Give Obama A Break (this time, at least)!

obama education speech

OK – you regular readers already know that I am no fan of Barack Obama. So, here’s an early warning: you may want to sit down, brace yourselves – and put down any glassware or sharp objects.

I agree with those who think this “Obama Indoctrination Speech” controversy is devoid of worth for serious discussion.

There, I said it. And I’d say it again. This isn’t a political blog – and my vast disagreements with Obama are primarily grounded in my religious convictions. But I’m man enough to stand up when I disagree with him, and I’m man enough to defend him when I think the criticism is a bit far-fetched.

It’s a stupid “non-issue” issue that makes great political theater, but unfortunately overshadows the intent of the speech (to inspire kids to do better) and more pressing issues (the risk of full-scale government healthcare being ram-rodded down the throats of taxpayers).

Here’s a link to the full text of the speech that was given today, and here’s a link to the “suggested resources” that are available as well. Here are a few highlights of the speech:

I’m here because I want to talk with you about your education and what’s expected of all of you in this new school year.

Now, I’ve given a lot of speeches about education. And I’ve talked about responsibility a lot.

I’ve talked about teachers’ responsibility for inspiring students and pushing you to learn.

I’ve talked about your parents’ responsibility for making sure you stay on track, and you get your homework done, and don’t spend every waking hour in front of the TV or with the Xbox.

I’ve talked a lot about your government’s responsibility for setting high standards, and supporting teachers and principals, and turning around schools that aren’t working, where students aren’t getting the opportunities that they deserve.

But at the end of the day, we can have the most dedicated teachers, the most supportive parents, the best schools in the world — and none of it will make a difference, none of it will matter unless all of you fulfill your responsibilities, unless you show up to those schools, unless you pay attention to those teachers, unless you listen to your parents and grandparents and other adults and put in the hard work it takes to succeed. That’s what I want to focus on today: the responsibility each of you has for your education.

What an inglorious bastard!

You mean, the President has the unmitigated gall to strongly suggest that (gulp) students are responsible for actively participating in their own education?

COMMUNIST! FASCIST! MUSLIM!

Bill Cosby has been giving his version of this same speech (plus a bit more on not having babies out-of-wedlock and more) for the past few years. Would Obama had been more embraced if he gave the speech in a brightly colored sweater and eating Jell-O at the same time?

For those who argue that the “resource materials” were a form of government indoctrination because the President asked kids to document how they would commit to staying in school, I still believe that’s a stretch, but I’ll give you that one.

For those who pulled their kids out of school – and protested in tears – because they thought the kids ears would bleed while listening to a positive message, I ask: Aren’t your kids ALREADY in government school? What do you do when they bring home condoms that they got in gym class, or “Heather Has Two Mommies” books?

I am the Chief Role Model in the lives of my children. I set the tone for what they are to expect when they encounter adults inside and outside of our home. As such, my children are highly intelligent critical thinkers. If they heard something off-base in Obama’s speech, then they would ask me for clarification (as they do when they hear about same-sex marriage, abortion, and other controversial topics).  

If Obama could get my kids to sign up for his “youth brigade” after one speech, then I’m a horrible parent with no ability to influence their decisions at a young age. If he’s that persuasive, then maybe he should also tell my children to make their beds, pick their clothes up off the floor – and flush the toilet!

I VIGOROUSLY disagree with Obama on abortion, gay marriage, school vouchers, government-run health insurance (beyond Medicare), support of teachers unions, and a myriad of other things. And I will continue to be a vocal critic as the Lord wills - yet I have to give him a thumbs up for using the bully pulpit of the presidency to advocate for self-responsibility.

C’mon – Nixon gave speeches to school kids before. Even Bill Clinton (the Horndog in Chief) is still revered as a role-model. For goodness sake – doesn’t the Office of the Presidency give the POTUS the right to give an innocuous speech to the nations children?

Alright – I’ll stop before pigs start flying and locusts and frogs rain from the sky.

57 Responses to “Give Obama A Break <i>(this time, at least)</i>!”


  1. 1 EnochWalked September 8, 2009 at 4:55 pm

    Well said Brother Speaking Truth! Well said.

    I have been sitting back and watching all of the rhetoric and a lot of it is race-baiting and very very mean spirited and DIVISIVE! Plain and simple! There are principalities and powers influencing the MSM(main stream media) to stoke the flames of division. It is really a shame! Our nation is divided! I hate to be negative, but if there isn’t some tangible reconciliation and restoration between right and left….I blame the Churches in America for this problem because the Churches are SUPPOSE to be the ones that define right from wrong…not the world! (Another discussion, LOL!)

    I’m like you. Just because I do not agree with Obama’s platform and stance on certain issues that are very important to me, that does not cause me to hate the man.
    I pray for Obama, because he needs our prayers whether we like him or not…It is our Christian Duty! Amen.

    A lot of Christians have lost focus when it comes to political issues and left versus right issues.

    I commend the President for speaking to the youth today. A lot kids needed that “inspiration” today because the Parents and the Churches in America as a whole ARE NOT DOING what is necessary for today’s youth and tomorrow’s generations. The Parents and the Churches in America as a whole are concerned about themselves and how they look before men. It is the leaven of the Pharisees Year 2010! LOL!

  2. 2 Douglas K. Adu-Boahen September 8, 2009 at 5:32 pm

    Haha! As much as I am no fan of the dude (even though I live across the Atlantic), I think folks freak out a little too much where he is concerned. Nice post of sanity, ST!

  3. 3 pierced September 8, 2009 at 9:29 pm

    Sadly,

    I would venture to say that many of those decrying the President’s speech consider themselves Christians and/or advocates of “family values”.

