Open Portal To Heaven?

DISCLAIMER: In accordance to Ephesians 6:10-18, please pray before viewing or listening to any of Todd Bentley’s video or audio recordings. The only way to combat the evil of this day is with the unadulterated Word of God.

<———————————————>

I found an older video of Todd Bentley describing an “experience” where God shows him an “open portal to heaven”:

Whew. Where do I begin?

  • A pillar of fire that is actually an open portal?
  • Crashing on an “operating table in heaven”?
  • Graphic invasive surgery performed by “angels”?
  • “Stuffed” with little white boxes?
  • God sets an appointment with him for “an hour of power”?
  • “Skiing on the mountain of the Lord”?

I think it’s obvious that Todd Bentley is one strange dude. He begins the video by mentioning the angel with feet like pillars of fire, found in Revelation 10, and later goes on to say how that angel visited him and others in a hotel room.

In the 11th chapter of the 2nd Book of Corinthians, the Apostle Paul found himself defending his apostleship against men who tried to fool the saints by appearing as spirit-filled and knowledgeable about the Lord Jesus Christ as he and his colleagues were. He made an interesting statement while undercutting his impostors (my emphasis in bold):

12But what I am doing I will continue to do, (A)so that I may cut off opportunity from those who desire an opportunity to be regarded just as we are in the matter about which they are boasting.

 13For such men are (B)false apostles, (C)deceitful workers, disguising themselves as apostles of Christ.

 14No wonder, for even (D)Satan disguises himself as an (E)angel of light.

 15Therefore it is not surprising if his servants also disguise themselves as servants of righteousness, (F)whose end will be according to their deeds. (2 Corinthians 11:12-15)

We are living in a generation where many Christians don’t read and study the Word of God for themselves, so they are taken in and swayed by things that appear to be of God.

It’s “boring” to sit and hear an exposition on the Gospel of Jesus Christ, but boy it sure is more fun to laugh uncontrollably, bark like dogs, and participate in all manner of questionable behavior while being “drunk in the spirit” or “under the unction of the Holy Spirit”.

Please know that Satan can disguise himself to appear “holy”, thus deceiving many believers by making them think they’re worshipping God.

I am of the opinion that Todd Bentley uses emotionalism to “preach” a counterfeit gospel that is not of God. I won’t entertain any comments from Todd Bentley’s defenders, and I’m not going to get into a debate about all of the great work he’s done, the people he’s “healed” (as told on many other blogs) and how “God uses him mightily.

I only post this article to warn the sheep to be careful about who you listen to - and to  use the irrefutable Word of God as the measurement that judges the words of anyone who professes to speak on behalf of the Lord. 

I ask mature saints to pray that the saints of the Lord Jesus Christ would read and study the Word of God so that they don’t fall away from the faith, and be fooled and taken in by those who appear to be servants of God.

 

***Hat tip to our brother Job for pointing to this video

21 Responses to “Open Portal To Heaven?”


  1. 1 gcmwatch May 15, 2008 at 2:16 pm

    “Please know that Satan can disguise himself to appear “holy”, thus deceiving many believers by making them think they’re worshipping God.”

    This is chilling when you think about it. Satan is among us —in the church— teaching, preaching, singing and praying. And looking very holy doing it. Yet, people seem to be offended when this is pointed out as a reality.
    IST, why is that people act like this is not in the Bible? Im not saying satan is disguised in every person we see doing wrong, but the possibility of him operating in certain individuals to deceive great numbers is certainly sometime we can not afford to ignore.

  2. 2 Speaking Truth May 15, 2008 at 2:34 pm

    You know, gcmw, you are chillingly correct. You’re a pastor, so surely you know more than I do about how crafty the Deceiver really is – and the way that he can use people. It’s a sobering thought – yet one we need to be more aware of everyday.

    I was talking with my wife last week about making sure that we are alert and ready to discern the things that we see. It’s a discussion I never thought I’d have because (frankly) in the past I was just worried about getting “blessed”, but now that I’m awake, I find it chilling to see how things are playing out in the world.

    Every believer needs to use the Word of God as a literal roadmap and filter everything they see and hear through it. If it don’t seem right…then it ain’t.

    Oh, and another thing – don’t you find it funny that Bentley used Revelation 10 to describe the angel that “visits him regularly”?

    You know this more than I do, but doesn’t Revelation 10 (when properly exegeted) detail the defeat of antichristian practices? If so, then it sounds like old Todd may be right about something – that angel that “keeps visiting him” is actually doing his job!

