“Attack On The Black Church”?

***UPDATED @ 2:30PM EST***

It looks like J.W. really could inadvertently send Obama back to Chicago to watch the Presidential contest from the sidelines:

Wright to Obama: ‘Coming after you’

By | 4/28/08 11:58 AM EST

The Rev. Jeremiah Wright said Monday that he will try to change national policy by “coming after” Sen. Barack Obama (D-Ill.) if he is elected president.

The pastor also insisted Obama “didn’t denounce” him and “didn’t distance himself” from Wright’s controversial remarks, but “did what politicians do.”

Wright implied Obama still agrees with him by saying: “He had to distance himself, because he’s a politician, from what the media was saying I had said, which was [portrayed as] anti-American.” (click here to read more)

Wow. With “spiritual advisors” like this, who needs Hillary Clinton or John McCain?

————————————————–

***ORIGINAL POST*** 

I tried to stay away from the Barack Obama/Jeremiah Wright story as long as I could – primarily because this blog is not about politics.

I know Jeremiah Wright well.

Even though I believe that Jeremiah Wright preaches a different gospel (Galatians 1:6-8), I was willing to let him fade into the sunset (in light of his past remarks that have been replayed all over the world in the last few weeks).

Wright, however, has decided that he hasn’t done enough harm to Obama’s candidacy, so he had to re-emerge to “clear his name”. Please note – I’m not writing to endorse Barack Obama.

Wright went before the National Press Club this morning to continue his return to the media spotlight. Here’s an interesting note from the event:

The Rev. Jeremiah Wright says criticism surrounding his fiery sermons is an attack on the black church.

And…

He said the black church tradition is not bombastic or controversial, but different and misunderstood by the “dominant culture” in the United States.

While whites (the group that Wright is calling the “dominant culture”) may not understand the “tradition” of the black church (whatever that means), I believe that Wright is false to equate an attack on his words as an attack on the black church.

He took to the pulpit of the church to denounce America, which is par for the course as it relates to Wrights allegiance to Black Liberation Theology.

This “theology” is a dangerous assault on sound doctrine because it equates black persecution with the persecution of our Lord (my colleague Independent Conservative did an exhaustive point-by-point study of BLT and it’s founder, James Cone).

When Wright is attacked because of his personal opinion, then it is what it is – especially when his controversial philosophy is the basis of the attack.

In that case, Rev., defend yourself…don’t drag the entire “black church” into your squabble.

Since Wright has so aligned his church with the black value system, one would think that he could come up with a more succinct rebuttal than “we’re just misunderstood by the dominant culture”.

Oh, and if Wright is so intent on having God “damn” America, then why is his church building him a million-dollar house in suburban Chicago?

Isn’t that part of the American dream that Wright wants God to damn?

Maybe Wright will be ruminating over the importance of BLT and the black value system as he’s swimming in his new pool, or retiring to the 2nd floor via his elevator.

The bottom line is this – when people call out Jeremiah Wright, they’re doing just that – calling out Jeremiah Wright.

God is Sovereign, and He knows how to care for His Church.

If Eddie Long, Creflo Dollar, Benny Hinn, Peter Popoff and the various other pimps stalking the pulpit can’t destroy the Church, then Wright can’t either.

A false gospel, however, can dangerously continue to try…

11 Responses to ““Attack On The Black Church”?”


  1. 1 lavrai April 28, 2008 at 5:08 pm

    Maybe I am out of the loop… but I still don’t understand the big deal about what J.W. said in that sermon that keeps getting played over and over and over…. especially on Fox News.

    I watched the on clip online in full (I think it was the full sermon) to get some context for the ‘pull quotes,’ but I don’t disagree with much of what he said.

    I don’t know anything about him or his church or how he ‘runs’ things in his church. I don’t know if he’s a so-called ‘pulpit pimp’ or what have you, but what he said about America is true, in my opinion.

    Whenever I read about one of the Babylons in the book of Revelation being destroyed and described…it sure sounds a whole lot like this nation. I mean, who else made slavery a bonafide institution and totally flipped it in terms of traditional slavery and (indentured) servitude? America literally traded in the souls of men.

