My Thoughts on Pope Benedict XVI’s Visit

I will begin this post by stating that I am merely expressing my opinion, and I stand on Holy Scripture in expressing my thoughts.

This post will likely offend lots of people. It’s not my intent, but God’s truth has rarely assuaged society as a whole.

I will not apologize for God’s truth, but I will ask that you read the scriptures referenced for full context and don’t rely on my thoughts alone to help you form your own opinion.

All strapped in? OK – here we go.

I’m not impressed by Pope Benedict’s visit to the US this week. I am of the opinion that the Roman Catholic church preaches what the Apostle Paul called “a different Gospel” (Galatians 1:6-7).

The word “Catholic” simply means “the whole Christian body, or church.” It was a term that referred to anyone who claimed to be a believer and follower of Jesus Christ.

By the time Martin Luther broke from the Catholic church in 1517, however, the church had changed. They were selling indulgences (essentially charging for the remission of sin) & the concept of the papacy had begun to overtake the concept of salvation through repentance and belief in the Lord Jesus Christ.

Today, the pope is seen as the “holy father” and Catholics pray to him, and dead saints to intercede to God on their behalf.

If you read Matthew 23:9, you’ll see that we are to call no one our father except God – is the pope now equating himself with God?

Even now, you can confess your sins to your local priest & he’ll prescribe a series of religious actions for atonement (“say 10 hail Mary’s, etc.).

The pope also appoints saints (based on works) for Catholics to pray to in the future as well. Ephesians 2:8-9 clearly explains that our salvation is a gift from God, we didn’t “work” to earn it.

While James 2:14-18 talks about faith by works, it’s an exposition that our works should be the evidence of our faith – not the impetus that gives us our faith in the first place.

In my opinion, therein lies the problem. When Christ died on the cross and said “it is finished” (John 19:30), He removed the barrier between God and man (literally and spiritually), and became our Intercessor to the Father.

I have a problem with any minister that tells me that I have access to God through him, and I have a problem praying to a man (pope) or any dead saint – seeking intercession to my real Holy Father.

To further “stir the pudding”, some representatives of the Roman Catholic faith assert that belief in the Lord Jesus Christ IS NOT the only way to eternal life with God.

Don’t believe me? Well…view the following video in its entirety before you ask for my head on a platter (it’s an old clip):

The priest starts off by saying that that you won’t go to hell when you die if you don’t accept Jesus, yet the next sentence is “it’s the Catholic belief that Jesus is the source of salvation”. He then goes on to talk about (and I’m paraphrasing) if you’re a good person, then you’ll go to heaven.

Here are a just a few scriptures that declare Jesus as the Doorway to God the Father:

Again, there are many more scriptures to affirm Jesus Christ as the singular point of access to God the Father, so read your bible for yourself.

I don’t post this article piously or in a sneering manner. I humbly understand that I am a wretched man who (without Christ) would be condemned to eternal hellfire because of my proclivity for sin.

I post this as someone who thanks God DAILY for His love and His dispatching His Only Begotten Son into the earth to save the likes of me.

I simply refuse to join in the media circus of fawning over a man who thinks that he (and his papal office) deserve esteem as though he is Christ.

It’s interesting how most Americans embrace the concept of “religion” (or its formal structure) but argue against or deny the concept of a true relationship with God through the Lord Jesus Christ.

I’ll side with the Son of God for this argument:

14“As (S)Moses lifted up the serpent in the wilderness, even so must (T)the Son of Man (U)be lifted up;

 15so that whoever [a]believes will (V)in Him have eternal life.

 16“For God so (W)loved the world, that He (X)gave His (Y)only begotten Son, that whoever (Z)believes in Him shall not perish, but have eternal life.

 17“For God (AA)did not send the Son into the world (AB)to judge the world, but that the world might be saved through Him.

 18(AC)He who believes in Him is not judged; he who does not believe has been judged already, because he has not believed in the name of (AD)the only begotten Son of God.

 19“This is the judgment, that (AE)the Light has come into the world, and men loved the darkness rather than the Light, for (AF)their deeds were evil.  (John 3:14-19).

Alright. Now that I’ve gotten that off my chest, let the denouncements begin…

***NOTE*** If I haven’t upset you enough, then take a look at my colleague Independent Conservative’s take on Benedict’s visit. As usual, IC goes much deeper and wider…

10 Responses to “My Thoughts on Pope Benedict XVI’s Visit”


  1. 1 lavrai April 16, 2008 at 10:12 pm

    I’m glad you can ‘behave’ yourself. But this stuff just ruffles my feathers. I don’t hold anything against individual Catholics, but man, the institution known as the Catholic Church is quite questionable to say the least.

    Shall I expound on the decades of the systematic sexual abuse of children? Shall I mention what happens to these accused priest…who never have to answer for anything, just get ‘transferred…’ yet the Catholic Church pays these alleged victims… for what? I guess the allegations are true… yet no one is in court answering for their actions or in prison suffering for their guilt. Who is to be sheltered — the children or the abusers?

    There is only one Holy Father, as you mentioned.

