Todd Bentley…Demon Possessed?

DISCLAIMER: In accordance to Ephesians 6:10-18, please pray before viewing or listening to any of Todd Bentley’s video or audio recordings. The only way to combat the evil of this day is with the unadulterated Word of God.

<———————————————>

***Hat tip to reader Sandy B for sending the audio link below***

I already posted a comment on Todd Bentley in a previous post, but this is so important so I thought I’d create a separate post.

Frankly, I’m tired of talking about this fool – primarily because I’ve already dismissed him as a tool of Satan to deceive the saints. The more you hear him speak, the more he confirms his satanic allegiance – masking it as an allegiance to our God, which of course is a lie.

It is important, however, to keep sounding the alarm since Bentley has mastered the art of deception, and he’s causing many saints to fall away from the faith.

Sandy B, a reader of this blog, made me aware of this audio tape of Todd Bentley speaking about how he was/is inhabited by demons AFTER HE WAS “SAVED”.

Let me be clear – if you’ve acknowledged and repented of your sin and accepted Jesus Christ as your Savior, then you have the Spirit of God inside of you – AND HE WON’T SHARE SPACE WITH A DEMONIC SPIRIT (1 John 1:4-6). PERIOD! If you are a disciple of Satan, then his demonic spirits are welcome…and they feel right at home!

Let’s take a moment to make sure that every Christian understands the surety of their salvation:

23for you have been (A)born again (B)not of seed which is perishable but imperishable, that is, through the living and enduring (C)word of God. (1 Peter 1:23)

 17Therefore if anyone is (A)in Christ, he is (B)a new creature; (C)the old things passed away; behold, new things have come.  (2 Corinthians 5:17)

30(A)Do not grieve the Holy Spirit of God, by whom you were (B)sealed for the day of redemption. (Ephesians 4:30)

6knowing this, that our (A)old self was (B)crucified with Him, in order that our (C)body of sin might be done away with, so that we would no longer be slaves to sin; (Romans 6:6)

As believers of the Lord Jesus Christ, we understand that we’ll regularly battle evil (Ephesians 6:12). Todd Bentley is doing nothing more than “softening the edges” of evil so that we exchange God’s Word for Bentley’s (and Satan’s) words.

PLEASE pray that the saints of God would study His Word so that they won’t be deceived in these last days. I’ll leave you with this sobering reminder:

1(A)Beloved, do not believe every (B)spirit, but test the spirits to see whether they are from God, because (C)many false prophets have gone out into the world. (1 John 4:1)

As always, I WILL NOT entertain comments from Bentley sympathizers – since he is clearly operating with an antichrist spirit.

47 Responses to “Todd Bentley…Demon Possessed?”


  1. 1 lavrai May 27, 2008 at 11:06 am

    I am so glad everyone is sounding the alarm on this ‘tool of Satan.’ One thing I have been cautious about, though, is listening to his audio clips and watching his video clips. I still think the Devil can influence many who give audience to these things (and I don’t just mean the spiritually weak or Biblically ignorant). Spiritual attacks are real and the demons will not hesitate to come against GOD’s people… I guess I am saying to those who may be reading, please be cautious with listening to/ watching these clips and even the TV programs (make sure you’re covered in the blood).

  2. 2 Speaking Truth May 27, 2008 at 12:04 pm

    I guess I am saying to those who may be reading, please be cautious with listening to/ watching these clips and even the TV programs (make sure you’re covered in the blood).

    Very good point Lavrai. Like you, I try to provide audio/video content so the apologists won’t blame me for “twisting his words”. At the same time, I don’t want to be a party to spreading Bentley (and other demonic) messages. That’s why I give a healthy dose of God’s Word to counter the foolishness that these people spew.

    I admonish ANYONE who reads this blog to read & study the Word of God to make sure that you can defend the faith against God’s enemies for yourself.

  3. 3 Chris May 27, 2008 at 12:09 pm

    I agree with lavrai. I was warned, about listening to him, I just wanted to hear what he was saying as I had not heared him before, well, I came under major attack. I had to repent before the Lord.

  4. 4 Kwesi May 27, 2008 at 12:15 pm

    While I’m not in the know about this fella, the counterfeit revival continues. See, this is the result of putting the emphasis on “manifestations of the spirit”. I don’t think I ever told you, I grew up in Trinidad. My grandmother was apart of a religious sect called the shango baptist. I clearly remember, going to a meeting with her and seeing these non Christians do everything we did in church. People were “slain in some spirit” dancing uncontrollable, speaking in other tongues, the whole nine.

    I’m so glad there are a few, holding up the word of God over emotional demonstrations and social physiological manipulation.

    I do wonder about this statement however.

    “As always, I WILL NOT entertain comments from Bentley sympathizers – since he is clearly operating with an Antichrist spirit.”

    I wonder if you did, would it open up an opportunity to reason together or will it be a casting of pearls before swine? Just wondering.

    Congratulation on your recent milestone by the way. Keep it coming!

  5. 5 Speaking Truth May 27, 2008 at 12:27 pm

    I agree with Lavrai also, Chris – so I’ll be putting a disclaimer on all of my existing posts on the subject. As of right now, I see no reason to keep exposing Bentley as he’s been sufficiently exposed, but I’ll move in the future as the Lord leads.

