When A Pimp Throws A Party…

…it seems as though everyone will show up – especially if the party is thrown by Super (soon to be Alpha Pimp) Eddie Long.

In case you didn’t know, every Easter, Eddie brings his entire congregation to downtown Atlanta to “worship” in the cavernous Georgia Dome. Eddie calls it an “Easter service for the city of Atlanta” – as a former member of Eddie’s mafia, I call it an opportunity for Eddie to show off “his” congregation in order to keep flexing his mega-church as a force in the city.

Eddie is known for aligning himself with anyone who can further his agenda:

Anyway, Eddie took a break from running away from Senate investigators to party at the Dome yesterday. Not to be content with creating a circus environment that gives cursory praise (at best) for the impact of the Resurrection of our Christ, Eddie likes to invite some of his famous friends to the party to attract thousands – and to show you the reach of his influence.

This year’s special guest was Clifford Harris:

ti.jpg long-and-ti.jpg 

Who is Clifford Harris, you ask? Well, your kids know him as the rapper “T.I.” a/k/a “The King” a/k/a “Tip” a/k/a “The Rubber-band Man”.

You see, young Cliff is a former drug dealer turned rapper who is currently on home confinement as he awaits trial for buying weapons from an undercover FBI agent. Cliff likes to curse when he raps, he calls women all kinds of unmentionable names, and he brags about his…well…let’s just call it his “sexual prowess”.

Young Cliff got permission from the feds to attend the services of his “spiritual advisor” – you guessed it, Eddie Long.

This shouldn’t seem too strange to you. Remember, Eddie and Cliff have the same interests (big homes, big cars, nice jewelry, etc.).

Eddie got what he wanted by inviting young Cliff to the party – lots of young folks showed up to see Cliff (oh, and hear about that Jesus guy also). Cliff even brought some of the other vulgar artists from his record label to the party as well.

Eddie even let young Cliff get up and address the crowd (I wonder if Cliff had to leave a large “offering” at the alter for the privilege?).

I wonder if Eddie inquired about the state of young Cliff’s soul when they schmoozed in the Green Room.

I wonder if Eddie helped Cliff repent of his past and directed him to the saving Grace of Jesus Christ. 

I wonder if Eddie is helping Cliff to learn the Gospel so that Cliff can share the Good News with the thugs on his record label.

Hmm…

To those who think that I’m an “Eddie hater”, I can hear you now:“Paul said that he became all things to all men so that some could be saved”. Once again, you’re quoting your local pulpit pimp who takes the scripture out of context.

Paul said:

20(A)To the Jews I became as a Jew, so that I might win Jews; to those who are under the Law, as under the Law though (B)not being myself under the Law, so that I might win those who are under the Law;

 21to those who are (C)without law, (D)as without law, though not being without the law of God but (E)under the law of Christ, so that I might win those who are without law.

 22To the (F)weak I became weak, that I might win the weak; I have become (G)all things to all men, (H)so that I may by all means save some.

 23I do all things for the sake of the gospel, so that I may become a fellow partaker of it. (1 Corinthians 9:20-23).

Notice my emphasis in bold above. Paul didn’t seek to associate with “famous sinners” so that he could be seen as their personal “guru” like Eddie does – Paul sought to make disciples and fellow partakers of the Gospel of the Lord Jesus Christ.

Anyway, it was quite the party indeed. And not too far away, the 250 members of Mount Gilead Baptist Church (which was severely damaged by the recent tornadoes that tore through Atlanta) gathered to worship God on a beautiful Resurrection Sunday.

Mount Gilead’s Pastor Dexter Johnson couldn’t attend services – he was injured during an in-home invasion (he lives in the actual inner-city neighborhood where he pastors…imagine that). Anyway, Mount Gilead’s Minister of Music said “I’d rather have a half-standing church that was full of life than a full church with no life in it”.

I know, very profound…and true.

18 Responses to “When A Pimp Throws A Party…”


  1. 1 Independent Conservative March 24, 2008 at 6:42 pm

    he persuaded the King family to “anoint” him as the next MLK (I was in the audience when this happened)

    I am your 2nd witness to that foolishness taking place.

    he – along with Bernice King – pimped Coretta Scott King’s funeral by turning it into a showcase of his ability to “hold court” with former presidents and dignitaries

    Again I am your 2nd witness.

    I wonder if Eddie has told young Cliff that he better stop acting like Jesus condones his sinful behavior? Oh, but that would mean Eddie would have to stop being a pulpit pimp!