  3. 3 Alan Higgins May 15, 2008 at 3:36 pm

    “It’s “boring” to sit and hear an exposition on the Gospel of Jesus Christ”

    You hit the money right there. People just want to be entertained

  4. 4 gcmwatch May 15, 2008 at 4:07 pm

    “…And I saw another mighty angel come down from heaven”
    This isnt a satanic angel because of his point of origin.

    Regarding the other stuff, Bentley is a liar. Sorry to be so blunt. Either that or he’s been watching way too much Stargate Atlantis.

    Tru dat, brother. NOW is the time to awake, be sober, vigilant and cling to God’s Word.

  5. 5 Douglas K. Adu-Boahen May 16, 2008 at 8:35 am

    Bentley is all about the money, just like all the other pimps. He’s just more covert about it.

  6. 6 Speaking Truth May 16, 2008 at 12:05 pm

    You know Doug, it all comes back to “the money”, doesn’t it?

    I guess Bentley figures that it’s easier to grease the dough from your hands when you’re sufficiently “drunk in the spirit”.

  7. 7 Dave Shakespeare May 16, 2008 at 8:36 pm

    C’mon, encounters with the apostle Paul, female Angels (Emma), tripps to heaven, embracing word of faith garbage ie Benny Hinn, Kenneth Copeland etc. Need anymore be said?

  8. 8 Steven January 28, 2009 at 9:32 am

    I’m interested to find out more about where this teaching on “portals to heaven” came from. I can’t find anything in the bible about it. Do you have any insights on this? Thanks

  9. 9 speaking truth January 28, 2009 at 11:27 am

    Hi Steven -

    First, I applaud the fact that you searched the scriptures for clarity regarding something that you heard. If more Christians did that, I would have more time to play “We Ski” on the Wii console with my kids than to blog and defend the faith.

    The reason you can’t find anything about “open portals to heaven” is because there is no such thing – Todd Bentley (the demonic dude seen in the video above) made it all up. The closest we can get to any “open portals” are what are commonly referred to as “out of body experiences”. Paul recounts one such occurance in 2 Corinthians 12:1-4, and of course John the Revelator wrote extensively in that regard (among others).

    Bentley is pushing the message that we can go in and out of an “open portal” (i.e. we can move between “worlds” at our convenience), and that is occult activity which exposes you to demonic activity and causes confusion – especially since we can’t discern anything in our wicked hearts apart from the Holy Spirit (Galatians 5:19-20; Job 4:12-21; Jeremiah 17:9; 1 Corinthians 2:1-5, and so on).

    That’s my insight, but I welcome further discussion if you find anything.

  10. 10 Christal April 27, 2009 at 7:55 am

    If we as joint heirs with Christ, sons and daughters of the most high, who are seated in heavenly places with Christ do not realize that “heavenly encounters are supposed to be normal for us”, then we will be missing out on the fullness of what God has for us. This realm is more real than the natural and we serve a God who not only lives in us, through Jesus Christ, but also who wants to embrace us and show us the treasures of His Kingdom. After all, He is the same yesterday, today and forever. There is nothing more beautiful than to be embraced by and allowed to share in His heavenly revelations. I would be careful what you might want to label as being “not of God”. You may be selling yourself short. The lost are not going to be running to “church as normal” and Jesus is getting ready to “turn over the tables” in our ideas of what church is… He loves us and He is getting us ready for Christ to come back for a church who is ready. I don’t know, but I will take a supernatural download from the lover of my soul, Jesus and His heavenly angels. Go God!!!!!

  11. 11 Jeff Savage June 15, 2009 at 4:18 pm

    I was involved in a cult where, while not as nutty as this, things near this level were being said and taught.

    These people are SICK and CRAZY. End of story. Families, lives, and mental stamina are being RUINED by these people.

    I write movie scripts and songs for a living. I get paid to sit around and dream up crazy ideas but at least I acknowledge thats what I’m doing. It’s real easy to play make believe..

    Make no mistake. It has nothing to do with God.

  12. 12 Jon Fish June 18, 2009 at 2:59 am

    My brothers in Yeshua. I hear everything that is being said, and hear you loud and clear. Please let me share a personal experience I had with Todd.

