If You Love Jesus, Then Forward This Message To 7 People!

I’m just going to come out and say it – and I pray that I don’t offend anyone:

I HATE CHRISTIAN CHAIN EMAILS!

There, I’ve said it.

I know, “hate” is such a strong word, but I wanted to emphasize my frustration with the phenomenon. I am not against sending someone an inspirational email, or forwarding one that you receive. Who doesn’t want to hear that Jesus loves them, and that their day is going to get better? I sure do.

I don’t, however, like to be threatened into forwarding an “inspirational message”. I’ve already put my friends and family on notice: if you ever send me more than one of these chain emails, I will permanently block your email address (unless they’re from my mom, then I’ll just delete them – you can’t just “block” your own mother).

Don’t know what I mean? Well, the letter generally says:

Someone who loves you wants you to know that Jesus loves you. Jesus died so that yo would have a great day! Is your boss making you angry? Well, Jesus’ Resurrection should put joy in your heart.

If you love Jesus, then you’ll forward this message to 7 other people. You do know that 7 is the number of perfection, right? Well, if you send it to 7 people, then God will give you a perfection miracle.

Jesus said that if you deny Him before men, then He’ll deny you before His father – don’t delay – forward this to at least 7 people right now!

Pray this prayer and you’ll receive a $100 blessing when the 7th person opens their email:

“Father, in the name of Jesus I release the blessing of the “7” miracle over my life. I untie the hands of God and declare that I will receive a financial blessing because of my obedience. In Jesus’ name…”

Hurry, time is running out! You’ll spend eternity tormented by demonic imps and hell fire if you don’t send this message right now!!!

God Bless You…

Of course, I just made all of that up – right off the top of my head (not a bad facsimile, huh?). The chain emails I’ve received aren’t that different from my illustration above.

While some people pass them along as a joke, others really do believe that you can exercise your faith and demonstrate your allegiance to Christ by forwarding spam.

This is a by-product of the twisted prosperity gospel that the pimps have been pushing for some time now (you did know that I would blame this on pulpit pimps, didn’t you?). Many Christians have been taught that all you have to do is go through a few motions, and God will respond to our insane requests (“go to the car dealership and lay hands on the car you want” or “go to the neighborhood you want to live in and lay hands on someones house”).

This is also a by-product of our lust of the flesh. The spiritually immature think that we can tell God what to do, and He’s beholden to our demands. If we just “turn to our neighbor and say money cometh!“, then money would…well…cometh.

I don’t speak as merely a casual observer. When I was on the Long and Landers plantation, I believed that spiritual gymnastics and odd ritual would “compel God to move”.

When Jesus walked the earth, He was confronted by non-believers who would listen to His words, but not accept what He said unless there was “proof”:

48“Unless you people see miraculous signs and wonders,” Jesus told him, “you will never believe.” (John 4:48)

Sadly, Jesus was speaking to the people who either didn’t believe that He was the Son of God, or those who were new to the faith and didn’t know any better (yet). If we are to be truly mature in Christ, then we’ve got to believe that He is the Son of God, and that through Him we have eternal victory.

Don’t wait for Him to send you a check in the mail as a result of your allegiance to a silly email request.

Just believe…

6 Responses to “If You Love Jesus, Then Forward This Message To 7 People!”


  1. 1 gcmwatch March 25, 2008 at 8:09 pm

    Whew, the silliness some people use God’s time to engage in.
    Besides being intensely impersonal, sinful to pass on false information like this.

    Stuff like this has always bothered me. The same folks who would forward this to me would get offended if I said something about telling others about my ministry.

    The next time they send something like this to me, they will get a invitation to read this.

    Thanks, bro.

  2. 3 dupednomore March 25, 2008 at 9:47 pm

    I believe my Brother……. Thanks for exposing a long accepted and lazy way of speading the Gospel!

  3. 4 Alan Higgins March 26, 2008 at 2:49 am

    I think that they are clouded in superstition dare I say it, witchcraft. “If you pass this on, then this will happen” as if to say that if you dont pass it on, it wont happen as if our lives and blessings are dependant on passing on emails and not on obedience to God’s word.

  4. 5 Ann Brock March 26, 2008 at 3:50 am

    I co-sign with you on this. Thanks!

  5. 6 Neil March 26, 2008 at 11:15 am

    Well said! I can’t stand those emails. Sometimes the content is actually interesting and informative, then they ruin it with the “pass it on to be blessed” lie or the “pass it on or else” threat, which is also a lie.


Comments are currently closed.



AddThis Feed Button Add to Technorati Favorites
twitter

Get Daily Email Updates:

Sign up for email updates and get the latest articles in your email inbox!

People Looking For Truth:

  • 1,091,529 ...and counting

RSS John MacArthur Sermons

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS John Piper Sermons

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS RC Sproul Sermons

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS The White Horse Inn

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Categories

Archived Articles…


