The Hillside Heretical “Truth” Center

In taking the time this week to shed more light on the inclusion/ecumenical/universalism heresy that Earl “The Abomination” Paulk and his family have adopted, I can’t ignore one of the original false teachers who pushes this garbage here in the metro-Atlanta area…Dr. Barbara L. King.

Barbara King, a self-avowed “new thought” teacher, is the Founder and “Spiritual Leader” of the Hillside International Truth Center in Atlanta. Wikipedia describes the new thought movement as:

a loosely allied group of organizations, authors, philosophers, and individuals who share a set of metaphysical beliefs concerning healing, life force, Creative Visualization, and personal power.

The new thought movement has a foundational belief in diversity, tolerance, and unity. However (as with most all ecumenical pursuits), diversity, tolerance, and unity is not extended to those of us who claim the Name of the Lord Jesus Christ as the ONLY means of access to salvation and eternal relationship with God our Father.

Take a look at Hillside Heretical’s “symbol”:

And just in case you’re wondering, according to Hillside Heretical: the spiritual faculty for June is “imagination”, the physical center for June is “the center of the forehead” (the “third eye”, if you will), and the color is light blue.

🙄

And you can go to Hillside Heretical’s website to learn what the meaning of their symbol is (it’s on the first page of the site – scroll down). If they’re a “Christian Church”, then why not use the cross as their symbol (or at least some super funky hip version of the cross that even the seeker sensitive’s use)?

Barb claims that the Hillside Heretical Center is a Christian church, yet she’s an avowed believer in metaphysical beliefs? As a “Christian minister”, does she give any credence to Colossians 2:6-8 (my emphasis in bold):

 6Therefore as you have received Christ Jesus the Lord, so walk in Him,

 7having been firmly rooted and now being built up in Him and established in your faith, just as you were instructed, and overflowing with gratitude.

 8 See to it that no one takes you captive through philosophy and empty deception, according to the tradition of men, according to the elementary principles of the world, rather than according to Christ.

At this point it shouldn’t surprise you to know that Carlton “The Heretic” Pearson has “blessed” Barb and Hillside Heretical with his presence on several occasions this year– to speak on…you guessed it, “inclusionism” (i.e. good people can go to heaven because they’re good – and they don’t need to repent and accept God’s gift of salvation through His Son).

You can visit Hillside Heretical’s website to learn more about their new thought views – and how they attempt to align with sound biblical doctrine, but I wanted to highlight an event that Barb is having over at Hillside Heretical this coming Sunday [6/22/08] – “The Interfaith/Intercultural Service”.

Let’s take a closer look at the “communities” that have been invited to participate in this event:

  • Hebrew – no belief in the deity of Jesus Christ
  • Islamic – rejects the divinity of Jesus Christ
  • Unitarian Universalists– a variable “hodge podge” of world religions, rejects the divinity of Jesus Christ
  • Zen Buddhists– believe in “attaining enlightenment through meditation” and rejects all manner of scriptural study, religious rites, and devotion (oh, and they deny the divinity of Jesus Christ)
  •  New Thought Metaphysical – enough said already
  • Roman Catholics – you already know how I feel about the RCC. Even though they believe in the divinity of Christ, they still fit right in with this bunch.

So there you have it – a virtual soup of unity, universalism, moral relativism, inclusion, love, heresy, apostasy, and more – all under the guise of an extended interpretation of God through Jesus Christ.

Paul already warned the Athenian philosophers of his day about trying to philosophically understand God without Jesus Christ (Acts 17:10-34 NASB). Barb and the folks at Hillside Heretical (and even Club Heretic) had better pay close attention to a particularly ominous pronouncement in Paul’s admonition on Mars Hill:

29“Being then the children of God, we ought not to think that the Divine Nature is like gold or silver or stone, an image formed by the art and thought of man.

30“Therefore having overlooked the times of ignorance, God is now declaring to men that all people everywhere should repent,

31because He has fixed a day in which He will judge the world in righteousness through a Man whom He has appointed, having furnished proof to all men by raising Him from the dead.”

Paul was right. The bible is right. PERIOD.

If you subscribe to the teaching of Barb and Hillside Heretical, you need to repent and return to your First Love, flee this church club, and don’t look back.

God will not continue to ignore this foolishness…

34 Responses to “The Hillside Heretical “Truth” Center”


  1. 1 Independent Conservative June 20, 2008 at 5:16 pm

    I visited Barbara King’s cult club of false doctrine years ago when I was just looking around at church groups in Atlanta. (Back when I had first moved to the Atlanta area.) I really didn’t know much of anything about the place before going. A woman claiming to be in church leadership over women and men was a red flag. Then I noticed it seemed nothing but women were in leadership, at least that’s what I saw during my visit. And then the deadest moment of all, which fully ensured I knew they were teaching another gospel. They didn’t call God the “Father”, they spoke of a “Father Mother god”.

    Needless to say, one visit there was more than enough to show me they were off into another gospel, that is not the truth of Christ.

  2. 2 speaking truth June 20, 2008 at 6:07 pm

    Geesh, brother – it’s good you made it out of their with your mind intact.