    Paul was not about engaging in or promoting sin by putting trash on stage either! For Paul, God had him addressing those who took offense to the fact he would deal with both Jews and Gentiles, people who kept Torah and people who lived under grace. Had nothing to do with being trashy or promoting it. If Eddie really wanted to work with young Cliff, he could do it in private rather than parading a trash rapper like a show pony. Eddie knows where the reach young Cliff, it’s not like the law will allow young Cliff to go out the house again anytime soon. Eddie could go have daily Bible study with him if he wanted. Eddie Long is nothing but a pimp and should repent of this mess he’s putting out to thousands live and millions via mass media.

  2. 2 Ann Brock March 24, 2008 at 7:20 pm

    Great article and some good points. I am down here in Jacksonville Fl and I believe Eddie is the one to credit for others doing this mess.

    Take RJ Washington for instant he had his service at the stadium with none other than Tye Tribett. Please!!

  3. 3 Speaking Truth March 25, 2008 at 2:20 pm

    @ IC –

    You and I both know that Eddie doesn’t like to “show off” if nobody is looking. Remember years ago he paraded Sean “Puffy” Combs and Usher around as his “spiritual sons”. In the recent past, Ludacris was his “son” (he even “preached” on one of Ludacris’ vulgar albums).

    Young Cliff is just the latest puppet for this pimp.

    @ Ann –

    RJ is an interesting character. I laughed at him the first few times I stumbled across his “ministry” (when he was “laying hands” on wallets and purses), but I’m saddened to see that so many people take him seriously.

  4. 4 Douglas K. Adu-Boahen March 26, 2008 at 10:39 am

    Eddie Long is a wolf in sheep’s clothing. Imagine what’s he done by inviting T.I. to his church..I mean, club. Young people in that church will see this and will listen to T.I.’s sick and twisted albums and think it’s OK, after all “Bishop” does it

  5. 5 Neil March 26, 2008 at 11:19 am

    I hadn’t even heard of this guy. Thanks for your work here in exposing false teachers and focusing on the true Gospel.

  6. 6 gcmwatch March 26, 2008 at 2:56 pm

    ST, books could be written about the demagoguery of aforementioned alpha pimp. Taking Authority??? That always confused me when I examined his public persona.

    He is one extremely disappointing individual.

    I’ve had a series of unfortunate brushes with him. As IC said he plays games with whomever is his spiritual kid du jour.
    I first wrote about his two-facedness back in 2002.

    Things have only gotten worse.

  7. 7 Independent Conservative March 26, 2008 at 11:24 pm

    Speaking Truth, does Eddie Long still do the “spiritual vitamin” for the Hip Hop and R&B station V-103 down there?

    He claims Frank Ski too and used to allow Frank to address the church club assembly. The same Frank who spins all kinds of junk daily and does even worse at the parties he hosts. Frank even had an “out” party once for the “rainbow people” in your area.

    If and when gcmwatch blogs about Eddie Long totally caving to the homosexual lobby, I suspect Frank will have a hand in it. I see his show still features a “queen”.

  8. 8 Independent Conservative March 26, 2008 at 11:26 pm

    And even if he does not still do them, didn’t those “spiritual vitamin” segments sound JUST LIKE JOEL OSTEEN?

  9. 9 James March 27, 2008 at 1:53 am

    ok, I’m reading this and I have to comment. As a current member of New Birth here in ATL, I am a little disturbed by your commentary. I could care less about what you say or the labels you put on Mr. Long. I don’t worship him and he’s not my savior. But I am concerned at the idea that it is supposedly wrong for E. Long to be associated w/ T.I. or that his spending time w/ T.I. is ineffectual. Do you know for a fact regarding some of the suggestions you’ve made? You said:

    ” wonder if Eddie inquired about the state of young Cliff’s soul when they schmoozed in the Green Room.

    I wonder if Eddie helped Cliff repent of his past and directed him to the saving Grace of Jesus Christ.

    I wonder if Eddie is helping Cliff to learn the Gospel so that Cliff can share the Good News with the thugs on his record label.”

    Seems to me a lot of conjecture and key words to cast a shadow of doubt on Long’s character as a spiritual leader. To be honest, WE DON’T KNOW WHAT HE HAS SAID TO T.I., so it is not fair to assume he has not simply because T.I. has not changed his ways. There are many people I have witnessed to, and then months later they are still doing the same thing. Is it not God who gives the increase in His timing and not ours? All we can do is plant the seed and pray for the individual. And I’m only saying this because you made the point concerning T.I.’s album/lyrics/past lifestyle. Heck, I have a past lifestyle, too and I hope you don’t hold it against me. Did we forget that the BLOOD of Christ has sanctified and justified believers thru faith and not works? If T.I. has received Christ, then yes, there should be fruit unto good works, but did not God give us, me included, time to grow IN GRACE? Lord knows I needed it and still do…GRACE.

