Catholicism + Black Liberation Theology = A Hot Mess!

I saw this video clip on CNN tonight, and I couldn’t resist addressing it. Take a look at Father Michael Pfleger – a Catholic priest with a parish in an inner city neighborhood in Chicago (my former hometown).

As you can see, Pfleger is a friend to the black community in Chicago, and a defender and colleague of Jeremiah Wright and Trinity United Church of Christ. Aside from the fact that Pfleger sounds like a combination of Rod Parsley and Paula White, he is a Catholic priest. 

Although I’ve already shared my thoughts on the Catholic church – particularly in light of the Word of God, this guy is just charasmatic enough to lure enough black folks from the pentecostal churches of the south side of Chicago into his parish.

So, a Catholic priest is preening in the pulpit of a church that embraces and espouses the false gospel known as Black Libertation Theology. Either Pfleger (a) doesn’t know what the members of TUCC believe (which I doubt since he’s good friends with Jeremiah Wright), or (b) he is committed to helping TUCC promote the black value system.

Based on what we see in the video, the correct answer is “b”.

I guess when you really think about it, as a Catholic, Pfleger is comitted to advancing the cause of the Pope. Similarly, Trinity UCC subscribes to a false theology that elavates social justice and race over Christ.

Maybe they do have more in common than I originally thought.

10 Responses to “Catholicism + Black Liberation Theology = A Hot Mess!”


  1. 1 gcmwatch May 30, 2008 at 2:43 pm

    Whew, black birds (and I dont mean race) of a feather truly flock together. A hot mess indeed.

    I actually think its a good thing that these foolish prophets of lies are exposed. Lets get their mess out in the open where the light can burn it up.

    I’ll bet Wright is behind this in some way. He is acting like a wounded lover after Obama rejected him.

  2. 2 Speaking Truth May 30, 2008 at 3:25 pm

    You know gcmwatch – Pfleger was quick to apologize (maybe because he’s accountable to the Cardinal of Chicago) while Wright let everything “marinate” for awhile until he commanded the stage a month or so later 🙄

    No matter, it’s two sides of the same coin – and as our brother IC told me recently, the Roman Catholic church had a heavy hand in planting the seed/influencing the growth of liberation theology in Latin America some time ago.

    The bottom line is this – they both spread a different gospel, and like you said – the more we see of them the easier it is to avoid them.

  3. 3 CiCi May 30, 2008 at 6:53 pm

    I’m a little confused as to your objections to this priest’s statements from a theological perspective. I don’t think that anything he said had anything to do with God or religion — to the contrary, this clip spoke of social/political issues. Hence, I don’t understand that he’s being called “a prophet of lies” or accused of “spreading a different gospel” based on this clip alone.

    Please know that I’m not definding his statements at all, because I find them very ill-advised given the political context that we now find ourselves in. I suppose I’m just confused at how you draw any kind of religious/spiritual meaning out of his remarks highlighted here other than the fact that he made them in a church and he’s a priest.

  4. 4 Speaking Truth May 30, 2008 at 7:24 pm

    Cici,

    This post was simply an illustration (and extension of) several posts I’ve done in the past about Trinity United Church of Christ, the Black Liberation Movement, and the Roman Catholic church.

    I guess I should’ve been more clear that I wasn’t specifically addressing anything he said in the video.

    Also, I didn’t call Pfleger a “prophet of lies”gcmwatch did – but I agree with him. Pfleger is a priest (a minister, if you will) in the Roman Catholic church, and it is my opinion that the Roman Catholic church preaches a different gospel (an antichrist gospel). I’ve detailed my specific thoughts as they relate to scripture in a previous post, so there’s no need to rehash that here.

    Also, I certainly don’t want to leave the impression that this was a political post – or that I endorse any candidate over another. I believe that all Christians should pray that the Lord’s will be done during this election and be careful not to sway with the “winds of the day” – again, a topic I addressed in a previous post.

    So your confusion is warranted Cici – I should’ve been more clear about the overall intent of this post. You’re right – the only religous/spiritual meaning of Pfleger’s remarks was that he made them in a church – and he’s a priest 🙂

  5. 5 Keith Tolbert May 30, 2008 at 9:53 pm

    Speaking Truth,

    It seems to me that CiCi asked and answer her own question.

    “I’m a little confused as to your objections to this priest’s statements from a theological perspective. I don’t think that anything he said had anything to do with God or religion . . .”

    The man is supposed to be a messenger of God. He’s standing in what is supposed to be God’s pulpit. And he’s saying nothing that has anything to do with “God or religion”. Is the problem not obvious?

    Even if every word he said was true, what business does he have saying it in God’s pulpit. The messenger of God and the pulpit of God have one purpose . . . that is to preach GOD’S GOSPEL!