    I remember first hearing about her when I was at Club New Birth in 97. She seemed “deep” from a distance, so I watched one of her broadcasts (plus it was one of the clubs you had to be at back then…full of Buppies looking for enlightenment). Anyway, something seemed…how should I say this…strange about her – and when she expounded on “Father Mother God” this and “the universe” that, I figured it was time to change the channel.

    She reminds me of Johnnie Coleman back in my hometown of Chicago. JC was (is?) WAY out there with this stuff (she’s got a “university” that ordains people in this garbage). She even had Les Brown regurgitating that stuff.

    We got to stay connected to the Vine or God only knows what we’ll end up subscribing to…

  3. 3 gcmwatch June 20, 2008 at 8:38 pm

    IST, Barbara is a Johnnie Coleman disciple. She tutored under Coleman and then came to ATL to set up Universal Truth Temple, Jr. aka Hillside Chapel. I saw this special she did on AIB and she said that she was once locked up in a mental institution. A brilliant, but reprobate mind.

    I had the unfortunate experience of dealing with two lesbian ministers from her church at a Concerned Clergy of Atlanta meeting on AIDS.

    Anyway…presenting Barbara King…
    [video src="http://www.ecapc.org/media/video/ECAPC_007.wmv" /]
    [video src="http://www.ecapc.org/media/video/ECAPC_008.wmv" /]

    • 4 Wanda.R September 21, 2009 at 8:59 am

      Hi gcmwatch. You and speaking truth really have held up the standard of God in exposing Satan and his ministers by speaking the Truth of God no matter who likes it or not. God never told us to like Him (His Word) anyway. He said to love Him. Thank you my brothers in Christ. I watched almost all of the first video, but just “cut the crap” because it is definitely 100% HERETICAL. I also didn’t expect to see what I saw when the camera shifted from the man to Barbara King. I don’t mean any harm and I know you say she is not a man, but if she calls God an “IT” then I can at least refer to her as an it and at best a MAN! I’ll just have to wait to see it’s birth certificate to believe it was a little girl. Anyway, please keep informing The Body of Christ of The Truth of God’s Word as He has said in II Timothy 4:2 and I pray that those who sincerely want The Truth will turn from this deception, repent and come into The Kingdom of God. TRUTH:JESUS:LOVE

  4. 5 speaking truth June 20, 2008 at 10:09 pm

    So that explains everything gcmwatch – she’s a Johnnie Coleman clone! She almost preaches the same kind of “empowerment” that Jakes and Osteen teach (repositioning yourself, becoming a better you, etc.) – as well as the WOF junk (speak those things…).

    Even watching those videos, I can’t ignore the fact that there is…something…different about her…I can’t quite put my finger on it…:-|

  5. 6 C. A. Blackmon June 21, 2008 at 12:46 pm

    This is the first time I’ve heard of/seen Barbara King. I watched about 5 seconds of the first video and almost fell out of my chair. Dude, you KNOW what’s different about her! I can’t bring myself to say it or believe it. Oh, I apologize for calling you “dude”. Watching that video floored me and I guess I got a little carried away.

  6. 7 speaking truth June 21, 2008 at 1:43 pm

    It’s OK to call me dude, C.A..

    I think we can all assume what that “something” is (or was, if you will), but let’s keep this rated “G” 🙂

  7. 8 djenk23 June 21, 2008 at 5:07 pm

    I think that there’s an Aerosmith song that describes this person…

  8. 9 gcmwatch June 21, 2008 at 7:37 pm

    No, brothers and video watching friends, as far as history reflects Barbara King is not a man. There. I said it.
    Althought when I saw her in person for the first time at Divine Faith in Jonesboro, I could barely say thank you Jesus. Mesmerized, but not in a good way.

  9. 10 gcmwatch June 21, 2008 at 7:54 pm

    Oh sorry but you guys really had me crying I laughed so hard! Especially @ you, CA, lol

  10. 11 speaking truth June 21, 2008 at 11:08 pm

    Wow gcmw – you really jumped in the middle of all the innuendo’s 😆

    I’m still wiping the tears of laughter from my eyes.

    Let’s just end this right here – lest our critics have more ammo against us…

    😆

  11. 12 Israel Malik September 17, 2008 at 5:23 pm

    What a sad sad group of people. I guess these are God’s people. If you just sit here as an outsider like me who stumbled upon this site you see how sad some people really are. I never read such low, hateful, venom, making fun of a Minister calling her “BARB” which is so disrespectful. I wonder if you would respond to a Rabbi which such disrespect. And all because you have no idea of what she teaches or she is different. Six billion people and thousands of religions and all you can do is attack what you don’t know. Black people are a hot shytty mess. Someone said it to me the other day and it’s true, BLACK PEOPLE WILL ALWAYS BE SLOW!
    You think you know so much about the slave master’s Christianity that you were forced to accept as truth. It’s amazing how you defend what little you know. Her church is a New Thought Church. It is not COGIC it is not PAW and it is not National Baptist. To call it garbage…I just can’t find the words to describe the ignorance on this page and in this article. I would never call another religion or belief system garbarge becuase I disagree or it was not mine. Did anyone take the time to hear the man in the video talk about what a blessing she had been in his and is family’s life? Why would you denigrate another like that. That man is not out killing folks or or robbing or cheating, he’s using his life ofr something positive and all yo could do was talk about how she looked. She has a son you know? How would you feel if someone spoke of your mother with such vulgarity? Is THIS the Jesus you want us to follow? I have met Rev. King and I can assure you will not meet a more beautiful humble loving spirit.
    I actually hate that I stumbled and read these comments for I feel so dirty like I need to take a bath. But once again it reminds me why I would never be in any of your churches. No love, co compassion for others. Only those that believe it the way you do. And of course YOU and ONLY YOU are right. You been here twenty , thirty, forty years and you have all the answers to the mystery which is life, which has been evolving for billions fo years. Black people really need to evolve out of this self-hatred which has us treat our own with such dismissal and disgust. This is one of the saddest articles I have ever read and the comments are some of the most disturbing comments I have ever read…and you call yourselves followers of the way. Representatives of Jesus….you keep that Jesus you got, it ain’t working for you at all.

