“God has vindicated the black folk…”

obama-as-jesus 

You know, Christians are supposed to be mature when dealing with the world. We are tasked with refraining from reacting based on emotion alone and to soberly test the spirit of all things by weighing them against God’s Truth and His Word:

1 John 4:1-3 (New American Standard Bible)

1(A)Beloved, do not believe every (B)spirit, but test the spirits to see whether they are from God, because (C)many false prophets have gone out into the world.

2 By this you know the Spirit of God: (D)every spirit that (E)confesses that (F)Jesus Christ has come in the flesh is from God; 

3 and every spirit that (G)does not confess Jesus is not from God; this is the spirit of the (H)antichrist, of which you have heard that it is coming, and (I)now it is already in the world.

Oh well, so much for logic and sober thinking…

Churches across America reflect on Obama election

RALEIGH, North Carolina – Jubilation, pride and relief permeated pews and pulpits at predominantly black churches across the country on the first Sunday after Barack Obama’s election, with congregrants blowing horns, waving American flags and raising their hands to the heavens.

“God has vindicated the black folk,” the Rev. Shirley Caesar-Williams said as a member of her Raleigh congregation, Mount Calvary Word of Faith Church, brandished a flag and another marched among the pews blowing a ram’s horn.

Yeah, “Rev. Shirley Ceaser – Williams” is that Shirley Ceasar, the legendary gospel singer who seemed a bit more grounded…until now. But wait, there’s more…

“Too long we’ve been at the bottom of the totem pole, but he has vindicated us, hallelujah,” the Grammy-winning gospel singer cried. “I don’t know about you, but I don’t have nothing to put my head down for, praise God. Because when I look toward Washington, D.C., we got a new family coming in. We got a new family coming in. And you know what? They look like us. Amen, amen. They look like us.”

While I will be accused of “putting my mouth on a ‘womand of gawd'”, I still have to ask – is “Pastor Shirley” saying that the Blood of Jesus wasn’t enough to vindicate her…that it took a slick politician from Chicago to “vindicate black folks”? Does “Pastor Shirley” preach the Gospel, or some form of “Black Liberation Theology”? Hmmm.

Although the folks at Ebenezer Baprtist Church here in the ATL were practically breakdancing in the aisles on election night, at least their Pastor offered a bit of wisdom this past Sunday:

“Barack Obama stood against the fierce tide of history and achieved the unimaginable,” he said. “But he did not get here by himself. Give God some credit. He is the Lord.”

But while he told the congregation that it was a time for celebration, he also reminded them it was a serious time.

“We still have a whole lot of work to do,” he said. “You have two little girls who will grow up in the White House. Around the corner, you have two little girls who will grow up in a crack house.”

Folks, we’re going to see even more blatant man worship of President-elect Obama up to and after his inaugaration. The same adoration that is heaped on pulpit pimps and false teachers is now being heaped on the first black President of the United States. No man (teacher, preacher, or President), organization, or government can rescue you from the preordained course of this world, as prescribed by the sovereign will of God.

Now more than ever, we who claim the Name of Christ need to remind the world that hope can only be found in Jesus Christ:

1 Peter 1:3-5 (English Standard Version)

3 Blessed be the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ! According to his great mercy, he has caused us to be born again to a living hope through the resurrection of Jesus Christ from the dead,

4 to an inheritance that is imperishable, undefiled, and unfading, kept in heaven for you,

5 who by God’s power are being guarded through faith for a salvation ready to be revealed in the last time.

 

15 Responses to ““God has vindicated the black folk…””


  1. 1 hiscrivener November 11, 2008 at 10:21 pm

    OK, that picture ALONE is worth the price of admission. Whew, ST, you are killing me that.

    What’s sad about Obama being president is not only the man worship being done, but that he truly is doing nothing to promulgate it.

    Oh sure, he made the “Baracapolis” in Denver, but that is to sway the Hollywood donors. And how did that work out for him?! What these dimwitted dolts are doing is more than man worship, it’s skin worship.

    And it PAINS me much to say that, but if Jesse or Al or whoever got IN office, they would have been the first presidential messiah antichrist. It’s cheering for redemption that was actually made feng shui decades ago with this Jordan character.

    The thing that’s different between the hip-hop crowd, the athletic crowd and now the political crowd is that the money is old. NOW, people like Shirley thinks she has inherited all that power too.