    But besides all that, it seems we have become an arrogant nation and even now refuse to humble ourselves. What we are doing in the Middle East is wickedness. And now we want to ‘free’ Iran’s residents, like they’ve been calling out for this democratic ‘freedom.’ We ignore all the bloodshed going on in Africa, we ignore the fact that Mugabe is probably slaughtering his own people as I type this. We ignore that fact that that wack job Kim Jong Il is starving his people, poisoning their minds and their souls. I know America can’t do anything. But I don’t think GOD made us great for nothing…but we have abused that privileged and power. We are not taking care of the ‘widows’ or the ‘orphans.’ It seems we are more interested in stuffing our pockets and carrying out ‘manifest destiny.’

    But this is not a political blog, so I will stop my venting here. I will instead go back to the crux of the matter.

    You wrote: “God is Sovereign, and He knows how to care for His Church.”

    Very true. And HE guides HIS people in that matter. HE uses us to help maintain the Body, no? That’s what HE has always done it seems since Abraham and Moses.

    These pulpit pimps you speak of may not look like they are destroying the Church, but Satan is using them nonetheless to damage the Body. Remember, as the prophecies say, as the LORD Jesus Christ said himself, the very elect (us Christians, the Church) will fall away… Who do you think will cause this falling away? GOD is looking out and doing HIS thing, but we know our duty.

    I am not saying you’re not doing anything or not doing enough (that would be ignorant and hypocritical of me), I just feel like many of us have this content or presumptuous attitude — that GOD’s taking care of business and that’s that.

    Don’t take this personally. I am just frustrated at how many it seems have already fallen away. I know the LORD IS VICTORIOUS, but if the carnage is ugly now…imagine the destruction in a few years?

    Peace, and keep writing as always. And again, don’t take anything I said as an insult.

    And I’ve been plugging this book lately. I finished it the other day and it’s quite frightening what it looks like Satan is doing to turn us away from Jesus Christ and GOD primarily in this new age movement (which looks like the same thing that’s going on in these so-called charismatic churches). Please give it a read when you can…if you feel like it. http://www.reinventingjesuschrist.com/

  2. 2 lavrai April 28, 2008 at 5:10 pm

    CORRECTION: “I know America can’t do anything.” is actually: “I know America can’t do everything.”

  3. 3 Speaking Truth April 28, 2008 at 10:13 pm

    Feel free to vent lavrai. I know that sometimes you have to “let it all out” (within reason).

    I’d like to address a few of your specific points:

    I don’t know anything about him or his church or how he ‘runs’ things in his church. I don’t know if he’s a so-called ‘pulpit pimp’ or what have you, but what he said about America is true, in my opinion.

    JW is not a flamboyant, Bentley driving pimp like Long, Dollar, White, and the others. I don’t know his “church hustle” like I know some of the others, so I won’t call him a pimp.

    At the end of the day, I don’t think that JW was calling down hellfire on America – we all know that it’s the media’s job to exagerate stories to sell ads, papers, etc.

    I do, however think it was quite convenient for him to “call out” America from the pulpit of a 10K member church – in a middle-class neighborhood on the south side of Chicago.

    Let’s face it – America isn’t a perfect place to live, particularly because of it’s bigoted past and it’s uncertain future. I, however, can’t imagine living anyplace else. As a black man who grew up on the south side of Chicago, I’ve seen and been subjected to some pretty racist events – but I wouldn’t pack my bags to move anyplace else – unless the Lord directed me to.

    These pulpit pimps you speak of may not look like they are destroying the Church, but Satan is using them nonetheless to damage the Body. Remember, as the prophecies say, as the LORD Jesus Christ said himself, the very elect (us Christians, the Church) will fall away… Who do you think will cause this falling away? GOD is looking out and doing HIS thing, but we know our duty.

    I never said that pulpit pimps aren’t destroying the church. On the contrary, this site is DEDICATED to exposing the pimps who are destroying the church.

    I merely pointed out that JW is helping to “peel off” the faithful with his allegiance to BLT – which (in my opinion) is a dangerous heresy that causes blacks to align because of color instead of the Blood of Jesus for the remission of sin.

    While many Christians are content with sitting on the sidelines, I (like you and many others) know the importance of speaking out. I do believe that things are going to hell in a handbasket, but my point was that it is meant to happen this way – and God is in control, no matter what.

