Confronting Error With Condemnation

lion lamb

The world is enamored with crafting a picture of Jesus as the Lamb of God (John 1:29) - the gentle, Teacher who instructs His followers in his philosophical teachings. You see, that “Jesus” is a safe, non-confrontational “guide” who makes “suggestions” regarding righteous living according to the “golden rule” and the “good book”. And many lukewarm, mealy mouth “Christians” – you know, those who act religious on Sunday’s and Wednesdays and justify all manner of apostasy & heresy because of their malaise in studying the Word of God – help perpetuate this lopsided view of Christ.

Thank God that His Word is complete AND replete with the accurate view of Jesus Christ – as both the Lamb of God AND the Lion of Judah (Revelation 5:4-6) our conquering King Who overcomes evil once and for all.

I must admit, I have been extremely frustrated lately with this blog. The Lord has blessed me through my repentance from embracing false doctrines to pour out my love of His Word through this blog. I have been driven to tears many times through the testimonies (both here and in my email box) from those who have been confronted with their complacency and returned to the True Word of God. I have painstakingly written as the Lord wills, applying His Word without prejudice and pointing all who seek His truth to Him.

The Lord has blessed me to share His message to unbelievers, and I am amazed at how most non-believers are well-reasoned and more reasonably interested in discovering the Gospel truth. I’ve considered shutting this thing down a lot lately, frankly because I’m tired of rehashing the same things over and over – WITH PEOPLE WHO CLAIM TO KNOW AND FOLLOW GOD! You can literally type terms (like tithe, apostasy, heresy, word of faith, prosperity gospel, and more) into the “search box” near the top right corner of this blog to find some of the over 250 articles the Lord has allowed me to write over the last almost 2 years – yet I continue having the same back-and-forth circular arguments with people who would rather (A)continue to believe lies over the CLEAR TRUTH that God presents in His Word – and subsequently remain in allegiance with the vast majority of popular wolves, vipers, and hirelings of the day; (B) not “kick up dust” by highlighting the “strife among the brothers” and “assassinate the character” of the liars who pervert the Gospel; (C) remain too lazy (or frankly, too stupid) to stir up a holy passion for God and His breathed Word; or (D) all of the above.

Which leads to a video presentation of “Confronthing Error with Condemnation, Not Conversation – Part 1″ by John MacArthur, soundly exegeting Luke 20:45-47 (and Matthew 23 for larger context). MacArthur succinctly reminds us that Jesus did not mince words in confronting false teachers – and neither should we.

I thank God for godly mentors like John MacArthur (and one even closer to me geographically) who kicked me in my self-pitying butt last night and today, and I in turn will do the same for those who read this blog. As soldiers for the Gospel of Jesus Christ, our job is to present His truth and let Him appeal to the hearts of the hearer. Haters of truth are just that – haters. They faithfully execute their duties by finding any and every reason to object to the delivery and acceptance of sound doctrine.

Let’s continue to faithfully execute OUR duty to lift high the Blood-stained banner of our Lord

Related Posts:

28 Responses to “Confronting Error With Condemnation”


  1. 1 rascoe1 September 25, 2009 at 5:00 pm

    Keep pressing my brother. What you do is not in vain. Those who must hear, will hear. Those who must understand will understand. Remember, it was both you and IC that helped me to see, just about two years now. Thank you. God Bless

  2. 2 rascoe1 September 25, 2009 at 5:05 pm

    God used these blogs to help me and others. PLEASE DO NOT SHUT IT DOWN. Take a break if you must, but not a permanent one, you are needed.

  3. 3 Seeker of truth September 25, 2009 at 5:30 pm

    Dear brother, I just wanted to encourage you and inform you that there are many who come to your site to feed, and get encouraged but never comment. I ,for example, am one. Thank you for your brave stance and biblical prowess. Tarre Stanley

  4. 5 speaking truth September 25, 2009 at 5:37 pm

    Rascoe & Seeker of truth – thanks for your encouragement, it is certainly appreciated. I’ll follow the Lord’s lead and simply walk away from time to time instead of “pulling the plug completely”.