    I pray your strength in the Lord – and admonish you to stay in His Word to combat against the enemy.

    Kwesi – it’s been awhile brother – welcome back! I’ve always been apprehensive of how other cultures “worship God” but I always leaned on the Word (if it wasn’t in the bible, then I would give it the “crosseye” and pray). Thanks for sharing your personal encounter with the shango baptist.

    Also, regarding my refusal to engage the devil (or his minions) on this blog – I moderate all comments, so I would definetely post and respond to earnest questions/concerns. I’ve found, however, that these folks just swarm blogs to promote the demonic – or to cause confusion – and I won’t be party to it.

    I’m all about reasoning with people -hard to believe at times, I know 🙂 – and I engage folks every day via email, etc. I just think it’s a waste of time arguing with someone who only wants to advance the agenda of flesh (Bentley, pulpit pimps, etc.) vs. advancing the cause of Christ alone.

  6. 6 Chris May 27, 2008 at 12:31 pm

    Kwesi, I grew up in Jamaica and know what you are talking about. They call them Revival/Revivalist People or Spiritualist there. Sometines opening dialogue, will only end up causing frustration. Only the Lord can open there eyes. Just continue to speak the truth and the seed might set on fertile soil one day, but until then they will not be willing or able to receive sound doctrine as they have been deceived.

  7. 7 Sandy B May 27, 2008 at 1:58 pm

    Glad to see you thought the same thing I did. Wanted you to know because Atlanta is about to burn with the strange fire this week:

    http://endtimespropheticwords.wordpress.com/2008/05/18/predicting-the-atlanta-georgia-outpouring-starts-may-27th/

    I think the “dark night of the soul” period when Todd covered his body in ink must have exposed him to the Satan worship again where he caught a couple more of those demons. But then he emerges like a phoenix to the top of Christianity by replacing the gospel with a strange powerful brew of angel-seeking kundalini-imparting paganism? Hmmm…let’s do the math on that raw deal.

    I’d love to see some priests go up for angel impartation in street clothes, then right before he says “Bam!” they whip out a bible, cross and holy water and start casting the demons out of Bentley live on GodTV. Seriously though…he would be free and he would later get a big kick out of it because it would give him yet another amazing story about himself to tell. Most of all, he’d finally get on CNN like he’s been dreaming about!!

  8. 8 Speaking Truth May 27, 2008 at 2:49 pm

    Thanks again Sandy B for bringing this to my attention – as well as the attention of other readers of this blog. I pray that God continue to sharpen your discernment and that you continue to chase His truth!

    While it would be a great show for someone to put this charlatan in his place, I would rather pray that the saints avoid him altogether.

    Again, thanks and God bless…

  9. 9 lostnowfound May 27, 2008 at 6:03 pm

    I watched him on a youtube video… its all kundalini energy being imparted by him. It’s demonic, he’s demon possessed and 2 Thess 2 and 2 Tim 4:3-4 are being proved before our eyes. And after seeing that clip, I’m never clicking on one of them again, I had a dream today and when I woke up, I had to pray and repent because it wasn’t right. This is a guy that true believers should read up on from sources that are faithful to the word of God but they shouldn’t watch unless, like you say, are spiritually armed a la Eph 6:10-19.

    It’s getting real out there. The craziness is going to get worse and worse until the Lord comes back.

  10. 10 Calvin May 27, 2008 at 6:31 pm

    I visited the healing revival in Florida this month and if Todd Bentley is a tool of the devil, we need more tools of the devil because as a result of attending the meeting, my passion for Jesus is stirred up again and I’ve returned to my first love the Lord Jesus Christ.

  11. 11 Speaking Truth May 27, 2008 at 6:47 pm

    So Calvin how did attending this “meeting” in Florida stir up your passion for Christ (again)?

    Beyond all of the strange animal mimicking, the endless tales of “angelic visits”, and the “slaying in the spirit” and speaking in “unknown tongues”, how exactely did the Lord Jesus Christ turn your heart back to Him?

    Did Bentley even crack open a bible during this “outpouring” to offer a sound biblical expository about salvation through the Lord Jesus Christ and the remission of sin?

    Or did he simply “lay hands” on the willing and offer more flesh-based theatrics that are not of God?

  12. 12 Brother K May 27, 2008 at 8:37 pm

    “…if Todd Bentley is a tool of the devil, we need more tools of the devil …”

    Oh, Calvin. Do you realize what you just wrote? Hasn’t Satan enough tools to misdirect believers from the narrow path of salvation? Did you really need the antics of Todd Bentley to rekindle your passion for Jesus Christ? Please, PLEASE tell me that the Christ who touched and healed lepers, who gave eyesight to a man born blind, who raised the dead, who performed REAL miracles, who suffered brutally and laid down his life in exchange for sinners like you and me only to pick it up again and ascend to heaven at the right hand of God did NOT need the dubious and tawdry assistance of Todd Bentley(!) to secure your affection.

    Brother, I mean this in all sincerity; if you need a reminder of who Christ is and what He did for us so that you continue to abide in your first love, please pick up your Bible and read it. It’s not a dry, out-of-touch ‘book of rules’ or book of ‘begats’ as some apostates would sneer, but rather The Word of God, showcasing the hopeless depravity of man and the awesome granduer of our salvation through Jesus Christ. Spend more time with Christ in His word, and I have every confidence that you too will soon know the true coin from the counterfeit, and why it is that the Bentleys of this world cause us such chagrin.