    Again, as I stated (and you reiterated), this blog is NOT INTENDED for political discourse, simply because arguing political points is a frustrating waste of time. The Gospel is more important to me – and I’d rather contend for the faith than contend for a political candidate or party.

    I merely wanted to point out that JW’s dangerous allegiance to BLT, James Cone, Louis Farrakhan, et al is an example of “a different gospel” – and believers need to take the argument a little deeper than JW’s denouncement of America.

    Oh, and I’m sorry but I find it a bit humorous that all of that huffing and puffing about the evil USA didn’t produce enough righteous indignation to make JW turn down a $1M house and a $10M line of credit from his former church – again, selective outrage in my opinion :roll:

    And don’t worry, I’m not insulted or sensitive – I’m just speaking truth :D

  4. 4 anointedvessel April 29, 2008 at 1:48 am

    I Called him out when he first stuck his foot in his mouth and I am starting to believe that he might have been born with it in his mouth. Some have called Mr. Wright’s elementary school behavior on TV with his quick whit comebacks as “brilliant” (as if!). I have to give it to him, he is well versed in his comedy routine, he works well under pressure and he seems to enjoy turning serious moments into an opportunity to make a joke. He called himself speaking out against “The attack on the black church” at an NAACP function (of all places). I’m sorry but the NAACP is pro-abortion, and supports planned parenthood. If that isn’t Irony, than I am not sure if there is any irony left in the universe. Planned parenthood has gotten a terrible rap over the last few weeks with their “agenda” against black people in America. Why didn’t he Damn that? Maybe Mr. Wright was looking over the blue prints for his new palace…. Why didn’t he Damn the all black gangs that shoot up the neighborhoods? The KKK and Whitey had absolutely nothing to do with that! He say’s Britain has apologized for their part in slavery or colonialism or some jazz, so America should do the same and offer reparations… I didn’t get to hear it all, I switched to something else. I have one question, exactly who will apologize? All of the slave masters are dead! HELLO!!! Reperations??? Well let’s see there’s, WELFARE, MEDICAID, WIC, FAMIS, MEDI-CAL, FOODSTAMPS, TANF, FREE SCHOOL LUNCH PROGRAM, PELL GRANTS ETC. What the heck!!! It looks like a lot of the people that he is claims need the reparations, appear to be getting a free ride already. They don’t need anymore handouts!! That could be the nature of the beast. Sometimes you can give TOO MUCH HELP. I have one last point to make about Mr. Wright and I have my uncle who is a great man of God and a really good preacher to thank. Mr. Wright is very much like a person in the bible by the name of Cain. He was very, (shall we say), “passionate” and offered God not what was asked of him, but whatever he felt like giving God. Now I imagine Cain and Abel were probably pretty good at what they did, so for Cains offering not to be accepted, must have hurt his pride….

    6And the LORD said unto Cain, Why art thou wroth? and why is thy countenance fallen?

    7If thou doest well, shalt thou not be accepted? and if thou doest not well, sin lieth at the door. And unto thee shall be his desire, and thou shalt rule over him.

    Here is another version….
    6 Then the Lord said to Cain, “Why are you angry? Why are you looking so sad? 7 Do what is right. Then you will be accepted. If you don’t do what is right, sin is waiting at your door to grab you. It longs to have you. But you must rule over it.”

    I know you are probably wondering, what do these two have to do with each other? Well they both (Cain and Wright), are proud and angry, men. Pride can be dangerous, because when you get outside of the gospel, which Wright has done by twisting the scriptures to suite himself (which btw is in direct violation to the word of God), he does the same thing that Cain does. Sin is lying at the door and it has grabbed him, he declares that he is not “divisive but descriptive” This is semantics and a blatant lie (to tell you the truth) pun intended. God warned Cain, “If you don’t do what is right, sin is waiting at your door to grab you. It longs to have you. But you must rule over it”

    The opposite of you ruling over Sin, is Sin ruling over you. That comes from offering up to God whatever you want and not what he asks.

    Ok so just what is God asking of us? Romans 12:1-2

    “I appeal to you therefore, brothers,by the mercies of God, to present your bodies as a living sacrifice, holy and acceptable to God, which is your spiritual worship. 2Do not be conformed to this world,but be transformed by the renewal of your mind, that by testing you may discern what is the will of God, what is good and acceptable and perfect.”