  12. 13 speaking truth September 17, 2008 at 8:14 pm

    Israel,

    I will sum up a neat and tidy response to your post. People like Barb King, Carlton Pearson and other heretics deny the Lordship of Jesus Christ by attempting to pollute the truth of the GOspel with New Age GARBAGE and false spirituality – affirming the heresy that there are multiple paths to God apart from Jesus Christ. Thus, they and their ilk are FALSE TEACHERS.

    Again, salvation can only be found through JESUS CHRIST ALONE – all other pursuits are antichrist pursuits of a counterfiet “gospel” and it does not please God.

    Like it or not – it is what it is.

  13. 14 A Hillsider October 8, 2008 at 8:51 pm

    To Each of YOu
    I love You
    I appeciate You
    And I Thank God for You!

    Pleae take the time to vist our Website and learn the real truth about our Church. You will no longer gave to asume what we are about.
    We believe in the teachings of Jesus the Christ.
    It is what is is…All Love.

    Namskar

  14. 15 speaking truth October 8, 2008 at 9:28 pm

    A Hillsider,

    I have visited your website, I’ve looked over the books that your pastor has written, I’ve listened to many of her sermons and watched your broadcasts on Sunday mornings, and I know exactly what your church is about.

    We believe in the teachings of Jesus the Christ

    That’s no different than Muslims, Jews, and other non-Christians who believe in the teachings of Christ because He was a “great philosopher” or a “great teacher”.

    The question really is do you believe that Jesus Christ is the ONLY Begotten Son of God the Father?

    Do you believe that man is inherently evil and is doomed to eternal hellfire apart from salvation through Jesus Christ alone?

    Do you believe that Christ died for our sins and He is our ONLY access to God the Father?

    By ending your comment with “Namskar”, are declaring allegiance to Buddhism, Hinduism, and Yoga as well?

    I rest my case…

  15. 16 Does your heart break? October 14, 2008 at 2:40 am

    I stumbled on this site as I googled Barbara King due to the enraptured approval of my friend who lives in Atlanta. He has been attending for 2 years or so. This church reminds me of the Agape Church in Los Angeles.

    These churches say that God is not interested in your lifestyle. He is only interested in your heart. How one’s lifestyle and heart can be separated, I’m not quite sure. The humanistic aspect is also disturbing. One does not look inside oneself to find God. One looks for a relationship with God and in doing so will discover oneself. I too searched the Hillside site and could not find anything that mentioned that Jesus Christ is The Way, The Truth and The Life; that no man comes to the Father but by Him.

    The preaching and doctrine is indeed false and this woman will pay for her folly if she does not repent before her mortal coil severs. Ny friend, who I love dearly, has been woefully deceived into thinking he can live an alternative lifestyle and still go to heaven. This woman affirms this idea, darkening his deceit, making him comfortble in his sin and assuring his eventual descent into hell.

    I have spoken with my friend in depth about this church. A college graduate, he is far from stupid and so was able to express himself quite clearly on the church’s and his beliefs. When challenged outright, he finally admitted that he thinks there is more than one way to God and heaven and who says that Jesus is truly God anyway? Jesus is just what another poster said, “a great teacher and philosopher.” This is not how he was raised. Now he is all platitudes and zen.

    This infuriates me along the lines of Jesus tossing temple tables.
    We can hate on King all we want and those like her but it is not doing any good whatsoever to those of our loved ones who have found someone to excuse their sin with kumbaya cliches.

    These are real people we’re talking about here, not just a bunch of folk in a congregation. Real souls going straight to hell because of false teaching and preaching.

    Let us fall on our knees in intercession and pray for God’s mercy on these people, for His interference in their lives as His arm is not too short to save. Let’s not be so mean and self-righteous that we forget these are actual people with faces, skin, smiles and souls.

    I admit, it’s easy to fall into the argumentitive role, especially when you know The Word and you want to prove you’re right. I was this way (and still can be if I don’t catch myself) until my very dear friend put himself in eternal harm’s way.

    Suddenly I’m not as concerned about being right as I am concerned about praying him into the kingdom. Eternity is a long time. Eternity is outside of time. Can you imagine spending eternity in hell- weeping and gnashing of teeth, no rest for your soul, only intolerable crushing pain, the smell and feel of your own skin and flesh burning, peeling, burning, peeling repeating this over and over for eternity? Eternal separation from our loving God? Can you imagine that? Forever?!

