President Obama’s Message To The Church

obama-44

As the nation celebrates the inauguration of the first black POTUS, I pause to acknowledge such a historic event.

However, I must also point you to a sobering message from John Piper – one of the nation’s foremost biblical teachers and preachers. I have copied his article in it’s entirety (my emphasis in bold) - you can click the title to visit Piper’s website for additional resources:

How Barack Obama Will Make Christ a Minister of Condemnation

At Barack Obama’s request, tomorrow in the Lincoln Memorial, Gene Robinson, the first openly non-celibate homosexual bishop in the Episcopal Church, will deliver the invocation for the inauguration kick-off.

This is tragic not mainly because Obama is willing to hold up the legitimacy of homosexual intercourse, but because he is willing to get behind the church endorsement of sexual intercourse between men.

It is one thing to say: Two men may legally have sex. It is another to say: The Christian church acted acceptably in blessing Robinson’s sex with men.

The implications of this are serious.

It means that Barack Obama is willing, not just to tolerate, but to feature a person and a viewpoint that makes the church a minister of damnation. Again, the tragedy here is not that many people in public life hold views (like atheism) that lead to damnation, but that Obama is making the church the minister of damnation.

The apostle Paul says,

Do you not know that the unrighteous will not inherit the kingdom of God? Do not be deceived: neither the sexually immoral, nor idolaters, nor adulterers, nor men who practice homosexuality, nor thieves , nor the greedy, nor drunkards, nor revilers, nor swindlers will inherit the kingdom of God. And such were some of you. But you were washed, you were sanctified, you were justified in the name of the Lord Jesus and by the Spirit of our God. (1 Corinthians 6:9-11)

What is Paul saying about things like adultery, greed, stealing, and homosexual practice? As J. I. Packer puts it, “They are ways of sin that, if not repented of and forsaken, will keep people out of God’s kingdom of salvation.” (Christianity Today, January 2003, p. 48).

In other words, to bless people in these sins, instead of offering them forgiveness and deliverance from them, is to minister damnation to them, not salvation.

The gospel, with its forgiveness and deliverance from homosexual practice, offers salvation. Gene Robinson, with his blessing and approval of homosexual practice, offers damnation. And he does it in the name of Christ.

It is as though Obama sought out a church which blessed stealing and adultery, and then chose its most well-known thief and adulterer, and asked him to pray.

One more time: The issue here is not that presidents may need to tolerate things they don’t approve of. The issue is this: In linking the Christian ministry to the approval of homosexual activity, Christ is made a minister of condemnation.

 I wish nothing but the best for President Obama because he is our leader for the next 4 years – and it is obviously God’s will that Obama lead this nation at this time, otherwise it would not be so.

That said, I will not ignore his obvious challenges with fundamental Christian doctrine – even as he professes Christianity.

May God have mercy on this nation as His will is being done before our eyes.

Related Posts:

32 Responses to “President Obama’s Message To The Church”


  1. 1 Jamie Holts January 20, 2009 at 1:06 am

    You know, I have to tell you, I really enjoy this blog and the insight from everyone who participates. I find it to be refreshing and very informative. I wish there were more blogs like it. Anyway, I felt it was about time I posted, Ive spent most of my time here just lurking and reading, but today for some reason I just felt compelled to say this.

  2. 2 Jamie Holts January 20, 2009 at 1:47 am

    Nice writing style. I look forward to reading more in the future.

  3. 3 Jamie Holts January 20, 2009 at 1:55 am

    Great post. I will read your posts frequently. Added you to the RSS reader.

  4. 4 CiCi January 20, 2009 at 8:00 am

    ST,
    I’m just curious…in reference to the following quote from the article that you cited:

    “One more time: The issue here is not that presidents may need to tolerate things they don’t approve of. The issue is this: In linking the Christian ministry to the approval of homosexual activity, Christ is made a minister of condemnation.”

    Did Mr. Piper address what President Obama “did” in choosing Rick Warren to pray at the Inauguration?

  5. 5 Carlotta January 20, 2009 at 10:24 am

    Excellent ST! I will be adding Piper’s article to my post on Gene Robinson’s prayer of abomination on my site!