    May you indeed remain faithful to your first love…

  13. 13 Speaking Truth May 27, 2008 at 8:56 pm

    God bless you Brother K – you succinctly made my point.

    I don’t mean to sound too snide Calvin, but you can’t rely on pure theatris and emotionalism to “reconnect” you to Christ. My prayer is that the memory of your depraved life before Him (and the weight of the sin-debt He paid on your behalf) is the only thing you need to STAY connected to Him.

  14. 14 Stephen May 28, 2008 at 12:50 am

    Speaking Truth The LORD has revealed truth to you.

    When we understand the power of the cross and understand the meaning of the blood sacrifice of Christ on that cross. in the decision to look and not With a quick glance and then on to the next gospel lesson passing the depth of the revelation then we find salvation has apprehended us with power. And it is the Glory of God that such an apprehension has taken place. Amen.
    What have our brethren lacked who have not testified of this faith established in them by hearing of the preaching of the cross.
    Instead they testify of this todd bently in florida a healing revival. I watched it myself a couple of times to see if it were so.
    It looks to me like a fraud. Hyper emotional fraud in the name of Jesus. The spirit I sense is not the same spirit that I beleive is the Holy Spirit. It seems a lot like the same spirit that is in Salt Lake City, the spirit the Mormons call the Holy Spirit.
    The same spirit that has frightened me in the middle of the night a few times. I finally began to trust the LORD 24/7 with it.
    The LORD is an awesome protector. GOD Bless you guy’s.

  15. 15 Louis May 28, 2008 at 5:19 pm

    I just don’t understand how seemingly intelligent people can be so gullible what with Todd’s wild stories and yarns he endlessly spins. I think it must be pure lust for something different, new and stimulating and entertaining. Trading those things for the clear Work of God is shameful. These people seem to love making up endless excuses and justifications for this guy. One pastor told me I was like those who said Jesus had a demon. I told him Jesus didn’t have occultic tattoos (he just recently got) so why would I judge him. They say god is using a foolish thing of the world to confound the wise. I say there is a big difference between foolish and evil. God doesn’t use an evil thing to advance his kingdom. The foolish thing is all the pastors and elders who should know better who are leading their flocks astray.

  16. 16 Louis May 28, 2008 at 5:21 pm

    Typo: “Work of God” should read Word of God.

  17. 17 Speaking Truth May 28, 2008 at 7:35 pm

    I just don’t understand how seemingly intelligent people can be so gullible what with Todd’s wild stories and yarns he endlessly spins. I think it must be pure lust for something different, new and stimulating and entertaining.

    It is lust of the flesh Louis, just as Paul predicted in 2 Timothy 4:3-4.

    We’ve replaced sound exegesis of the Word for a flesh trick that “gives us chills” – and our lusts have drawn the likes of Todd Bentley (and others) from under rocks to satisfy our desires.

    May the Lord forgive us for trading His truth for religous show, and draw us back to Him!

  18. 18 Ron May 29, 2008 at 6:06 pm

    I haven’t heard or read about one person who has been to Todd Bentley’s revival, fall on their knees before Jesus and repent and cry out to him for forgiveness of their sins, NOT ONE!!!

    Many are claiming being saved, so it’s on their lips their changed but no remorse for any lifestyle they had lived, no weeping before God for the lost. It’s just, “man you got to get some of that, it’s an impartation”.

    Where’s the change? Why isn’t their heart on fire for the Lord Jesus Christ, and the evidance of the preaching of the cross of Christ at these Bentley meetings? Why no conviction and preaching of the bible?

  19. 19 Speaking Truth May 29, 2008 at 7:35 pm

    I know you’re speaking rhetorically, right Ron?

    These “revivals” have nothing to do with our Holy God and His Sinless Son – it’s all about flesh, vain babbling, delusional worship of some god of this world, etc.

    That’s why you see no real move of God – because He isn’t even wasting His time at these charades parties…

  20. 20 Ron May 30, 2008 at 10:23 am

    Speaking Truth:

    Well whatever spirits in those Bentley meetings sure isn’t the spirit of God of the bible, that’s a fact! The times they do speak of Jesus is the times they’re speaking of a one sided candy Jesus. All their doing is placing demonic icing on a rotten cake! They’re believing in a give me papa what I want and when I want it, give me god.

    It’s undermining the Cross of Christ, lowering God and elevating themselves. How many fall for these movements just because the music is uplifting, the guy on the stage speaks religious words, and people seem to be falling out by the spirit of God? Is this what they judge by? You know you cant get that out of a rock concert, they do the same things, outside of the religious part. It’s a false god, a religious god, ignoring the sin issue which keeps them from the God they say they believe in.

    What we’re seeing here is the delusion God said he would send in the last days, seducing spirits and doctrine of devils!! And the biggest and the most deceiving part of it all, is them teaching, that saying a little prayer to Jesus and everything’s fine. I don’t know what one can do to wake people up out of this religious sleep. And they just as well throw their bibles in the trash because they’re ignoring 95% of it. And taking the other 5% and twisting it! Their doing their will and NOT Gods will.
    Sorry for the long post.

