“It’s Just The Truth…”

Paul Washer

Many people mistake my advocacy of sound & sober preaching for the advocacy of passionless and somber teaching.

On the contrary, I believe in passionate preaching – primarily when the preacher is passionately pointing to Christ as the ONLY hope of salvation and AWAY from his own talent and charisma.

One of the most passionate and unyielding defenders of the faith on the mission field today is Paul Washer (you can follow him on Twitter as well). I wrote about Washer’s uncompromised message last spring, and a recent exchange in the comment threads of another post inspired me to post this video of Washer (found at Grace Community Church’s YouTube page):

I know that many of you will comment on how much you disagree with Washer on many things – primarily his Southern Baptist background – and accuse him of being a legalist and much more, but you cannot ignore the merit of his passionate plea for truth and honesty in the pulpit in evangelizing the Gospel.

As sad as it seems, many who are deceived are no longer victims of their deceivers – if they remain under teaching that is in direct opposition to the Gospel then they are aiding and abetting in the apostasy. The lust of the flesh and the desire for the material riches that the vipers have attributed to “gawd” is what keeps many tethered to false churches across the globe. As the Apostle Paul succinctly warned his young protege’ (and Washer repeats in the video):

2 Timothy 4:3-4 (New American Standard Bible)

 3For the time will come when they will not endure sound doctrine; but wanting to have their ears tickled, they will accumulate for themselves teachers in accordance to their own desires,

 4and will turn away their ears from the truth and will turn aside to myths.

False teachers feed, nourish, and grow on the lust of their followers. The sheep have essentially created “teachers” based on their selfish desires, attracting wolves to feast on their flesh like a thrashing victim attracts sharks in the ocean.

The only way to combat false teaching is to continue to present the truth of God DIRECTLY from His Word. The more we combat lies with THE TRUTH, the chasm between God and His enemies becomes even more evident.

Related Posts:

25 Responses to ““It’s Just The Truth…””


  1. 1 John May 15, 2009 at 6:07 pm

    Thanks for sharing.

    I’ve shared (or tried to) many of Paul Washer’s messages with other Christians. Some find the content to be right-on while others (most) feel that his style & messages are too “in your face” and offensive.

    This is the result of the squisshy-church-syndrome.

    Most would rather hear about how to have a better sex life than they would the serious bible preaching content.

    Keep Speaking the Truth Brother!!

    ~ktf~
    John

  2. 2 Cop May 15, 2009 at 7:05 pm

    I dont think Christians in this Country are ready to hear REAL PREACHERS such as a Paul Washer.

    The would rather hear T.D. Jakes, or Joel Olsteen who make them feel good about themselves.

  3. 3 speaking truth May 15, 2009 at 9:12 pm

    Cop/John,

    Many people avoid serious preachers because of the conviction that comes with the preached Word of God. We want to hear how we are “right on track” in acheiving “our” blessings and how “I” can get “my” breackthrough. We don’t want to be reminded of our continual sin state, even after we were supposed to take up His cross and follow Him.

    So, when messages of conviction are preached and truth is shared, we recoil in horror and run to the safe motivational speakers that don’t demand that we raise a mirror to examine ourselves.

  4. 4 time2stand May 16, 2009 at 1:12 am

    I am in complete agreement with Washer and love your blog page! Passionate preachers are passionate about Christ! God bless bro. Feel free to check out my blog page as well and enter the free book give-a-way. God bless, Jeremy

  5. 5 pierced May 16, 2009 at 6:15 pm

    I used to tune in to Joel Osteen and was initially captivated by his “positive and encouraging” messages. But, within a year, I began to realize he was offering, what I call, “gospel lite”.

    As my appetite increased for spiritual meat, I couldn’t continue on the starvation rations I was receiving from Joel. As I study God’s Word for myself – I want more and more of Him. When we pick up His cross and truly follow Him, the appetite requires heartier fare.

    Sadly, I find many preachers today are feeding the flock swill. Thank you IST, for exposing us to preachers like brother Washer. I rejoice in learning about the weightier matters.

  6. 6 Douglas K. Adu-Boahen May 17, 2009 at 4:44 pm

    Real talk from Brother Washer right there!

  7. 7 N'Catina May 17, 2009 at 5:15 pm

    Yes, I had the distinct pleasure of viewing this video before, and having the opportunity to absorb his message.