    They think they are right as Israel and Namskar noted. We know they are not. But let us love them as we would if they were a part of our very own blood kin as that kind of love covers a multitude of sins.
    My heart breaks for my friend. May God cause our hearts to break even for those we don’t know personally that we may be able to cover them in tears of compassion and fervent, effective prayer.

    God bless you guys. You’re warriors and we need more of you.

  16. 17 speaking truth October 14, 2008 at 9:34 am

    Does Your Heart Break,

    Thanks for your comment. I can feel your angst in recalling your dealings with your friend and the cult that they’ve fallen into. I too have friends (or former friends at this point) who attend Barbara King’s cult here in Atlanta – and other cults like New Birth, New Birth South, Worl Changers, etc. I completely understand how frustrating it is to try to compel them to read the truth for themselves. When I was under the strong delusion of false teachers, no one could tell me anything against my pimps. It wasn’t until the delusion was lifted for a moment that I went to the Word of GOd to see what the truth really was.

    That said, I must address some of the points of your post specifically:

    We can hate on King all we want and those like her but it is not doing any good whatsoever to those of our loved ones who have found someone to excuse their sin with kumbaya cliches.

    These are real people we’re talking about here, not just a bunch of folk in a congregation. Real souls going straight to hell because of false teaching and preaching.

    I don’t “hate on” Barbara King or her ilk. That would imply that I approve of what they do and I’m jealous – which is not the case. These people are marching people to hell, and they must be called out on it.

    Let us fall on our knees in intercession and pray for God’s mercy on these people, for His interference in their lives as His arm is not too short to save. Let’s not be so mean and self-righteous that we forget these are actual people with faces, skin, smiles and souls.

    I am harsh and direct – but I don’t believe I’m particularly mean or self-righteous. I am a wretched sinner saved by God’s unmerited grace. I didn’t choose God, or stop “running from Him” – He chose me through His sovereign will. I do pray that the false teachers repent and that their followers find God through Jesus Christ. In fact, I’ve never prayed so hard for them before in my life as I do now. God’s will is being done (and will be done) in their lives, so some people are supposed to come to Him after fleeing these cults, and others are supposed to follow the false teachers.

    I say that completely soberly and with no malicous intent whatsoever. I pray for and witness to my family members as well, yet I am keenly aware that some of them may never come to know Christ – and their eternity is already set for them. It’s sad and tragic, but it is God’s will.

    I admit, it’s easy to fall into the argumentitive role, especially when you know The Word and you want to prove you’re right…

    …But let us love them as we would if they were a part of our very own blood kin as that kind of love covers a multitude of sins.
    My heart breaks for my friend. May God cause our hearts to break even for those we don’t know personally that we may be able to cover them in tears of compassion and fervent, effective prayer

    You’re right – it’s very easy to fall into the argumentative role – particularly when people think you’re mean or crazy for presenting the Word of God as-is. That said, I don’t seek to display my “vast biblical knowledge”. I only know what the Holy SPirit reveals to me through the reading of the Word. I am no better than anyone else who decides to read the Word and pray for themselves. I don’t want to be “right” (and I’ve been wrong PLENTY of times) – my prayer is that this blog drive people to the Word of God to see that God is ALWAYS RIGHT.

    I agree – we should pray for the lost and those under strong delusion, but we must also remember that in the end, it’s God’s will that prevails.

    Ultimately, we’re on the same side DYHB? – and yes, my heart really does break to see masses of people turn away from the truth of God in order to subscribe to lies formed from the pit of hell. Let’s keep praying and declaring the truth to our friends, family, and the world. May we all grieve over the things that break God’s heart.

  17. 18 Does your heart break? October 15, 2008 at 4:16 pm

    This is funny, but when all I could decipher out of the DYHB is did you have breakfast? Perhpas because I didn’t and I’m hungry, that’s what came to mind. What does DYHB mean?

    Why are all of the people you knew who attend the other churches former friends? Now granted, two cannot walk together unless they be agreed, but some of those folks should still be pleasant acquaintances. They can’t be bosom buddies as you are not agreed, just as my friend and I are still friendly, but nowhere near what we were.

    Before we were inseparable, two peas in a pod. Now he’s on another coast, where he admitted he moved specifically to get away from me. Because we we were so close, he could not close his heart to the truth issued by his friend who he knew really loved him and wouldn’t tell him anything just to be right. It’s much easier to ignore hateful people, even if they are telling you the truth. People who love you and tell you the truth require miles of physical separation in order to shut them out.

    Can you imagine having to move across the country to get away from one person? That’s how powerful God’s Word is.

    That’s all to say that we might wish to examine our delivery if we can’t keep anyone halfway close to us who doesn’t believe in Jesus Christ. Jesus dealt with and was repeatedly in the company of sinners all the time who often responded very positively to Him because of the love He had for them, even if what he said was direct.

    Being direct and harsh do not go hand and hand. Yes, some people may react as if any truth uttered is harsh and jugdmental simply because it disagrees with their sinful choices. We know that’s simply rebellion and perhaps conviction as the dog in a crowd of other dogs will yelp the loudest if it is the one hit with a rock. He felt it (conviction) so he yelped.

    Even now, my friend says he can hear my words in his head from several years ago and even our IM conversations, which is what we mainly have now. Though his lifestyle has not changed, I keep planting seeds into that ground, praying that God will give the increase. I could not pray for increase if I allowed myself to be completely separated from him due to our different positions. I would have no access to him at all to plant.