    I was just having this conversation with my mother this morning. She’s loves Obama and can’t understand all the fuss that goes against him. I used the opening of his inauguration with a man (Robinson) who despises God’s word as an example to her of the problem that Obama will have in being a president who seeks God’s wisdom in leading this country. He’s already started off on the wrong foot here! He’s not seeking to please God, but to please man!

    Great article but I will be praying for our president as God expects us to respect and pray for the leadership of our nations!

  6. 6 EnochWalked January 20, 2009 at 10:27 am

    Praise the LORD!

    Brother Speaking Truth, I agree with your commentary. Well said.

    It was having the discernment like you and others like Pastor Foster displayed that I had such peace giving a “No Vote” to Barack Obama. And let’s be real, we were a small minority of “black” Christians that saw this man’s platform and agenda for what it is. Secular humanism and New World Order.

    I have to confess that I am grieved and really really vexed in my spirit with Obama’s spiritual choices and agenda, past and present, and unless GOD intervenes…future. I am convinced that Obama being MR. INCLUSIVE and catering to apostate Vicky(Why do they call him Vicky?) Gene Robinson is the equivalent to the wicked kings of Israel that followed after Baal and NOT after the LORD like their father King David! If there is such a thing as a demonic prayer, by giving a platform of ACCEPTANCE to Robinson…WILL sow even more problems for true Christianity. What an offense to the Gospel!

    I do not want a celebrity running the country…but this whole propaganda celebration is it is what it is….Propaganda. It is a delusion/distraction from the true serious spiritual issues in this nation.

    Barack Obama is part of the elite and was hand chosen by the NWO/illuminati(whether he knows or does not know…he is their pawn). I am not even convinced that he was born in Hawaii–the elite media blew that one away/cover up!

    Last thing, I am not feeling it–Is something wrong with me because I am not excited about today’s events? I mean what has this man done other than running on a political platform that was the most anti-christian agenda I have ever seen in my all the years of studying history and witnessing these things from the age of remembrance starting with Jimmy Carter. I say again, “the world” is celebrating this guy as if he is some great conqueror or ….messiah! Question, why are the people so “enamored” about this man…a mere man? Strong delusion indeed!

  7. 7 Jeanie Franklin January 20, 2009 at 11:09 am

    Enoch,
    The god of this world has blinded their eyes. I am not feeling it either but the command is for us to pray for this man,family and the others.The world loves its own. Also, God is still Sovereign and in control. This has not caught Him by surprise. He’s God!!!!!!

    In Christ’s Love,
    Jeanie

  8. 8 N'Catina January 20, 2009 at 11:46 am

    EnochWalked, I am not feeling any of this either for the points made by other posters. I actually skipped watching the news and turned off the morning radio–RARELY DO I DO THAT–just so I do not have to hear all of the wall-to-wall tabloid coverage of every move Obama makes. All of what we are seeing concerning this ONE INDIVIDUAL is unprecented concerning security, pilgrimage-type travel, media coverage and all of the peripheral “celebratory events” and “church services” that led up to this day.

    As you, I am among the very few Black people that skipped voting in the presidential election b/c of the questionable alliances and philosophies to which Obama subscribes. It really makes my sick to see sooooooooo many people place this man on a celebratory pedistal and HAS YET to prove himself in the White House!! The average Black church-goer, in particular, only sees black skin, suave oratory skill, education and poise, but have NO CLUE of their hero’s beliefs and alliances, let alone what his congressional activity was during the time he represented Illinois.

    I will continue to pray for him in guiding this country, but there is no doubt that this election, and all of the circus-type feverency to go with it, is pushing us that much closer to the end of this age.

  9. 9 gcmwatch January 20, 2009 at 12:36 pm

    The average Black church-goer, in particular, only sees black skin, suave oratory skill, education and poise, but have NO CLUE of their hero’s beliefs and alliances, let alone what his congressional activity was during the time he represented Illinois.

    Yep, N’Catina, that’s them to a tee. That’s why the pimps can run ramshod over them time after time. Surface level hype with no root or substance.

    Count me in as one who aint feeling the hype. At all.

    Piper is right but I doubt it will make a dent in the mentality of the contemporary church. Its walking too close to the world to see the will of God.