  21. 21 Speaking Truth May 30, 2008 at 10:41 am

    It’s undermining the Cross of Christ, lowering God and elevating themselves. How many fall for these movements just because the music is uplifting, the guy on the stage speaks religious words, and people seem to be falling out by the spirit of God? Is this what they judge by? You know you cant get that out of a rock concert, they do the same things, outside of the religious part.

    Amen Ron (and no apology needed for the length of your post)! Many people fall this this faux religous experience because they’ve been conditioned to. As I often say, it’s more entertaining to see the circus acts that happen under the guise of “revival” to sit under an expository preacher that many would consider “too boring”.

    While I never attended any of these godless “revivals” in my past, I did go to the traditional pentacostal revivals where people were slain in the spirit, etc. – and I thought I “felt the spirit” as well. Once I started reading scripture and seeking God for myself, I realized how off base these acts really are.

    So revivals in and of themselves run the risk of becoming a religious show, but when you prop up an obviously demon-possessed leader in a “pulpit” and let him run the “revival”, then all hell (literally) will break loose.

    I agree with you Ron, we are seeing the last days – and unfortunately many Christians are falling for the deception that the Lord Jesus warned us about himself! (Matthew 24:24).

    We must continue to pray for the sheep.

  22. 22 Ron May 30, 2008 at 12:33 pm

    Speaking Truth:

    Hold on to the boat, the seas are going to get rough and the waves are going to rise. Amongst all the false teachers and prophets pastors and preachers, there is a rising of a one world religious system coming. Slowly but assuredly the Cross of Christ is fading in the hearts of men, sin is being smiled at and calamities are more prevalent. We live in the most unassured times, when at every turn there seems to be a wall of confusion, one that no one seems to have a answer for. Although SIN is the problem men will do just about anything to justify it, living out their proclivities as animals. People will and are crying out for answers while ignoring the very one who has those answers.

    All it would take is just a few more years of lies and deception and world problems, for someone to rise and claim he’s Christ, but without the conviction of sin, then all hell will brake loose on earth. The true saints of God will be persecuted greatly because men don’t want to hear about sin in their lives.

    I once got a response in my You Tube ebox from someone that put it like this. “It’s not so hard to see how the whole world could fall for a last day one world deception considering how those who followed Hitler back during WW2”. This false revival is infiltrating through demonic spirits, I believe some are actually being demon possessed. Yes that sounds crazy, considering they claim “A” god and change, but that’s the deception of it, and when this thing gets worse and further from the TRUTH, then those demonic spirits are going to reveal themselves for who they really are, and manifest themselves through the people who have them. We are talking most of the world being demon possessed, who are going to persecute the true saints of God, for not excepting their god, claiming Jesus is the fake, and the antichrist is now and will be then, behind this movement!! Yes I do believe we are that close to the END of our time as we know it.

    And just like those in the days of Adolf Hitler when men were following him, so will the world be following the antichrist and the beast system, which is a “one world” religion.

    The bible says that God will separate the wheat from the chaff, the sheep from the goats, well these new age, new thing movements is doing it. And there will be a one world religion that will arise from all this, there would have to be in order for antichrist to stand before the world and claim he is God, like the bible says he will. Satan has always counterfeited God, he wants to be like the most high, and just as God came to this world by the flesh of Jesus, so will Satan come in this world through the flesh by one man, the ANTICHRIST!

  23. 23 Shane May 30, 2008 at 1:05 pm

    I believe that Todd Bentley is under God’s covering. The Bible specifically says in Acts 2:17-21 and in Joel 2:28-32 that God will pour out his Spirit on all people. I do not believe that Todd is demon possesed. How could someone demon possesed preach the name of Jesus and why would satan want people proclaiming the name of Jesus. The Bible clearly states that we are all able to receive God’s spirit and with that we can speak in tongues and heal. We aren’t doing the healing we are just God’s vessels. God heals through us. If you want to attack somone who is a tool of Satan go after Oprah. She denounces the name of Jesus and teaches every one to look within for the answers and healing. That is demonic. Peter says in Acts that God will pour out his Spirit on all flesh (even Todd Bentley). Peter says that all believers are open to the power that God gave the apostles. This includes healings. And as for Todd seeing angels, There are many times that The Angel of the Lord appeared to people in the Bible. If God can do it then, why not now? I’m tired of people limiting my God. In middle school I decided that I was a homosexual. I dove deep into sin. However, my God was powerful enough to tell my youth pastor that somone in the room was dealing with homosexuality. That is God. No one at my church knew. So I have been delivered by the power of God. If you say healings cant happen then how did God’s power touch me. If God is powerless like you basically say, then why believe in him. My God (the real Christian God described in the Bible, not the god of religious malarky) is all powerful and was the same yesterday as he is today.

  24. 24 Shane May 30, 2008 at 1:07 pm

    Additionally, I just read Speaking Truth’s post above mine. God also said in the last days an outpouring of his spirit would come. Todd is not claiming to be Jesus. He is saying that Jesus is doing the healings. That is what we call the Holy Spirit.

  25. 25 Speaking Truth May 30, 2008 at 3:12 pm

    Shane, I’m going to address your post as succinctly as I can:

    I believe that Todd Bentley is under God’s covering. The Bible specifically says in Acts 2:17-21 and in Joel 2:28-32 that God will pour out his Spirit on all people.