    Todd was invited to do a conference years ago at the church I attend. He was speaking healing over individuals. He would speak healing over a certain illness like cancer, deafness, blindness…

    I have had asthma my whole life. Had it really bad when I was about five or six. So bad I went to the hospital for days. Todd spoke that people with asthma were healed in Jesus name. So being young I believed. He said to test the healing. People who were lame, should try and walk. People who are deaf, test those ears. If some one had asthma take a jog. Believe that God has healed you! So I did. I live close to the church, I decided to run home to seal the healing. Again I was young. Midway home I was hit by the worst asthma I have ever had in my life. I really thought that I was going to die on the side of the road. I cried out to God,”Jesus please help me! Forgive me for what ever I have gotten myself into, just please help me. I am going to die if you don’t heal me!” What should have taken me only fifteen minutes turned into on hour long journey to get back home. It was like breathing through a coffee straw. Eventually it went away. Praise God I got home safe.

    The next night I gave it another try thinking,” maybe I was in doubt?” Same thing happened. I was shattered. Was something wrong with me. Was I in sin? Was it Todds fault? Gods fault? Is God even real? It took me a long time to get healed from that experience.

    I write to you tonight to say guard your heart. Some would say I have every right to dislike Todd Bently. They say he is a false prophet, pointing to the revival in Florida bringing up the adultery he was caught in. How could God use someone like him?

    Brothers the lineage that our King came through was just as or more heinous than anything found in Todd. If you know the Word then you know this! Adam doubted the goodness of God and believed Satan. Noah planted a vineyard after the flood and got Piss drunk, enough that he was found passed out naked in his tent. Abraham was a coward and told Pharaoh that his wife was his sister. Issac did the same thing. Jacob was a liar, telling Issac that he was Esau. Judah with Simeon slaughtered all the grown males of Shechem. Judah slept with his own daughter in law Tamar. Rahaab was a whore in Jericho. King David killed another man for his wife. Solomon, Davids son through Bathsheba had 700 hundred wives, followed their gods and lived wildly. Rehoboam, Solomon’s son listened to bad company, taxed Israel more than his father and split the kingdom in two. Many of the kings following him were just as bad. These are just a few examples in the linage of Jesus.

    My friends I believe we can all agree that the acts listed above done by our for fathers of the faith were horrible. There is no boiling them down, or justifying what they did. They were in sin. Why then did a Holy God send His Holy Son through such a messed up bloodline? Why does God love us, a messed up bride? The lineage of the church after Acts is no better. I speak for myself that I have no clean track record either. I have committed many horrible sins some I cringe to even mention.

    Brothers I close with this. Are we called to be wise as serpents? Absolutely! Does it not also say gentle as doves? Did not Paul the father of the gentiles say that we are a resounding gong with out love? Maybe I’m rusty with the scriptures but didn’t Jesus wash his disciples feet all of whom ran away in fear when the guards came to capture Him? How many times did the disciples say outlandish things resulting in a rebuke from their master? Did not our King commission us to do the same as Him and love one another? Search your hearts, or maybe just read back over the comments. If God went so far as to say love your enemy, (which I think many of you would call him that) then why is it “ok” to slander this man?

    “For this reason I say to you, her sins, which are many, have been forgiven, for she loved much; but he who is forgiven little, loves little.-”Luke 7:47

    “A new commandment I give to you, that you love one another; as I have loved you, that you also love one another. By this all will know that you are My disciples, if you have love for one another.” John 13:34-35

    If you don’t agree with the man, great! I don’t either, But lets not waste our breath speaking evil of him. How does this accomplish anything? If you are that passionate about this issue then give God no rest until he answers your prayers on the matter.

    • 13 speaking truth June 18, 2009 at 9:05 pm

      I appreciate your heartfelt plea, John, but I will not relent. Todd Bentley is a false teacher and a demonic imposter, and that is the truth. No amount of reckoning with the “God uses broken vessels” disclaimer will eliminate that fact. Yes, God does use flawed people, but Bentley is more than flawed – he is demon possesed (in my opinion). Jesus’ lineage was less than stellar, but which of his ancestors reveled in tales of meeting angels, spirit dust, strange manifestations, holy laughter, slithering like snakes, etc? Further, Bentley is a false prophet because most of the people he “healed” have either died or reverted back to their original aches, pains, and disease.

      I only wrote about Bentley in the first place to warn the sheep to stay away from him. I won’t waste any more breath than necessary on him, but I will not ignore his demonic character.

    • 14 Douglas K. Adu-Boahen June 19, 2009 at 8:51 pm

      As someone who watches the revival from the first broadcast, I heartily disagree without your main idea here.

