Hold Fast To The Faithful Word

Last week, our brothers over at ProclaimHisWord warned us to stay away from the Ministers of Satan. This week, they highlight men who apply sound biblical doctrine in advancing the TRUE Gospel of the Lord Jesus Christ:

***The video is no longer able to be embedded, so please visit ProclaimHisWord’s youtube channel and select the “Holy Men Of God” video***

If you’re unfamiliar with any of the men featured in the video, I highly recommend that you Google them and look into their theological works – especially if you’ve recently escaped the Word of Faith heresy or the bondage of a scripture twisting pulpit pimp.

Folks like RC Sproul, Albert Mohler, John MacArthur, John Piper, Michael Horton, Paul Washer and others are on the front lines defending AND contending for the faith. As a black man, I’m ashamed to say that I would’ve never heard of these men – or read any of their work – because my pimps were paranoid of exposing us to anyone other than them and their ilk (“you shouldn’t be eating off of other people’s plates when you’re fed the Word by the shepherd here!” they’d say).

Now, I not only read the works of doctrinally sound men of God, I even bought a John MacArthur New American Standard Study Bible (my new favorite translation).

Thanks be to God through Jesus Christ that the Apostle Paul explained TRUE Christian leadership to Titus:

Titus 1:7-9 (New American Standard Bible)

7For the (A)overseer must be above reproach as (B)God’s steward, not (C)self-willed, not quick-tempered, not (D)addicted to wine, not pugnacious, (E)not fond of sordid gain,

 8but (F)hospitable, (G)loving what is good, sensible, just, devout, self-controlled,

 9(H)holding fast the faithful word which is in accordance with the teaching, so that he will be able both to exhort in (I)sound doctrine and to refute those who contradict.

If your pastor is unable to hold fast to the faithful Word of God, exhort you with sound biblical doctrine AND refute the enemies of God with His Word alone, then you need to pack your bible and move along.

The Word of God and the works of the theologically sound men mentioned in the video will help you continue to develop as a mature Christian until you find your next assembly.

9 Responses to “Hold Fast To The Faithful Word”


  1. 1 Douglas K. Adu-Boahen July 2, 2008 at 9:04 am

    No doubt that was a roll call of great men! John MacArthur, Paul Washer and R.C. Sproul have been so influential in my Christian walk, and I’m grateful for their ministries.

    I see you own a MacArthur Study Bible – which is great! It’s a fantastic Bible, and in fact, it was the first real study Bible I bought. You should check R.C. Sproul’s Reformation Study Bible as well. It’s pretty solid – and has the ESV, which is the official Reformed folks’ Bible (LOL LOL LOL) 🙂

  2. 2 speaking truth July 2, 2008 at 9:22 am

    I figured you couldn’t leave a comment in this post without plugging an ESV bible, Doug – especially since you made an entire post about it. 😆

    I know you English think you’ve cornered the market on all things proper, but a few of us over here in the “colonies” can still do a few things on our own 🙂

    But seriously, I too am being impacted by the works of these great men. As I mentioned in the post (and you can relate to as well because of your traditional pentacostal background), many non-whites would never venture to read these works because most of the headliners in the pimp game today are too busy re-writing the Gospel instead of investigating it’s truth.

  3. 3 Douglas K. Adu-Boahen July 2, 2008 at 10:00 am

    Yes, I am the world’s only existing ESV-onlyist LOL! It’s a good Bible – though I still have a New American Standard (now there’s a good teaching Bible), NIV and the good ol’ King James!

    On a serious level, I used to get up at 4am to listen to Eddie Long not too long ago and I really believed he was a good Bible teacher, until I heard the rest of the story, as Paul Harvey would say.

    I gave a friend of mine a copy of R.C. Sproul’s book Essential Truths of the Christian Faith a week ago. I go to answer the doorbell yesterday and there she is with my book in hand. I ask her why, and her answer was: “I found it deeply boring and unmotivational”. I took it back seeing as she didn’t want it, and then she had the nerve to ask me to buy her a copy of Creflo’s new book!