    And IF T.I. is not saved, is it not our job to GO OUT INTO THE WORLD AND SHARE THE GOSPEL OF JESUS TO UNBLIEVERS? CAN WE NOT SEE THE FACT THAT THE OTHER “THUGS” CAME W/ TI TO EASTER SERVICE SHOW THAT POSSIBLY A SEED WAS PLANTED? See, I have a current experience of being able to share Christ w/ an unbeliever at my job simply because I have opened myself up to be friendly w/o compromising truth. And because of that I have an ear and voice with this unsaved person and I’m the only one they open up to.

    The bottom line is, Bishop Long is able to reach people I may not ever reach, but I can reach people he may not ever be able to reach due to factors in his life that prevent that. Why is it that it was a pimp move for New Birth to hold Mrs. King’s funeral? I mean, the space was there and Bernice had already been a member for years before her mom’s passing. So, now that he holds the funeral it becomes a pimp move…I don’t get it.

    And as for the comment concerning his bragging about being @ the White House, etc… you took that totally out of context…He’s making the point that those he meet are major players in politics, business, etc… therefore, you present yourself as such, whereas those preachers who may not have the opportunity to meet such people don’t have to present themselves as such. Heck, I have a friend who meet and minister to people who have lots of money and are in Exec. positions….and that’s because he’s on that same level also, so it affords him to be in certain circles. I mean all his dress shirts are Burberry and Thomas Pink (very expensive, but he has that kind of money). He’s in circles that I may not ever have the priviledge to be in because I am not financially wealthy. Do u catch my drift? God places all of us in the right place as needed.

    Like Barack, I don’t agree w/ everything the Pastor says from the pulpit…be it scripture or social commentary. I study my Bible so I know when he’s off and when he’s on point. I don’t fully support some of the church’s initiatives, but like Barack, those things are not the only things I know of the Pastor. I’m not defending him so please know that…he doesn’t need me to come to his defense. But I am refuting your suggestions. I am beginning to believe that, like the gay activists have created such power-words such as “homophobe” and slapped it on everyone who disagrees with them, that there are those who have created the term “pulpit-pimp” and applied it to anyone who has a large church, lots of money, and an entourage. Of course on this point I could be wrong, but when I read Pulpit Pimps, Independent Conservative and your blog, that’s how I feel. Sometimes u guys are on point, but other times….

    Much respect my brother….

  10. 10 gcmwatch March 27, 2008 at 1:08 pm

    James, I sense that you are conflicted about what you read because there is some lingering sense to defend Bishop Long. But lets just look at this a little.

    You said:
    “And IF T.I. is not saved, is it not our job to GO OUT INTO THE WORLD AND SHARE THE GOSPEL OF JESUS TO UNBLIEVERS? CAN WE NOT SEE THE FACT THAT THE OTHER “THUGS” CAME W/ TI TO EASTER SERVICE SHOW THAT POSSIBLY A SEED WAS PLANTED?”

    The first question is “is TI saved?”. Let’s first assume he is not.
    If he is not, then your statement does not apply. Why? Because he was not just at the service as one who needed to hear the gospel message, then made a choice to give his life to Christ publicly as we would ask of any sinner. TI was given privileges based solely on his secular notoriety of which we know is detrimental to the community to say the least. If TI wasn’t saved and Bishop Long did what he was supposed to do (lead him to the Lord), we would know it. Jesus didn’t play the “private salvation” game with Nicodemus so why should Long do it with TI? Salvation must be a public confession. Rest assured had it happened, the media would have reported it because it would have been announced. That would have been the thing to impact other “thugs”, not TI’s mere appearance there. Not only that TI would have renounced his current occupation and began to follow Jesus.
    Dont fall into the “we dont know” trap. We have the Word of God and the Spirit so we can make wise decisions based on what we do know. 1 Tim 1:7

    The problem created with this scenario is that

    Now, lets assume TI is saved. If he was, he is what the bible classifies as a novice. And we are not to let novices up to in the capacity TI was allowed. 1 tim 3:6. Again, this smacks of privelege, not any real concern for maintaining the integrity of the scripture so that we dont give out false impressions about what it means to be saved. If there were thugs in the audience, this would most definitely sent the wrong message. Again, why not? A novice has not been proved and because of the position of influence allowed, the greater the damage should that novice fall to sin ( a very real prospect). If Bishop Long was a seasoned leader he would not have done this.