    I will continue to search for more of his videos.

  8. 9 Lady D May 18, 2009 at 1:06 pm

    I’d rather listen to Paul Washer anyday-anytime. I don’t care if Paul Washer is Southern, Northern, East or West Baptist-I choose him! Legalism my eye, the Word is the Word and we don’t get to vote on it!
    Compared to what I heard yesterday-the man of gawd, took us through so many portals, newer and higher dimensions-that I had jet lag, I got feed up and left. I was invited to pastoral ordination, which turned into a parade of flesh. I had no idea that it would be as bad as it was.
    I truly thank God for men that fear God, love Him and preach His Word! Sorry for the tone~

  9. 10 truthofgod May 18, 2009 at 1:51 pm

    does Mr. Washer have a church website? I would like to learn more about what he believes.

    Thanks

    • 11 speaking truth May 18, 2009 at 2:52 pm

      Click the link in the article reference my post last year on Washer’s message and you can link over to his website (Heartcry Missionary Society in Muscle Shoals, AL?)

  10. 12 N'Catina May 18, 2009 at 3:37 pm

    I viewed several of his videos in the last two days, and all I can say is “wow!!!” YouTube has a very good bank of videos, some as long as an hour and 20 minutes (not broken down in parts).

    Paul Washer is a rarity these days; a definite breath of fresh air over and above all of this constant “breakthrough,”
    “next level,” “slap someone…,” “tell someone…,” “obedience-giving” crap passing for Gospel. There was much I have learned listening to him in just the last two days than what I have otherwise wasted years of my life in the apostate church system.

    Good show!

  11. 13 prayrwarrior May 18, 2009 at 3:38 pm

    I just love Pastor Paul Washer, I wish his church was near me. He is not at all popular to the average church-goer, his word sounds foreign to them because they do not read their Bibles. If they have read it and have a little knowledge, then he sounds too harsh and judgmental. But this a harsh, judgmental, misguided world we live in. More power to him for standing on the true, unvarnished WORD of GOD!

  12. 14 Rachel May 19, 2009 at 11:59 am

    When you step back from it all . . . I believe the focus is in the wrong place. People are seeking the “right” man when they need to be seeking God. Preachers good and bad can come in between a real relationship with God, because people seek their words and their truth instead of going directly to God himself. God made a way for us to come to Him. He gave us His spirit to teach and instruct us. It is great to listen and share insights among the brethren – but God needs to hold the pulpit in each person’s life.

    Rachel
    http://www.stirringthedeep.com

    • 15 speaking truth May 19, 2009 at 3:11 pm

      I agree with your overall assessment Rachel – many people are seeking man in lieu of getting instruction directly from the Word of God. Whether it’s a false teacher or a sound biblical theologian, nothing replaces our pursuit of God through His Word and prayer directly. That said, it is encouraging to encounter teachers who do stand firmly on the Word of God, and that’s why I feature men like Washer, Piper, MacArthur, Baucham, and many others: specifically because they teach directly from scripture and stand in stark contrast to the popular false teachers of the day.

      I abdicated responsibility for over 12 years and chased after “anointed” men, so I know how importance it is to focus on Christ alone.

    • 16 N'Catina May 19, 2009 at 5:38 pm

      I do agree with your assertion that the focus must be on Christ rather than the man delivering His Words. To that end, just as it is important to learn of those that are spreading false doctrine, we must be just as aware of those that ARE accurately teaching the true Word of God.

      There will never be a suitable substitute for learning the Word straight from the bible for ourselves. Yet, this is an exercise in developing discernment between true shepperds and false prophets, particularly for those new to the faith and are the most susceptible to falling prey to the enemy.

      Sola scriptura.

  13. 17 Rebecca May 20, 2009 at 8:02 am

    ST you wrote … “The only way to combat false teaching is to continue to present the truth of God DIRECTLY from His Word. The more we combat lies with THE TRUTH, the chasm between God and His enemies becomes even more evident.”

    That is profound. I once heard someone say that bank tellers are trained to spot a “counterfeit” bill by working with “real money”, not the counterfeits. They become so familiar with what is real ~ that the counterfeit sticks out like a sore thumb.

    We as believers need to be so immersed in the Word of God, that when false doctrine is being taught you’ll reject it immediately.

    Keep presenting The Truth of God’s Word.