    BTW – Rascoe, how are things w/your daughter? You’ve been in my prayers for some time now…

    • 6 rascoe1 September 25, 2009 at 5:49 pm

      Thanks for your prayers. She has been working a month now, after 9 very trying mths. The company is a really good one too. To God be the Glory. Every word of God is true, He not only saves, he also keeps. Thanks again for your prayers.

  5. 7 Pastor Jim September 25, 2009 at 6:33 pm

    ST, you are a soldier! Honored to know you and love you and your family.

    I love the way you are strong, sure and still teachable. I admire your abilities to defend the Faith of our Fathers.

    Found this article and thought of you and the ongoing dialogue about the sad state of church as you know it. http://www.reformation21.org/blog/2009/09/falling-in-love-with-the-churc.php

    Be encouraged. Our King is Faithful and fights with excellence and skill for His bride the Church. He WILL purify and heal.

    So let’s keep on fighting with skill and zeal. I got your back. A LOT of readers do too!

  6. 9 Vaughn September 25, 2009 at 9:28 pm

    Sounds as if your skin is getting thicker, which is needed, in effort to confront those that don’t happen to embrace the hard truths of the B-I-B-L-E.

    I’m typing this before I happen to read the preceding commentaries (6), because I’m a man of my own opinion and am not easily swayed, and some times can be abrasive as a bull in a China Shop(poor plates). But you must realize who Jesus had compassion upon!

    Go from the closet to the furthest and you will see my point! Inner Circle—————————>lastly the false teachers, so with that I hope you can get my drift.

    Have compassion on those that are willing to embrace what’s right, and a few choice words for those that cling to error. Only speaking of those that have proven to be about the circular arguments (you know those on your Screw Ball List, you should have one if you don’t).

    Keep your head up and do what you do!!

  7. 11 searchingfortruth September 26, 2009 at 7:31 am

    ST, please be encouraged to know that you are a blessing and so is this blog. Since coming here I have repented to our Father for following the crowd and being lead by wolves. I have grown in the Word and truth have prevailed in my life. My life was so wrapped in the WOF that it has taken all of two years to be completely delivered from the brainwashing and lies! Thank you for your stance and uncompromsing delivery here. I do not respond often as others but I do hear and you are needed and appreciated. Know that there are others like myself that are being helped by you.

    Keep the faith and thanks again!

  8. 12 Melissa September 26, 2009 at 9:13 am

    I am also a frequent reader, rare commenter. I totally understand the frustration, having felt the same. Don’t quit.

    Many will choose error over truth, but God will have His witnesses in the earth before He condemns those who insist upon being filthy still. We do what we are called to do regardless of apparent results. Jeremiah sowed love and tears for the deceived, and reaped hatred and persecution for His efforts. Nevertheless, he was a success because He obeyed the Word of the LORD. God bless you!

  9. 13 Michael Pharr September 26, 2009 at 8:12 pm

    Hello IST, man I want to encourage you to continue your awesome work before the Lord. I believe that when you expose people to truth, SOME that desire to know the truth will start to dig into scripture further and the Word of God will open their eyes. Will some accept the truth, certainly not, but they’ll have to answer to God for their own deeds. Man you just continue to do, what God tells you to do, even if He tells you to shut it down. In all things though, to His glory.

    - Michael Pharr

  10. 14 pierced September 26, 2009 at 11:32 pm

    IST,

    As you may see by the responses to this blog, you have touched and maybe changed lives. You are doing good work here – please continue as the Lord leads.

    2 Thessalonians 3:13 (King James Version)

    13But ye, brethren, be not weary in well doing.

  11. 15 Paul N September 27, 2009 at 6:39 pm

    I followed this link through a post on gcmwatch, never knew about it however please dont stop because a voice like yours is needed in an evil hour like this.