    Further, Apostle James tells us NOT to show deference to people because of their status. It seems to be a pattern with Bishop Long as IST has noted.

    But look what you said about yourself and ministry

    “I have a current experience of being able to share Christ w/ an unbeliever at my job simply because I have opened myself up to be friendly w/o compromising truth. And because of that I have an ear and voice with this unsaved person and I’m the only one they open up to.”

    Herein is the big difference between what you do and what Bishop Long does. You are following the mandate of Mark 16:15,16.

    In both cases whether TI is saved or not saved, Bishop Long was wrong.

    And let me touch on the comparisons to the terms “homophobe” and “pulpit pimp”. The former is a punitive term based on an erroneous definition. Biblically it cannot be defended. The latter (slang maybe?) is an appropriate applied term based on the proven actions of certain individuals. Those actions are contrary to biblical witness.

    Are you aware that Jesus used contemporary slang when he responded to the syro-phonecian woman? It was common for the Jews to refer to syro-Phoenicians as “dogs”. When the woman mentioned that it was her daughter that needed help, Jesus called the daughter a slang word which in essence means “puppy”. The woman still pressed that even “puppies” get crumbs from the table.

    This is not carte blanche permission to call people by any slang name out there, but given the circumstances, pimps in the pulpit is well applied.

    Hope to hear more from you.

  11. 11 Speaking Truth March 27, 2008 at 3:32 pm

    @ IC – I stopped listening to V-103 some time ago, but as of a few years ago Eddie was still doing the “Inspirational Vitamin” on Friday mornings. And you’re right, he does claim Franski – and they each use one another when mutually beneficial.

    And yes, even though Frank is still under the “spiritual guidance” of Eddie, he still spins filth every morning (he’s still on the air).

    @ James – Once again, I’m a little late in responding, and gcmwatch has taken the words right out of my mouth :-), but I will still address some of your points since you solicited a response from me.

    Seems to me a lot of conjecture and key words to cast a shadow of doubt on Long’s character as a spiritual leader.

    For a long time, Eddie has casted a shadow on his own “spiritual leadership” – I’m merely one of the escapees from his plantation. First, what “spiritual leader” would create an atmosphere of intimidation and exclusivity in regards to Club New Birth?

    I joined the club in January of 2007 and left in 2002. There is such an heir of superiority and elitism in that place that many of the congregation members feel like NB is the only church that God inhabits. I was excommunicated when I left, and friends would no longer speak with me or my wife – and we only went to Eddie’s “son’s” church!. God forbid we left the NB plantation entirely, we might have been hunted down like dogs.

    Also, Eddie has a habit of surrounding himself with celebrities and “known” folks that benefit him. Here’s a short list: Puffy Combs (entertainer), Ludacris (entertainer), Sidney Dorsey (former Sheriff), Bill Campbell (former Mayor of Atlanta), Usher (entertainer), Montell Jordan (entertainer), Quincy Carter (former Pro football player), etc. etc.

    Jesus said that we would be know by the fruit that our lives produce (Matthew 7:16-18). If Eddie is such a great spiritual leader, then why are all of the celebrities he claims to advise still living the same lifestyle (or still producing the same sinful garbage) as they were when he “found” them? I mean, Bill Campbell and Sidney Dorsey are in jail, Puffy, Usher, et al still produce the same filth that they always did? Where is Eddie’s fruit? Could it be that we are seeing his fruit?

    To be honest, WE DON’T KNOW WHAT HE HAS SAID TO T.I., so it is not fair to assume he has not simply because T.I. has not changed his ways. There are many people I have witnessed to, and then months later they are still doing the same thing. Is it not God who gives the increase in His timing and not ours? All we can do is plant the seed and pray for the individual. And I’m only saying this because you made the point concerning T.I.’s album/lyrics/past lifestyle. Heck, I have a past lifestyle, too and I hope you don’t hold it against me. Did we forget that the BLOOD of Christ has sanctified and justified believers thru faith and not works? If T.I. has received Christ, then yes, there should be fruit unto good works, but did not God give us, me included, time to grow IN GRACE? Lord knows I needed it and still do…GRACE.

    Amen brother, we always need GRACE! I, like you, are keenly aware of where I was and what I was doing when God’s love reached me through His Son Jesus Christ. I also know what I’m capable of if I EVER relinquish that love.

    I concede the point – we don’t know what Eddie said to T.I., or what he’s saying to him now. We do know that this is a very sensitive time in T.I.’s life, and lots of people are watching him (kids, label mates, the general public, his rap colleagues, etc.) to see what the outcome will be of his case.

