If it walks like a gay bishop, and talks like a gay bishop…

…then it must be a gay bishop.

Eddie Long (the “bishop” pictured above with “Ms. Sophia”, a well-known transvestite here in Atlanta) is apparently ready to mediate with his accusers and provide them with a financial settlement to make this whole sexual coercion and abuse story go away.

I’m not a lawyer, but I don’t think that people seek mediation to settle a case that alleges heinous activity if THEY ARE NOT GUILTY IN SOME WAY.

I wouldn’t even agree to settle a fender-bender if I wasn’t guilty. If someone accused me of inappropriate sexual contact with boys/young men I “mentored”, then I would demand a jury trial and vigorously depose my accusers to defend my honesty.

I mean, if you’re innocent, wouldn’t YOU fight to clear your good name?

And what happened to “I feel like David against Goliath…I’ve got 5 rocks, and I haven’t thrown 1 yet!”? Did I miss something in 1 Samuel 17 – or did David enter into mediation with Goliath?

In his most recent article for Huffington Post, syndicated columnist Morris O’Kelly wrote:

Mediation of sexual allegation grievances is tantamount to an admission of “some” guilt, “some” form of ministerial misconduct. Innocent folk don’t make deals if the claims against them are baseless and untrue. Mediation for the accused is a forfeiture of the right to ever claim innocence, and readers should be absolutely clear on this point.

Did you hear that?

That was the sound of Long publicly admitting to some degree of guilt when he agreed to mediation. The public wanted Long to thoroughly address the allegations. Well, there you have it. He said it all, you just had to have been paying attention to hear it.

In New Birth’s response to the lawsuit (the accusers sued Long and the church), the church’s attorneys seem to corroborate Kelly’s assertion (and my personal belief) of Long’s guilt. The church “understands that Bishop Long often shared hotel rooms with members of the congregation while traveling,” but would not confirm or deny the allegations made by the accusers.

So…umm…a man who lives in a $1M home, drives a $400,000 Maybach (as well as a Rolls Royce) and owns his own private plane shares rooms with congregants on long trips?

For what…to save money?

Yup – that thud you just heard was the sound of common sense falling to the floor.

Unfortunately, again, none of this matters to the sheeple who worship Eddie Long (and those like him). As I said before, Eddie could do the “Dougie” (Google it) on the way to the pulpit holding hands with his male lover and blowing air kisses while snapping his fingers in “Z” formation – and these people would still stand in line to hear him butcher the Word of God with impunity.

Keep praying for Eddie’s repentance, and the will of the Lord being done at Club New Birth.

Related Posts:

21 Responses to “If it walks like a gay bishop, and talks like a gay bishop…”


  1. 1 nmenzie December 8, 2010 at 2:59 pm

    Hi, SpeakingTruth! I’m so glad you added this at the end of your post:

    “Keep praying for Eddie’s repentance, and the will of the Lord being done at Club New Birth.”

    It makes a big difference.

    And you know what, your argument is absolutely right. This is no case of “turning the other cheek” — sometimes Christians have to put up with stuff and even be punished when we’re NOT guilty (like Joseph) and have been blatantly set up (like Daniel) or just hunted/persecuted for no apparent reason (like David). GOD allows that stuff to happen. But in all of these cases, each person stood firm and defended his ground… Mr. Long put out a lot of hot air and didn’t step foot in court to stand his ground and defend his character. Why not? Because he did something wrong.

    He can escape the courts, but GOD doesn’t need any money. The LORD gave him a chance to come clean and get right. Boy oh boy… I have only one thing to say: It is a dreadful thing to fall into the hands of the living God (Hebrews 10:31).

  2. 2 brdavision December 9, 2010 at 11:08 am

    This is ridiculous and down right sad. The “Bishop” really just told us that he had sex with these boys and rather than admit it publicly, he wants to move on….You said it correctly Mr. Truth

    “As I said before, Eddie could do the “Dougie” (Google it) on the way to the pulpit holding hands with his male lover and blowing air kisses while snapping his fingers in “Z” formation – and these people would still stand in line to hear him butcher the Word of God with impunity.”

    These people could care less about what this man does because to them he is their God. Its a sad day when people will continue to follow a person who won’t even follow God’s word….

  3. 3 Pat December 9, 2010 at 10:55 pm

    I knew something was strange about Ms. Sophia-wow-I just saw how to Dougie-On more pressing issues-those poor young men-yes the violation-the others who have not come forward-Have mercy-This is a warning-Judgment begins first Where?????

  4. 4 Cryloud December 10, 2010 at 11:32 am

    a picture must be worth more than a thousand words. How long will the congregants stay in denial…Maybe is they saw a few more pictures added to the case. Their reading assignment should include “9 marks”. This type of stuff really makes it more difficult to evangelize by presenting yet another stumbling block. Tax evasion, immorality, and abuse all do harm to the effort. These people never teach 1 tim 3 because they don’t want the congregants to know THE TRUTH just their truth. He is so disqualified from leadership, but still can be saved. However he must have a Godly repentance which requires turning from sin and turning TO GOD. Mediation doesn’t do that.