  10. 10 Jeanie Franklin January 20, 2009 at 12:50 pm

    I did not watch it either. I am not feeling it. Just seeing the idolatry makes me sick. God help us and be merciful. The thing is,Obama appears to like the adulations. Scary.

  11. 11 EnochWalked January 20, 2009 at 1:51 pm

    To Jeanie Franklin, N’Catina, and GCMWatch, thank you for confirming what I was not feeling! I mean, this is what it means to stand for the truth. We will be left out of the crowd, but we are in that hour!

    Question: N’Catina touched on this.
    Have you all seen any inauguration or any event of this magnitude? Obama has been like “anointed” or “elevated”…what’s the better term-”Crowned”! It is weird watching this “strong delusion”, people crying, shouting, worshipping, calling out his name. It is like watching something out of a movie. Make no mistake about, this whole process is being done deliberately on purpose. Yeah, it’s history alright…Staged history!

    I remember what Pastor Foster said after the election on one of his commentaries about Obama being a foreshadow or type. In my opinion, for what Barack Obama stands for and his voting history and platform is 100% antichrist but I do not believe he is THE antichrist but he and what we are witnessing before our very eyes gives us a foreshadow or a “type” of the one to come.

    I do agree with all others witnessing to the commandment to pray for Obama as well as all those in authority. I pray the blinders are lifted off of their minds and they see the LIGHT-CHRIST JESUS!

  12. 12 speaking truth January 20, 2009 at 2:38 pm

    Did Mr. Piper address what President Obama “did” in choosing Rick Warren to pray at the Inauguration?

    CiCi – I presume that Piper is referencing Obama’s inclusion philosophy (in relation to his claim that scripture is irrelevant in modern times and that Christ is not the only way to God) as the impetus behind him inviting “Bishop” Vicky Gene Robinson (Enochwalked – I too wonder if that is his full legal name).

    To Everyone – I think that people are enamored by these events because of the hype regarding it ever since November 4th. It is a historical moment – no doubt about it – and I can’t help but think about the generations of black folks who died having never seen anything like this. For that I am intrigued, plus I am a dutiful student of American history and I like the pagentry of presidential transitions (the office of the president, not necessarily the person occupying the title).

    That said, I am quickly shaken back to reality when I think of how Obama might govern – though I don’t wish him any trouble since he is charged with guiding the course of this nation (of which we are all residents and/or have some interest in the nation’s affairs). All we can continue to do is pray for him – don’t ignore his obvious flaws, but pray that God’s will be done in spite of Obama or anyone else.

  13. 13 EnochWalked January 20, 2009 at 4:06 pm

    Brother Speaking Truth,
    Your thoughts to “Everyone”…Are you my wife’s secret twin brother or kin she never told me about? LOL! She expressed the SAME exact thoughts to me during this whole election and inauguration process today!

    Oh well,God bless and great commentary today.

  14. 14 Justin January 20, 2009 at 5:54 pm

    I’ve just started reading your blogs, ST. I was already reading pulpit pimps, gcmwatch, and independentconservative, and through out this whole election process, I’ve had a very uneasy feeling about President Obama. Even without reading scripture, while other blacks were laying down palms in front of him, I kept my own views to myself becuase I didn’t want to appead “Uncle Tom” ish. But seeing all of you all’s posts today only confirms what I have been feeling. And while it is God’s will that he be in office, I do agree whole heartedly that this event is propelling us to the end times at a break neck speed. More than ever before, our world needs fervent righteous prayer.

  15. 15 Kyle January 20, 2009 at 8:11 pm

    Please don’t take Romans 13: 1-4 out of context people. In fact this is the very scripture they are going to use to quell you into not rising against the Government when martial law is implemented. Obama has already declared that he is investing in a youth brigade better funded then our military. What does that sound like?

    You don’t believe me!

    http://www.ksla.com/Global/story.asp?S=6937987

  16. 16 richard hanner January 20, 2009 at 9:26 pm

    Awesome site! As an amateur blogger, I appreciate the Christ Centered forthrigthness that saturates your posts. Great to find “like passion” in addressing issues. Consider dropping by http://antagoniz.com/ leave a comment should you have the time.
    For The Kings Honor
    Richard

  17. 17 Bro Peter January 21, 2009 at 10:13 am

    I agree 100% I feel like to many people are PRASIEING Barack and then they will say thank God for him, when we say that God is the one who put Barack in office dosn’t that mean he put Bush there and all the others too. So does that mean we think God made a mistake by putting Bush there or do we only like who we like?