    Racism is behind most of the “fear” and “conspiracy think”. I believe that (racism) too is a sin and is morally wrong.

    • 4 sarah November 28, 2009 at 1:39 pm

      It is NOT a matter of us hating President Obama. He might be a pleasant man.
      However, he is showing himself that he is NOT in love with this generous and good country. He is taking this country to places you DO NOT want to go.
      Pelosi and Reid just want their own power to take over everything. They use a Black President to do it with by hiding behind him
      They know that we will be silent because no one wants to speak against a Black man.
      Mark my words, you will be sorry that we voted these people in and allowed the country to fall

      • 5 pierced November 29, 2009 at 6:11 pm

        My use of the word “racism” does not apply to all who have and everyone who has complained about President Obama. If your differences or with his policies and not aligned with discomfort, fear or hatred because of the color of his skin, then the word DOES NOT apply to you.

        Your argument that everyone who differs with him does not equate to racism is valid. However, by the same token, to say that some and maybe many of the complaints are not grounded in racist rhetoric and thought is at best naive. Couple that with the fact that some of those who fall in that camp are calling themselves Christian.

        Sin is sin – no matter what ideology it originates from (the Left, Right, Independent, Progressives, Conservatives, Liberal, front and center. Racism is sin. No more, no less. As Christians, not to point it out or to attempt to silence or shame those who do so is quite curious.

        Sarah, you said, “They use a Black President to do it with by hiding behind him They know that we will be silent because no one wants to speak against a Black man.”

        My question: Since when?! When have people been silent and won’t speak against a Black man?!!!

        Barack Obama is President of these United States. As the leader of this country, we have every right to speak against him if we please. The election of a Black man to the presidency did not take away our rights as citizens to free speech. Yes, many voted for change – evidenced by his election – but not THAT KIND OF CHANGE!!! Heavens!!

        And I am a Black woman saying that! So feel free to disagree, argue, protest and work to make sure he doesn’t get a second term – just do it for “right and virtuous” reasons. Not just because he is a Black man.

        Meanwhile, those of us who are unafraid, unapologetic and whose allegiance is to God and Jesus Christ (above any person, political party and even country) will continue to call out the ones who engage in racist rhetoric, rants and even outright lies. Even more so, when they say label themselves, Christian.

        • 6 sarah February 23, 2010 at 3:16 pm

          Why does your color have anything to do with these United States? It amazes me how most americans have given up on being so race concious and so angry about those issues yet you are seemingly so angry about it!!.

          I think some of the younger people do not know what this country has been through to make it a better country

          Once we lose this country there will be no more america.

          Look at what Africa has done? Why don’t African Americans say anything about the cruelty and viciousness of that country? I never hear about it from African Americans.
          The children are treated as slaves in so many areas. The killings are atrocious—absolutely atrocious. Thankfully some Americans go over there and try to help some of these slave children

          • 7 pierced February 23, 2010 at 4:58 pm

            Sarah,

            Mercy! If you have bothered to read my original, initial comment, you must know that I said that I believed SOME segments of the protestors were exploiting racist sentiments for political motives. Also, I made it clear that I spoke of SOME, NOT ALL, who protested President Obama’s speaking to our nation’s school children. I believe that SOME of those protesting did so because they had legitimate concerns about the President’s policies.

            However, that said, does not forbid me to speak about that element who were taking the opportunity and continue to do so to vent their displeasure of a Black man being elected to the Presidency.

            I never said my color had anything to do with these United States (YOU DID), yet that doesn’t negate the fact that racism does still exist in this country – it is a fact. Again, if you’ll look at what I actually said, rather than infer what you think I meant, I mentioned my race in the context of agreeing that we all have a right to disagree and/or speak against Obama – but for right and virtuous reasons (the same for ANY President).

            Unfortunately, I think you are the one who is hung up on race! And I am not angry – typical defense to say I am angry because I don’t refuse to acknowledge and address the “pink elephant” in the room (racism) when it is present. And “no”, I don’t see pink elephants in everything that concerns Black people.

            You say you don’t hear African Americans say anything about the “cruelty and viciousness” of Africa – well, I can believe it! If you are so touchy about race issues being discussed (evidenced by your rants on this blog), then if you even happen to engage African Americans in conversation, I am sure they wouldn’t discuss Africa with you.

            However, this particular posting was about the controversy surrounding President Obama’s speech to America’s school children – not Africa’s ills (which are many).

            Sarah, if you’ll study world history or read international news in your local newspaper – you will find scores of examples of atrocities and cruelties perpetrated on its citizens by practically every country in the world, including the United States (and I do love my country). Finally, I cannot speak for all of Black America – only my opinions.

            You have made it clear you love this country – so do I. But, I do not put it above the love of God, Jesus Christ and the principles of his Word- we who call ourselves Christians should follow. Again, I say, racism is a sin (to call it out is not).

            • 8 sarah February 25, 2010 at 2:46 pm

              I had to laugh at your term of my “rantings”
              That is such a way to try to shut people up.

              Anyway, my friend, I know that we have a sovereign God WHO knew that this country would be taken over by the enemy. JESUS is coming soon and the believers have nothing to fear IF they are washed from their sins in HIS precious blood.
              This world is headed for horrible judgments. We Christians should get over all the race blather and seek to get folks “born again”

              I went through terrible things growing up and I know some of what Blacks might have gone through but to dwell and dwell on it is SO arrogant.
              How important do we think we are? We cannot control people and jump on them for every thought they have.
              That is where we are headed in this country and it is NOT a Christian attitude. We are suppose to forebear each other in love and be lowly and humble, prefering one another. We need to get over how important we are

              • 9 pierced February 25, 2010 at 10:01 pm

                Believe me Sarah, if I ever thought I could shut you up (which I never did and was not my objective), I am disabused of that notion. You have every right to your opinion – but so do I.

