A Gentle Reminder…

Ahhh…spring is in the air here in Atlanta.

The trees are budding new blooms, the weather is warming up nicely, the pollen is beginning to aggravate delicate sensibilities…

…and the pimps are tuning up their annual giving scams.

I’m starting to see some traffic from folks Googling “first fruit”, specifically those inquiring about the practice at a local church club, so I thought I’d provide a gentle reminder about the first fruit scam:

First Rotten Fruit

Every year between January and Easter, pulpit pimps begin to lick their chops as they look forward to flogging the sheep into giving to their absolute favorite pyramid scheme of the year – the “First Fruit offering.”

Unlike the tithe scam (where the pimp puts a gun to the back of your head every Sunday and Wednesday by threatening holy wrath upon you and your descendants for “robbing God”), the “First Fruit” scam is a 1 day cash windfall for the pimps.

Click the article’s title to read more – and keep reading your bible to avoid being taken in by dubious characters with even more dubious intentions.

Related Posts:

17 Responses to “A Gentle Reminder…”


  1. 1 TCH April 6, 2010 at 12:18 pm

    I can’t even remember how I stumbled upon your site, but I thank God so much for it and you! As a Dallasite and former fleecee of Jakes’, He definitely used your blog, Pulpit Pimps, and Real Christianity to show me the truth once the scales were removed from my eyes. For every 50 people who comment on you “touching God’s annointed” believe there are others whose eyes have been opened.

  2. 4 anointedvessel April 6, 2010 at 4:49 pm

    Same ol tricks different packaging. People are getting baited and then….. Hook,line, fisherman, and boots they get taken again. All they need to do, is read the word for themselves, and have a personal relationship with God. If it doesn’t sound right going into your ears, it sounds way worse to your spirit man. I am a happy and cheerful giver. The one thing I find remarkable is that the more I give according to MY relationship with God, and what I have, and what I do, over and above that, the more I walk without fear of lack. I am not a part of this world financial system. God is not a source, he is THE SOURCE. The people that are tricked into first fruit offerings, are almost always going to get dissapointed, because the motivation is wrong. No church needs to have the pastor stand in front, after the praise cheerleaders have lathered up the audience, with an hour of God only knows what with a thirty minute motivational speech on giving along with some silly chant. “Moneeeeeey Come Now”, “Bless Me Indeeeeed”, Huuuuuh…..The bible is the best selling book in the world but apparently not many of the people who keep getting robbed in the church take time to read theirs. I watched a guy on TV convince people to sign a petition to ban DiHydrogen MonOxyide that would be empirically written H2O (the two is subscript) all he did was put up a skull and cross bones on the paper and look real serious. Ha hahahahahahahahahaha. Because people slept through the very first day of, either Chemistry, Biology, Earth Science or even cooking class they didn’t realize this guy was feeding these people a bunch of nothing. Long story short one wise guy said he wouldn’t sign the petition because he saw no need to ban water! This is the epitome of the scripture “my people perish for lack of knowledge”, to press even further…. people are dying because they won’t pick up the bibles and read it for themselves and get a revelation too.
    ~Anointed

  3. 5 Tony Isaac April 7, 2010 at 8:47 am

    And they will still refuse to take heed!

  4. 6 rascoe1 April 7, 2010 at 1:40 pm

    I remember my experience with the firstfruit con, it never helped me one bit. IST, it was not long ago that you encouraged me to “run” and thank God I took your advise. You be blessed my brother. Welcome back I missed you.

    • 7 speaking truth April 7, 2010 at 5:02 pm

      To God be the Glory, rascoe1 – it’s great to hear from you again. Glad that you are being led of the Lord – you and your daughter are still in my prayers (regarding last year’s job situation. I trust the Lord is providing.

      Stay blessed, sister.

    • 8 N'Catina April 7, 2010 at 8:39 pm

      I am also gratified you came out as well, rascoe1. I have been away from it for two years, since February 2008. Although I never gave into the first fruits scams, I nonetheless gave in a total amount in access of the sum for a down payment on my house over an eight year period.

      I am not sure what your employment situation is, but I have been out of work for 13 months, and counting. Thankfully, PA has a relatively generous UC plan, but despite that, I look to God as my source. As well, I am looking to hear back from as many as three potential employers from which acknowledged my credentials, and am looking to be scheduled for interviews.

      And for all that I endured during this time, I made out better financially this go around than I did when I was otherwise working and being ripped for “tithes” and other financial nonsense during my earlier years. Praise God for that.

      • 9 Lady D April 19, 2010 at 8:55 pm

        N’Catina, I will add your name to the prayer list for a job. I’ve been out of work for 9 months now and I praise God that He does supply for my family-and does not demand first fruits or protection money (the tithe) to take care of us. He is forever faithful~

        • 10 N'Catina April 22, 2010 at 5:15 pm

          Lady D, thank you in advance for the prayer, and for your thoughts and compassion surrounding my situaiton. As an aside, I have been to one interview with one of many of the university health systems in my area last week, and am anticipating an interview with another firm for which I have already met with a recruiter on another occassion at her firm.