    Todd Bentley is not under God’s covering. There are many reasons to suspect that he isn’t, but by his own words he said he was possessed by demons – at the “command of God” – AFTER he was saved. You can see the scriptural refences above that refute that possibility. Also, Acts 2:17-21 is the pronouncement that the prophecy of Joel 2:28-32 was FULFILLED on the day of Pentecost – read verses 14-16 first. Also, though the men in the room were accused of being drunk because of their behavior (though none were barking like dogs and carrying on), Peter made it clear in Acts 2:15 that they were sober – and he soberly preached of Jesus Christ. Does Bentley appear “sober” when he’s carrying on?

    I do not believe that Todd is demon possesed. How could someone demon possesed preach the name of Jesus and why would satan want people proclaiming the name of Jesus.

    OK – would you prefer if I said I thought he was “demon inhabited”? The Apostle Paul already warned us of Satan’s cunning ability to disguise his appearance to appear “holy” (2 Corinthians 11:13-15), making it even more paramount for true believers to be alert so as not to be fooled.

    The Bible clearly states that we are all able to receive God’s spirit and with that we can speak in tongues and heal. We aren’t doing the healing we are just God’s vessels. God heals through us.

    No one is disputing the validity of genuine divine healing, or the gift of tongues. God can and does heal whomever He chooses, whenever He chooses to. Regarding tongues, Paul even said that it has a place in the church – but he also expressed the importance of sound instruction over religous babbling (1 Corinthians 14:18-19). What kind of edification took (or takes) place in the circus atmosphere of these revivals? How can the unsaved or the immature in the faith learn of and grow in God when the “preacher” is doing all sorts of foolish things in God’s name?

    If you want to attack somone who is a tool of Satan go after Oprah. She denounces the name of Jesus and teaches every one to look within for the answers and healing. That is demonic.

    I’m no Oprah apologist, and I agree that she is as dangerous as Bentley and his ilk – she’s just more palatable to the audience. Other of my blog colleagues have focused on Oprah, so you’re welcome to visit and comment on their blogs…I’m talking about Bentley.

    Peter says in Acts that God will pour out his Spirit on all flesh (even Todd Bentley). Peter says that all believers are open to the power that God gave the apostles. This includes healings.

    No, technically Joel says it and Peter affirms that it was happening at that time. Jesus did promise His disciples the power of the Holy Spirit (Acts 1:8), and as believers we have the Holy Spirit dwelling in us. As I stated in the post above, the Holy Spirit will not exist in a vessel that also houses demons – and per Bentley’s assertions he has been (and maybe still is) demon possessed AFTER HIS CLAIM OF SALVATION.

    And as for Todd seeing angels, There are many times that The Angel of the Lord appeared to people in the Bible.

    There is no disputing that angels are documented in the bible. Paul, however cautioned against the worship of angels in Colossians 2:18, particularly as Bentley loves to talk of his interactions with angels on a regular bases and what they tell him, etc. As Paul said, Bentley is “inflated without cause by his fleshly mind”.

    Regarding your deliverance from homosexuality – praise God! I have no doubt in God’s ability to rescue sinners of damnation. Like you, I am a wretched man who deserves the death penalty apart from my relationship with God through His Precious Son. I do not declare that God is powerless – on the contrary I praise Him for His Glorious works and His immutable truth and inconcievable power! I simply refuse to believe that God would use a demon-possessed charlatan (my opinion) to show His glory in these last days.

    Shane I’m sincerely pray that you recognize the TRUE power of our Living God, and don’t get caught up Bentley’s deceptive counterfeit attempts at religous show. I’ll end this conversation with a quote offered by Brother K (on of my readers) to another brother that was deceived by the works of Bentley and his ilk:

    Brother, I mean this in all sincerity; if you need a reminder of who Christ is and what He did for us so that you continue to abide in your first love, please pick up your Bible and read it. It’s not a dry, out-of-touch ‘book of rules’ or book of ‘begats’ as some apostates would sneer, but rather The Word of God, showcasing the hopeless depravity of man and the awesome granduer of our salvation through Jesus Christ. Spend more time with Christ in His word, and I have every confidence that you too will soon know the true coin from the counterfeit, and why it is that the Bentleys of this world cause us such chagrin.

    May you indeed remain faithful to your first love…

    Amen.

  26. 26 Ron May 30, 2008 at 3:15 pm

    Shane: The bible says that in the end times there will be false teachers preachers prophets. God will send a strong delusions, nothing delusional about Oprah to the church shes openly admitted Jesus isn’t the only way. The bible says that many who claim Jesus will say to him and declare their woks by Jesus name, but Jesus will deny them, because they work iniquity. That’s not talking about people of the world, but religious people. The only thing God says in his word to the unsaved and the nonbelievers is the atonement he supplied to them, the bible is for the believers. Read the letters God has to say to the seven churches in the book of revelations.
    And Todd don’t preach the bible, he hardly even quotes from it. He says to get impartations from angels, and from his own mouth, says God told him not to teach about Jesus as much, because people already believe in Jesus, they just don’t believe in angles and the supernatural.

    What ignorance and how for from the truth can one be! By what angel did you receive your salvation from? What does Todd mean by not believing in the supernatural? Satan has supernatural acts, he copied the acts Moses did in Egypt. You don’t see the wrong in what Todd is saying, he just opened the door for people to use their own imagination to what the supernatural is!