    We can only check our delivery and hearts with God to see if we have the proper compassion even while telling someone The Truth. Are we telling them or are we sharing with them? As I said, I still work on this myself and sometimes I’m on target. Other times, The Holy Spirit is so kind as He says, “Man, you were a little rough, don’t you think?” He let’s me hear myself from the other person’s point of view. The Word is The Word and will stand for eternity. Our delivery of The Word though, that’s where we really need to let The Holy Spirit have His way.

  18. 19 Does your heart break? October 15, 2008 at 4:17 pm

    Oh, Does Your Heart Break? DYHB Got it. I was a little slow but better late than never. 🙂

  19. 20 speaking truth October 15, 2008 at 8:44 pm

    DYHB?

    Yeah – I abbreviated your name because I got tired of typing it all out – although I like the “did you eat breakfast” reference 🙂

    My former friends are not “former” by my choosing – and we don’t willfuly ignore one another. We just drifted apart because of our belief systems, and our inability to budge from what we truly believe. I still pray for them (and they pray for me, I assume).

    I believe in the compassionate delivery of the Gospel Truth, but I grow quickly tired of entertaining false doctrine for the sake of “dialogue”, and my frustration manifests as a (sometimes) bombastic delivery. Still, I understand the importance spreading the Gospel – and I continue to do so as often as I can.

  20. 21 Truth December 22, 2008 at 10:10 pm

    speaking truth,

    you said, “These people are marching people to hell, and they must be called out on it.”

    …and as representative of you written expressions on this post, your path leads to where?…..

    …awwwhhhh….let’s see if I am in line with your ministry. Your path, as you have followed the teachings of Jesus the Christ, suggests that followers of Jesus should laugh and make idle jest of our brothers or sisters, and seperate ourselves from THE command of commandments (Love Thy Neighbor As Thyself). If I were lost, and did not have a personal relationship with the Omnipotent, Omnipresence, and Omniscient God, and had not heard of Its Grace, Love, and Mercy, I would truly have to rebuke the likes of the negative ego, that appears to permeate your True Being.

    In 2Timothy, it clearly says, that, “I have not given you the spirit of fear, but of love, power, and a sound mind.”

    …what do you fear? Why is that there is more disdain energy in your postings, than love? Why is it, that you have spent so much of your time, reading, visiting, and viewing Dr. Barbara King, and the Hillside Ministry only to post your view in disgust, versus fleeing that which you believe is not of God and go do the master’s will. Why would you waste time on something you don’t believe in and not use that time to further the call to make disciples of Christ to those who are lost? Dr. Barbara King, does not appear to be lost in what she believes, however my brother/sister in Christ,….you do!

  21. 22 C. A. Blackmon December 23, 2008 at 10:13 am

    “…had not heard of Its Grace, Mercy, and Love…” I sincerely hope and pray that “Its” is a typo. God is not a concept or a principle. You can’t have a relationship with a concept or principle. If “Its” is not a typo, then you have shown that IST is right in asserting that Dr. King’s teaching is heretical. Run, don’t walk, to THE TRUTH and leave this foolishness behind you! Believe me, I say this in love!!!

    • 23 speaking truth December 23, 2008 at 1:39 pm

      C.A.,

      Don’t waste your time with Truth. Those of us who claim the Name of the Lord and declare that He is the ONLY path to salvation and access to the One True God our Father are wrong, and Barb King, Carlton Pearson, D.E. Paulk, and all other manner of heretics are correct.

      We are cold and heartless and they are warm and loving. They (and everyone else who is “good”) will go to heaven and those of us who cling to the Word of God as the FINAL ARBITAR of all matter concerning God and His Son are apparently not gonna make it “up there”.

      I guess we have to just deal with it 🙄

  22. 24 Amani edwards February 18, 2009 at 2:53 pm

    OMG!!!! None of ya’ll know what you are talking about.

    I have attended Hillside Chapel and Truth Center since i was 4 years old and it is amazing the things the church has done in the community, the city, nationaly, and internationally. Thousands of people enjoy to hear the word of Dr. Barbara King and the numerous other names that have come to the church.

    First- Most of ya’ll spent one day at the church and probably listened to a sermon that (though not the best at that time) was not as appealing to you. Therefore you are only basing you’re beliefs and comments off of one experience and also you’re own judgements

    Second- The whole post about Father Mother God (Goddess if it’s mother as well) If God/ Goddess is spirit, then “it” has no form, plus we are all made in the image in likeness of God/ Goddess, man and woman (look in Genesis the first few chapters, Hillside mentions it as well).

    Third- In most African -American communities where there is a shortage of men, women take over the church anyway. In communities where that is not the case, women are in charge as well. If ya’ll so worried about men taking over, then ya’ll step up and do something. Don’t matter who’s in charge, just get the job done and done right.

    Fourth- Check your definition of the word cult when talking about groups, for their is a “correct” defintion and an incorrect defintion and believe me, Hillside is not a cult

    Fifth- worry about yourself, that’s the problem with religion nowadays, you don’t like a church, don’t attend it. There are hundreds upon thousands of churches in U.S. and ya’ll so worried about one. Let us do our thing because at Hillside, we teach to love and accept others for we are all children of God, no matter what path you are currently taking at the moment.