    I believe that Eddie EXPLOITED T.I. during this sensitive time by parading him out on stage like a show pony. Again, I beleive that Eddie does what benefits Eddie, and it didn’t hurt to have T.I. as his “special guest”.

    Oh, and don’t think that T.I. is a virginal lamb in all of this. We now know that his attorneys were feverishly working to get a plea deal on his problems with the Fed’s, so I’m sure a little stop at the church wouldn’t hurt in the eyes of the judge.

    Why is it that it was a pimp move for New Birth to hold Mrs. King’s funeral? I mean, the space was there and Bernice had already been a member for years before her mom’s passing. So, now that he holds the funeral it becomes a pimp move…I don’t get it.

    Not to sound too juvenile, but it’s a pimp move because Eddie did it…and he’s a pimp. Again, Eddie Long will not do anything that will not benefit Eddie Long. Do you find it just a bit ironic that Bernice King was ordained an “elder” at your church? You and I both know that their are ministers who’ve labored for Eddie for quite some time who are still not able to sit on stage with him as an elder, but Bernice comes out of nowhere and “ascends”? Is it just a coincidence that Eddie weasled his way into the King’s family good graces to benefit from association with them? I guess being anointed with Dr. King’s mantle has it’s priveleges…

    Whatever.

    Also, I thought Coretta Scott King was a member of Ebeneezer Baptist Church? Oh, that’s right – Ebeneezer’s pastor (Dr. Raphael Warnock) spoke out against pulpit pimps and their doctrinal assault a/k/a “the proseprity gospel”. Dr. Warnock was speaking specifically about Creflo Dollar, but Creflo and Eddie are boys, so it’s all the same.

    I guess Bernice only allowed Ebennezer to hold a “Memorial Service” while she gave her “spiritual father” the grand prize – a full fledge state funeral.

    Also, I’ve been in your lobby on unrelated business recently, and I’ve seen the framed picture of Eddie grinning between four living presidents. I guess that photo was just “gravy”…

    And as for the comment concerning his bragging about being @ the White House, etc… you took that totally out of context…He’s making the point that those he meet are major players in politics, business, etc… therefore, you present yourself as such, whereas those preachers who may not have the opportunity to meet such people don’t have to present themselves as such.

    I respectfully disagree. Eddie was upset that he was being questioned about his abuse of charity money, and he wanted to purposely and forcefully make the point that he was not an “average” preacher. If you read the article “Bishop’s Charity Generous to Bishop” originally published in the Atlanta Journal Constitution on Aust 28th, 2005, you’ll find this direct quote from Eddie:

    “We’re not just a church, we’re an international corporation”, Long said. “We’re not just a bumbling bunch of preachers who can’t talk and all we’re doin is baptizing babies. I deal with the White House. I deal with Tony Blair. I deal with presidents around this world. I pastor a multi-million dollar congregation”. “You’ve got to put me on a different scale than the little black preacher sitting over there that’s supposed to be just getting by because the people are suffering“.

    Those were Eddie’s words, not mine. Did you read anywhere in the quote above where he says “I preach the liberating Gospel of Jesus Christ to a dying world”. I guess Tony Blair and Bill Clinton are more important. At least he admitted that he was living well while the people he pastors are suffering.

    I am beginning to believe that, like the gay activists have created such power-words such as “homophobe” and slapped it on everyone who disagrees with them, that there are those who have created the term “pulpit-pimp” and applied it to anyone who has a large church, lots of money, and an entourage.

    My brother gcmwatch already touched on this, but I’ll weigh in briefly. I am a black man from the south-side of Chicago. I’ve seen pimps up close. I know what they do, and I know how they do it. The term pimp has been around a lot longer than the 30something years I’ve been alive.

    As I’ve stated in a previous post, a pimp is defined as “one who derives income from the earnings of a prostitute”.

    Eddie and his ilk derive their income off the backs of those who support his “ministry”. I know, ” Bishop Long is a business man who owns property, writes books, speaks on the lecture circuit, serves on corporate boards, etc.”. That’s fine, but why did he need to lease a house and car, and draw a $3 million dollar salary from a charity?

    Again, after saying all of that, I respect your opinion, and I believe that you are a reasonable person, so I encourage you to keep checking in on my writings. It’s only through discussing our differences that real change can come.

    Oh, and by the way, when I was “on the plantation”, I used to read Pulpit Pimps and Independent Conservativeas well, just so I could see what the “enemy” was saying about “my Bishop”.