    And by NOT teaching about Jesus as much, you have now denied the supernatural act of salvation one would receive by getting saved and washed in the blood of Christ Jesus. So since Jesus according Todd is on the back burner now then how is it people are getting saved?
    This is Satan finding away to rid Jesus in the end and will ultimately lead away from Jesus, and serve angels, and the supernatural by imaginations of men!!! And you can’t see that? To say people already believe in Jesus is a FULL ASSUMTION, Todd can’t possibly know that, and it’s a flat out LIE. And not is it only a lie, it’s an assumption to say they trust Jesus too, when indeed, it takes trust in Jesus to be saved. How are people going to trust without hearing about Jesus? Paul said if any man or any angel preach another gospel other than Jesus and him crucified then let that man be be accursed!! So if Jesus is on the back burner then what gospel is being preached? Angels and the supernatural? Because that’s exactly what is being preached, it sure isn’t Jesus Todd has already made that known. It’s hypocritical to tell people to not teach about Jesus as much then turn right around and even say his name!!!

  27. 27 Tim May 31, 2008 at 10:43 pm

    I live in Lakeland Florida where this “revival” is taking place. Please pray for our city, that the true believers will stand strong against heresy and wickedness that has come upon us.

  28. 28 Speaking Truth May 31, 2008 at 11:01 pm

    I certainly will pray for you, your city, and the entire Body of Christ Tim. Believe me – many of your brothers and sisters in the blogosphere are standing in the gap for you…and all of us.

  29. 29 alease davis June 6, 2008 at 3:44 am

    Let me share with you my family’s experience,My Mother is really into all this Todd Bentley stuff.I didnt know what to make of it at first.It both repulsed and fascinated me at the same time.I felt obsessivly drawn to watch it,even though it seemed wrong,in alot of ways.My husband and daughter warned me to not watch it,but I did anyways,at my Mom’s house(I dont have cable)After a couple weeks of watching it,I began to feel depressed and suffer inner turmoil.I felt confused,upset.I began to have thoughts of being worthless,of my life meaning nothing…One day I asked my husband if he thought it could be some sort of spiritual oppression from watching Todd Bentley.The odd thing is that when I shared with him the thoughts of being worthless,he told me that HE had been having the identical tormenting thoughts at the same time that I was having them!!Then,my 25 year old daughter told me that she also had been having these same wierd thoughts!There was such a dark feeling hanging over me,like a black veil.I was bursting into tears in public.Once we connected these strange experiences with me watching this stuff,and talked about it,it lifted off of us.I did not really believe that any harm could come from just watching,as a curious observer..I was wrong.Has anyone else had anything like this happen to them,in regard to this “revival?

  30. 30 alease davis June 6, 2008 at 4:05 am

    Just because people are accepting Christ(assuming they are)does mean this is from God,I accepted Jesus through a CULT!There was just enough truth told,for me to find Jesus,5% truth mixed with 95% false doctrines.I thank God that I heard the basic salvation message through this group,but the rest of it left me spiritually damaged for decades.I was in the Church of Boble Understanding aka Forever Family,a sort of Jesus People,hippie group,back in the 70’s I hope these Florida salvations are real,but what kind of spiritual wreckage is going to be left in its wake?How many people are going to die,because they did not have their cancer treated after being pronounced “healed?”I saw a woman die because she decided to forgo a heart procedure that she neede to save her life.She was really involved in one of these reivals,in my town(not Todd Benley..but virtually identicl phenomenom).The people I knew in the cult were zealous,enthusiastic Christians,but terribly mislead.Dont be fooled by enthusiasm,sincerity of followers,etc,Todd Bentley says he has the “angels” that used to work with William Branham working now through him.Well,guess what,Branham was a shocking heretic!Read up on him,YOU WILL BE SHOCKED BY WHAT YOU READ!This stuff is dangerous,my friends,beware,,,

  31. 31 alease davis June 6, 2008 at 4:09 am

    There was a typing error in my last message,I meant that the salvations do NOT mean this is from God..Alease

  32. 32 speaking truth June 6, 2008 at 9:08 am

    Alease,

    Your post is further illustration that Bentley and his ilk are demonic and DO NOT operate under the authority of Jesus Christ. You can Google Bentley and see blog after blog post of folks who’ve come under demonic attack after viewing his garbage – which is why I place a disclaimer in any post exposing his demonic ramblings.

    You mentioned that you “accepted Jesus” through a cult. Have you already repented of your allegiance to this group and REALLY surrendered to the Lord Jesus Christ after you escaped?

    If you have, then GLORY TO GOD – if you haven’t, then please read this post regarding the path to eternal life, read the scriptures referenced and ensure that you are in the faith.

    Please continue to labor in prayer for your mother – she has to see how unbiblical Bentley and his demon squad are, and how dangerous they are to her eternally security.

  33. 33 Ron June 6, 2008 at 1:14 pm

    Todd Bentley Demon Possessed? Unless hes making that audio clip up, which I have my suspensions he is, ABOSOLUTY hes demons possessed!!

    I have done extensive research on demon possession, exorcisms and demonic oppression and depression, from those who have had first hand encounters with the demonic, and exorcisms. Those who have wrote books on the subject did 100’s of exorcisms.

    And I can say with absolute certainty that you cannot receive these encounters and manifestations in your life like Todd is claiming unless for a FACT you are indeed demon possessed!