      First of all, the Bible has nothing nice to say about false prophets – in fact, read the Book of Jude, nothing but loaded terminology there…

      Secondly, Bentley isn’t some deluded man. I have read his books and he is incredibly self-assured in the nonsense he taught.

      Lastly, why should I pray when God’s Word is clear? I am not denigrating the place of prayer but let’s be honest. If God has spoken, get off your knees trying to change His mind and do what He said…

      • 15 Jon Fish June 20, 2009 at 1:16 am

        Douglas, What does God say? Does he not say love your enemy? When Jesus said love those who spitefully use you was he making a metaphor? Yeah Bentley is off. I’m definitely not going to go so far as to say he is Demon possessed though.

        Was Paul the apostle off when he was Saul the madman slaying believers? Absolutely! So much so that the disciples were scared of him even after his encounter with the Lord. Saul’s perception of God was way off! He thought he was doing God a favor. Jesus came to Saul out of His amazing love and grace. Saul’s encounter with God was as radical as if Osama Ben Ladin were to come to Jesus. A terrorist being radically transformed is far more of a stretch than Bentley waking up and repenting.

        I am not saying that what Todd Bentley is doing or saying is right. My point is guard your heart from being hard. We are never to take the position of saying,”this person is to far gone!” God always asks us to believe and ask that He can turn someone around. No matter how bizarre or outlandish that person is. Jesus cried out that God would forgive those who put Him on the cross. Right in front of the self righteous pharisees. If God had enough love and grace for us who totally did not deserve it should we not also show it to those who do not deserve it? Even when they got bad theology, or ideals of God! Saul’s Theology was whacked out. That’s why he would write in his letters that he was the lowest of the low.

        So Douglas again what does God say. Ask Him! You bring this to Him and ask Him what He thinks of Todd Bentley. If God tells you to call Todd a no good money hungry pimp, than go for it! But if God tells you to pray for him, then do not have a hard heart.

        • 16 Douglas K. Adu-Boahen June 20, 2009 at 11:45 am

          But Bentley isn’t some deceived guy – he knew full well what he was doing. He’s a wolf, a cloud without rain. I prayed about it and went to the Word and rejected it.

          He was a liar and one of the false prophets the Word warns us about and I am glad to the hilt his revival panned out and people saw him for the wicked deceiver he was. His Word is clear: we are to have NOTHING to do with deception, and Bentley was peddling it, bigtime…

          • 17 mark May 2, 2010 at 6:57 pm

            Hey Brothers and Sisters,
            All have fallen short of glory, the bible says that false prophets never acknoweldge jesus as a son of the Most High God, lets wage war against those calling for salvation in Christ jesus it’s most important.
            People against Todd Bently check yourselves are u righteous, are you Living a kingdom life style?
            Then why look point fingers at one another when you selves are struggling, lets not do Jesus’s work and focus, spend time preaching the goodnews about the kingdom of heaven and Gid’s righteousness.period

            • 18 speaking truth May 2, 2010 at 7:20 pm

              That’s a fine declaration, Mark – except for the fact that Todd Bentley is himself demonic. He himself admitted demon posession after he was “saved”, and you can’t honestly believe the strange behavior that he exhibits and encourages is of God. I’ve written exhaustively about the demon Bentley so I won’t rehash that here. If you choose to believe that Bentley is “righteous”, then go ahead – just don’t try to sell that here…

  13. 19 Linda August 23, 2009 at 10:54 pm

    The word “Trinity” is not recorded in the bible, but we know the trinity represents the God, the Father, The Son, Jesus and The Holy Ghost. From what I can understand, the portal is an open gate, passage, pathway for entry and to exit. I’ve never heard of this Ed gentleman but I wonder deeper…Trinity and Portal.

  14. 20 theguy January 2, 2010 at 12:02 pm

    HMMMM

    This discussion has left me more confused than informed a case of the first to speak sounds right untill the second person speaks.

    • 21 speaking truth January 2, 2010 at 8:28 pm

      theguy,

      This discussion is meant to drive you directly to the Word of God to settle any matters of confusion. God through His Word speaks NOTHING of the foolishness that Todd Bently purports. Don’t take my word or anyone elses EXCEPT God through Christ in His Word alone.


Comments are currently closed.



AddThis Feed Button Add to Technorati Favorites
twitter

Get Daily Email Updates:

Sign up for email updates and get the latest articles in your email inbox!

People Looking For Truth:

  • 921,847 ...and counting

RSS John Piper Sermons

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Categories

Archived Articles…


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 90 other followers