    Just wondering your thoughts

    God Bless YA

  18. 18 Bro Peter January 21, 2009 at 10:27 am

    Not accusing anyone of this but this is more to the people that believe that God only put Barack in office and then will pick apart all the others.

  19. 19 speaking truth January 21, 2009 at 10:33 am

    Justin – you are not alone in your feelings. And I have the official “Uncle Tom” crown because of my views on Obama (along with sellout, house nigga, and a few other unmentionable monikers that arrive in my inbox regularly), so you’ll have to settle for “Cousin Tom”…sorry.

    Kyle – I trust that believers aren’t using Romans 13:1-4 as a reason to lie down and embrace the “change” that is inevitable in these last days. In context, Romans 13 clearly tells us to “put on the Lord Jesus Christ” (Romans 13:14), which is a clear clarion call to oppose anything not like Him. Further (and this also addresses your comment, Bro. Peter) – no one rules unless the Lord allows it, so Bush, Clinton, and every other leader only serves as an agent to the Lord’s will, and all play a role in the ultimate course of this world.

    My understanding of Romans 13 is that we should allow God’s will to take course as opposed to “armed rebellion to government” apart from His command. Nevertheless, we must follow His Word – no matter what the earthly consequence may be.

  20. 20 gcmwatch January 21, 2009 at 3:26 pm

    Bro Peter, thats a point I have been making for quite some time to the hypocrites who are beside themselves with the glory of Obama.

    The subliminal claim of course is that anyone “God” allows or puts in office is good and for good. That’s a biblically errant argument, just look at all the evil people who ascended to high office in the Bible. What about those Roman emporers who murdered thousands of saints (including the apostles) during the church’s early years? What about Hitler’s ascension to power? The will of God? If its so with Obama, then all –whether wicked or good– are to be credited to the sovereign will of God.

    And as you said including George Bush.

    I wont argue that God indeed allowed Obama into office, but perhaps not as favor or honor, but rather a reflection of the coming judgement of this nation. And more specifically as a punishment for the greed, avarice and human worship so prevalent in the church today. A pastor in St Louis said he saw something “divine” in Obama.
    What deception.

    Time will tell.

  21. 21 escapeetoo January 21, 2009 at 6:37 pm

    ST,
    Let me preface my response by first saying that the glorification of any man is flat out wrong. To God be the only glory.

    Here are my thoughts on this post…Obama is POTUS because of God’s will. I think we agree on that 100%. But what did you expect black folk to do when they got their 1st Black POTUS? So all the hoopla is to be expected.

    Obama is no anti Christ. However he is a spoke in the wheel that will usher the platform for the Anti Christ, i.e. Nationalized and Global Banking systems (this will happen in 2 years), centralized information infrastructures (We are there) and ONENESS DOCTRINE (You noticed Jakes presided over the official prayer?).

    All I am saying is that it all is happening as God ordained and it is not anything we can do about Barack’s popularity. It is all happening the way God intended to happen.

    However, I see God even in all of this. How? I believe that now people can use this moment to share the message of Christ in their service. For example, for the 1st time in my life I volunteered my service on the King holiday vs “kicking it”. I volunteered my time a community food bank in Suburban Atlanta. Instead of throwing money at the organization as NBSMC (aka Higher Living aka Club Hustle & Flow) does, I decided to give my time and share just how Good God is to me and my family.

    My point is this…In the last days things are going to happen according to scripture. Things are going to be ugly. All the things we are witnessing are going according to God’s master plan. But that does not mean the message of the Gospel has to die.

  22. 22 hiscrivener January 22, 2009 at 12:09 am

    Listen, tap those brakes a smidge, okee doke. Black people didn’t get “their” president. They witnessed a black man becoming “our” president.

    It was unprecedented, historic and boundless of expectation, namely for those who lived it, watched it and witnessed it – not the inauguration, but the Civil Rights movement.

    It creates visceral emotion that sets politics aside. Like this: http://hiscrivener.wordpress.com/2009/01/21/gobama-hiscriveners-take-on-hope-and-change-and-a-dream-oh-my/

    You know, if you fancy that kind of thing.