    You CANNOT be a saved and born again christian and BE DEMON POSSESSED PERIOD!

    The bible makes it clear greater is HE that is In me than HE that is in the world.

    But if Todd is telling the truth then there’s no telling how and when he got demon possessed, messing around in the Catholic Church, doing exorcisms, supposedly, he could have very well gotten demon possessed in the process, if he did not have his heart in the right place with Jesus Christ from the start.

    You ask any true authentic exorcist, who have had experience with possessions, and they will tell you that doing exorcism is nothing to play around with if your Soul and spirit isn’t in the right standing with Jesus Christ. You are in essence playing on satans turf, and you’d better be in the right place, or you could inadvertently get possessed, by just being around it.

    I would say 90% of so-called exorcisms and claimed demon possessions is bogus made up stories, they are lies, and in fact most of the time your can’t even tell by looking at someone in the natural that they are even possessed anyway! Most of the time outward manifestations don’t even occur like Todd is claiming, and then to tell someone they are possessed, and immediately go into manifestations is a flat out lie. 99% of the time it takes an exorcism to receive any outward manifestations, demons have to be invoked by the name of Jesus and be forced out by his name before they even show up!! They stay dormant and hide out, so Todd is a flat out LIAR and he is NOT who he says he is. He just may be demon possessed, something is driving him. I can back up my statement about demon possessions, I have done the research authentic research, and not just from some back woods folks who claim they know something when in fact they don’t!!! Go research Malachi Martin, Ralph Sarchie for starters if you don’t believe me.

    There’s a huge misunderstanding on demon possession, and when you get people like Todd who is clearly lying, people fall for it hook line and sinker, you asked me only ignorant people would believe anything that man has to say!!

  34. 34 alease davis July 2, 2008 at 5:14 am

    Thank you for your concern.I have long ago renounced any connection to the cult I was formerly involved in.I have my faith in Jesus Christ and his grace for my salvation.I have heard of people accepting Christ after watching “Jesus Christ Superstar”,even though this movie was made by an unbeliever,who wanted to portray Jesus as a mere man.Anytime the words of Christ are heard,people can be drawn to Him(even if spoken by a non Christian.The cult taught the simple truth about how to accept Christ,how to be born again.The rest of what they taught was heresy invented by the leader,Stewart Traill.People may actually be accepting Christ through these meetings,I do not know,but that does not make Bentley of God.He horrifies me with his blasphemy,his sick twisted doctrines,his wierd shaking….even people who I thought were mature Christians are swallowing this poison,and pronouncing it “good.My unfortunate experience with the Church of Bible Understanding did benefit me in one way,I am very cautious about things spiritual.I test all things according to scripture like a Berean.I dont want to be decieved again,believe me.Bentley is DANGEROUS,even to watch out of curiousity.

  35. 36 speaking truth July 3, 2008 at 11:49 am

    Thanks so much for the link Pastor Ray. I was so interested in your site that I posted a link to the full article.

    I also took a look around at some of the other articles you wrote there – excellent and responsible work.

    May the Lord continue to use you for His glory!

  36. 37 Margaret Kinney July 5, 2008 at 11:02 pm

    Oh, thank you someone speaks out. The guy gives me the creeps and don’t forget he was in prison for molesting a young boy.
    He is Demon possessed!!!

  37. 38 Betsy July 23, 2008 at 9:11 pm

    I too live in Lakeland, just one city block from the baseball stadium that where this circus was held for a couple days. They went on until the wee hours of the morning with this. My pastor did not say specifically why, but he certainly expressed that he did not believe this revival was/is of God in any way. I have to admit my curiosity got the best of me. My husband and I walk around the block for exercise and stopped in one night while this was going on. As someone else posted above, it both disturbed me and intrigued me at the same time. I believe my gift is that of the discerning of spirits. Sometimes that is a wonderful thing, but other times it is a hard gift to have. Sometimes I wish I didn’t know. Anyway, we walked into the stadium and watched for a while. There weren’t any seats, not that I was planning on staying, so we walked over behind 3rd base. It happened that the church where this was held for a while (Ignited) had their leader area there. It was roped off and only they could be there. We stood behind them and what I saw was really strange and kind of creepy. There were people around my age (mid 20s) that would be standing there conversing with someone, then randomly start shaking an arm or leg, and sometimes their whole body, then go back to talking like it was normal behavior. I can’t say I’ve personally ever been controlled by the Spirit in such a way. Problem is, I don’t think it was the Holy Spirit. One of them even laid on the ground and shook violently. There were people right next to this person and they didn’t seem to think anything of it. As far as Bentley himself, I don’t think in the time we were there, he ever said a word. The band played the same two chords for about 20 minutes and the leader would just repeat things like “wash over us” and “I can see the spirit coming down… can you see it?” I didn’t see anything. Sad thing is, I knew one of the guys in the band. He used to play in a band at a local college for their Bible study night.