                You are right judgements are coming upon the world, including this country that I love. The judgements come because of sin and racism is sin, among many others. We talk about abortion, the lack of moral values, homosexuality, etc. (and rightly so). So why must this sin (racism) be one of which we dare not speak?

                By the way – there is a difference between race and racism (not the same thing). My comments have been about racism, not race. Nothing wrong with race – racism (wrong).

                Thanks for sharing your empathy for what Black people have experienced in this country, historically. However, my comments are not about what has happened in the past, but what continues to this day. So, Sarah, as long as racist acts and attitudes continue, they should be pointed out – just like any other sin.

                Does speaking out against abortion and homosexuality mean that the speaker has exalted himself and thinks him/herself important? I think not. If so, then most local pastors, Bible believing Christians and many publicly recognized Christian leaders and organizations are guilty of exalting themselves. They speak out against those sins.

                But very few Christians speak out against sins such as racism, fornication, adultery, covetousness, greed, and the list goes on. I just happened to address what I consider a racist element regarding the objections to the President’s speech to children in school (not every objector to the last man, woman and/or child – only some). Because others may overlook this particular sin, doesn’t mean I will or should.

                In fact, the Bible gives us numerous examples of Jesus speaking out against and mocking the hypocrisy of the religious leaders of that day (the Pharisees)who “cherry picked” and overlooked some sins, while selectively emphasizing others.

                Jesus was our ultimate earthly example of love, humility and humbleness – but He also spoke out forcefully against all sin (he didn’t “cherry pick”). He didn’t keep his mouth shut simply because we are to love one another. True love also means telling the “hard” truth -love doesn’t sit by in passive silence when sin abounds.

                You are not a “true” brother or sister in Christ if you see me in error or sin and do not direct my attention to it. If you are truly concerned about the salvation of others, then you will tell them when they are in sin and in danger of hell’s fires.

                By the way, none of us can get folks born again – only Christ can save. We can only point others to He, who died on the cross and paid the price, and prayerfully lead others by adherence to God’s Word.

                But, you, in your lowliness and humbleness would know that wouldn’t you Sarah? I know that I am a wretched sinner – only saved by God’s Grace. I only have to think of that to remember how unimportant I am or any of us are. It’s not about us – only about Him.

                • 10 sarah February 26, 2010 at 5:49 pm

                  You are absolutely right, only the Lord saves any soul. I only meant that as believers we should be more concerned with souls being saved then worrying about racism.
                  You say it is a sin—it surely could be a sin but the question is, what are you calling racism? What are you refering to exactly. I’ve been in restaurants and I blamed not being served on racism. Did the waitress really feel racist towards us, or did we just think it was racism? We finally just left. Did that Black waitress mean it as racism? probably not. It wasn’t that busy but maybe she just didnt see us waiting there for 20 minutes.

                  I honestly think that the majority of folks today that use the race card are not being honest. The majority of folks go through life just trying to make a living and take care of their families.

                  To many people don’t take care of their own issues and want someone else to take care of them. You may not like me bringing this up but way too many Black men leave their families to be taken care of by society.

                  Now it seems like more White men are becoming less caring of their families. We each need to deal with our problems and quit blaming society for everything.
                  Our society is becoming very sick as far as free sex and living together.
                  I think too many of the young people today do not have a clue of what this society has been through seeking to deal with racism. I think too many of them want to fight and be hateful instead of seeing that most americans do not want to treat anyone with racism.
                  I do not see our country really going in a good way as far as the race issue because some just want to stir things up. I hear alot of hate coming from certain younger ones. By younger, I mean up to about 40 yrs old.
                  Sadly, many Blacks think that becoming a muslim will solve their problems. There’s no love there for
                  anyone different. I’m sure there are some loving muslims but I sure haven’t seen any. Every day all we see is killing, not only men but women and children.
                  Somehow we just get so numb to it.

                  • 11 pierced February 26, 2010 at 6:54 pm

                    You’re right Sarah – the race card can be overused and I don’t like the use of it to skirt around personal responsibility either. However, in this case – I do believe some (not all)of the objections were racially motivated.

                    You’re also correct that there is a certain amount of disfunction going on in the Black community and in the world, at large. I don’t mind you bringing that up at all (if it’s true, I don’t have a problem with it – even if unpleasant). But disfunction is found in all segments of society. But that shouldn’t be surprising since we live in a fallen world and are all lost, until and unless we meet the risen Savior and accept His gift and reject what the world offers us.

                    However, I was blessed to be brought up in a two parent (working)household, did not lack for anything (not rich), graduated from college (paid off my tuition loans – nobody gave me anything), was taught from a child that you earn your living, have been married to my high school sweetheart for 30 years (this year), have two children (conceived in wedlock) – a son who is graduating from college in May and daughter graduating from high school in May. So I don’t have anything to be bitter about regarding race. God has blessed me and I know it.

                    I share this personal information with you because I want you to understand I am not coming from a background of poverty and bitterness. My parents were both sober, drug free Christians and I was taught that I was not better than anyone, but I was also not less than anyone. I was taught to treat all people with respect. So I have never had inferiority complexes about my race, nor been supersensitive about it.

                    I was also taught to be honest and to speak the truth. I taught that you do and say what is right, no matter what others think of you or whether others agree with you. If you have to stand alone – you stand.