  5. 5 Independent Conservative December 11, 2010 at 12:07 pm

    Just the matter of someone seeking mediation does not alone mean someone is in any way guilty. Despite what some who don’t necessarily embrace Christ in truth might say in the public media for the court of public opinion. A Christian does have to be mindful of following God’s Word, not public pundits. Scripture such as Luke Luke 6 prescribes that we give even to enemies and mediation is not an admission of anything, but an out of court settlement. And plenty of innocent people seek an out of court settlement because at times it is the better option, over the time and expense of court, despite knowing they’d be found innocent in the end. It’s a matter you’ve really got to take based on the situation at the given time and I don’t fault anyone who seeks mediation and is innocent. I say that being someone who has won cases brought against me, I fought those all the way and won fully, but I don’t fault anyone who feels mediation is better for their particular circumstances. If you’ve been in court enough times, you don’t look down on someone who seeks mediation, especially when they are a popular figure. Battle in enough cases in court, and you’ll know what I’m saying.

    That said, here’s why mediation is an issue for Eddie Long. BECAUSE EDDIE LONG SAID HE WAS GOING TO FIGHT AND PROVE HE’S NOT THE MAN PORTRAYED ON THE TELEVISION.

    Also, keep in mind the accusers have already stated they sought to settle this without going public earlier and were refused.

    So now we have:
    1) 4 first hand accusers and others who say they had knowledge of the matter. Which takes us well beyond the biblical standard of 2-3 witnesses.

    2) Look at the pictures, between him taking snaps with homosexuals, the ones he sent those guys look pretty sissified too!

    3) He’s going against his own statements that he would fight.

    So the mediation compounds what I see as guilt, because it goes against Long’s own prior position. So to me it shows Eddie has something to hide that he initially thought might not leak out.

    • 6 speaking truth December 11, 2010 at 7:03 pm

      I hear you IC, and I understand that Christians should certainly approach this situation (and every other situation) differently than those who do not know or claim the Name of Christ. That said, in my opinion this is more than just a simple civil matter that is being mediated between two parties for the sake of expediency or keeping peace. As I stated before, I believe Eddie is guilty of what he is being accused of – which is/was not illegal because the age of consent is 16 in Georgia – and the victims don’t claim any “activity” prior to that age. It is, however, immoral and something that someone who claims leadership of God’s flock should never do (among other things).

      I’m not one who thinks we should all run to court to solve our problems, but this man is being accused of committing very salacious and damaging actions against “boys” and young men – and that (to me) makes it even more paramount for him to take the opportunity to clear his name. If my neighbors children accused me of sexual misconduct, I would shout my innocence from the rooftops – and defend myself with every fiber of my being, no matter the cost (emotionally, finacially, or otherwise). Sure I would exhaust my resources, but my reputation is priceless – especially when sullied by such sickening claims. That said, mediation appears to be an admission of guilt and mitigation of punishment.

      What does Eddie have to lose by hiring the best attorney’s to defend this case? Who knows – but the real question appears to be what does Eddie lose by letting these young men speak in open court?

      I don’t refute what the Word says we should do in mediating civil matters – I just think some things deserve a vigorous defense, and allegations of sexual coercion is certainly one of them.

      • 7 Independent Conservative December 12, 2010 at 1:22 pm

        We agree that we both feel Eddie is a dude who can’t control himself around young men. I think we both felt that way even before this latest news about mediation. So the news of mediation does not on its own honestly cause us to feel one way or the other because we already felt how we feel before this latest news about mediation.

        I hope and pray your neighbors kids never accuse you of anything. But I will say, that many a man better than you and I have sacrificed their reputation for the sake of their family’s well being.

  6. 8 Pamela December 12, 2010 at 1:22 pm

    I guess mediation is not mandatory in GA. It is here in OK. ORU/Richard Roberts were forced to mediate before it went to trial. We will never know what really happened there but it is the law here. At least it was in 2007-2008 during all the ORU madness.

    I was holding out that maybe it was not true. However when he said at the end of his remarks that he had five rocks and that he was going to fight, the rock of mediation is a far cry from a fight. I am having a hard time saying without flinching that he is innocent.

  7. 9 gcmwatch December 12, 2010 at 6:33 pm

    and pray tell where did you scoop this picture up from?
    email if its confidential

    • 10 speaking truth December 13, 2010 at 9:02 am

      The pic was taken at V-103’s studios when Eddie used to do his weekly “Inspirational Vitamin” with Frank-Ski (don’t know if he still does it). It’s been out for quite a while (I first saw it last year) – you can tell it’s pre-toupe’

      • 11 gcmwatch December 18, 2010 at 10:33 am

        uggghhhh he looks terrible. And the drag man/woman looks twice as ooogly.