    Overall, my spirit was just confused being able to sense what I did. Because I truly believe there are Christians that attend these things and don’t know any better. They don’t know the Word and sadly are making themselves open to the evil that is going on. And of course, I could sense the evil. Something is certainly not right about it. My husband said that there was definitely a spirit there, but not a good one. They say that our eyes are the window into our soul. If you’ve ever looked at a picture of this man, his eyes are pure evil. I can hardly look at him without feeling the devil stare back at me. I know these things are a sign of the end, but I pray that the true followers will stand strong and personally, I’d like for it to go away and not be part of my city. There was an article in the paper today about it, and how Bentley claims that 12 (may be more now) people have been raised from the dead, but he has no proof. I don’t know if its Scriptural or something I heard a pastor say one time, but if God really does use someone to do a miracle, very few people would ever know it. God doesn’t use the proud and boastful. He dislikes people like that. He uses the humble. And Bentley is definitely not humble. Thanks for taking the time to read such a long post. Keep up the good work and keep spreading the Truth!

  38. 39 speaking truth July 23, 2008 at 9:33 pm

    No need to apologize fot the length of your post, Betsy – thanks for your insight. No matter how much we sound the alarm on Todd Bentley, some still see merit in what he’s doing (or at least give him the benefit of the doubt).

    I’d be interested to get your feedback on Tim’s comments in this post – especially since you’ve seen this circus up close.

  39. 40 Oscar Easler July 25, 2008 at 6:26 pm

    I am a Pentecostal Pastor and have preached the Gospel of Jesus Christ for 38 years. Todd Bentley is the first so-called minister I have ever heard of who said he was saved and filled with the Holy Spirit and demon possessed (25 demons, no less – reminds me of LEGION in the Bible) at the same time. This is impossible. I certainly believe that demonic powers can oppress a believer but by no means can they possess him. We, as Christians, struggle with evil forces on a daily basis. The antic of Todd Bentley are beyond strange and, in my opinion are sacreligious. The thing about the Lakeland Revival that is so telling is that Christ is not lifted up nor preached. Not once have I heard him make an altar call and ask if anyone would like to accept Christ as their Savior. This thing about healing angels – Jesus received stripes in Pilates Hall for our healing He and He alone is the healer, the Great Physician. Where is JESUS in all of this?

  40. 41 speaking truth July 25, 2008 at 7:20 pm

    Welcome to the board Pastor Easler. You right on point – all Bentley talks about is angels, his visions, God using him to heal and all other manner of garbage. Christ is an afterthought during this circus – if He is a thought at all. If Bentley were preaching Christ then it woud be appropriate to invite the audience to accept the gift of salvation, but since he’s not preaching Christ then it doesn’t make sense to extend the invitation.

  41. 42 Kyle July 25, 2008 at 8:42 pm

    Todd Bentley takes apostsy to a new level. Just when I thought Jakes, bynum, Osteen, Copeland, Duplantis, Crouch, Creflo, and whoever else was bad then this cat comes along. WOW! Another up and comer is Medina Pullings within the Pimp Game. She looks like one of those Bratz Dolls kids play with. LOL!

    Kyle

  42. 43 Holland April 28, 2009 at 4:51 pm

    Todd Bentley is not hard to discern for those well grounded in Scripture, however the time is rapidly approaching that false preachers and prophets will arise who are a lot harder to discern.

    For there shall arise false Christs, and false prophets, and shall shew great signs and wonders; insomuch that, if it were possible, they shall deceive the very elect.

    That’s why it’s so crucial to follow after righteousness, godliness, faith, love, patience, meekness, the fruits of Gods Spirit in order to discern the great deception that’s coming upon us.

  43. 44 Nick December 23, 2009 at 8:03 pm

    Its a bit late but here is my view:

    Todd Bentley is no longer demon possessed. He has a heart for God. He is acting out of the bible. The outpouring of the spirit is biblical and with it comes healings, dead raising, casting out demons, etc. It is all in the bible.

    Listening to that video, he said that he was into satanic worship before he was a christian, which were REMOVED when he got prayer. He confesses the Lord as his God which means he must have the Holy spirit inside of him. He hadn’t been a christian long.

    Joy is a fruit of the spirit so where theres plenty of spirit there is plenty of joy. People in the bible even got drunk in the spirit.

    I expect you have never met him or have ever been there, so don’t be so quick to judge him or his ministry. Jesus honoured and valued everyone he met, tax collectors and thieves, even the gentiles. You are dishonouring Todd Bentley. A good place to start honouring him is deleting this blog.

    Matthew 5:22

    Its good to see your trying to make the world a better place, but your looking in the wrong place. Take the gospel to the streets, and pray for people who need healing rather than judge christians you dislike or disagree with.

    Thousands have been saved through his ministry, how about yours?

    • 45 speaking truth December 29, 2009 at 9:55 am

      Todd Bentley has been proven to be a lying drunkard and a fraud, Nick. There’s nothing more for me to add except that TRUE Christians should run in the other direction AWAY from this demon.

      • 46 Nick December 29, 2009 at 10:07 am

        God does not want us to run away from ‘demons.’ He wants us to cast them out. Todd had demons and they were cast out. He was never a demon. How pathetic are you to call one of your own a demon.

        People muck up, like you are now.

        I pray for the spirit of religion to be broken off you now.


Comments are currently closed.



AddThis Feed Button Add to Technorati Favorites
twitter

Get Daily Email Updates:

Sign up for email updates and get the latest articles in your email inbox!

People Looking For Truth:

  • 1,087,134 ...and counting

RSS John MacArthur Sermons

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS John Piper Sermons

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS RC Sproul Sermons

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS The White Horse Inn

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Categories

Archived Articles…


