill you spiritually at its worst, not to mention physically in some cases.

    If Jesus and the Apostles called folks out, at 17 who am I to say they were wrong. It’s my God-given right and I will use to His glory and his glory alone!

  5. 5 tony July 3, 2008 at 9:49 pm

    I feel especially sorry for escapeetoo. You can clearly see that he’s a follower of what sounds good.

  6. 6 speaking truth July 4, 2008 at 12:56 am

    escapeetoo, Dough, IC, GCMWatch – the bottom line is that people embrace the pimps messages because he’s promising them a “quid pro quo” gospel – “If you do XXX, then God will do XXX”, so the (erroneous) inclination is to “protect the prophet” and his message.

    I just can’t stop scratching my head over the fact that many folks would NEVER defend the God-breathed words of sacred scripture, but they will claw your eyes out if they hear you talking about “passah” in the barbershop.

    Not to defend escapeetoo tony, but he’s just a guy that got tired of eating the false doctrine that he was being fed. If you’re implying that he’s a “follower” because he blogs about his experiences, then all of us (Independent Conservative, GCMWatch, Black Reforming Kid, etc.) are followers – of Christ.

    Tony, do you agree with the basis of the post or do you believe that we should leave the pimps, heretics, apostates, vipers, wolves, and false teachers alone?

  7. 7 tony July 4, 2008 at 1:15 am

    Let God do his job as judge!!!

  8. 8 speaking truth July 4, 2008 at 1:52 am

    Gotcha Tony – as I suspected, you are a subscriber to the eisegesis of the “judge not” mantra.

    Rather than continue to retype the same retort over and over again, I’ll simply paste my recent reply to another commenter regarding “judging”:

    I’ve already blogged about the “judge not” retort and how it’s taken completely out of context. God is the FINAL judge, but scripture clearly dictates our role as followers of Christ when exposing (judging) error FROM WITHIN the church. For example, it’s scriptural for me to call someone out for adultry – as long as I am not doing so as an adulterer myself (thus, hypocrisy). Further, God clearly expresses His desire for us to judge/discern through His Word:

    1 Corinthians 6:2-3
    Proverbs 3:21
    John 7:24
    Jeremiah 22:3
    Philippians 1:7
    Philippians 1:10

  9. 9 escapeetoo July 4, 2008 at 12:07 pm

    Tony,

    Let me respond to you in the following manner:

    1)Please never feel sorry for me. I am saved by the grace of God and I have confidence I am saved by the word of God (I John 5:13) via faith. Not by what I do.

    2)It is very evident that you are a subscriber to what you here from your pimp and other pimps. I say this only based on your visceral comments. It is evident you need to study the Word of God more and stop listening to CD’s and DVD’s 2 Tim 2:15. You do remember that from BTU right? Or perhaps your pimp said that was dead doctrine.

    3)If I were one to be excited by what “sound good” I’d still be at “Club Hustle & Flow.” However thank God through His providential (His ability to foresee and protect Job 10:12) will protected me and drew me back to Him and back to His word un-hindered.

    4)Tony Before you comment on blogs, take a closer look at what IC, IM Brother K and others. We all have a thirst for righteousness. We also ALL have a fiduciary responsibility to defend the faith and call out heresy through Christian apologetic’s. Read 1 John 4:1-6, Eph 5:11, Titus 1:9,13 for proof! Don’t take my word for it.

    So brother I guess you are half right, I am a “follower of what sounds good.” I am a follower the Gospel of Jesus Christ! The Gospel sounds so good to me that I get up at 5:15 every morning to meditate on it. The Gospel sounds so good to me that I write my blog:

    http://escapee.wordpress.com/

  10. 10 tony July 4, 2008 at 12:55 pm

    I’ve followed this site for a little while and I’ve noticed that anyoone who has a different point of view than yourself, you try to belittle them and eat them alive. If I were a baby christian I’d be totally discouraged and hopeless reading your messages. In my opinion, you’re than those that you are calling pimps!!

  11. 11 tony July 4, 2008 at 12:56 pm

    You’re WORSE THAN THOSE THAT YOU ARE CALLING PIMPS!!

  12. 12 Independent Conservative July 4, 2008 at 3:05 pm

    Tony, now who is “judging”? You’ve just asserted this blog belittles people, eats them alive, discourages, brings no hope and is worse than those this blog calls “pimps”.

    Do you feel what you said was not a “judgment”? And do you feel anything you said was “encouraging”?

    Also, did you read in full the post that was linked at the top of this post?

    Tony, at best, you’re a hypocrite!