                    I am not obsessed with race and to be honest – I am quite surprised this conversation about this particular issue has gone on so long. My world and interests are much larger than racism.

                    You’ve mentioned several other issues here relating to the increase of men failing to support and care for families, young people embracing Islam because of bitterness or feeling marginalized, the deterioration of moral standards,etc.

                    All so true, Sarah. All symptoms of a “sin sick” world that God’s Word has foretold. Matthew 24:12
                    tells us, “And because iniquity shall abound, the love of many shall wax cold.” No wonder about that numb feeling you mentioned.

                    But, as Christians, we have a blessed hope, a Redeemer (Jesus Christ). The Bible Dictionary defines “redeemer” as, “one charged with the duty of restoring the rights of another and avenging his wrongs”.

                    It goes on to say, “This title is peculiarly applied to Christ. He redeems us from all evil by the payment of a ransom (q.v.)”.

                    So let us not faint, Proverbs 24:10 tells us, “If thou faint in the day of adversity, thy strength is small.” And in Galatians 6:9, the Lord says, “And let us not be weary in well doing: for in due season we shall reap, if we faint not.”

                    It is obvious that we won’t see eye to eye (agree)about this Obama post – but I wish you well and pray that God will bless you bountifully, guard your heart and mind and strengthen you in your walk.

                    Yours In Christ

  4. 12 N Lewis September 9, 2009 at 4:26 pm

    You put that so well that there is really nothing else to say!

  5. 13 naturalsystah September 9, 2009 at 6:53 pm

    I completely agree with you! Knee-jerk reactions only served to make some people look silly, IMO.

  6. 14 Charley September 9, 2009 at 9:38 pm

    You give him a thumbs up for advocating self-responsibility.
    I’ll give him a thumbs up when he says the same thing to the adults.

    • 15 speaking truth September 10, 2009 at 11:47 am

      Actually, Charley, Obama has given a few tough speeches to adults – specifically the black community – over the past few months (his fathers day address about the importance of intact families, and his address before the NAACP where he had the guts to tell us to stop playing the victim role).

      Now if he could just stop prescribing more government as the solution to the nation’s ills…

  7. 16 JJ4JC September 10, 2009 at 6:38 am

    Amen@ Pierced

    What I love about Obama being our POTUS is that it shows just how racist our society still is.

    I mean these parents were crying and swooning about a positive message from our PRESIDENT. I bet you most if not all of these same parents let their kids watch garbage like Sponge Bob Squarepants and play games like Grand Theft Auto.

    The backlash was because of our POTUS happens to be a black man. Did they think he was going to get up there and rap while grabbing his crotch?

    Or maybe he was going to say “Tell your Mommy and Daddy to support my healthcare bill”???

    I remember in the 80′s when Nancy Reagan went to schools to talk to children. No one even though about refusing to let their children to take part in that. And she was only the First Lady.
    Back then it was considered an honor that anyone “Presidential” would be allowed to address the children. Oh yeah, and she was white.

    • 17 speaking truth September 10, 2009 at 11:51 am

      I dunno JJ4JC & pierced, I think the attacks agains Obama are fueled more by political grandstanding than racism. There are certainly bigots and racists of all stripes who are pilling on to these “non-issue” discussions, but I think the country is so ingrained in this stupid “right” vs. “left” groupthink that they automatically take sides with the extremists from both sides.

      Alot of black folks lined up (loudly) against Bush (1 and 2), Reagan, and more…where they being “racists” as well, or simply falling in line with their political ideology (e.g. liberalism)?

      • 18 pierced September 10, 2009 at 5:04 pm

        ST,

        I agree that some of the attacks are politically motivated, but I also believe that many of the nation’s legislators are exploiting the racist sentiments out there for those political motives.

        True, many black folks were critics of Bush 1 and 2, but there were no meetings i.e., town hall, in which the behavior was disruptive and bordering on riotous. Disagreement with policy does not equal uncivility.

        Witness Rep. Joe Wilson’s (SC) outburst during the President’s speech last night. According to my knowledge and all the accounts I’v read, no other President in modern history has been treated in like manner in that setting. A total lack of decorum. (Mr. Wilson’s assertion was wrong, by the way.) We don’t have to respect Barack Obama, the man, but we should respect the office he occupies.

        Also, there is the matter of the decree from some quarters that the goal is to “break” Mr. Obama – that’s not political, that’s personal!!

        I don’t agree with all of policies or views that the President holds,but dissent doesn’t justify disrepect. I also disagreed with many of the views and policies of Bush 1 and to a lesser extent, Bush 2, but that doesn’t mean my politcal ideology is liberalism.

        As a Christian, I am not locked into one political ideology or the other. I do not vote the party, but rather my convictions and my measure of the man/woman. We, as Christians, wade into dangerous territory, I think, when we get into the labeling of liberal vs. conservative.

        Might I add, many of Jesus’ teachings and actions were considered LIBERAL during his time on earth. After all, he did say (quite a few times)take care of the widowed, the sick and the poor! But many of our “conservative” brethern have a problem with that. I dare say, he (Jesus) now, just as then, would be attacked today for his views (by the religious and ecclesiastical community).