    It is something of a miracle of the bad kind when someone will turn down a book designed to help you learn sound doctrine to read from the cesspit that happens to be Word of Faith theology! Then again, my Dad is her pastor and he openly plugs these books all the time…

  4. 4 speaking truth July 2, 2008 at 10:41 am

    I used to get up at 4am to listen to Eddie Long not too long ago and I really believed he was a good Bible teacher, until I heard the rest of the story, as Paul Harvey would say.

    That’s how Creflo, Eddie, Joel, Paula, and the other heretics draw you in – they give you a morsel of the bible, then they launch into an incorrect application of a twisted scripture and how it validates their already pre-formed opinion (or personal philosophy). As much as they appeal to the greedy Christian who wants to believe that they are a “little god” or that God wants to “run them over with blessings”, they really trap those who are biblically ignorant and haven’t read/discerned the Word for themselves.

    Thank God through Jesus Christ that He is pouring wisdom into your young mind – and that you don’t have to “unlearn” all of that WOF heretical garbage like I do (and countless others).

    I’m reading Sproul’s “What Is Reformed Theology” now, and I’m going to read “Institutes of Christian Religion” when I’m done (I bought them both at the same time, but too much to do, so little time…).

    BTW – if you send me your contact info, I may help you clear your Amazon “wish list”…

  5. 5 Douglas K. Adu-Boahen July 2, 2008 at 12:08 pm

    I wish you all the best with the re-programming process. My good friend John Coleman puts the technique of these guys in one word – psychobabble. It sounds good to the unwitting mind, but to a listening one, it’s a load of babble.

    I would point the fingers at both the preachers [and they that trained them] and the people in the pew, chairs or whatever you sit on in church. I blame the pastors/elders for not doing two things: (1) studying the Bible properly so they can understand it, since you can’t teach what you don’t know and (2) not training the flock to be “self feeders” and examiners of their preachers, after all the Bible commands us to test all things – 1 Thessalonians 5:21.

    I blame the “laity” because they place blind faith in their “mand of Gawd” and refuse to test him, because he says he’s from God. The Bible says otherwise – 1 John 4:1

  6. 6 Ken July 2, 2008 at 5:53 pm

    That’s a great list. And what a contrast to the “cult of personality” represented by the Pulpit Pimps, or as I like to call them, “murderers row” for the way they kill scripture. Nice to see MacArthur on your list as I am currently finishing his book “The Truth War.” It is a great read and I would highly recommend it. One thing we must always remember, no matter how many pimps are out there, God always has a faithful remnant. And to our brother Douglas, what a sad commentary on the state of the average believer today. I guess ol’ R.C. should have thrown in some “Your Best Life Now” anecdotes.

  7. 7 speaking truth July 2, 2008 at 8:38 pm

    That’s exactely what real theologians do, Ken – contrast the weak “cult of personality” that entertains and distracts the church today. I’ve added MacArthur’s The Truth War to my reading list, but at this rate I pray that I can even get to it by the end of the year.

    And thank God that no matter how desperate times may be (and all manner of heretics, apostates, etc. that are running roughshod over the Body today), He ALWAYS retains a faithful remnant that will ALWAYS declare His truth!

    A sorely needed balm to aid in the coming tribulation…

  8. 8 rascoe1 July 2, 2008 at 11:03 pm

    Well Douglas, sorry to intrude, but I have a Nelsons Study Bible and I always considered it the best thing since slice bread. Should I get rid of it and get one of the ESV bible (smile).

  9. 9 Douglas K. Adu-Boahen July 3, 2008 at 7:57 am

    Nelson’s Study Bible is real good, so you get partial credit (LOL)


Comments are currently closed.



AddThis Feed Button Add to Technorati Favorites
twitter

Get Daily Email Updates:

Sign up for email updates and get the latest articles in your email inbox!

People Looking For Truth:

  • 1,095,657 ...and counting

RSS John MacArthur Sermons

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS John Piper Sermons

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS RC Sproul Sermons

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS The White Horse Inn

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Categories

Archived Articles…