  23. 23 hiscrivener January 22, 2009 at 12:11 am

    And just so we are clear, the pronoun “our” implies every person on earth. IJS.

  24. 24 N'Catina January 22, 2009 at 8:24 am

    Sorry, EnochWalked, for responding so late, but to answer your question concerning whether what we have witnessed on January 20 was standard protocol for other presidents, the answer is “no.” To “compartmentalize” my answer, I will present it in two parts.

    Unprecedented security: it can be argued that Obama was deserving of such a tight security detail before and during the campaign, and all through the inauguration process because of the reported high levels of threats on his life by white supremacists. Yet, George W. Bush did not receive this high level of security and televised coverage for his second inauguration post 9-11, when AN ESTABLISHED AND EXECUTED THREAT was achieved through unparalled attacks on this country.

    Unprecented historical moment: The inherent fact of someone other than a White male getting into the White House made the moment what it was. Debates, as small as they were, surrounded the issue whether if any other “person of color” aside from Obama were to clench the Presidency would the amount of fevor be just as high. The question I personally have is “if it is so important to have a Black person in the White House, why Obama?” That question (outside of scripture, for a moment) lends itself to the legislative effectiveness of that person (initiating or asserting policy versus just “towing the party line”) in the “stepping stone offices” leading to the Presidency. That, I believe is another issue surrounding whether Obama was a “correct fit” for the office.

    Other than that, what we have witnessed in Washington and elsewhere with the large scale “TV parties” and “church services” built around them, it is a very strong delusion that has come upon the people. The Bible asserts this point very well, and we need to continue forth in warning people as such.

  25. 25 Michael Pharr January 22, 2009 at 11:20 am

    Hello all, I pray all is well. I was just reading a few comments on Tuesday’s Inauguration and how the world flocks to the feet of Obama. First and foremost, I voted for Obama and no I don’t agree with everything he believes. I believe there are numerous reasons why Obama is the only President treated with Superstar status. It’s like the planets aligned for him (so to speak). 1). He was running for office during the time the current (now former) President was a lame duck and highly unpopular (which made anyone in his party unpopular). 2). He was able to use the current economic crisis to his advantage. 3). John McCain sticking his foot in his mouth and also picking a running mate, that many persons saw as less experienced that Obama. 4). Obama has the “it” factor that masses clamour for, ie: Michael Jackson, Michael Jordan, Tiger Woods, Lebron James, etc. 5). Obama worked hard to make sure he was ready to seize the perfect opportunity when it presented itself, along with a strict attention to detail (He realized that he had to be the PERFECT candidate to win) 6). He used the new age 24 hour media to his advantage is: texting, internet, youtube, 24 hour mass media, along with grassroots activities and making sure there was only one voice and one vision. 7). Real talk: the fact that he isn’t a white male, made other ethnicities feel involved and that anything is possible.

    This is why I believe, many feel that Obama is heaven sent (which he isn’t of course). I do pray that God would touch his heart and the heart of his family, so they will come to know His saving grace. And that God would put real Pastors and spiritual advisors in Obama’s life, rather than those that may have his ear right now.

    Michael.

    • 26 speaking truth January 22, 2009 at 11:57 am

      You make some pretty vaild points, Michael – there are very practicle reasons (economics, pop-culture, etc.) that propelled Obama into the White House. I’ve detailed my personal reasons for not voting for Obama (see the “Related Post” section under the article above for details) – I’m just curious about what tipped the scales in Obama’s favor to earn your vote. Not being argumentative – we’re all entitled to vote/not vote as we see fit – I’m just curious.

  26. 27 Michael Pharr January 22, 2009 at 2:04 pm

    Fist let me start off by saying that during the last election I believed the rhetoric about G.W. Bush being a good Christian man, how he’s against abortion and etc. Safe to say I was watching waaaaaay to much TBN. Over the years I’ve grown more spiritually and those preachers that I formerly admired I no longer listen to (and if I do it’s to see what kind of nonsense they’d say this time). For this election I actually struggled with voting for the potentially (at the time) first black President versus his political views on homosexuality and abortion. In viewing John McCain I saw his views on those two issues weren’t much different from Obama’s. So to make a long story short I voted for Obama because I felt like he was the best candidate for the position.