    Sixth- We are ecumenical; thus, we believe in Christian unity. With this unity, we are accepting of all Christians, as well as other religions, no matter what sect of Christianity, Islam, Judaism, Buddhism, etc. you belong too.

    So before you call something a cult, heretical church, or whatever look back and think about what other people call you. Not only is this cycle of hatred not getting us anywhere, it is also inevitable for we are all human with are own opinions. So you go to you’re church, i’ll go to mine

    I love you
    I bless you
    I appreciate You
    and I Thank God/Goddess for You

    Namaskar!

  23. 25 speaking truth February 18, 2009 at 8:57 pm

    I have attended Hillside Chapel and Truth Center since i was 4 years old and it is amazing the things the church has done in the community, the city, nationaly, and internationally. Thousands of people enjoy to hear the word of Dr. Barbara King and the numerous other names that have come to the church.

    I don’t care what the “church” has done in the community. They preach a false gospel (one that you have been swallowing since you were 4 years old, apparently). And you are correct, you are “hearing the word of Dr. Barbara King” and not the Word of God.

    First- Most of ya’ll spent one day at the church and probably listened to a sermon that (though not the best at that time) was not as appealing to you. Therefore you are only basing you’re beliefs and comments off of one experience and also you’re own judgements

    I can’t speak for anyone else who has commented here, but I have studied the lies of your leader, and the cult to which you belong for quite some time – and I have presented evidence directly from Barb’s mouth and wieghed it against the Word of God, and Barb has come up a bit short. Appeal has nothing to do with God’s truth, you are either compelled by the Holy Spirit to respond to it, or you don’t.

    Second- The whole post about Father Mother God (Goddess if it’s mother as well) If God/ Goddess is spirit, then “it” has no form, plus we are all made in the image in likeness of God/ Goddess, man and woman (look in Genesis the first few chapters, Hillside mentions it as well).

    Huh? You are demonstrating that you have indeed ingested false truth since you were 4 years old. If you read the book of Genesis in context and tell me where God refers to Himself in the “masculine/feminine” (and don’t respond unless you can do just that). And the fact that “Hillside mentions it” makes it a lie.

    Third- In most African -American communities where there is a shortage of men, women take over the church anyway. In communities where that is not the case, women are in charge as well. If ya’ll so worried about men taking over, then ya’ll step up and do something. Don’t matter who’s in charge, just get the job done and done right.

    The fact that there is a “shortage of men” does not negate God’s purpose for men and church leadership. God does make provision for times of crisis, but it is not His intended order – and Barb is proof of that.

    Fourth- Check your definition of the word cult when talking about groups, for their is a “correct” defintion and an incorrect defintion and believe me, Hillside is not a cult

    I know the definition of the word “cult”, Amani, and just because you deny the cult-like behavior of your club doesn’t mean that it is not a cult. I pray that (if the Lord wills) you too will learn the definition, see that you are clearly in a cult, and flee and cling to the TRUE Gospel.

    Fifth- worry about yourself, that’s the problem with religion nowadays, you don’t like a church, don’t attend it. There are hundreds upon thousands of churches in U.S. and ya’ll so worried about one. Let us do our thing because at Hillside, we teach to love and accept others for we are all children of God, no matter what path you are currently taking at the moment.

    You’re right, Amani – there are hundreds and thousands of false churches (like yours) in the US, and I am exposing them in accordance to the Word of God…one by one. The fact that you “accept others…no matter what path you are currently taking” again clearly demonstrates that you are NOT preaching the Gospel because the Gospel compels others to conform to the image of Christ, not the various metaphysical incarnations you spout at your cultic club meetings.

    Sixth- We are ecumenical; thus, we believe in Christian unity. With this unity, we are accepting of all Christians, as well as other religions, no matter what sect of Christianity, Islam, Judaism, Buddhism, etc. you belong too.

    Yes, Amani, your cult club is dangerously ecumenical, and we know what the Lord said about that (Revelation 3:15-16). A TRUE church advances the Gospel and declares UNASHAMEDLY that Jesus is the only means of salvation…that there is NO OTHER WAY TO GOD. Instead, Barb advances lukewarm ecumenism, and embraces lying heretics like Carlton Pearson, DE Paulk, and others.

    Hear me clearly Amani & all other Hillside apologists. You have exchanged the truth of the Gospel of Jesus Christ for a lie pushed by a heretic who embraces other heretics and attempts to appear as a Christian. Repent before the Lord and seek His truth. There is only ONE WAY TO GOD – through belief upon His Son, Jesus Christ AND HIM ALONE.

    Repent and follow Christ while there is still time.

    I will accept no more comments from Hillside apologists – the truth has been presented to you, you can either accept or continue to reject it.

    The Lord’s will be done.

  24. 26 Nik August 4, 2009 at 5:24 pm

    Leave judging to God. All we’re here to do is love one another. We’re not alike, we’re all different. Let’s learn to love unconditionally and accept and tolerate our differences. If calling Hillside a cult, makes you feel comfortable, fine. But I know when I go there, I feel welcomed and I feel love. I feel different and I feel spiritually nourished, which I haven’t felt in a long time whilst attending the hate-filled Baptist churches. I can think for myself and pray to a God that loves us all. Thank God we can choose our own places of worship and not be DICTATED where to go for our spiritual nourishment. God bless you all and may you find the love of God.