    ” How then will they call on him in whom they have not believed? And how are they to believe in him of whom they have never heard? And how are they to hear without someone preaching? And how are they to preach unless they are sent? As it is written, “How beautiful are the feet of those who preach the good news!”(Romans 10:14-15).

    I wonder did any unregenerate person cry “I yield, I yield, what must I do to be saved” after hearing “I’m white, I’m white this is mine!!!”

  6. 6 Speaking Truth May 30, 2008 at 10:11 pm

    You know Keith, I really didn’t even dig deeper than the surface regarding this story – but you are absolutely right, and I regret that I didn’t address the obvious.

    This video clip does illustrate how the pulpit has been reduced to nothing more than a podium on a stage. Add that to the church that Pfleger represents + the church he spoke in, and you get more of the same empty rhetoric.

  7. 7 CiCi May 30, 2008 at 11:40 pm

    Speaking Truth and keith,

    I appreciate both of your responses, especially yours Keith since I think you really understood where I was coming from.
    I totally agree with you that we should all be prayerful that the the eyes of our understanding be enlightened and that we seek God’s will during what I’m finding to be a very exciting and challenging election season.

    Having said that, Keith, I didn’t feel the need to address “the obvious”, as you call it, because I thought that it was just that, obvious. I was addressing the specifics of Speaking Truth’s comments as they related to the referenced clip.

    And, just for the sake of argument, maybe some “unregenerate person” did not cry out for salvation after hearing “I’m white, I’m white, this is mine”. But, maybe someone who holds those sentiments (knowingly or unknowingly up until that point) saved or unsaved was provoked to self-examination, repentance from the presumption of racial privilege, and the beginnings of a better understanding of the complexities of race as we know it in our society today. And that can’t be a bad thing at all as far as I’m concerned.

    Just a thought…..

    Thanks for your blog, Speaking Truth……I really enjoy it.

    CiCi

  8. 8 gcmwatch May 31, 2008 at 12:07 pm

    If Pflleger is in collusion with Jeremiah Wright (whom I consider a reverse racist), then there is nothing good about the speech nor the association. Add in the fact that he is “sanctifying” this foolishness from what is supposed to be a platform to declare the counsel of God, it is near blasphemy.

    Let’s not soften the devil’s tactics against people or the church.

  9. 9 escapeetoo May 31, 2008 at 7:59 pm

    “Obama resigns from controversial church” (CNN 730 EDT)

    I was waiting on this to happen. Can your Pastor (Pimp) make you quit him? It is not exactly escaping, but a “run for the border” never the less for Obama.

    Pastors should stick to the word of God and the Gospel of Jesus Christ. Preachers SHOULD speak out against civil injustice. This is a perfect example of allowing “flesh” to rule and using the pulpit to deliver a personal agenda.

    I saw for myself four years ago members from NBSMC in Hampton Georgia “resign” when Andre Landers gave a soft endorsement of Bush 2. While he NEVER said vote for Bush he did strongly suggest that the Bush agenda (GOP Agenda) best aligned with his views. Guess what happened, folk followed the leader.

    While I cannot get on Landers too hard for that gaff, I can say he dropped the ball in two other political miscues:

    1) His public confirmation (Not endorsement) of Eldrin Bell in the fall of 2004. I saw for myself Landers say…”I don’t care what other people say…”(Landers was speaking of sexual harassment allegations against Bell). And for those of you in Atlanta know the rest of the story. Bell has been a HOT MESS!

    2) His public support of the Iraq War in March of 2003. During a Wednesday night bible study Landers asserted his support for going to war in Iraq based on the flawed data from the Bush administration

    My point is this to the Wright’s and Pflegers of the world. Stick to the message of the Cross-! Do not mix in your personal views. If you decide to speak out against something make, sure you are right! The Civil Rights saints from the 50’s and 60’s lived the struggle and thus had a much more informed view. I cannot tell you how many times Landers has said “This aint your grandmas church.” However, there were some sound principles from Grandmas church. We will never move forward until we go back!

  10. 10 Douglas K. Adu-Boahen June 1, 2008 at 7:04 am

    Y’know I have a friend who is an ex-Catholic priest. He once told me that while serving with Central Asia, he was clearly instructed by his Bishop to adopt and “Christianize” their prevailing traditions and cultural norms.

    Pfleger does exactly the same – Charismaticism prevails in the West, so if you want to attract those people groups to holy mother Church, then adopt and Catholicize. It’s interesting also that Charismatic Catholics are noted for being fervently devoted to Mary and the Rosary, more so than your conservative Catholic.


Comments are currently closed.



AddThis Feed Button Add to Technorati Favorites
twitter

Get Daily Email Updates:

Sign up for email updates and get the latest articles in your email inbox!

People Looking For Truth:

  • 1,091,577 ...and counting

RSS John MacArthur Sermons

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS John Piper Sermons

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS RC Sproul Sermons

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS The White Horse Inn

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Categories

Archived Articles…