        Jeanie referenced Romans 13 (NIV):

        Romans 13
        Submission to the Authorities
        1Everyone must submit himself to the governing authorities, for there is no authority except that which God has established. The authorities that exist have been established by God. 2Consequently, he who rebels against the authority is rebelling against what God has instituted, and those who do so will bring judgment on themselves. 3For rulers hold no terror for those who do right, but for those who do wrong. Do you want to be free from fear of the one in authority? Then do what is right and he will commend you. 4For he is God’s servant to do you good. But if you do wrong, be afraid, for he does not bear the sword for nothing. He is God’s servant, an agent of wrath to bring punishment on the wrongdoer. 5Therefore, it is necessary to submit to the authorities, not only because of possible punishment but also because of conscience. 6This is also why you pay taxes, for the authorities are God’s servants, who give their full time to governing. 7Give everyone what you owe him: If you owe taxes, pay taxes; if revenue, then revenue; if respect, then respect; if honor, then honor.

      • 19 sarah November 28, 2009 at 1:46 pm

        It is sad when Christians do not get it when the left wing takes over our country.
        I dont care if we do label them “left wing” They are behaving like facists so you could label them “right wing”

        It doesnt matter what “wing” they are—they are destroying this good and generous country.
        I dont understand the people in this country that dont have any gratitude for what God has given this country. God has blessed this country and it is the most generous country.

        Why do we want to be like mexico or africa? We feed them and yet we want to be like them???

  8. 21 Jeanie September 10, 2009 at 12:19 pm

    It’s easy to say that it’s racism because some parents did not want their children to hear Obama’s speech. Blacks did it also. I was once a teacher in the government run schools and I know what they are capable of doing. I believe it’s because of his political ideology with the msm as his accomplices. No one trusts the man with good reasons even though this was good. I do know there were some worksheets that were on the websites asking children how can they help the president. As a teacher, it would be hard for me to do that since I was quite a rebel myself. Recently, I am listening to John McArthur’s messages on our responsibility to government according to God’s Word. Romans 13 has truly been changing my attitude on my responses to government. I am ashamed to say that in the past, I rebelled. I have repented of that. I am praying for Mr Obama and his family, the VP and family and all of them because they are truly influenced by an unseen enemy,principalities and the forces of darkness. I am praying for their salvation. The only time I would rebell is when they keep me from proclaiming the gospel. That is a command from our Heavenly Commander in Chief. Obama is not in control, God is in control. And for whatever purposes God is using this man, God will get the glory. He sits high and looks low. This is bringing me comfort. Maranatha!!!!

    • 22 Mercedes September 10, 2009 at 3:08 pm

      I am trying to figure out my role as a Christian in the government. My extra concern is that I am a Political Science student and plan to work in the government. We as Christians do have to pray for our leaders. His speech or its content is not bad. I don’t think his speech is very socialist but I have to wait to see how he continues his work as president. But for one I will not support his position on gay marriage, abortion, and just a myriad of other issues.

    • 23 pierced September 10, 2009 at 10:17 pm

      @ Jeanie – Presidents Bush II and Reagan addressed school children also. Mr. Reagan even went so far as to include political elements in his talk with the kids – which Mr. Obama did not do.

      There were just as many critical of those Presidents’ policies and stances, yet, parents did not threaten to or withdraw their children from school, nor was there the outrage and outcry that we’ve witnessed with this President.

      Racism is a sin and needs to be addressed by Christians – just as any other sin.

  9. 24 Jeanie September 10, 2009 at 8:05 pm

    God has been dealing with me even looking at political blogs. They are worldly and they give no advice concerning God’s Word. In Dr.McArthur’s message,he mentions how christians have alligned themselves with the world with political action groups. What have they accomplished? Nothing.He backs it up with scripture. It’s worse. According to God’s Word,it will get worse. I am not saying christians are not to participate in government because God gives us excellent examples of those who were: Daniel and Joseph in the OT. God used them mightily for His purposes. I just know that I am not to be a part of this world system now. Romans 12 is also my guide. As far as the gentleman speaking out of turn,that was wrong. Yes,in the past those in Congress have booed the Bushes and Reagan but that does not justify doing evil for evil. It was stupid and I am grieved and embarrassed by this! Some christians are glad for that. That is not what we are to be doing. How are we to be salt and manifest Christ when we act like this? It’s only through God honoring blogs like this that I am encouraged. Thank you ST. Sorry I wrote so long. Maranatha!

  10. 25 anointedvessel September 10, 2009 at 8:43 pm

    I agree with you IST, when I heard the controversy and was asked why I was allowing my child to go to school and listen to the President speak and was I “afraid” of indoctrination, here was my answer: “Are you serious? I am my daughter’s first teacher, and I have more influence on her than anyone”. “I am not afraid to allow her to hear a speech by someone that I don’t agree with.” “My daughter shares my values, morally and spiritually, because I have taught them to her, no mere minutes long speech is going to undo a lifetime of parenting especially good parenting that is based on sound Biblical principals” We can’t shelter our children from everything so let them out there and trust that you have done your job as a parent to prepare them to critically think on their own. I taught my daughter the “shovel and rake method”, shovel over your shoulder what you can’t use and rake in what you can. I told her that morning, “PJ, you don’t have to take in anything that goes contrary to what we believe and left it at that” She came home with a big smile on her face and said she liked the speech and it was encouraging. I appreciated it as well, The first African American president taking time out of his schedule to give the kids a back to school pep talk.

    • 26 pierced September 10, 2009 at 10:27 pm

      Anointedvessel, I agree. If we, as parents, have done our job well as being the first teachers of our children – we don’t have to fear the possibility that a (as you so succinctly said) “…mere minutes long speech is going to undo a lifetime of parenting especially good parenting that is based on sound Biblical principals”.

      May I add, as teachers (parents) we should also model what we preach. That influences more than our mere words.

