OK…Here We Go…

I was trying to use this blog as an “online bulletin board” to post random “cute” thoughts and sayings, but I must be honest – God has called me to do much more. I can’t waste this opportunity to reach others by religating this medium to another waste of cyberspace.

I tried to sit quietly and pass the opportunity to comment on something I’ve noticed recently in the Body of Christ – but I can’t.

Now that I’m ready to “stir the pudding”…

Take a look at these logos:

 

Catchy logo’s, aren’t they? “What are they selling” you ask?

God.

That’s right – these logos are for ministries (or churches, if you will) here in the metro Atlanta area. “Where is the cross” you ask? Another good question – the cross is inconspicuously absent from the logos. Now, don’t get me wrong – my undergraduate degree is in Business Admin with a marketing minor, so I can appreciate a catchy logo just like anyone else.

The problem (to me) is that it seems as though we’re trying so hard to present God as relevant and “hip”, so much so that we remove the symbols that our parents know and love in order to appeal to a younger generation.

I mean no harm in pointing this out, especially to those of you who attend churches with “progressive” logos that remove (or distort) the cross. If nothing else, it get’s your attention – but at what cost. In the 12th chapter of John’s gospel, Jesus said that He would draw all men to Himself (John 12:31-33). Most pastors preach this as a means of getting us to come to Jesus – and they aren’t entirely incorrect in using this scripture. A further exploration of the verse, however, let’s us know that Jesus was describing his impending death (hanging on a cross), and He was saying that when He is lifted “up from the earth” (on the cross), that act would draw people to Him.

I know it’s not soothing imagery, but why would we not want to remind Christians (and particularly non-Christians) that Christ died a gruesome death so that we would have eternally life (if we repent of our sins and accept Him as our Savior)? I know, I know – now the argument becomes “yeah, our logo is funky but we still preach Christ at my church”. I’m trying not to paint with a broad brush…it’s just my initial observation. And please don’t quote 1 Corinthians 9:22 without expounding on what Paul really said. When you explore 1 Corin. 9:18-23 (in the New Living translation), you’ll clearly see that Paul put himself in a position to empathize with the “unsaved” in order to “bring many to Christ” – he didn’t package it to be “user-friendly” (again, I’m not saying that your church is packaging “Christ – lite”).

So, as the older folks used to say, “let’s go back to the old landmark”…

2 Responses to “OK…Here We Go…”


  1. 1 CB#1 February 15, 2008 at 11:19 pm

    Mega churches are competing with the world for attention. I guess The “Cross” is not attractive enough. These swords and alternate representations are catchy and slick. Last time I read my bible I think it said that Jesus will “knock” at the door:

    Rev 3:20 “Here I am! I stand at the door and knock. If anyone hears my voice and opens the door, I will come in and eat with him, and he with me.”

    We are mandated to preach and teach to the nations. Not use our marketing degrees to persuade.

    At the end of the day these “images” are intended to apply to the flesh. This aint God. Bring back the cross!

  2. 2 Speaking Truth February 21, 2008 at 5:20 pm

    That’s not to say that every church that is operating in biblical truth hides the cross, and vice versa. It’s simply a personal observation. As long as we preach Christ and Him crucified, well, everything else is just window dressing…


Comments are currently closed.



AddThis Feed Button Add to Technorati Favorites
twitter

Get Daily Email Updates:

Sign up for email updates and get the latest articles in your email inbox!

People Looking For Truth:

  • 1,082,689 ...and counting

RSS John MacArthur Sermons

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS John Piper Sermons

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS RC Sproul Sermons

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS The White Horse Inn

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Categories

Archived Articles…