    With that being said, I don’t believe that Obama is a Christian based upon his fruit (please also understand I leave the door open to be wrong, so I’m not passing final judgement on him). I don’t believe his policies will work w/out God’s will. Just as a point of reference, I’m 34 years old, in 2001 I made my commitment to follow Jesus. But in prior elections I’ve voted for: Ross Perot, Clinton and G.W. Bush, so even though I’m a registered Democrat, I’m not a person who votes straight party lines.

    I also believe that: a person is execising his/her right to vote by choosing to vote or not vote. Also, I’m not the argumentative type anyway, so no offense taken.

    Michael.

    • 28 speaking truth January 22, 2009 at 2:25 pm

      Thanks for the further clarification, Michael. You and I agree on almost everything regarding Obama (our hesitations, him vs. McCain, etc.) – only diffence(s) being I am a political independent (conservative independent) and I decided not to “choose the lessor”. That said, I respect your decision.

      Your insight is interesting – I’d be interested to get more of your feedback in subsequent (or even past) posts.

      God bless, brother.

      BTW – count me in as being another Christian who was duped into voting for W because of his “Christianity” :roll:

  27. 29 gcmwatch January 22, 2009 at 3:28 pm

    Michael, IST
    I believe eventually the Obama will have the same effect on those who were “duped” into voting for him based on whichever “x” factor they deemed superior. I think that is simply because he cannot possibly live up to the superhuman persona expected of him by perhaps many first timers in the political realm. Thats the boomerang danger of galvanizing large numbers of eager novices.
    Its a set up for massive dissapointment.

    Do I hope for the best for Obama? Yes and no. He has already set forth with a matter of fact way his intention to overhaul America in favor of homosexual rights. In that regards I hope he has miserable, bitter failure. I disagree with 90% of his policy so I hold no secret that I pray for a swift end to his 4 year occupancy.

    Politics aside, his “message” to the black church is quite disturbing, moreso than Clinton’s black church smoozing and GWB’s black church snubbing. Obama frequently quotes scripture out of context and in support of a humanistic thesis. And…it sounds very good to the untrained ear.

  28. 30 Ken January 23, 2009 at 10:38 am

    IST,
    Another thought provoking post as usual. I think GCM has it right, there will be massive disappointment for so many people who have deified this man. I read yesterday that several celebrities were comparing him to Joshua, Moses, Paul and believe it or not John The Baptist! Our refusal to think biblically concerning the political process in general and this man in particular is disturbing to say the least. Far too many of us in the black community are putting race above our commitment to Christ. Like IST said, I do not dislike Obama personally, especially since I don’t know the man. His policies however are another matter altogether. Obama is a politician, first, foremost, always. We must always remember our citizenship is in heaven, and our only king is the King Of Glory, Jesus Christ!

  29. 31 CiCi January 25, 2009 at 9:15 am

    ST…

    “BTW – count me in as being another Christian who was duped into voting for W because of his “Christianity” ”

    I can’t believe that even you were taken in by “good old boy” George W. Was this during your time sill on the plantation of Club New Birth where the eyes of your understanding were blinded? ;-)

    But, even so, didn’t the fact that he didn’t/couldn’t speak in complete sentences give you a clue that we might be in trouble just from a basic competence stand point? :-)

  30. 32 speaking truth January 25, 2009 at 2:15 pm

    CiCi – I was drinking that WOF Kool-Aid from Club New Birth (GWB’s 1st term) and Club New Birth South (GWB’s 2nd term). In fact, I would beg for more once my cup went dry, so you know I was “wide open” when another psuedo-Christian asked for my vote.

    And GWB’s “anointing for such a time as this” made me overlook his obvious intelligence deficiencies – and the factt that “God uses the foolish things…” :roll:

    Thank God for deliverance :lol:


Comments are currently closed.



AddThis Feed Button Add to Technorati Favorites
twitter

Get Daily Email Updates:

Sign up for email updates and get the latest articles in your email inbox!

People Looking For Truth:

  • 921,887 ...and counting

RSS John Piper Sermons

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Categories

Archived Articles…


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 90 other followers