  13. 13 ready4change July 4, 2008 at 4:17 pm

    Tony,

    I believe what you’ll find here as well as any other discernment blog is that the reason it seems that people are “eaten alive” or “belittled” as you alleged, is because they attempt to defend their favorite pimps without any scriptural support whatsoever. Most go on an emotional rampage and never deal with the actual text itself. I can assure you that Speaking Truth, IC, GCM and others are not only capable, but willing to deal with these issues of heresy from the scriptures. But when you’ve heard the same tired, lame, non-scriptural emotional responses over and over again, it is sometimes best to answer in a way that will make the misguided really THINK before the next time they speak. Tony your mission, should you choose to accept it, will be to bring your point of view from the scriptures, and only the scriptures. This would at least put us on common ground with where you’re coming from doctrinally. But I suspect that, just like so many we get over at pulpitpimps.org, the reason you have not mentioned scripture at all is because your view has no biblical basis. Prove to me that this is incorrect. This is a long weekend. Give yourself some time to corroborate your beliefs from the Holy Writ. Go ahead Tony, we’ll wait…

  14. 14 speaking truth July 4, 2008 at 5:01 pm

    Brothers – tony is right. We’ve been erroneously reading God’s Word AND applying it in it’s undoctored form. We’re so jealous of those who we call pimps that we’ve become pimps ourselves.

    We know that Creflo, Eddie, Joyce, Benny, Gloria and Ken are righteous mend and womend of gawd who were raised up for such a time as this – and we need to repent for putting our mouths on them.

    So let’s burn our bibles, stop praying to God (cause he doesn’t hear us unless we give an offering anyway), and sit at the feet of the wolves yet again.

    Thank you tony for bringing us back to our right minds….hallelujah!

    🙄

  15. 15 Independent Conservative July 4, 2008 at 6:12 pm

    ST, it’s the 4th of July, not the first of April 😆 !!!

  16. 16 escapeetoo July 4, 2008 at 7:33 pm

    Tony I think I understand you now.

    You said, “In my opinion…”, you deal in opinion, in this forum we lean on the word of God. Take R4C’s advice and buttress your “opinion” with Biblical doctrine. Until then, a “Pulpit Pimp is a Pulpit Pimp”

    I will pray for you and others like you brother. I used to be just like you-full of man made opinions.

  17. 17 Douglas K. Adu-Boahen July 4, 2008 at 7:43 pm

    Tony,

    Are my friends worse than the pimps? Really? Well, let’s do a cross-analysis, shall we?

    1. Have the pimps ever been nice to me, except when they need my money?

    ST and IC. – Always have been since the moment I first spoke to ’em
    Pimps – I used to write letters to these guys – they didn’t even respond – so much for charity

    2. On a related note, do these brothers charge for what they write on this blog

    ST and IC – not that I know of…
    Pimps – on every given opportunity they do

    3. Are we twisting Scripture or do we stand on the line of consistent exegesis with the greats of the Christian faith?

    ST and IC – can’t accuse these brothers of so much as a drop of heresy…
    Pimps – they open their mouths and it just comes out…waves of it

    Tony, we are interested in God and His Truth, not what any so-called man of God has to say [or demand]. I think you’ll find your proofs for a man of God to be a tad inconsistent…

  18. 18 speaking truth July 4, 2008 at 9:18 pm

    Um, Doug – I actually do charge a fee…you didn’t get your bill yet?

    And R4C – since when did people from the southside of Chicago start making “suggestions”? 😆

  19. 19 GaryV July 5, 2008 at 1:13 am

    Tony is a fitting example of those for whom I wrote this little piece. Tony,don’t feel attacked brother. Feel challenged. Feel free to refute the salient points in the piece from Scripture.

    If you cannot do so from Scripture,what will be your reaction?? A hardening of your position, or an epiphany which compels you to re-examine your beliefs in the light of the whole counsel of Scripture??

    I sincerely hope it’s the latter.

  20. 20 gcmwatch July 5, 2008 at 2:03 am

    Let God do his job as judge!!!

    Jesus gave that responsibility to us. John 7:24

    Tony, do your job and stop hiding behind God.

  21. 21 tony July 5, 2008 at 3:25 am

    No problem ST. Whatever I can do to help a fellow brother!!! Try not to lose your mind again!! Feel free to send me an offering for my services to you.

  22. 22 tony July 5, 2008 at 3:27 am

    Your bodygaurds can give one too

  23. 23 GaryV July 5, 2008 at 12:26 pm

    Tony, I’m not seeing any Scripture in your responses. I’m not seeing the arguments addressed. Why is that, do you think?? If you’re confident in your beliefs, why not defend them from the Bible rather than toss about insults????

    One might be persuaded that your primary concern is for something other than Truth, and that you choose error because you have not received the love of the Truth. Let’s pray this isn’t the case.

  24. 24 tony July 5, 2008 at 1:08 pm

    gmc,

    Where in that scripture (John 7:24) does it say to get online about people and call them out of their names. Don’t be a coward!!! If God has truly called you to confront these issues wouldn’t it be better for you to go to the PIMPS themselves. Where in the bible did God instruct his prophets and/or people of God to speak to everyone else without first dealing with the one in error? I hope you put as much time in building your family and community as you do in looking at the faults of others. God gives us discernment to know between right and wrong and to judge sin.
    What would you do if someone said something against your son or daughter?