    Once God removed me from under the heresy I was listening to and I began to see His Truth, I understood the perspective that these brothers blog from. Like me, they both fled the plantation, and we’re all determined to awaken as many as the Lord would allow us to reach. All any of us want to do is to point you to Christ.

    Much respect, my brother. And I sincerely mean that.

  12. 12 James March 27, 2008 at 8:26 pm

    To both u and gcmwatch,
    Gosh, I hate email/blog responses because they can go on and on and on. Anyway, points well taken and I get where you both are coming from.

    GCM, u said:
    TI was given privileges based solely on his secular notoriety of which we know is detrimental to the community to say the least. If TI wasn’t saved and Bishop Long did what he was supposed to do (lead him to the Lord), we would know it. Jesus didn’t play the “private salvation” game with Nicodemus so why should Long do it with TI? Salvation must be a public confession. Rest assured had it happened, the media would have reported it because it would have been announced–

    My reply 2 that is I wholeheartedly disagree w/ TI being up in the pulpit. For some reason, the pulpit has lost its sacredness; almost anyone can get up there. You are right, that was a wrong move on Long’s part. But the private/public salvation issue I disagree with. Just because we don’t know he’s saved doesn’t mean he hasn’t received Christ. That’s to say we all should have a working list of “saints who received salvation thru Christ, 2007,”….like a census. Maybe it is public to those who know him or are around him.

    U know, when Mike Vick was going thru his trial, someone around me was saying “oh, he was stupid for doing this and that and blah, blah, blah.” Then I said, “Well yeah, but you know what, he’s gonna get saved when it’s all over. ” Sure enough, when he did his press conference, he announced that in all this, he received Christ and that this has brought him closer to God.
    My point is, we don’t know what God is doing in TI’s life, so we can’t be so quick to judge such matters. Yes, he was not supposed to be on stage…wrong move LOng, but hey, it was a mistake….let’s not hang him on that one.

    Speaking Truth: Ebeneezer is another black elitist church in Atlanta, spiritually dead if you asked me based on what I saw, and it is way smaller than New Birth. Therefore, would it not be more sensible to have the funeral in a space that could accomodate the masses? And the “Exploitation” charge…seems to me that’s what you want to see and feel. U know, if you go looking for fault, u’ll find it or make it real out of what fuels your search. (DID U SEE THAT MOVIE “BUG” W/ ASHLEY JUDD?) See, it seem like you are looking for something to steam about..and correct me if I’m wrong on that one…or we can just agree 2 disagree.

    Now, when New Birth held that “Black State of The Union” w/ Tavis Smiley, I thought that was totally inappropriate.

    GCM: I fully agree, the thing about showing favoritism w/ certain people because of their secular notariety is wrong. For me, I try not to make that a big issue because it is not a “huge blatant outright immoral sin.” Not trying to quantify sins, but you know what I’m saying. I don’t think there’s gonna be a huge write up in all the national papers because TI was shown favoritism as opposed to a sexually immoral act committed by a preacher.

    GCM/Speaking Truth: Check it, I can bark about the misdealings of preachers and pastors and bishops all day long. I assure you, since I”m still @ New Birth, attending intermittently, I am fully aware of the “show” that happens from week to week. Now, would I like to see some changes made within the American Body of Christ- ABSOLUTELY. But it has to start w/ the man in the mirror. And I’m not gonna judge someone’s intent w/o knowing fully why they did what they did. Yes, it may appear to be wrong, and sometimes it is wrong, but until I can determine the truth or their intent, then I will give them the benefit of the doubt. Not saying they are in the right, but u know what I’m sayin’, right?

    Alright brothers, I gotta head to the gym. I was eating cookies while typing this out. U guys rattled my nerves so the cookies calmed me. But now my nerves are bad cuz I just almost finished a whole package of cookies. Gotta hit the treadmill. LOL!!! 🙂
    Peace.

  13. 13 Speaking Truth March 27, 2008 at 9:49 pm

    @ James

    Thanks for checking back in. You’re right, we can blog back and forth until Jesus returns, especially if we’re gathering “recon info” in between sessions 🙂

    Ebeneezer is another black elitist church in Atlanta, spiritually dead if you asked me based on what I saw, and it is way smaller than New Birth. Therefore, would it not be more sensible to have the funeral in a space that could accomodate the masses?

    I’ve never attended (or visited) Ebeneezer, so I can only speak to what I’ve seen. I just found the Fox 5 story featuring D. Warnock to be very enlightning.

    We won’t agree on the King funeral – where it “should’ve been held”, etc. Quite frankly, it’s not worth belaboring the point so let’s call it a draw.