  25. 27 Marla September 28, 2009 at 10:49 am

    All this “feeling”. My question is this: when does TRUTH and speaking TRUTH (which equates to LOVE) become a feeling?? *sigh*

  26. 28 checkyourself December 11, 2009 at 1:16 pm

    Let me address something very briefly. It’s one thing to disagree with someone for their beliefs. That’s your choice and your business, but to accuse someone of being a MAN. Can you please help me understand what that has to do with Scripture or the Bible? Or your problems with her beliefs? How can you call yourselves THE people of God and talk about someone like that? Would the Christ that you worship do that? Would he have laughed at the joke as some of you have said? It is one thing to go around trying to check other people, but sometimes don’t we need to examine and check ourselves. Again, you can disagree with someone’s beliefs all you want, but to question their sex and make a joke of it, that’s LOW and not of God. SORRY!

    • 29 speaking truth December 11, 2009 at 1:46 pm

      Point well made, checkyourself. I completely agree that the comments were low-brow and below a true caliber of discussion that I (normally) try to stick to with this blog. Personal opinions about Barbara King aside, my argument is with her flawed theology – not her looks.

  27. 30 Terry December 26, 2009 at 11:36 am

    I have never been to this church, nor whatever “Christian” churches any of you attend. What I do know is this. I went through 19 years of Christian grade-school, high school, college, and seminary and hold a Master of Divinity from a conservative “Christian” college. I became a minister for a conservative “Christian” church and every week preached at least twice. I was a minister for a “Christian” high school, and taught young people what I had been taught. I paid over 1/4 of my meager salary in tithes and offerings, and sent my children to the Christian School at great sacrifice and cost to me and my family.

    I had a “moral fall” during one month 5 years ago. It was not the first time I sinned, rest assured, but with a heart consumed with shame and guilt, I approached my superiors and confessed my sin and threw myself upon their mercy. As “moral falls” go, it was a minor offense. I had developed strong feelings for an adult female member of my church and while there was some physical contact, it stopped well short of sex. They kicked me to the curb so fast that I didn’t even know what hit me. They revoked my ordiantion, the church, pushed by those very superiors voted to kick me out of the church, and from that moment to this, not once have any of those leaders taken initiative to call me, contact me, express any sort of concern for me. I was shunned, became as an outsider, a curse upon the lips of “Christian” people.

    Truth is, I will stand toe to toe with ANYONE because I haven’t met many who know the Bible any better than I, so for those of you who think you are so informed, answer this question. Why are Christian churches so unlike Christ. When a disciple saw a guy healing in Christ’s name, he told him to stop because he was not part of their group. Surely you “Christians” know what Christ said, so I’ll go right to application. The most unloving people I have ever met claimed to have accepted the Love of Father God in bestowing Christ upon us. The most unforgiving people I have ever known were not atheists, or muslims, or Jews. They were and are Christians who claim to have accepted the forgiveness of Father God upon themselves, but withold that very forgiveness from others. The most closed-minded people, the most intolerant, the most judgmental, the most hate-filled people I have ever known or met, were inside Christian churches claiming to have “the indwelling Christ” claiming to follow the teachings of the scriptures about “loving God will all your heart and your neighbor as yourself!” I do love God and I am a follower of Christ, but I will never again call myself a Christian. The reason there aren’t more Christians is that Christians by and large are so unlike Christ.

    The Bible that Christians worship and teach, I also believe. So let’s just cut to the chase. How much of that Bible that you carry with you, would you have if every one of the Bible authors was shunned by God when he sinned. Would you have the Pentateuch(first 5 books of the Bible)? No Moses had already committed murder, before he ever saw the burning bush. You wouldn’t even have the 10 commandments, at least not related by Moses. You wouldn’t have the Psalms, written by Moses and David. You wouldn’t have any of the gospels, and you wouldn’t have 1st and 2nd Peter. when Christians act like Satan, who is unforgiving, vengeful, hateful, and intolerant, it doesn’t matter what they call themselves. This website is so filled with hate, fear, and intolerance, all in the name of God. And the very ones you accuse of being heretical responded(I read those words) by saying you are loved, appreciated, and did not respond in fear or hate to you. You call her pastor a transvestite and a heretic and a false teacher, and the response you get back is loving, patient, forgiving, kind. You are being treated as kindly as Christ would treat you, so all I can say, is whoever “Namaskar” is NO MATTER WHAT NAME HER CHURCH BEARS, treating you as Christ HAS. You are being treated with patience and kindness and mercy though you have treated “Namaskar” and her pastor and church as the enemy. The teachings of Love that Dr. King has preached, have taken root in Namasak’s heart and her loving response to you proves it. Now I ask you…where are the loving, patient, forgiving, joyful, fear-less words of Christ in anything that you have written.

    Christianity is pathetic. Don’t you Christians realize that it is not what you call youself, or what you say you believe that matters in the judgment that you are so fond of talking about. It is HOW YOU LIVE! It is how to treat, NOT YOUR FRIENDS…(hopefully you didn’t miss this principle in the teachings of Christ)but your enemies, those who believe differently than you, who have adopted a different sexual orientation, or may even go to a church you think of as a “cult!”