    P.S Come on with it ST bodygaurds

  25. 25 Douglas K. Adu-Boahen July 5, 2008 at 1:18 pm

    LOL! LOL! I’ll send my seed offering straightway 😉

  26. 26 speaking truth July 5, 2008 at 4:09 pm

    tony

    As I’ve said countless times, if you look up the definitions of the words that we use to describe the vipers, then you’ll see that the terminolgy is fitting. This blog (and others like it) either make you angry enough to think and defend your pimp with SOUND BIBLICAL DOCTRINE, or to just go away sulking.

    Since it is difficult for you to apply sound scripture to defend your pimps – not catchy sayings or scriptures quoted out of context mixed with motivational speeches and twisted philosophy – then just move on to another blog that falls all over themselves praising false teachers that you love so much.

    And until you can meet the challenge twice given to you to search the scriptures, I suggest that me and “my bodyguards” give you the silent treatment. It’s much more fun having spirited dialogue with bible readers. – even those that “don’t agree with everything” I say.

  27. 27 gcmwatch July 5, 2008 at 5:13 pm

    Tony, this is nothing against you personal, but your comments are getting rather immature. We understand your need to defend men who butcher the Word of God and teach others false doctrine. False doctrine kills souls.

    Why is it so hard to stand God’s Word and not people?

    Having said that, let’s respond to your question.

    There was no internet available in Jesus’ day, however Jesus came of age during a time when the spread of information was greatly facilitated by the rule of Rome. Today there is and it is a tool God has given us to equip, inform, empower and confront. The television is the same. So are magazines and newspapers. Are do you advocate that all forms of communication be abandoned by Christians who use it to spread the Word of God?

    The pimps wouldnt give us the time of day. I know, I WENT to EDDIE LONG’s clubhouse. I was at TD JAKES’ church factory. You can read all about on my blog. They’d much rather meet and greet fellow false prophets. The EVIDENCE Tony is all over, evidence from their own mouths and actions.

    You want to know why

    Tony, why dont you test the pimp’s system?
    1. Find their contact information. Check their websites.
    2. Write, call and email them (through several levels of staff whose job it is to keep you from talking to the “bishop”)
    3. If you get one of the staff to listen, ask for an appointment to meet/speak with the “bishop” Be specific about why you want to meet and the date.i.e. to confront his about his false doctrine.
    4. Once you have gotten approval to approach his Holiness, the mand da Gawd, then proceed with your denunication of his false doctrine.
    5. Please give us a call from the police station once you are booked in.

    I have personally talked to many members of these guys’ money makin factories and they told me verbatim that they could not meet with their own pastor. One woman said that EL Long had not replied to her (a 3 year member) letter because she had not paid her tithe in a while.

    I along with 12 other people personally wrote EL Long in 2002 asking for a meeting and not one letter was even responded to. We even called him to follow up. A “staff member” told me months later “Oh Bishop reads ALL his letters”. Yeah. Right.
    Therefore, our aim to educate the people who are unware of their unfruitful deeds. The internet is an excellent way to accomplish that.

    So Tony, wake up brotha. The system is designed to keep you, me and anyone else who would challenge them out of sight and out of mind. There must be peace on the plantation. That’s not the case in the OT when the prophets could walk right into the Kings palace and confront him. Today, our confrontation comes through this medium, but no less anointed and relevant.

    Thanks, IST for letting me vet this long commentary.

  28. 28 speaking truth July 5, 2008 at 7:56 pm

    No problem at all Pastor Foster – it was important for tony and others to undertand that these blogs are also born out of frustration of trying to meet our pimps face to face to no avail.

    I met with pimp Landers on my way out the door to voice my concerns and his reply was “I’ll pray for you”.

    So we already know that if talking to these vipers worked then they would’ve stopped and repented long ago.

    Again, let tony read and study because this is getting us nowhere…

  29. 29 Independent Conservative July 5, 2008 at 9:06 pm

    Tony,

    No where in the Bible am I under any mandate to go speak to some hustling lying pulpit pimp who has already rejected admonishment from many others. I’m sure you’d like to cite Matthew 18:15-17, but note that is regarding when one BROTHER sins against another BROTHER personally. Given we are talking about ravenous wolves and vipers rather than brothers, on top of the fact I don’t fall for their lies like you do so they are not sinning against me personally.

    And like ST, I sent a full slate of my grievances to a minister at Eddie Long’s club (the one of any pimp I could claim sinned against me personally), given Eddie Long is nearly untouchable I had to talk to someone on his staff. It did not result in any turn in Eddie Long, but the minister I sent the slate of grievances to ended up leaving Club New Birth about the same time I left.

    The Bible explicitly mandates that we warn about those pimps you support in public to the entire world:

    Ephesians 5:11, don’t engage with them, but fully expose them.

    Romans 16:17, keep a watch on and avoid false teachers.

    I find it interesting you mentioned family members in one of your comments. What would you do if you knew your brother or sister was being sexually molested? I’m sure you’d warn others about the molester. I see my brothers and sisters in Christ being raped in the Spirit, so by God given mandate I warn them to run from those vipers.