    And the “Exploitation” charge…seems to me that’s what you want to see and feel. U know, if you go looking for fault, u’ll find it or make it real out of what fuels your search. (DID U SEE THAT MOVIE “BUG” W/ ASHLEY JUDD?) See, it seem like you are looking for something to steam about..and correct me if I’m wrong on that one…or we can just agree 2 disagree.

    I didn’t see the movie “Bug”. I’ll admit that sometimes I seek examples to make my point (who doesn’t, right?). Since I’ve started blogging I’ve tried to make the conscious effort (through prayer) to try and blog without emotion.

    I’m constantly reminded by my blogger friends to speak the truth “in love” (shout out to Kwesi over at SCREAM). I really try to leave my emotions out of it, but sometimes I simply can’t.

    Everyday, I get calls and emails from folks I left behind at the Landers plantation. For every comment I get on my blog posts, I get 5 times as many emails from people in mega-churches all over the country. These people identify with what I’ve been through, and they thank me for talking about what I’ve seen, participated in, and left behind.

    I have a full time job, a wife, and two small children, so I don’t spend my days “hunting for heretics”, but I can’t ignore speaking about things that I know or have discovered. I’ll concede antoher point – I try not to “look for faults”, but I can be jaded at times.

    At the end of the day, our God is to be glorified, and I’m happy to be used by Him in any capacity that will help His believers see Him more clearly.

    And with that, my friend, I’m shutting down the computer to go eat some cookies 🙂

    Again, much respect brother!

  14. 14 Independent Conservative March 28, 2008 at 12:55 pm

    James, did you read 1 Timothy 6 yet?

    Recognize that God right there in His Word has the Apostle of the Lord Jesus Christ named Paul declare the prosperity doctrine preached by Eddie L. Long to be total heresy. A heresy God commands you flee.

    Read every word of 1 Timothy 6.

    Eddie Long has already been caught lying to you by saying he got a word from God, that he really got off the Internet.

    Eddie Long told people that did not pay TBN when HE SAID PAY that they would be like children kept out of the promised land.

    Do you not recognize no man can buy God, Acts 8:20 and no man of a sincere heart tries to make merchandise of the gospel, 2 Corinthians 2:17.

    James, you have no excuse. You can type here all day long, but you are being shown things I wish someone had told me about when I was where you are right now. And that is why we continue doing what we do. Because even if you reject and stick with Eddie Long, others the Lord will help see the truth.

    And Ebeneezer is a dead church, not because they don’t jump and babble like idiots, not because of their size, but because they have defiled the gospel ever since MLK Jr. . Yes, ever since him. They follow a false god, named Baal, who tells them that all who suffer (even those suffering for reasons other than faith in Jesus) are going to Heaven. Baal tells them the Hinduism of Ghandi is good, despite it does not embrace the truth of the Lord Jesus Christ. Ebeneezer started buying into the heresy of multiple paths to God with MLK Jr. and his adoration for Ghandi. MLK Jr. denied the virgin birth of Christ and treated His Lordship as a contrived thing, check his own writings. The “I have a Dream” speech is a Baal speech. God will not have people of Christ denying doctrines holding hands with His children singing “free at last”. King did not mention only those with faith on Christ will be free. Ebeneezer preaches a spin of Black Liberation Theology, a heresy.

  15. 15 James April 4, 2008 at 1:12 am

    IC,
    With all due respect, the things Speaking Truth/GCM have mentioned, I’ve known for quite some time. I’m not blind to whats going on @ NB. I know that NB is spiritually off course…at least the leadership is. PLEASE KNOW, I AM NOT SPIRITUALLY ASLEEP ON THIS ONE. I’ve been there for 7 years… I’m fully aware.

    I know real truth is not coming from the pulpit there. U know why and how I know?!! Cuz I study the Word for myself. Praise God. The vail was lifted years ago concerning the “name it claim it” phenom from my eyes.

    As I said in my last post, I only attend intermittently…like every other sunday. I’m not moved by the sermons, but moreso disheartened. However, God has me there for a purpose… And until this season is over, I can’t move. I tried to move one time, but the doors of the new church I was starting to visit closed its doors in about 3 weeks after my first official visit. So, here I am.

    God has me doing a work over there…freeing the minds of broken, confused individuals who have for years received poor teachings from “Mend of Gawd.” Trust me, by the time I get them, their destitute spiritual life is infantilised and I have to take weeks just to get them to “point A” of a solid foundation of what it means to be saved and what Christ REALLY went to the Cross for……not for a new car/house or fabulous job.

