Eddie Long Donates $1M To His Alma Mater

I’m posting this article just so that I won’t be accused of “censoring news” and ignoring the good that Eddie Long is capable of doing:

Bishop Eddie Long donates $1M to alma mater

Money will be used to establish professorship


The Atlanta Journal-Constitution
Published on: 08/08/08

Bishop Eddie Long, the well-known pastor of the Lithonia megachurch New Birth Missionary Baptist Church, is giving $1 million to his alma mater.

North Carolina Central University in Durham, N.C., will use the money to establish a professorship named in Long’s honor. Long is a 1977 graduate of the university’s school of business.

“One of the reasons why I love the school so much is, at the time, I wasn’t qualified to go into college if you look at grades or SAT tests,” Long said.

They took him in as part of a program to bring in underperforming students and give them a chance at a university education.

“I started doing very well in college, and I am eternally grateful because they took a risk with me,” Long said.

The school confirmed the gift.

“We are very grateful for Bishop Long’s continued support and commitment to NCCU,” said Chancellor Charlie Nelms in a press release.

“It is our hope that his gift will positively enrich the lives of our students and the wider community.”

Click the title to read the entire article. Long goes on to state where the money is coming from:

“I am not doing anything wrong and I’m helping my school” Long said. “I am making (the donation) from my own personal income.”

He said he dabbles in real estate and also receives income from writing books.

Well enough. I’ve got NO PROBLEM with ANYBODY participating in the free market system – and gaining wealth in the process (if the Lord wills it). I do have a problem with people marketing the Gospel, but you get my larger point.

Oh, just in case you think I’m going soft, I’m not. Eddie would be an astute businessman if he relied on his business acumen ALONE to gain wealth and not the labor of others.

But he doesn’t, so he’s still a pimp because he still shakes down the sheep.

3 Responses to “Eddie Long Donates $1M To His Alma Mater”


  1. 1 JohnCalvin August 8, 2008 at 7:02 pm

    He’s got a business degree. Well he certainly has put it to good use. He must have majored in fleecing and minored in heresy.

  2. 2 HiScrivener August 9, 2008 at 12:48 am

    You know, it must be late. I was reading about a wildly generous act to benefit an HBCU (Historically Black College & University) – all of which save a few could use a donation like this.

    Then I discover this act of beneficence came from Bishop “I’m too sexy for my shirt” Long. So, I figured some snarky commentary would show up, but alas, it was a trite conversation about business acuity and a passion for philanthropy.

    Was it a let down? Quite the contrary, because then came the link. Now that’s the ST I know and appreciate! Similar to Jesus you know? ‘Peter, do you love me’ (John 21), probably one of the most personal questions our Savior ever asked (if you note the original Koine Greek) and coupled with ‘Get thee behind me’ (Matthew 16).

    Much is the same for Eddie Long. Lovely what you did and amazing the amount. God bless you for it. Nonetheless, you still have these issues we need to talk about.

    Look at ST keeping it real. Keep it up brother!

    Peace.

  3. 3 Carlotta August 9, 2008 at 7:19 pm

    Whew! Yes, you had me a little worried too ST! But you kept it real and spoke the truth about this “donation.”

    I’m ticked about that and don’t even go to that church! What are his church folks thinking? But if they haven’t left by now, they won’t with that million dollar donation.

    They’ll probably just praise him for his contribution in aiding the “community,” reaffirming his blackness and dedication to the cause!

    Yeah, right!


Comments are currently closed.



AddThis Feed Button Add to Technorati Favorites
twitter

Get Daily Email Updates:

Sign up for email updates and get the latest articles in your email inbox!

People Looking For Truth:

  • 899,943 ...and counting

RSS John Piper Sermons

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Categories

Archived Articles…


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 90 other followers