    Tony, here is right where our contention lies with you and those pimps you run cover for.

    1 Timothy 6:5 (New American Standard Bible)

    5 and constant friction between men of depraved mind and deprived of the truth, who suppose that godliness is a means of gain.

    We are at constant friction with you and those you support. You’re all of depraved mind and sadly deprived of the truth. You claim godliness as your means for “total life prosperity” and follow a false gospel with a false jesus who you claim as a personal ATM.

    Oh and Tony, I’m supposed to judge those who claim they are a brother and really are swindlers endorsing covetousness, 1 Corinthians 5:11-12.

  30. 30 Rashawn July 6, 2008 at 2:18 am

    Haw! Haw! All you guys are just the guys (ex. middle school nerds) that CAN’T suceed in REAL LIFE so you sit at your computers for hours on end JUST HOPING that someone will read this holier than thou drivel and disagree with your trivial points. Then it’s a dog pile with ST egging you all on. All of you, without exception spout ST’s “company line” with distressing regularity and puff yourselves up with false arrogance about your knowledge of the word. Just parroting him. I read the articles and its the same 5 guys that are responding all the time. Man, get off ST’s jock dudes! Are you paying his mortgage? LOL!! You clowns are so transparent. I occasionally read this judgemental snot when I want to get a belly laugh. You guys are nothing more than MODERN DAY PHARISEES. Why don’t you go spend time with your wives and families nurturing your marriages or try to suceed at something other than this milquetoast blather that you call a blog. That way the brother down the street won’t be taking your wives out for dinner behind your backs. IF YOPU HAVE WIVES AND FAMILIES. Instead of whining and complaining about all these “heretics” and “vipers” you need to DO SOMETHING ABOUT IT or else SHUT your FLAPS. I was laughing at you ST just the other day
    because a brother gave you a strong dose of your own medicine when he broke down your argument precept by precept and smacked down your frail reasoning like a gnat. And sure enough, like a petulant little boy you dissed him for writing a “doctoral thesis” and all your little boy cronies who pose as pastors and leaders and biblical scholars couldnt wait to pile on. But the truth was, he ripped you up ST and how did you respond? By getting snippy with him like a little woman, for which you later apologized. LOL! Priceless. BTW, do any of you stiffs have jobs or lives-if a man doesnt work he doesnt eat kids . Ok I’m done for now-now all you wimps tell me how I: A. Don’t read my bible. B. Am immature and have immature comments. C. Have ST all wrong and he is a true bible scholar who speaks THE TRUTH. (according to his own wack interpretation). D. Am a tolerant and ignorant sheep who doesn’t know anything. etc, etc, blah blah blah, yackety schmackety. Like I said-get a job and stop running your yaps and go do something about it. My daddy taught me that if theres a bully bullying you, you smack him in the mouth and he will think twice before he does it again. Get on your knees and smack the devil in the mouth because this sorry blog is not getting it done. I just could’t hold it in any longer. Im not sorry, I m not scared of you punks and I dont care what inane response you come back with because none of you guys have any accountability or integrity your just a pack of intellectual wanna be dolts typing opinions nobody cares about in cyber space. Now what? LOL I aint trying to be christian or civilized with your butts because someone needs to tell you how it really is Sissies.

  31. 31 speaking truth July 6, 2008 at 9:32 am

    Yup, more sound biblical defense…:roll:

    I apologized to Uzza, rashawn because I’m man enough to admit that I came back at him personally (like you’re doing now in that “snotty puffed up by your own flesh” sort of way) so I apologized for my tone – not my content.

    How sad are you that you read this blog for “material” instead of reading your bible to confirm or deny the content here?

    Good grief…just leave us “nerds” to our folly if you’re so amused by our error.

  32. 32 Douglas K. Adu-Boahen July 6, 2008 at 11:48 am

    I have come to find that those who say I am detached from the real world are detached from their Bibles and glued to their preacher-pimp. I don’t blog to escape the “real world” – if anything rashawn, you are the one detached from the real world where the pimps are actually liars and thieves – I blog with the hope that God will pull some people out of the madness of the mega-church Babylon and into his truth!

    I ain’t no Pharisee – but I’m no fool either. If a man of God is lying through his teeth, then I will call him/her on it. Read the following verses (ST, that has to be a good verse list on this, so I’ll use it again with permission):

    – 1 Corinthians 6:2-3
    – Proverbs 3:21
    – John 7:24
    – Jeremiah 22:3
    – Philippians 1:7
    – Philippians 1:10

  33. 33 rashawn July 6, 2008 at 12:09 pm

    Like I said, I have other things that occupy my time rather than to sit in front of the screen for hours a day. I do read my bible and if I wanted to take the time to form a rebuttal to your remarks I most certainly could even better than Uzza but I’d rather be in the game and making a difference in peoples lives than to be a bench warmer and blogging ineffectually. All you guys do at this site is stroke each others spiritual egos and dog pile anyone who differentiates in opinion whether they have scriptural validation or not. I peeped your game a long time ago. If you’ve noticed-most all of the people who differ in viewpoint say: love is the key to life and liberty. But you dont want to recognize that ultimate truth. You would rather just sit and whine. So have at it, I need more laughs. Laughter is the spice of life boys.