    I don’t know Namaskar and I don’t know you. What I do know is that I think if I were to get somewhere close to Namaskar, I’ll bet that even if I don’t belong to her/his church, or believe his/her beliefs, or have the same color on my skin, or sexual orientation, I would probably feel loved, accepted, valued, honored. Why? because you have vomited hate all over her/his pastor, church, and beliefs, and all you got back was, “I love you, I appreciate you, I thank God for you All!”

    If you want to be hateful and fear-mongering, knock yourself out, but do all of us who look deeper than the words of Scripture to the Heart and Soul of the God who sent His Son…stop doing that in the name of Christ!

    Why not stop using scripture as a means of showing your superiority, how you are right and other wrong, stop looking for how your church or your pastor or your beliefs are better than others, and find Christ, whose arms and words embraced the world when he said, “Father forgive them, for they don’t understand what they are doing.”

    Here is truth. The longer I follow Christ the less I think I am like Him. The more I learn of Him, the less I think I know about Him. The more I feel His love embrace me, the less I see myself as loving to my family, my incredible children, my employees, my friends, let alone my enemies. If you can possibly look into the heart of unconditional love, i.e. God, and not see yourself as pathetically unlike Him, then it is YOU, who are the heretic, the enemy of God, the antiChrist.

    Stop! Let Christ love you. Let that Love cast out fear, ask forgiveness, not just to God, but to Namaskar, for having the hate of Satan in the name of God toward her/him. You are not a bad person, any more than I am, or the superiors who shunned me. I love them, I forgive them, and I thank god for them. I do love you, forgive you, and thank God for your zeal and fervor for God. but if your fervor is fueled by hate and fear, it will NEVER have any positive affect. You can’t use the methods of evil to accomplish good. Perfect love, is not the goal, but the means of living. If it wasn’t God’s method,then where would you be? Where would I be? Where would Namaskar be?

    • 31 speaking truth December 29, 2009 at 10:08 am

      Sorry to hear about the treatment you received in light of your “moral fall”, Terry, but that doesn’t change the fact that Barbara King is a false teacher who espouses the “multiple path” to God lie that other false teachers embrace. I already admitted that this forum got a little out of hand with the personal attacks on King’s appearance, but that doesn’t change the fact that she is a false teacher.

      Many churches who call themselves Christian churches are led by false teachers who don’t preach the Gospel of Jesus Christ as contained in God’s Word – and they’re just as phony as the other false teachers who teach everything from tithing to women as pastors to “3rd eye” garbage that King teaches. Since you consider yourself to know more about the bible than almost everyone else (your words), then you should know John 14, and even schoolchildren know John 3:16. Barbara King brings people to who teach AGAINST the doctrine that Christ is the ONLY path to God to speak to her congregation…so how can any TRUE Christian agree with her teachings – or follow her?

      I won’t bore you with anymore of my immature understanding of scripture, especially since I’m not as theologically deep as you are. I’ll just say this: King and her ilk are false teachers, and I (and others) should avoid her.

  28. 32 Namaskar December 31, 2009 at 7:35 pm

    Thanks Terry,

    I stumbled upon this site and I saw your comment. I want to let you know that I appreciate the wisdom you shared. It makes me think about Matthew 7. Good stuff. Anyway, I wanted to let you know that Namaskar! is a greeting that means “all that is best and highest in me salutes all that is best and highest in you”. Have a happy and prosperious New Year!!!

  29. 33 crystal zion April 1, 2010 at 9:12 pm

    It doesn’t surprise me that all the comments posted agree with your perspective on things. This is very typical of most Cristians, hence the reason for this religions’ quickly diminishing power and impact on the world and especially the USA. There is no Love in these comments, just bitterness, self righteosness and contention. No, as a born again disciple of Christ, I don’t share some of Ms. King’s beleifs, but I can see that she is passionate about searching, learning, growing and empowing (yes, she is DOING something) the oppressed, especially women. I have realized thru much prayer and fasting (I invite you to try this Biblical practice)that EVERYONE speaks and translates some error and that’s why Holy Spirit is within the individual to help if the individual will fast and pray to HEAR. But whether you want to or not, their are believers like myself, who are moving forward and embracing the entire body of Christ, new revelation and are being blessed and blessing others as a result. Peace and Love to all.

    • 34 speaking truth April 2, 2010 at 1:48 pm

      Thanks for the comment crystal. I’ve already written enough about Barbra King and Hillside so I won’t rehash, but I will say this: I don’t support or condemn the path that Barbara King seeks to take in her quest for spirituality. I do, however, condemn her calling it “Christianity” because she clearly embraces all types of doctrine that run counter to foundational Christianity – namely that Christ is the Center of all things. Don’t make the mistake of embracing “the entire Body of Christ” when in fact you may be embracing those who seek to appear to be Christ-like. As unpopular as it may be these days, foundational doctrine still matters.


Comments are currently closed.



AddThis Feed Button Add to Technorati Favorites
twitter

Get Daily Email Updates:

Sign up for email updates and get the latest articles in your email inbox!

People Looking For Truth:

  • 1,082,951 ...and counting

RSS John MacArthur Sermons

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS John Piper Sermons

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS RC Sproul Sermons

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS The White Horse Inn

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Categories

Archived Articles…