    Nimrods like her truly have rendered unto Caesar. Man, I need to blog about this, if only I had one. :)

  2. 2 Bro Peter November 12, 2008 at 9:04 am

    I hear ya,

    We had service the other day and somebody brought Obama up and people got up and was praising. Thank God for a Pastor who tells the truth a couple days later he said that folks will praise God when we talk about Obama but when we talk about the the Blood they sit like it means nothing.

    It’s crazy to think folks are that quick to praise a MAN when the Bible clearly states in Psa 118:8 It is better to take refuge in the LORD than to trust in man.

    This is a question for you Bro. With the folks that do praise Barak does it show us who the sheep are and who the goats are? Just wondering your thoughts.

    Peace and Blessings

  3. 3 Neil November 12, 2008 at 5:46 pm

    Great post. Love your blog! Blessings to you for taking your experiences and shining light in the darkness.

  4. 4 djenk23 November 12, 2008 at 7:33 pm

    this bugs the heck out of me…i sat through similar testimonies during testimony service on Sunday

  5. 5 LaVrai November 13, 2008 at 5:29 pm

    Yeah, I’ve had to swallow a bit of this at my church recently. And the Holy Spirit directs me to keep my peace. After all, the LORD our GOD must have moved many to vote for Obama — HE is the one whom the LORD installed.

    Some folks need to look and see that that doesn’t mean he’s blessed…his morals and voting records and rhetoric shows that he doesn’t know GOD. And since when does the LORD reward the wicked?

    It bugs me to see the glory-worship of this man, but I know true Christians — TRUE CHRISTIANS — although currently swept up in the historic nature of all this, will not put this or any man or woman above our SAVIOR and KING Jesus Christ of Nazareth.

  6. 6 Pastor Jim November 13, 2008 at 5:42 pm

    Wow, you all have some hard things to say. I’m pastor of a mostly white church that is split about 60 40 Rep/Dem and so I’m listening. I may be naive to say, but as a 40ish white man I am proud to be alive when the US elected its first black president? I’m hoping it goes a LONG way for us to reconcile as a nation.

    I trust we are all praying for all our new government leaders, right? I’m looking for God to make His Kingdom comes and His will be done on earth as it is in Heaven – and maybe even use Obama in the process. He used more vile dictators in the OT!

  7. 7 speaking truth November 13, 2008 at 10:40 pm

    Pastor Jim,

    You and others who visit this blog know how I disagree with the policies and the fluid “Christianity” of our new President. It sickens me to see people worship him – yes, worship him. I can’t tell you how many people I’ve spoken to who sincerely believe that Obama is heralding the return of Christ, that he embodies the hope that we should have in Christ. These same people continue to tell me that life will get better because “one of us” is in the White House.

    I don’t see or hear Obama soliciting this kind of adulation from his followers, in fact I’ve heard him minimize himself individually. Nevertheless, I believe that Christians (particularly Black Christians) think that we have now acheived Heaven on earth.

    As I’ve said before I sincerely pray for President-elect Obama and his family, and I pray that the Lord’s will be done because He is certainly in control – and He is orchestrating these events.

  8. 8 CiCi November 14, 2008 at 2:18 am

    ST,

    You know that I feel much like Pastor Jim and really share his sentiments. I have a hard time understanding all of the terribly harsh comments being made about our President-elect. I personally do not know of anyone that comes anywhere near worshipping him, and will truly pray for those who do. Most of the people that I know have absolutely no problem seperating the secular from the sacred. And, aas you so correctly point out, this type of adulation is not promoted by him.

    I am proud and I am happy that he was elected. I believe that he will be a good political leader for our country as he seeks to represent all of its citizens. I pray for his faith and his judgment. As someone once said, one of the hardest challenges for our political leaders is for them to remain true to their own personal faith while respecting the faith of others. It seems to be a daunting task, and I pray that God will strengthen him for it.

  9. 9 Bro Peter November 14, 2008 at 9:26 am

    I was thinking about this the other day and people keep on saying that God has put Obama in the White House it must have been God.

    I remeber though in the Old Testament a fella named Saul was asked to become king by the people but remeber at this time Samuel just wanted the people to follow GOD and not man. Seems to me that God will sometimes put the person in charge that the people ask for just to show us how wrong we can think sometimes and also to show us how much we really need GOD.

    I am not saying OBAMA is a bad person and that he will not be a good president but was it God’s design for him to be there I am not sure. We must wait until the smoke clears before we can say anything.

    I am happy to see people standing together with no race divdes though thats nice to see.