  34. 34 gcmwatch July 6, 2008 at 4:31 pm

    rashawn, wow you really told IST off. I havent seen anything like that since Coretta Jackson told Mamie Evans off in the hall between 3rd and 4th period. Your brillance (complete with obligatory “lols” was simply amazing. An art to be studied in every school of higher learning for sure.

    So how’d you do it, rashawn?
    I know youre still probably having your spicy little laugh so I’ll go ahead and decipher this modern marvel out on my own, if you dont mind.

    Let’s see. Gimme a minute with this one. Ok, you sat at your computer. And then…typed meaningless words!! Wow, Applause, applause!…who would have thought to do that? I mean you are a genius man. Wow, what extra ordinary talent.

    And to think that your biggest complaint is that people sit at computers and…type meaningless words. Oh sorry, I meant meaningless words that you take time to write verbose ramblings about.

    Anyway bruh, Just. Wow. Im going to go clap some more for you.

    /end sarcasm/

  35. 35 speaking truth July 6, 2008 at 5:06 pm

    I’m just going to keep crying into my pocket protector, fogging up my horn-rimmed glasses and waiting for my wife to come back from dinner with the guy down the street. And if you fellow “nerds” don’t leave rashawn alone then he’s really gonna get pissed and start using scripture to really tell me off because I’m sure he can – even though he has yet to say anything scripturally sound OR biblical since he showed up to this playground.

    Leave him alone or he’ll REALLY let me have it.

    🙄

  36. 36 escapeetoo July 6, 2008 at 7:32 pm

    “…For the message of the cross is foolishness to those who are perishing, but to us who are being saved it is the power of God .”
    1 Cor 1:18.

  37. 37 rashawn July 6, 2008 at 8:01 pm

    GCMwatch, way to use “verbose” thats a COLLEGIATE word there “bruh” for that you get a golf clap. Im also impressed. LOL (another liberally dispensed LOL for your viewing pleasure!) I’m not even referring to the article or its subject matter. I am LAUGHING AT YOU ALL. I couldn’t give a hoot and holler about these pimps because they don’t affect my life in any way. But you little guys are obviously hurt and bitter about something that went on in the churches you chose to attend and then got your little feelings hurt, so you blog about it. Grow up. Forgive and MOVE ON. If you don’t like the church or the leader its a free country. I dont sit up under any pimp, period. So you saying that I am defending these guys is making me laugh again and again. gcmwatch the only thing your “watching” is IST’s cheeks because you have your nose so far up his tail that you are smelling his food before he eats it. My whole point is that All you guys do is… THIS get some lives and you wont be so bitter. Go to the great physician and get your wounds healed-and stop licking each others wounds and enabling each other to be world class complainers. That’s all you guys are. Some things I dont need scripture for–God gave us all a little thing called COMMON SENSE–use it and stop sniveling -sissies

  38. 38 speaking truth July 6, 2008 at 8:23 pm

    Oh rashawn. For a man who mocks us nerds for sitting at a computer all day – you sure can find the time to come back and throw childish taunts. Let’s see…I’m a “little woman”, we’re all sissies, and everyone who reads my blog and agrees with the Word of God has their nose up my butt – or on my “jock”. Wow, what a mature full grown man you are, especially since your language has yet to transcend the 3rd grade.

    I’m not even referring to the article or its subject matter

    No kidding? So you just taunt for fun – with no desire to engage in mature dialog regarding the subject at hand.

    Some things I dont need scripture for

    Somethings? How about “no things” – since you can’t/didn’t/won’t use it to defend your argument….wait, your only argument is that I’m a little woman, we’re all nerds, blah blah blah.

    rashawn, I’m going to give you a reason to REALLY laugh with your buddies at the “jock end” of the playground because you are now banned from commenting on this blog – especially since my children can comment more maturely than you have.

    There…that REALLY should get you a belly-aching LOL going on now. Gotta go – my wife is just getting back in from her date with the guy down the street who is WAY cooler than I am.

    🙄

  39. 39 Independent Conservative July 6, 2008 at 10:38 pm

    Rashawn, I will remember you in my prayers.

