Church Mafia – A Casualty’s Perspective

I’ve previously written about the concept of a mafia mentality within the mega-church, and I’ve gotten lots of email from those who have either been victims or perpetrators of this kind of intimidation.

I was in the church mafia, and on my way to becoming a faithful captain to my boss, so I know of what I speak.

My UK blogger colleague Alan Higgins wrote about the same phenomenon across the pond as well, and he was recently contacted by a victim (and potentially future casualty) of the church mafia (click here to read the post in it’s entirety).

The young lady who wrote the post was so despondent with the treatment she was receiving from her mafia church family – and her own husband (under the influence of his mafia church boss) – that she contemplated falling away from the faith.

Through the urging of the Holy Spirit, Alan was able to pray for her (and solicit the prayers of other colleagues around the globe).

The young lady contacted Alan to detail the victory she experienced because of the prayers of the saints.

This is just another example of the far reaching implications of submitting to a pulpit pimp/mafia boss and aligning yourself with them as opposed to the Word of God.

When I was submitted to my former pastor, I knowingly submitted my family to his heresy as well – and the division caused friction in my own household.

While I never browbeat my wife to submit to the same false teacher as I was submitted to, I still viewed myself as “spiritually superior” (more “enlightened”, if you will) than her.

I thank God through Jesus Christ that she saw through that mess and diligently lived out 1 Peter 3:1-2 while God worked on my heart.

God rescued us from that heresy, but many aren’t as fortunate:

  • How many husbands have left their wives because she kept giving their money to the various pimps on TBN who promised “increase”?
  • How many wives suffer in silence because their husbands will jump through any hoop that the mafia boss puts in front of him – just to become an elder, deacon, minister, etc.?
  • How many children grow up alone because mom and dad are “submitted to the vision and the visionary”, but don’t have time to raise them because they’re always “working for the Lord” through the pimp/mafia boss?

Whenever you read any articles on this blog about pulpit pimps and mafia bosses (or if you see the pimps/mafia bosses on your TV schilling God’s sheep), PLEASE TAKE A MOMENT TO STOP AND PRAY.

Pray for those who follow them, but also pray for the families of those followers as well.

There are many unseen and unknown casualties as a result of the church mafia…and they suffer in silence.

5 Responses to “Church Mafia – A Casualty’s Perspective”


  1. 1 Alan Higgins April 23, 2008 at 6:00 pm

    Even though many people are silent on the matter. People like us are only saying what many people are thinking. We have to continue to be bold and speak up for the sake of the silent sufferers

  2. 2 Speaking Truth April 23, 2008 at 7:48 pm

    Amen Alan.

    If we’ve learned anything from our experiences, it’s that we wouldn’t want anyone to fall into the same foolishness.

    May our God continue to be glorified through the saints who aren’t afraid to assist in the tending of His sheep.

  3. 3 Pat April 23, 2008 at 9:01 pm

    As a silent sufferer, your blog is helping me…Soon!!!!

  4. 4 Speaking Truth April 24, 2008 at 10:05 am

    Pat,

    I thank God through Jesus Christ that He led you to this blog.

    I pray that you continue to cling to Him during this wilderness experience, knowing that your hope in the Lord Jesus Christ will eventually be rewarded (Romans 5:1-5).

    My wife is a living witness to the power of effectual, fervant prayer.

  5. 5 Pat May 5, 2008 at 6:15 pm

    Thanks, I really can feel the prayers! You know they start off so good but then… My pastor is under one of those pulpit pimps-little by little there is incorporation of those same things you talk about.


Comments are currently closed.



AddThis Feed Button Add to Technorati Favorites
twitter

Get Daily Email Updates:

Sign up for email updates and get the latest articles in your email inbox!

People Looking For Truth:

  • 1,087,522 ...and counting

RSS John MacArthur Sermons

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS John Piper Sermons

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS RC Sproul Sermons

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS The White Horse Inn

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Categories

Archived Articles…