    Peace and Blessings

  10. 10 gcmwatch November 15, 2008 at 10:34 am

    I trust we are all praying for all our new government leaders, right? I’m looking for God to make His Kingdom comes and His will be done on earth as it is in Heaven – and maybe even use Obama in the process. He used more vile dictators in the OT!

    Pastor Jim, what if we were in wartime Germany and you were a Jew? Would this apply to Hitler? Im only asking this because people keep saying that this is “historic” and couple it with the “pray for government leaders” verse. What they are implying is that historic is good and perhaps even right. I sense also that some are trying to put the blame on God because he “allows” it. I think some things are a result of our failure to do God’s will and it is a corrective punishment. That could be the case with both Bush and Obama. But it seems like in out exultation of the “historic moment” few may want to believe God may indeed have allowed Obama to rise to punish and persecute the clearly wayward American church.

    72% of people polled recently said they believe Obama (not the US government) can fix the economic crisis. The spiritually unhealthy adoration of Saint Obama of Chicago has began in earnest and no one can tell me that God is pleased with that. The nation (with the complicity of the church) drums God out of public life, and in his place raise up another who can “fix our problems”. No man can serve two masters. He will love the one and hate the other. Its either God or mammon. And its clear who America has chosen.

    PS: God help Shirley Ceasar in her deep ignorance.

  11. 11 ucanwalkonwater November 17, 2008 at 9:19 pm

    We can’t depend on the government, and President-Elect Obama to solve our problems. Let’s look at the details. The church needs to return to fundamental principles as outlined in the Great Commission and solve social issues in this country. Jesus is the answer PERIOD!

    Obama’s HIV plan

    http://helovesmestill.wordpress.com

    Freedom of Choice Act (FOCA). This allows minors to have abortions without parental consent among other things. If approved, this could be damaging for advocates of the pro-life movement. Check out this blog for more details.

    http://bereanwoman.wordpress.com

  12. 12 Warren November 19, 2008 at 4:58 pm

    As an black man, I do appreaciate the ‘historic’ aspect of an Obama Presidency. But I find it difficult to ‘Celebrate’ this historic moment. The reason that I find it difficult to celebrate because as a Christian, President-elect Obama seems to commend (support, affirm) many things that the Scripture condems. I base this on what He has said in his speeches, books, previous and current position statements. His poliltical views are an affront to the Holy Scriptures. I may be wrong for assuming that his policies will be the same as his political views. Time will flush out the truth of that.

    The sad truth is that many Christians know Obama’s views contradict Scripture in many places, but they pretend that it doesn’t matter because he is ‘black’.

    No celebration here, sorry.

    I am praying for him and this country. It may prove to be a very long four years, a very long four years.

  13. 13 hiscrivener November 23, 2008 at 8:41 pm

    ST,

    Well, I told you I would get inspired… and I did.

    http://hiscrivener.wordpress.com/2008/11/20/depoliticize-the-pulpi-the-church-speaks-out-and-shows-its-color/

    Enjoy and much blessings to you for your snarky work in here.

    Peace,
    HiScrivener

  14. 14 Pastor Jim November 25, 2008 at 11:42 pm

    GCM, If you see this, know that I agree with you, particularly when you said, “But it seems like in out exultation of the “historic moment” few may want to believe God may indeed have allowed Obama to rise to punish and persecute the clearly wayward American church.”

    As to the Hitler/Jew analogy, I’m ready to go down a martyr in a government that represses and murders. SO FAR Obama hasn’t done that, but I’ll pray for him (as per instructions Paul gave in a century marked by Nero’s persecution).

    I could be, but I think I’m too old to be naive. ‘Historic’ is accurate. We’ll find out if it is ‘good’ or evil as events unfold. The moral outcome of this historic event is yet to be seen.

    My hope is in God’s divine decree and providence that with or despite President-elect Obama, God will bring his kingdom here on earth as it is in heaven.

    Great questions and insight. Blessing on your ‘Watch’

  15. 15 anointedvessel December 8, 2008 at 11:55 pm

    I’m glad you said this, I can’t tell you how many times I got stupid text messages about Barak’s name appearing in the bible I believe in the book of Judges. The text messages try to make Barak of the past the Barak of the future, as though it was prophetic. I saw no parallels. Scripture twisting to the max!
    ~Anointed


Comments are currently closed.



AddThis Feed Button Add to Technorati Favorites
twitter

Get Daily Email Updates:

Sign up for email updates and get the latest articles in your email inbox!

People Looking For Truth:

  • 897,365 ...and counting

RSS John Piper Sermons

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Categories

Archived Articles…


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 89 other followers