    I am not where I should be in Christ but blogs like this convict and encourage me at the same time.

    There are other voices like yours however that doesnt mean we dont need you!

    Thanks for “keeping it real”, the Church instead of being a “house of prayer” has become “a den of theives” in many cases! everybody has got something to sell that will help us get closer to God, hmmm, more things but you rarely hear them say the church is here for you if you need help. We need you to keep calling out the lies!

    Thanks and God bless!!!

  12. 16 Pat September 27, 2009 at 9:20 pm

    Amen! Thank you all I don’t know where I would be without this blog. Some of the most hateful abusive so called preachers abusing God’s people shame on you you will hear on judgment day. You will have a lot to tell God for the hurt you have caused to God’s sheep.

  13. 17 mercedes September 28, 2009 at 8:03 am

    Please don’t stop brother. You have been an encouraging and mighty warrior of God and you really help us grow stronger in the Word. I will be praying for your strength in the Lord to do the good fight.

  14. 18 dr. jay worth allen September 28, 2009 at 10:53 am

    I pray the Lord put a sword in your tongue.
    May you never hide it in the sheath of your flesh.

    dj

  15. 19 dickkopf September 28, 2009 at 10:45 pm

    Hey, IST:

    I’m enjoying your blog.

    Keep the chin up.

    Love,
    Peter.

  16. 20 Michael September 29, 2009 at 2:28 pm

    You cannot quit! As American pulpits,”Christian” televison Networks, and “Christian” radio stations become mnore vile and polluted with Apostasy, The Lord is leading HIS people back to their BIBLES FIRST.He is also using the internet and sites like yours to minister truth to His people. We must continue to speak the truth, regardless of how people respond or hate the messenger. One of the most sobering truths that Christians must realize is the fact that false teachers are among us TODAY! They are not only identified by what they say but also by what they DO NOT say, and their subtle attack on the authority of God’s Word. Their coveteousness and hatred for holiness chiefly expose them for the wolves the are. When a national “minister” (from Dallas, Texas) goes on NBC’s Today show the morning after the 2008 Presidential Election, and sits on a set with Matt Lauer and hails the election of Barack Obama as hope this country hasn’t seen for a long time, that man is a wolf and an imposter! When other “leaders” are teaching God’s people that they can obtain material things simply by speaking them into existance, apart from seeking first the kingdom of God and His righteousness and apart from prayer when we petition the Lord with our desires, then those “leaders” are wolves! When owners of “Christian” television networks sell or give airtime to hirelings and wolves to devour God’s people, then they too are wolves! When “Leaders” and “Ministers” go to TBN and other Networks and sit on those sets with wolves (and they know it)and smile and act like all is well, then they are endorsing and supporting the wolves! God help us! Purge your people and kean our sight so that we can flee from the religious clutches of the wolves who come in your name. We are being spoon fed another gospel and another Jesus, differet from the gospel and Jesus (The true resurrected Son of the Living God)found in the Word of God.

    My wife and I used to be faithful members of an Ohio “Mega Church” for close to 15 years. Over the course of a few years I began to see radical changes take place in that church. The endorsement of the BLASPHEMOUS message Bible, Sunday morning services became more contemporary, the Pastor began to use movie clips during his sermons and the atmosphere as well as everyone’s attire became more casual. The church began to host CCM concerts, The Power Team (no such thing as Christian karate or brick breaking, it’s all new age mysticsm) and allow wolves with questionable doctrines into the pulpit. I thank God that He had previously led me to websites like this one and I conducted research on the church growth movement. Like a checklist, I could see everything taking place in our church was apart of a church growth model to Pastor adopted to spark numerical growth. Even the ‘decor of the building and Sanctuary was changed to give it a more contemprary look. Of Course this was done in the name of “Taking care of God’s house” but the timing coincided with the other changes that were taking place.