  40. 40 ready4change July 7, 2008 at 11:12 am

    Pastor Foster,

    You took the words right out of my mouth. Can’t really add anything to what you and IC have already stated. It’s funny how Tony referred to us as bodyguards, but the real bodyguards belong to the pimps, prohibiting the “common” men and women from approaching the “annointed one”. You know Tony, in addition to what you’ve heard from Pastor F, IC, escapeetoo, Doug and ST, a little internet research would have informed you of a few more charlatans who have recieved letters of rebuke and correction and have not yet responded:

    The letter and petition to John (I Didn’t Mean What I Said, Don’t Mess With the Catholics) Hagee from the folks at FreeGoodNews.

    http://open-letter-for-pastor-hagee.org/

    An open letter to TD (Trouble Doctrine) Jakes from Apprising Ministries.

    http://www.apprising.org/archives/2007/01/letter_to_dr_td.html

    And finally, a sincere appeal from my man Maxdaddy to Cashflo’ (Mo Money Mo Problems from Senator Grassley) Dollar concerning his prosperity sewage and other doctrinal flaws.

    http://maxdaddy.wordpress.com/2007/08/21/scrutiny-is-mutiny/

    Read my lips Tony—THESE-PEOPLE-COULD-CARE-LESS-ABOUT-TRUTH-OR-ANY-OF-THE-SHEEPLE-THEY-ROUTINELY-MISLEAD.

    Tony, there’s still hope. It is very possible to be pimp free. I say the following not to boast of myself, but this is all by God’s sovereign grace and unending mercy. Our pastor knows us by name. I had a 20 minute conversation with him about…well…whatever. After that, we ended something like this…

    Me: “Enjoyed the sermon today pastor. I was really convicted and challenged”

    Him: “Thanks (insert my first name). I really appreciate the encouragement. Keep praying for me man.”

    A pound and a hug, and that was it. No staff, bodyguards, or security to get through when I need to talk with him. And no, this is not a small (as my grandmother used to say)storefront church. I can assure you, that if I had a problem with what he was teaching, there’s unlimited access to him as well as the other elders of the church. But I don’t have a problem Tony, do you know why? He’s been consistently, faithfully and diligently teaching systematically through the book of Matthew from a historical, grammatical and cultural approach since DECEMBER OF 2007. Now, let’s see, this is July 7th, 2008 and we’re only on CHAPTER 9. This is unlike the WOF clowns that pull selected scriptures from the old and new testaments and form a made up doctrine out of it. Tell me Tony, if we’re going line by line, precept upon precept through the WHOLE OF SCRIPTURE, how could I have a problem with it? This is why we deal with it through the medium of the internet, because there are so many problems associated with the false church, that approaching them face to face would be like getting a bill passed through congress (and you know how long that process takes).

    Rashawn, to you I will only say this. By God’s grace we are husbands, fathers, church members, employees, bloggers, recreationalists, and we partake in all other liberties that God gives to His elect. Your responses alert me to the fact that you are unaware of the intent of the gifts in the body as described in Ephesians 4 and 1 Corinthians 12. Although I can understand your desire to touch the world for Christ, it must be balanced by a proper understanding of who HE is (John 17:3). It appears to me that you despise the good fellowship that we enjoy on these blogs as believers. Perhaps it is because you seek the same thing. You may have it, if that’s what you desire, but please do not think that what we share replaces what we experience in “real life”. It only enhances it. I would also caution you from thinking that we are sucking up to one another. If you look more closely, you will find that there are things we disagree about. We seperate issues into categories of essentials and non-essentials. I can’t speak for everyone, but I would think most of us would take this stance: “In essentials unity. In the non-essentials liberty. In all things love.” This is why you see us agree on so many things, because in the defense of the orthodox christian faith, there is always UNITY. It’s amazing that Doug, at 17, could teach you a great deal about this on his blog. By the way Rashawn, speaking of Doug, if he is this doctrinally sound and full of wisdom at 17, what type of impact do you think he can make for the cause of Christ and the glory of God by the time he’s, say, 27? If we can get more of his generation thinking critically about belief, I think it’s worth “sitting at a computer all day because I don’t have a life”…or whatever you said…

    P.S.

    ST, how come I can’t use the power of suggestion? I learned it from my man Benny Hinn, whose been using it for years.

    http://www.csicop.org/si/2002-05/i-files.html

    You tryin’ to stop me from gettin’ paid??? LOL!!!

    Solus Christus,

    R4C

  41. 41 Ken July 7, 2008 at 11:34 am

    IST,
    You really struck a nerve with this one! When I read the comments from those who criticize blogs like yours, IC and GCM, and others I can’t help but think about Paul’s farewell address to the Ephesian elders in Acts 20. The people who say you and others should “get a life” would no doubt have a problem with what Paul said about false teachers and false teaching. What do we make of his statement that he had warned the church “night and day, for the space of THREE YEARS,to the point of tears?” In this statement we see both his zeal for the truth of God’s word and his deep love for the saints. Would the naysayers say of Paul, get a life? We have every right as true believers in Jesus Christ to examine the teaching of ANY pastor,teacher. And we have every right to expose the unfruitful works of darkness. Those who have been ensnared in their lies need to know the truth, those who might be potentially ensnared need to know the truth. These “clouds without water” have made shipwreck of so many peoples faith. They will have to give an account for the lives they have torn up with their false doctrine. And those of us who know the truth and refuse to speak out against them will be held accountable as well. IST,GCM,IC,Douglas and all the rest, KEEP FIGHTING FOR THE FAITH, ONCE FOR ALL DELIVERED TO THE SAINTS!!!!!!!!