  11. 27 Jeanie September 10, 2009 at 9:32 pm

    This may sound foolish, but I do pray for someone with a heart like Daniel and Joseph in govt. I do believe God has some in government. We just don’t know their names. Some could even be near President Obama and other high level officials. I just know God doesn’t work on our timetables. His ways and thoughts and actions are not like ours. He is Sovereign! My only thought is their are someparents who really do not participate in their child’s life even in education. As a teacher, I saw this so much.Annointedvessel, you are the few that are doing just that. I have to say this and I might step in some toes, but President Obama is really not quite the African American president. He does have white ancestry in him also. Like my grandson,he has the best of both worlds,hispanic and black. Not omitting the other. Maybe I’m wrong, but I don’t hear much from him concerning his mother’s side. I don’t hear him talk about him going to school in Indonesia either. Not trying to start trouble. I just know my son and his wife are teaching their son about the history of both of his parents. He is biracial or should I say multi cultural. Well, it all goes back to Romans 12:1-2,not being conformed to this world.

    • 28 Mercedes September 11, 2009 at 8:22 am

      Jeanie, you are correct. I am in the thought of considering him as the first bi-racial president. I just don’t know alot of black people being raised by white grandparents in Hawaii and living in Indonesia. My white teacher said that there is a “linked fate” between Obama and black people. I totally disagree, he does not have the same cultural background as many blacks on the mainland have. Period. However, we still must pray for him because there are people who may harm him. We are to pray for all of our leaders.

  12. 29 Jeanie September 11, 2009 at 10:00 am

    Mercedes, that is what concerns me also : his safety. I do pray for protection for him and his family. Pierced, I did not forget Presidents Bush and Reagan speaking to children and even inerjecting politics ihn their speeches. I just forgot to write it in the replies. I have no problem with Mr. Obama giving his. Which is one reason why we christians should be praying for our leaders and our nation. Racism is a sin and and yes it should be addressed. But I still say that it will be defeated by proclaiming the gospel and prayer. It is so ironic that even in the Bible their prejudices presented and history repeats itself. Jesus was right in the middle of it.We are waging a spiritual warfare and however times we address racism and the people are not listening,know that there are unseen forces at work. It’s definitely warfare.

    • 30 Mercedes September 11, 2009 at 11:41 am

      Racism is an sin but black people need to be more honest with themselves. Just because some white do not like Obama speaking to their children does not automatically make them racist. I think some black people will try to find a racist boogeyman everywhere they can find it. That is why so many undiscerning black Christians voted for Obama because he is black and not on his stances, which are totally antithetical to Christian doctrine. Sometimes it is god to such within ourselves.

      • 31 speaking truth September 11, 2009 at 11:55 am

        OK Mercedes – you’ve really kicked the beehive by calling out black folks on our racism :-)

        I got A LOT of heat last year when I blogged about Obama – and my decision not to vote for him (or McCain for that matter). I’ve since deleted all of my hate mail from that time (although I hold onto the more colorful ones for law enforcement purposes), but let’s just say that I officially became a “sell out” last fall.

        In my opinion, race was a huge factor in Obama’s victory last year – particularly because most black folks never thought “we’d” get that close to the Presidency again. I have always contended that my allegiance to God through Jesus Christ far outweighs my allegiance to my race – but that’s just me.

        Everyones comments thus far have been great at sparking debate and making us all take a closer look at ourselves, but we can’t let this devolve into a black vs. white issue. As Jeanie (or someone else) said – it’s about principalities and spiritual wickedness in high places. I just believe that party politics will always be contentious because folks are nore hesitant to compromise and work together with those from the “other camp” – and politicians need this division in order to keep running for (and staying in) office.

        Our job is to participate in civil government as the Lord leads, pray for our leaders (and God’s sovereign will), and keep proclaiming His truth.

        • 32 pierced September 11, 2009 at 8:20 pm

          Mercedes & IST – you are both correct that some black people voted for Obama based on race alone and that isn’t right – especially if one calls ones self “Christian”.

          And true, just because some white individuals did not want the President to speak to or address their children doesn’t automatically make them racist. But, there were many whose motivation was based on something as superficial as race.

          I don’t mean to sound like a broken record – but I persist because many in that segment would profess to be Christians (that is whom I am addressing). We talk about abortion and homosexuality (I abhor both sins) in the personal and political arena – but racism is sin too and we don’t want to talk about it.

          I think it’s a bit hypocritical to cherry pick sins we are ok with to discuss and dance around others. According to Jesus’ examples in the Scriptures, He did not back away from addressing and grappling with ALL sin.

          I would rather follow his example than that of the Pharisees.

        • 33 Mercedes September 12, 2009 at 10:26 am

          Oh yeah, you are an Uncle Tom,lol. I mean when you have a channel that campaign slogan is “Vote Black” you know something ain’t right (Black Embarrassment Television). We as Christians should be concern as you and Jeanie said about spiritual wickedness. It is just that some people can’t look at spiritual things because they are carnel minded.

    • 34 pierced September 11, 2009 at 7:50 pm

      I agree with you there Jeanie – we are indeed in spiritual warfare.

      Ephesians 6:12 (KJV)
      For we wrestle not against flesh and blood, but against principalities, against powers, against the rulers of the darkness of this world, against spiritual wickedness in high places.

      All Presidents need our prayers for protection, discernment, as well as, wisdom – whether we agree with there policies or not. Government nor any man is the solution – I”m sure we know who is.

      • 35 pierced September 11, 2009 at 7:53 pm

        Clarification to my former statement about praying for Presidents’ wisdom – I meant “godly” wisdom.

        This is a great post! I am enjoying the discussion and interaction.