  14. 18 Mercedes May 24, 2009 at 9:27 pm

    Speakingtruth, I need some assistance. The holy spirit has been telling me to leave a church that I have grown fond of. I mean, it helped to get out of my sin and live right. However, I heard some disturbing news about him. How he using tidings to fix up his home cheated my godmother’s brother out of money. The pastor knows the word of God and he doesn’t teach that prosperity foolishness but what should I do?

    • 19 speaking truth May 24, 2009 at 10:35 pm

      Mercedes,

      First, it was not the church assembly that pulled you out of sin and showed you how to live right, it was the Holy Spirit – the same Spirit that is causing you to evaluate your church right now.

      If your pastor is a bible-teacher (and not a hustler), then you should consider the source that is telling you information about him – and if there is any proof of the accusation. You should approach your pastor and ask to speak with him about your concerns. You’ll know what to do from there – and of course stay in prayer and yield to the leading of the Holy Spirit in all things.

      I had seen enough bad things behind closed doors that made me confront my former pastor – and the proof that I discovered proved his hypocrisy. I could never have fled my former false teacher (or started this blog) if I did not have clear-cut evidence of his misdeeds.

      I’ll pray for you.

      • 20 Mercedes May 25, 2009 at 8:07 am

        Thank you Speakingtruth. I now understand it was not the church, but the Holy Spirit that saved me. However, I really don’t know how to approach him. I am just a 20 year old college student. I have never did a confrontation like that ever before. There was a witness for the accuser and he also mention how the pastor is suing a couple of people over property. Also, the check my pastor wrote him to build steps on his huge house was from the church and not the individual pastor. I just have to gather more evidence about this situation. I seriously don’t know how to approach. Do I mention the person’s name that told me his dealings with the pastor or what?

        • 21 speaking truth May 25, 2009 at 10:54 am

          Mercedes,

          Your chronological age isn’t really the issue, especially if you approach with respect – it is your quest for spiritual maturity that matters. This seems to be a complicated issue, so let’s approach it from the perspective of the Word of God. Paul wrote we should respect and fairly compensate elders who earnestly labor before the Lord (1 Timothy 5:17-18). As such, an elders reputation and behavior must be far above reproach, so when we hear accusations against them, we should investigate thoroughly:

          1 Timothy 5:19-20 (New American Standard Bible)

          19Do not receive an accusation against an elder except on the basis of two or three witnesses.

          20Those who continue in sin, rebuke in the presence of all, so that the rest also will be fearful of sinning.

          If you have not seen misconduct with your own eyes and you hear an accusation against an elder, you should seek the witnesses for their side of the story – then take your concerns to another elder (or other elders) within the church. In turn, they should investigate and approach the elder whose conduct is in question. If the accused elder does not recieve private rebuke, then he should be publicly rebuked. The problem with most churches is that the senior pastor is above reproach – and no other minister/elder has the courage to confront, so the sin just gets swept under the rug. Also, if the other elders/ministers within the church refuse to investigate credible claims, then it is your duty to seek to speak with th eelder in question directly about the multiple accusations from witnesses.

          If there is no biblical accountability within your church AND there is credible (and confirmed) evidence of misconduct, then you should leave (in my opinion and in accordance with the Word of God). Again, God will lead you to all truth through His Word and by the guidance of His Spirit through prayer.

          • 22 Mercedes May 25, 2009 at 2:37 pm

            Thank you, I will ask around. It is funny you mention accountability because he just preached on that this Sunday concerning black men being more accountable to their communities, their families, and their sons.

            • 23 speaking truth May 25, 2009 at 3:32 pm

              You don’t want to ask around, per se. You want to speak specifically with the parties involved – otherwise its perpetuating innuendo. When you go directly to the source, then there is less confusion.

              The Lord be with you…

  15. 24 Mercedes May 25, 2009 at 5:51 pm

    Thank you. I will pray about it.

  16. 25 The Grace Community September 11, 2009 at 7:16 pm

    Paul Washer…America will hate him… :)


Comments are currently closed.



AddThis Feed Button Add to Technorati Favorites
twitter

Get Daily Email Updates:

Sign up for email updates and get the latest articles in your email inbox!

People Looking For Truth:

  • 863,991 ...and counting

RSS John Piper Sermons

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Categories

Archived Articles…


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 82 other followers