  42. 42 speaking truth July 7, 2008 at 12:28 pm

    Brothers,

    I suggest that we stop addressing rashawn because his comments will no longer be posted to this blog – and it’s a waste of time. Also, tony has been given direction of where to search in God’s Word regarding the manner of this blog (and others) who call out apostates, pimps and heretics, so let him be. Frankly, he’s been more mature in his dialog than rashawn so just pray that the Lord’s will be done.

    I shouldn’t have let these comments spiral into childish taunts, and I’ve repented before the Lord for my part in it and pray that we all remember why we do what we do. If we respond to every person who taunts with no desire to engage in civil (yet spirited) conversation, then we are no better than those who reject God’s truth outright.

    Our mission is to direct them to the Word of God, and commend them to His grace – according to His will.

    I thank all of you who have provided sound scripture to direct the willing to particular areas of study, but that’s were we have to leave it. God forbid that we participate in taking the focus off of God through Jesus Christ by addressing every wayward word.

    So, I let’s get back to doing what we love – sharing the Word of God to the willing, and praying for all.

  43. 43 Independent Conservative July 7, 2008 at 10:16 pm

    Ken, you keep contending for the faith too brother!

  44. 44 Steph2b July 7, 2008 at 10:46 pm

    For the most part, I agree with GaryV’s post. However, Psalms 105 (the entire chapter) talks about God’s covenant with the children of Israel, or as verse 1 says “his deeds among the people.”  So I believe the “anointed” in this particular passage refers to the children of Israel not just Kings.
    I am currently a member of COGIC, and I cannot tell you how many times I have heard “touch not God’s anointed” from my fellow brothers and sisters in Christ.  Every time I heard it, I wanted to scream at the top of my lungs!  For the life of me, I could not understand their ignorance of scripture. 
    Furthermore, I could not understand why they thought it was okay to remain silent concerning the preacher/pastor’s misdeeds, when clearly the scriptures encourages reproof and restoration among other things. As GaryV noted, even Paul confronted Peter publicly.  I once told that to an Elder in our church, who much to my dismay said nothing when our then pastor ran the church amok. I had hoped it would give him the courage to confront the pastor.
    As I once heard an evangelist say, “We’ve given confrontation a negative connotation – to confront means to seek clarity.”  We can confront in a spiritual, respectful and loving manner.  We can call a spade a spade without being harsh or nasty.  The key lies in being guided by the Holy Spirit in what to say and when to say it. 
    The problem is that we treat our preachers/pastors as if they are God.  We never bother to read or study the scriptures ourselves to determine if what we’re hearing from the pulpit is indeed truth.  (Nor do we study God’s word to grow in Christ.)  Furthermore, we’ve stopped inspecting one’s fruits and testing (trying) the spirit (1 John 4:1-6).  As a result, false prophets, wolves and pulpit pimps have crept in and taken over our pulpits. 

  45. 45 speaking truth July 8, 2008 at 9:51 am

    Thanks for your comment Steph2b. I’m sure GaryV will chime back in, but I think it’s an interesting assertion that “anointed” could also refer to the children of Isreal AND the kings. Let’s look at the KJV of the text as it is generally the version used to rebuke naysayers:

    Psalm 105:14-15 (King James Version)
    14He suffered no man to do them wrong: yea, he reproved kings for their sakes;

    15Saying, Touch not mine anointed, and do my prophets no harm.

    Now, let’s take a look at the lexicon with Strong’s dictionary to dig further:

    – He suffered no man to do them wrong yea he reproved kings for their sakes

    He suffered
    yanach [yaw-nakh’]
    to deposit; by implication, to allow to stay

    no man
    ‘adam [aw-dawm’]
    ruddy i.e. a human being (an individual or the species, mankind, etc.) another, + hypocrite, + common sort, low, man (mean, of low degree), person.

    to do them wrong
    `ashaq [aw-shak’]
    to press upon, i.e. oppress, defraud, violate, overflow — get deceitfully, deceive, defraud, drink up, (use) oppress(-ion), -or), do violence (wrong)

    yea he reproved
    yakach [yaw-kahh’]
    to be right (i.e. correct); reciprocal, to argue; causatively, to decide, justify or convict

    kings
    melek [meh’-lek]
    a king — king, royal.

    – Saying Touch not mine anointed and do my prophets no harm

    Saying Touch
    naga` [naw-gah’]
    beat, (be able to) bring (down), cast, come (nigh), draw near (nigh), get up, happen, join, near, plague, reach (up), smite, strike, touch.

    not mine anointed
    mashiyach [maw-shee’-akh]
    anointed; usually a consecrated person (as a king, priest, or saint); specifically, the Messiah — anointed, Messiah.

    and do my prophets
    nabiy’ [naw-bee’]
    a prophet or (generally) inspired man — prophecy, that prophesy, prophet.

    no harm
    ra`a` [raw-ah’]
    to spoil (literally, by breaking to pieces); figuratively, to make (or be) good for nothing, i.e. bad (physically, socially or morally)

    Even if we include the children of Israel, in my opinion the inference is still the same since we are not physically “touching” or “harming” anyone, we are simply exposing the works of darkness (Ephesians 5:7-11).