  13. 36 Ann Brock September 11, 2009 at 11:17 am

    Thanks IST for another great post and the comments are very good also…Great job!

  14. 37 Jeanie September 11, 2009 at 2:07 pm

    IST,
    Wow! I am enjoying this! I agree that Obama was elected because of race. My relatives and in-laws said it was about time a ” black ” man should be in the highest office. Then I asked them since they are supposed to be Bible believing Christians who are against homosexuality,abortion,all of which God abhors and why did you vote for him? They were speechless and won’t continue the conversation. They are pretty quiet now. It was an emotional vote. When God’s Word says in Romans 12:1-2 saying that we are to present our bodies as a living sacrafice,totally surrendering all to Him and our allegiance to Him that means in verse two that we are not to be conformed to this world but we are to be transformed by the renewing of our minds through His Word so that we would know His good and perfect will. I chose to follow His will and not the will of the world, which means not voting for Mr. Obama knowing what he stood for. In God’s sphere,we have no excuse as believers. Either we are going to obey God or either we obey man. I chose God’s way. God does not except our answer of but…….. God. If some Christians can be this gullible, what will happen when the anti-christ appears? OK, I’ve ranted enough! Maranatha!

  15. 38 Keith Tolbert September 11, 2009 at 4:48 pm

    As I stated elswhere:”It’s not so much the speech; it’s the materials that were supossed accompany the speech that had suspicious content. Notice how quickly the Dept. of Ed. and Whitehouse bactracked and decided to alter the content . . . the original materials included asking kids to write an essay on “what can i do to help Pres. Obama” and “how can i help improve the environment” etc. For my money these are clear attempts to persuade the young to him and his ilk’s way of thinking. Nothing with this president is what meets the eye. Again, its not so much the speech. This man is commited to living out Alinski’s vision and me and my house just ain’t gonna play along”!

    I still question the man’s very eligibility to even be president and apparently U.S. District Judge David Carter finds that there is enough merit to the question to hold a hearing: http://www.wnd.com/index.php?fa=PAGE.view&pageId=109242

    This “Christian” espouses abortion. I need NOTHING more to hold with great suspicion anything he might have to say to my kids. my own mother supports abortion and I truly monitor any talks she has with my kids. So why would I let this complete stranger do so?

    While these things persists and Obama refuses to spend $12 bucks to go and get a certified copy of his birth certificate, he has no more right to address my kids than my garbage man!

  16. 39 Keith Tolbert September 11, 2009 at 5:05 pm

    P.S.

    I agree with your statements regarding the critical thinking of your kids and I’m sure mine would do the same. What makes me even prouder is that both my kids said they didn’t even want to hear what he had to say! Now that’s indoctrination we can be proud of!!!

    • 40 speaking truth September 11, 2009 at 5:16 pm

      Ah, Keith…I was wondering when I would peak your interest and summon you over with this topic. As we discussed on another forum – I understand your hesitation with taking this speech at face value (and your concerns about the supplemental information). I still can’t get beyond the basic premise of Obama’s presentation. You’re right – my fundamental assertion was that parents have far more influence over their children than any President. I disagree with almost everything Obama does – but this (to me) was an uneccesary reaction when far more pressing issues are coming down the pike.

      You’ve made your case (again), brother. I still love you like a play cousin, but this is one of those RARE occassions (e.g. it’s never happened before) where we agree to disagree over this 1 point. Regarding the birth certificate issue? I’ll keep my feelings about that one to myself (for now…) – but I suspect you’ll get some interesting feedback on that one :-)

  17. 42 gcmwatch September 12, 2009 at 1:00 pm

    http://www.blackinformant.com/commentary/ordinary-and-obama-dont-mix

    Here’s a very good take on this situation with some points made that need to be considered in the big picture and not just as an isolated event.

  18. 44 speaking truth September 12, 2009 at 9:07 pm

    Thanks for the link gcmwatch…stop gloating Keith!

  19. 45 hiscrivener September 15, 2009 at 7:19 am

    Man, look at you stirring up the good Christian lukewarm folk with a post that actually makes a lot of sense.

    “People in the community” were cast across the coals if the Obama bumper sticker wasn’t on their car or child within five days. A vote shouldn’t be based upon a semblance of appearance. I mean, that’s what the KKK tried to do for years and how’d that work out?!

    Conversely, some folk bash the BarackStar in the mouth solely based on the fact he doesn’t look like them, therefore his ideology must be way out of whack.

    Both are ridiculous. We are seeing a man who got in office because of his experience to make a sale, not close a deal. He’s in over his head and now folk are realizing parties suck and perhaps he should have been judged on the merits of his ability to lead and make policy.

    Then again, Billy Graham is being sued for racism, so maybe Jesus is coming back tomorrow. See you in heaven then. Peace.
    :)

  20. 46 hiscrivener September 15, 2009 at 7:21 am

    BTW, I read about the Billy Graham racism thing here: http://www.examiner.com/x-19905-Religion-in-the-News-Examiner~y2009m9d14-Is-Billy-Graham-a-racist

    IST, I don’t think he knows about you, me and a few others of our guild, but he has Pastor DL linked, so nice going there.