        Oh, and you are right, if it looks, quacks and walks like a gay bishop, it must be one.

  8. 12 brdavision December 14, 2010 at 1:52 pm

    I have to go with Mr. Truth on this issue. Remember a Bishop/Overseer’s reputation must be one without blame. If these allegations are not true then Long should be fighting tooth and nail to prove it.

    Mediation in this instance sounds like a admission of guilt. which like IC said we all knew in the first place.

    That the church has not already sat the “bishop” down shows where their real allegiance is. And its not scripture.

  9. 13 Godlysoldier December 15, 2010 at 5:44 pm

    Prov 22:1 “A good name is to be chosen rather than great riches, loving favor rather than silver and gold.”

    Unfortunately, I think we all know which one EL is going for…

  10. 14 Ann Brock December 16, 2010 at 12:07 pm

    IST,Is that picture for real?

    • 15 speaking truth December 16, 2010 at 5:32 pm

      Yes Ann, that picture is authentic. “Miss” Sophia is a man who dresses as a woman (tansvestite?) who did an entertainment segment called “Girl Talk” on the morning show at V-103 here in Atlanta (until he was let go earlier this year). You can also see more at his-her facebook fan page as well. That picture was taken at V-203 studios here in Atlanta about a year or so ago (notice Eddie isn’t wearing his rug on his head – he picked that up earlier this spring).

      I couldn’t make this stuff up…

  11. 16 s77 December 21, 2010 at 1:36 pm

    I thought that woman was “Miss Cleo” from those 3 AM psychic network hotline commercials…

  12. 17 Meg January 3, 2011 at 1:13 am

    I found that I was wrong about judging others,(see
    http://www.unleavenedbreadministries.org/?page=christiansnipers ), and I apologized of that. I learned that judging about others about people’s teaching and I found that all people are not perfect about their teachings but they teaching the true Gospel and I should not have no business judging them. Only God’s words are is perfect. Also I should not have no business judging other false preachers but I hope that the ture Gospel will save them. I should be use discernment, but not judging them. If somebody read some of my previous posts about me judging other people and offened by it, I say I apologized for it I hope that you forgive me for it. This is my last time posting my comments here and I whish you the best. I’m moving on.

    • 18 speaking truth January 3, 2011 at 9:35 pm

      Meg,

      I respectfully disagree with your assertion about “judging” others. You’ve commented on this blog 15 times in the past 3yrs, vehemtly defending the Gospel against false teachers (including here and here. I’ve written extensively about the “judge not” refrain in the past, but this post succinctly sums up my thoughts on the matter. I am not judging unbelievers who sin (specifically becuse they biblically don’t know any better) – I judge false teachers who willfully manipulate the Word of God for their own gain. These vipers don’t accidently omit a key word or phrase from scripture or take a bit of poetic license with interpretation – they KNOWINGLY and WILLINGLY lie on God for their benefit. I stand securely and firmly on the Word of God regarding my admonitions on this blog – and I will continue to do so as the Lord wills, so thanks for stopping by.

  13. 19 Pamela January 4, 2011 at 1:47 pm

    There are too many verses in the Bible warning us of this and how to know when you are listening to false doctrine. Nothing in scripture says to keep quiet and pray. If that were the case we would not be reading any of these verses. They were spoken by someone and recorded as led by the Holy Spirit.

    2 Peter 2:1-3 (and frankly the entire chapter) would not be in the Bible if we were not to judge the teachings of false teachers and false leaders. These verses clearly state their end. We do not decide how that is done. That would be judging. We judge the word being spoken in God’s name.

    We are responsible for walking according to scripture. Unfortunately there are too many Christians that do not understand how to study the scriptures and are believing lies because they expect the preachers to be preaching the truth. They will never hear the truth about it from those pulpits because that is in many cases where a lot of the lies they believe come from, especially in the case of pastors preaching error aka lies about the Bible. Where will people hear the truth? From blogs like this one. Thank God that people are at least finding these blogs and getting more information where they can go to the word for themselves and see where they have believed a lie and hopefully change and not waste any more time.

  14. 20 jeremy January 5, 2011 at 11:36 pm

    i like it

  15. 21 AT2W April 20, 2011 at 1:32 am

    Wow! I saw this one in a google search and its a mess! He’s not hiding much there, is he?


Comments are currently closed.



AddThis Feed Button Add to Technorati Favorites
twitter

Get Daily Email Updates:

Sign up for email updates and get the latest articles in your email inbox!

People Looking For Truth:

  • 908,145 ...and counting

RSS John Piper Sermons

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Categories

Archived Articles…


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 90 other followers