    Also, it’s good to see someone from the COGIC denomination that is willing to address misconduct within the denomination – and encourages others to do so as well.

    Thanks for stopping by to contribute to the discussion, Steph2b – great comment.

  46. 46 ray0408 July 8, 2008 at 7:11 pm

    Interesting dialogue here . . . We are called to test all things, test all spirits and judge what others say whoever they are. It sounds like our instructions are to not to judge the person but the behavior. Unlike Christ we can’t see into the heart of someone. We can only judge what we see the behaviors. It doesn’t do any good to judge the person because at our core we are all the same, worthless without Christ.

    Calling out what is happening in the churches, false teachings, souls dieing for lack of the truth, bongage, lies, churches creating dependency on them instead of God and that most leaders are feeding this mayham is what we told to do. We are to expose, exhort each other with the intention that they will see the truth and turn from their ways. God’s Word is the authority, no one is above being exhorted by it. If they don’t hear then we dust off our feet and move on.

    The church is headed in a downward spiral things are only going to get worst. Being honest with ourselves about what it has become is the best thing we can do for each other.

    Rachel

  47. 47 speaking truth July 8, 2008 at 11:13 pm

    God’s Word is the authority, no one is above being exhorted by it.

    Amen ray0408 – no blogger or false teacher is above the authority of scripture, thus my belief in sola scriptura. That makes it all the more paramount to identify those who misuse God’s Word – and commit ourselves to it’s sanctity.

  48. 48 GaryV July 12, 2008 at 8:32 am

    Hi Steph2b!! You can broaden the “anointed” designation even further as you know the nearer the NT we get,since all Christians are of course anointed.We in Christ are ALL kings and prophets through Him.

    In the passage in question,though the reference is speaking to the nation as well as their kings and prophets, Israel itself was neither all kings nor all prophets as we are in Christ. There were specific individuals who were anointed for those offices,and there is a clear delineation between prophets and kings and the nation as a whole. The nation as a whole, to the best of my knowledge,was never referred to as either anointed prophets,nor kings. Only individuals raised from WITHIN Israel.

    That in mind, my reading of those verses has God speaking to the nation,then singling out the prophets and kings as the representatives of the nation. The literal Hebrew does not provide the interpolation “Saying” in verse 15, which the translators inserted into the Text but is not in the original.

    Psa 105:12 In their being few in number, But a few, and sojourners in it.
    Psa 105:13 And they go up and down, from nation unto nation, From a kingdom unto another people.
    Psa 105:14 He hath not suffered any to oppress them And He reproveth for their sakes kings.
    Psa 105:15 `Strike not against Mine anointed, And to My prophets do not evil.’

    The absence of “saying” between verses 14 and 15 in the Hebrew makes 15 an independent statement instead of referential to the nation as a whole as kings and prophets,terms which Scripture doesn’t apply to Israel as a whole in the OT. In other words, up til verse 14 the nation (including kings and prophets) is being addressed, then in verse 15 God specifically singles out His Anointed leadership,the anointed kings and prophets.

    This is my reading of the Text anyway, which keeps the consistent OT theme of the Nation being separate from its anointed prophets and kings, rather than bunching them together and making the entire Nation anointed prophets and kings. I simply don’t find the entire nation of Israel referred to as anointed prophets and kings in the OT, and interpreting Psalm 105 in that manner seems out of harmony with the rest of the OT to my thinking.

    The literal Hebrew (without the translator’s insertion of the word “saying” to link 14 and 15) keeps that separation intact and harmonizes with the OT theme that only certain individuals WITHIN Israel were anointed by God to the roles of kings and prophets.Part of the Glory in Christ is that in Him we all become anointed priests and kings through the New Birth. But that is a condition unique to the New Testament and those who have become New Creations in Christ, not an element of membership in the nation of Israel before Christ.

    At any rate, as you noted, the point of the article that “touching the anointed” Biblically refers to physical harm (rather than telling the truth about modern heretics) remains intact. I just thought it important that the reasoning behind my interpretation of Psalm 105 in particular be open assessment,since the responsible handling of the Word is the primary concern of all here. Blessings!!

  49. 49 speaking truth July 12, 2008 at 10:46 am

    Thanks for addding even more illumination to an interesting article – and topic GaryV.

    Keep it coming!


Comments are currently closed.



AddThis Feed Button Add to Technorati Favorites
twitter

Get Daily Email Updates:

Sign up for email updates and get the latest articles in your email inbox!

People Looking For Truth:

  • 1,087,134 ...and counting

RSS John MacArthur Sermons

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS John Piper Sermons

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS RC Sproul Sermons

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS The White Horse Inn

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Categories

Archived Articles…