    Mary (who was not a virgin by the time Christ Jesus’ first sibling was conceived) can not make intercession for me…as she is no divine being. She is a very wonderful, anointed woman, yes, for GOD Almighty found her righteous (perhaps perfect?) when HE chose her to bare the world’s Savior. But I will not kneel before an image of her…or an image of who is supposed to be Jesus Christ strung up on a cross…and I most certainly will not kneel before a statue of the disciples or angels…shall I go on?

    I will not ask some man, born into this world the same way I was, to absolve me of my sins. This man has no say in what happens to my soul for eternity. That is up to the Holy Father –and I mean the Creator GOD Almighty.

    And most assuredly, I will not cry and kneel before and fawn over the body of a dead pope as if he were Christ Jesus himself (no disrespect, but when Pope John Paul II passed, some folks reacted like it was the body of Christ being put into the tomb).

    And that video you have posted with the priest pretty much saying you don’t need to believe in Christ Jesus to be saved. How convenient.

    Peace, http://www.lavrai.com/blogs

  2. 2 Douglas K. Adu-Boahen April 17, 2008 at 8:22 am

    Bro,

    Finally someone else who sees the visit for what it is…normally only IC would pass comment. Y’know it begun to dawn on me that the “church mafia” we so often discuss doesn’t only involve the pimps, but just about anyone who preaches another Gospel…i.e. Benedict and the RCC.

  3. 3 Speaking Truth April 17, 2008 at 9:43 am

    @ lavrai –

    Thanks for visiting.

    I just checked out your post this week on the Roman Catholic Church.

    It’s a great read, and it clearly states how the RCC is preaching a different (even anti-christ) “gospel”.

    @ Doug –

    You’re right – the RCC does exhibit some of the same “mafia” qualities as the pulpit pimps. Of course, the RCC pays to “make their problems go away”, and their apologists far outnumber the pimp sympathizers.

    Also, since many people are thoroughly impressed by the pomp and circumstance that the RCC displays, the problems and apostasy will continue.

    As a “young Calvinist” you’ve probably thought of this yourself, but I’ve got to pose this question to everyone else:

    What would the world look like if Martin Luther had never broken away from the Catholic church and (essentially) started the Protestant movement?

    Of course, the answer is that we ALL would be kissing Joseph Ratzinger’s ring 😦

  4. 4 Douglas K. Adu-Boahen April 18, 2008 at 8:59 am

    To add to that,

    We’d still have no Bible of our own, some of the greatest democracies would never have come into fruition and they would’ve probably kill every last speck of dissent towards Holy Mother Church.

    I’ve said it before, and I’ll say it again – THANK GOD FOR OCTOBER 31ST 1517!!!

  5. 5 Speaking Truth April 18, 2008 at 9:38 am

    Amen Doug!

    I’m studying more about the Reformation (a subject that my pimps ignored because it would distract me from their pleas for my money and obedience), and I’m completely blown away at how far we’ve strayed from the foundation of our faith.

    For those who don’t know, October 31, 1517 is one of the most important dates in the history of the Church.

  6. 6 Douglas K. Adu-Boahen April 18, 2008 at 2:41 pm

    I can agree with you on that – I hadn’t heard about it until last October. I asked my dad [a Pentecostal preacher] and he had to go to Wikipedia to tell me! A lot of pastors, IMHO, need to do some Church History – and like you said, they’ll quickly figure out that today’s Church is a sick man compared to days gone by

  7. 7 Speaking Truth April 18, 2008 at 3:28 pm

    Wow Doug – your dad is a Pentecostal minister? Has he embraced reformed theology as well?

    That would make an interesting conversation…of course I may just be using the American pentecostals as a frame of reference…

  8. 8 Douglas K. Adu-Boahen April 18, 2008 at 6:30 pm

    Well, I’m the only reformed-theological guy in the house, and he cannot bear Reformed theology…come to think of it, any organized system of theology has a firm opponent in my dad. It’s sad but I’m praying for him and the rest of my family

  9. 9 lavrai April 21, 2008 at 11:28 am

    I thought your readers may appreciate this bit of information:

    “In light of all the fawning over Pope Benedict XVI, I would like to remind everyone exactly how this pope feels about the sexual abuse of children and those who do the abusing: In 2001, while he was a cardinal, he issued a secret Vatican edict to Catholic bishops all over the world, instructing them to put the Church’s interests ahead of child safety…”

    http://lavrai.com/blogs/2008/04/20/pope-led-cover-up-of-child-abuse-by-priests/

  10. 10 Speaking Truth April 21, 2008 at 5:02 pm

    Thanks for the heads up lavrai.

    As more people peel the onion even more, I’m sure many will be surprised at what they learn about the RCC – and Ratzinger specifically.


Comments are currently closed.



AddThis Feed Button Add to Technorati Favorites
twitter

Get Daily Email Updates:

Sign up for email updates and get the latest articles in your email inbox!

People Looking For Truth:

  • 1,091,529 ...and counting

RSS John MacArthur Sermons

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS John Piper Sermons

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS RC Sproul Sermons

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS The White Horse Inn

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Categories

Archived Articles…