  5. 11 rascoe1 April 8, 2010 at 11:52 am

    Thanks Bro IST, she has been working 6mths now. The pay is way less than before but the benefits are good and the company seem promising. After being on staff for a year she will be able to move around in the company.

    N’Catina, I knew you were out of a job, I often wondered, and were at the point of asking on occassions, but were afraid to impose. My daughter was out of work for 9mths and was at the end of her unemployment when she got a job. It was through an agency at first but they took her on staff after 3mths. In our eyes, 13mths is a long time and I pray that you will get something soon. I will say to you what I said to my daughter: let looking for a job, be your job; get up every day and do the same thing no matter how frustrated you become; you will get your job in due season; God is sovereign and in charge, so a “no” mean there is something elses; no matter how it look, never stop trusting Him. Stay strong my sister and continue to keep your eyes on the prize.

    God is glorified in our struggles. He has proven Himself to be our provider and keeper and our confidence is in Him and not ourselves. We have learnt to be content with what we have.

    Bro IST, thanks for asking, God is mighty in all things.

  6. 12 GaryV April 8, 2010 at 8:43 pm

    Ah yessssssssss………….the FirstFruits scam. An oldie but a baddie.

    What the Pimps fail to mention, either out of abject Biblical ignorance or by purposeful ommission,is that the offering for the First Fruits was NEVER money. Who told them they could change the nature of the offering that God Himself established?? Where did God either change His mind or communicate to them that He was changing His Word??

    • 13 Michael Pharr April 9, 2010 at 9:14 am

      Gary V.

      I think they can get around the changing up God’s word by calling it “the principle” of first fruit giving. Since many of us, aren’t into agriculture, the script is flip to call for the “fruits of labor”, ie: our cash…our cheddar…our bread (a play on words, since wheat is harvested for bread….)

      Just my 2¢

      • 14 speaking truth April 9, 2010 at 9:31 am

        That’s exactly what they do Mike. I’ve heard countless times how “we don’t deal in crops, we deal in cash now so that principle still applies” and the ever popular “I don’t know if Donald Trump is a Christian, but he sure knows how to use the principle of sowing and reaping…if it works for him, don’t you think it’ll work for you as a child of the King?”.

        Whenever it’s a “principle” that will benefit a hireling, then it’s great for “this dispensation in time” :roll:

  7. 15 Pat April 12, 2010 at 8:22 pm

    its hard out here for a pimp-shoot! that song won an oscar-thats all i hear

  8. 16 Kyleigh Sylvester April 30, 2010 at 3:26 pm

    I value the blog article.Really looking forward to read more. Great.

  9. 17 Darlene May 4, 2010 at 12:26 am

    “12For if there be first a willing mind, it is accepted according to that a man hath, and not according to that he hath not.

    13For I mean not that other men be eased, and ye burdened:

    14But by an equality, that now at this time your abundance may be a supply for their want, that their abundance also may be a supply for your want: that there may be equality” I Cor. 8

    The Old Covenant law regarding tithing was in effect right up until the cross and that law had nothing to do with cash but with food–it was written very specifically that the Levites could not take cash and that only when they travelled a great distance, were they to change out the food for cash, then, change it back out for food upon their arrival.

    We stopped tithing years ago. We give and give where we see a true need or to support a ministry that is about serving the lost or the poor and not about fattening their own bank account and building their own. It would be so great if Christians established their own guidelines for giving and ask themselves a few questions…

    1. Are the funds used to help those who cannot help themselves?
    2. Are the fund used to further the Gospel of repentance and faith in the one who died for us?
    3. Do the people collecting the offerings live lavish lifestyles far above those that they are collecting from, or as our host puts it “pimping.”?
    4. Do these solicitors give account for their spending habits?

    For starters, if you and your wife are on a budget and eating like most of us eat, do you really think it honors God to send Paul White or Benny Hinn to the types of places that they prefer? I keep seeing that word that Paul stated….”not that other men be eased and you be BURDENED.” In other words, don’t do what Evander Holyfield is doing and let your mortgage lapse while sending mega-bucks into some ministry. I know average Joe’s who are doing the same thing. They let the light bill go so that they can pay their tithe. That is STEALING. Give to man what you owe, and share with those in NEED, when you have excess…and do it with a big fat smile on your face. :D


Comments are currently closed.



AddThis Feed Button Add to Technorati Favorites
twitter

Get Daily Email Updates:

Sign up for email updates and get the latest articles in your email inbox!

People Looking For Truth:

  • 900,650 ...and counting

RSS John Piper Sermons

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Categories

Archived Articles…


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 90 other followers