    I remember my last Sunday at that place. As the Pastor “preached” I knew I would NEVER be in that place again. It was like The Lord took the blinders off my eyes and broke something off my mind. I had to come to grips with the possibility that I had been following a false teacher. Of everything he said during his “sermon” I remember two very vivid statements. “Education and Creative Evangelism is what the church needs, not a bunch of uneducated preachers talking about holiness”. I can still remember the pride and arrogance that permeated from him as he said this. He went on to say that the “falling away” in II Thess 2:3 has nothing to do with the church backsliding or going the wrong way. He said that the falling away was referring to the rapture.The grieving that I felt in my spirit was sickening! More reprohensible was the response of the Sunday morning crowd that hooped, holllored and shouted Amen as this man spewed this doctrinal error among God’s people. Now, let me say that I personally believe whole heartedly in the rapture but may dispute the timing of it.

    We left that “church”. Enough Said! I don’t understand why “Leaders” and “Ministers” in America won’t teach God’s people on this subject. Religious Deception is the first thing Jesus warned about in Matt 24, but the church is totally silent. They have million dollar homes, the latest vehicles, all their personal bills are paid and they don’t have a material need. They have TV cameras and studios and access to radio. The have the resources to go on the airwaves and warn God’s people about wolves and false doctrine. Yet, they will not teach God’s people the Whole Counsel Of God and the entire Gospel. They won’t teach on separation from the world or holy living. It’s all about here and it’s all about NOW! So Sad!

    You see ST, you cannot quit. Other wounded lambs and sheep will find their way to this site and others and you must be there for them.There are those who love the Lord and want to live in the truth but just need confirmation that they are hearing from God. There are those who need be strengthened in their walk with God as he weans them off their false teacher and prepares to move them elsewhere. It’s sites like yours that have been an encouragement to me in this dark trying time and testing that I’m in. I’m glad you were there.

    Please keep my in prayer. I’m seeking the Lord about full time ministry and starting a church.

    Michael

  17. 22 Michael Thompson September 29, 2009 at 3:58 pm

    Truth,

    I have not commented a lot on your blog, but I have been reading it over the past couple of months. I have not really had to deal with the “pulpit pimps” like you have. But as a minister, you and other blogs like yours have challenged me to make sure that everything I do lines up with God’s will. Rest if you must… but don’t ever quit.

    Peace

    Rev Mike

  18. 26 speaking truth September 29, 2009 at 10:40 pm

    Everyone,

    I sincerely appreciate the encouragement you all have shown over the past few days. I never want this blog to be about me – only God through Jesus Christ (Sola Christo!), so your appreciation for my frustrations is humbling.

    I’ll do as the Lord wills as long as He allows, but He has other laborers (in the blogosphere, brick-and-mortar ministries, and more) who work even more zealously in support of the Gospel (1 Kings 19:18).

    Thanks again for the encouragement!

  19. 27 truthofgod October 2, 2009 at 9:14 am

    I understand (and relate to) your frustrations my brother. Stay strong in the faith and never give up. We need soldiers like you out here. There is only a remnant who will hold on to the truth.

    God bless TOG.

  20. 28 Christocentric October 3, 2009 at 4:46 pm

    ST, God bless your faithfulness and hardwork! Your post was very inspiring and heartfelt – I could relate to those same feelings as it can sometimes get very frustrating as we wonder how can anyone not accept such a great gift from God – His Son! Or wonder how those who dare call themselves Christians could so blatantly sin without repentance and not see that they are acting in hatred rather than love for our Lord.

    Just want to say keep up the great work and please do don’t give up this blog! In my busy-ness I don’t always post, but one of those who lurk, read, and get re-inspired by your many scripturally based messages!

    God bless you and take care!


Comments are currently closed.



AddThis Feed Button Add to Technorati Favorites
twitter

Get Daily Email Updates:

Sign up for email updates and get the latest articles in your email inbox!

People Looking For Truth:

  • 864,165 ...and counting

RSS John Piper Sermons

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Categories

Archived Articles…


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 82 other followers