  21. 47 Job September 17, 2009 at 11:50 am

    My main problem is that the people who are so against Obama vigorously supported Bush. If you are a secularist, then that is just partisanship. But if you are a Christian, then I see it either as a failure to discern that Bush was evil like Obama, or a willingness to be deceived and believe a lie. Case in point: this “no taxpayer dollars going to abortion under the Obama healthcare plan!” The truth is that the government has been funding abortion for decades. The government gives direct taxpayer dollars to Planned Parenthood. And the government also forced states to cover abortions of indigent women through MediCaid as far back as the Clinton administration. And oh yeah, Reagan, Bush, and Bush Jr. were all PRO-ABORTION. Reagan could have appointed a pro-life court, but instead despite having a huge pro-life and Republican majority in the Senate from 1980 to 1986, appointed two pro-abortion judges and only one pro-life judge, and that pro-life judge merely replaced another pro-life judge. So when Reagan left office, the pro-life margin on the Supreme Court actually SHRANK from 4-5 to 3-6. Also, Bush Sr. was openly pro-abortion, he just changed his “official position” in order to join the Reagan ticket and to be elected. Apart from the context of the campaign, everything that Bush did was pro-abortion, including giving money from his foundation to pro-abortion causes. Immediately after leaving office, he went back to being pro-abortion. Bush appointed pro-abortion Souter to the bench, and it is widely believed that Bush did not know that Clarence Thomas was pro-life when he nominated him. And then there was George W. Bush, who regularly repeatedly affirmed his support for Roe v. Wade. Dobson and the other leaders of the religious right kept this fact secret, claiming that Bush’s willingness to sign measures to restrict abortion was good enough for the time being. Which, of course, was a lie. America has the most liberal abortion laws in the world. Every other western nation makes abortion illegal in the third trimester. Despite Reagan and Bush holding the White House for 20 years and despite having a GOP Senate from 1980-1986 and from 1994-2006, there has never even been a real attempt to practically ban abortion after the second trimester as it currently is in places like England and France.

    I remember actually listening to Jay Sekulow, who is the primary lawyer for Pat Robertson’s political/judicial moneymaking outfit the “ACLJ” during his radio show. (Sekulow’s brother is a “Messianic rabbi” in Atlanta.) A guy called in wanting Sekulow to sue to stop the government from paying for abortions through MediCaid. Sekulow first tried to get away with saying “that isn’t the right battle to be fighting right now … we really need to put all our energies into making stem cell research illegal.” When the caller pressed Sekulow on the issue, Sekulow actually cut him off, dropped the call! He is not the only one. Pro-abortion types have wondered FOR YEARS why the pro-life movement has refused to oppose the coverage of abortion under MediCaid. Many have speculated that the reason is that the primary people who get the MediCaid abortions are black and Hispanic, but the real reason is that the pro-life movement, or at least the pro-life movement that is attached to the religious right, is nothing but a fraud and a lie.

    These people know full well that both Bushes were pro-abortion, and they also know that Reagan was the one who single-handedly kept abortion legal, and that he also signed the nation’s most liberal abortion law as governor of California, the law that set the stage for Roe v. Wade in the first place. Not just abortion. George W. Bush appointed more open homosexuals than any president in history. (Bush also was famous for partying with homosexuals in college.) Many of the courts that have given the gay rights movement their biggest victories, especially in gay marriage decisions, were Republican appointees, including in Reagan’s own California.

    All these facts are plainly available for all who want to know the truth, but it is just that people want to believe a lie because the lie gives them more comfort, it feels so much better to them, than the truth does. So I will say if you want to oppose Obama because you are a Christian, fine. But if your Christianity did not also cause you to oppose Bush (and his father and Reagan) then you are simply choosing to be deceived, and if you are a pastor or a Christian in authority you are choosing to deceive others as well.

    • 48 Mercedes September 18, 2009 at 8:24 am

      That is alot of meat to take in your post. I need to do some digging because I presume that W was pro-life.

    • 53 pierced September 19, 2009 at 10:45 pm

      Thank you Job for shedding some light on the hypocrisy – that includes both the political left and right.

      Before we get on board with any political or would-be political leader, let’s check the fruit.

      Matthew 7:20,21 (KJV)
      20Wherefore by their fruits ye shall know them.

      21Not every one that saith unto me, Lord, Lord, shall enter into the kingdom of heaven; but he that doeth the will of my Father which is in heaven.

    • 54 naturalsystah October 2, 2009 at 4:26 pm

      I completely agree, Job! Your post was spot on, IMO.

    • 55 sarah March 2, 2010 at 2:50 pm

      Honestly, who is there for a believer to vote for?
      It seems ALL we can do, really, is vote for the “lessor evil”
      I saw Bush as the “lessor evil’ and that is all.

      Obama is truly someone on the total “leftist” side. I do not believe he loves this country. He knows he has to act like he loves the country. I dont believe Pelosi loves this country.
      She is worse then Obama is for being deceitful!! Such a phony baloney person!!

  22. 56 sarah October 23, 2009 at 11:55 am

    there is absolutely no racism in being against an administration that wants to destroy this country

    I believe the white democrats are the ones who are using Obama for their evil deeds.
    They are pushing him into FAR left wing agendas that will absolutely destroy our generous and good nation

  23. 57 sarah October 23, 2009 at 11:59 am

    I think it is absolutely mean spirited to call anyone who disagrees with what the Obama administration is doing, a racist.
    Christians should know better then label people racist for every thing they say.
    Racism itself is a bad thing and to make those who disagree with you a racist, is ONLY to try to silence opposition.
    That makes you a “dictator”
    Dont be a dictator like Chavez or the ‘great man of Iran.”


Comments are currently closed.



AddThis Feed Button Add to Technorati Favorites
twitter

Get Daily Email Updates:

Sign up for email updates and get the latest articles in your email inbox!

People Looking For Truth:

  • 889,268 ...and counting

RSS John Piper Sermons

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Categories

Archived Articles…


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 88 other followers