    So please, don’t judge me or think that I don’t know what the deal is. I’m not moved by big churches, celebrities, or gospel sangers (singers…lol). Like I said b4, I don’t defend or play protector of E. Long, but I do contend against speaking w/o prior knowledge when it comes to prejudging other’s intent. That’s all I’m saying. Yes, I have the discernment to know things are not right in many churches today….glory to God. I know that many pastors have a “celebrity” spirit on them and the pulpit is just another “Red Carpet” Event, sponsored by the flock. I know that many parts of the Black Church is in shambles and if we don’t stop playing church, a big ol’ spankin’ from the Lord is going to occur, if it hasn’t started already.

    And yes, I know about the MLK thing, too.

    So, to end this b4 it gets to long (2 late), God has not instructed me to depart. I am fully aware of the state of that church. I am not in the dark at all. But until God moves me, I have to stay. My job there is not done. See, to those on the outside looking in would ask, “Why R U still there?….don’t u know blah, blah, blah.” But see again, it goes back to my original point….INTENT AND PURPOSE. I know the purpose for why I’m still there. Actually, I’m freeing the sheep from the inside.

    IC, I’ve been 2 your blog maaaany times. Heck, that’s where I get some of my info from. You are a scripturally wise brother. But please, let me do what I was called to do for the season I was called to do it at the place I was called to do it. When that season is over, I will move. So physically, yes I attend NB, but my heart is not there.

    cool? cool.

  16. 16 Independent Conservative April 15, 2008 at 11:07 pm

    Hi James,

    I can’t say I see things not working out at another spot as reason to feel you should not join an assembly standing on sound doctrine. I respect you going into the doctrinal Egypt of Club New Birth to help free captives from that doctrinal bondage, however YOU need an assembly of saints you can worship with in truth. If you want to do missionary work over at Club New Birth every other week, how about those other weeks? Are you with an assembly on sound doctrine those other weeks, so you can ensure you’re staying with some sound teaching and fellowship?

    You have my apologizes for not noticing you realized the error there, sorry for my approach towards you earlier, but you still need to be in an assembly of saints that is on sound doctrine, even if you go to Club New Birth as a mission field every other week. Just because things did not work out for you at one spot does not mean you should have no assembly of saints that worship the Lord in truth.

    And you all can’t stay up under that bad doctrine and not have some negative influence occur on you, I mean you becoming compromised in ways while you don’t realize it. It takes some time away from that to better see some of the bad doctrine. Those you help OUT of Club New Birth will need an assembly to worship with as much as you. So please keep looking. Paul preached to saints in Corinth, but he certainly did not claim that as his local church home, he went out planting churches, but Jerusalem was the base.

    I can’t say I see the “celebrity spirit” identified in scripture anywhere. I understand what you’re saying, but I think as a brother just mentioned on my blog, what they represent is noted in verses such as 2 Peter 2:15.

    James, I will say, that when I look at comment #9 above and other comments you’ve made in other threads earlier on this blog, I’m finding your current statements to be a bit of a shift.

  17. 17 Speaking Truth April 17, 2008 at 9:27 am

    @ James –

    Just to chime in and give my “2 cents”…I have to tip my hat to you for ministering to the sheep at Club NB. I left and I’m working from the “outside”, but if you are effectively witnessing against doctrinal assault from inside the walls, then to God be the glory.

    We can agree to disagree on my personal thoughts (and I’ve already told you that I’m biased) – I just appreciate the dialogue.

    God bless…

  18. 18 Nana April 23, 2010 at 7:49 pm

    It surprises how u all take delight in judging folks.
    “Do you suppose, O man—you who judge those who practice such things and yet do them yourself—that you will escape the judgment of God?”
    Romans 2:3

    It seems u’ve forgotten all abt Mary Magdalene and Zaccheus.
    Since everybody feels too saved to reach out to the world. Who’s gonna do it.Jesus came for the sick, best believe that

    U speak too quickly, since u wont touch these folks with a barge pole…leave those who care to alone.

    Get over ur sanctimonious selves and let us show the Mercy that God was sooo kind to give us to one another.

    Let he who is without sin cast the first stone.

    Praise the Lord somebody!


Comments are currently closed.



AddThis Feed Button Add to Technorati Favorites
twitter

Get Daily Email Updates:

Sign up for email updates and get the latest articles in your email inbox!

People Looking For Truth:

  • 1,091,529 ...and counting

RSS John MacArthur Sermons

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS John Piper Sermons

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS RC Sproul Sermons

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS The White Horse Inn

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Categories

Archived Articles…