    Last but certainly not least, Mr. Wright is a false teacher. Here is a quote from Thomas Brooks (1608-1680) that sums him up wonderfully

    “False teachers strive more to win over men to their opinions, than to better them in their conversations. “Woe unto you, scribes and Pharisees, hypocrites! for ye compass sea and land to make one proselyte, and when he is made, ye make him twofold more the child of hell than yourselves” (Matt. 24:17). They busy themselves most about men’s heads. Their work is not to better men’s hearts, and mend their lives; and in this they are very much like their father the devil, who will spare no pains to gain proselytes.”

    I got one favor to ask Mr. Wright, could you please not include me, when appointing yourself as spokesperson for all of Black America! Oh yah, shut your pie hole, I also recommend a foot-ectomy (as in removal of foot from mouth) Just my two cent medical opinion.

  5. 5 Speaking Truth April 29, 2008 at 9:42 am

    @ AV –

    Whew – you said a mouthful.

    Pride can be dangerous, because when you get outside of the gospel, which Wright has done by twisting the scriptures to suite himself (which btw is in direct violation to the word of God), he does the same thing that Cain does. Sin is lying at the door and it has grabbed him, he declares that he is not “divisive but descriptive” This is semantics and a blatant lie (to tell you the truth) pun intended. God warned Cain, “If you don’t do what is right, sin is waiting at your door to grab you. It longs to have you. But you must rule over it”

    I agree – in my opinion there seems to be an element of pride in JW’s posturing.

    While watching a replay of JW’s speech and Q&A session last night, my wife remarked that JW’s pride is what made him come out of hiding in the first place. She noted that he’s parading himself in front of anyone who will listen to him because he feels personally slighted by his “spiritual son”, so he’s got to redeem himself.

    I also believe that inordinate pride is at the root of the BLT movement: black pride and nationalism vs. the non-eisegeted Gospel of Jesus Christ.

    Most folks will argue “he’s not a black nationalist or militant…he embraces muslims and black catholics too”. That’s exactely my point – he embraces those whom he feels are “marginalized” and stirs them up into frustration around false hope – or hope in Christ AND the black value system.

    I understand his schtick. I’m in my mid-30’s yet I experienced some vile racism growing up in Chicago (which is still a highly segregated city). My family was Baptist, but I felt angry at “the man” and began to think that Christianity was castrated because Christians weren’y fighting “the system” enough. So, I visited JW’s church a few times, and I studied the Nation of Islam, thinking I would become the next “soldier”.

    I finally came to my right mind (before I did anything stupid) and realized that both JW and the NOI presented false hope and only whipped up my anger and distrust in “the man”

    @ lavrai -

    I want to clarify (or change) what I said earlier – I DO believe that JW is a bonafide pulpit pimp.

    He has so ingrained his (and James Cone’s) thinking into his followers that they will defend HIM to the death more than they will the Gospel of Jesus Christ.

    Also, only a pimp would lay back (“in the cut”, as we used to say) and let his prostitutes followers buy him a mansion AND a $10M line of credit while he speaks AGAINST the country that affords him the lifestyle that he enjoys.

    Pimping indeed…

  6. 6 anointedvessel April 29, 2008 at 12:31 pm

    Amen church!!
    I have never studied anything about James Cone but I am going over to Independent Conservative to read about it, you got me interested now.

  7. 7 anointedvessel April 29, 2008 at 12:34 pm

    BTW I’m sticking you on my blogroll, folks need to come see what you have to say!

  8. 8 Douglas K. Adu-Boahen April 30, 2008 at 9:42 am

    Y’know bro, I saw this news conference LIVE down here in England, and I couldn’t help but notice that he didn’t actually present the Gospel and in fact he presented a false Gospel about being reconciled to your brother and all that, but NO CROSS!!! Red flag, red flag…

  9. 9 Speaking Truth April 30, 2008 at 9:49 am

    Very observant Doug. You would think that a “radical” preacher who is given the opportunity to address the WORLD would take that opportunity to declare the liberating, immutable truth of the Gospel of Jesus Christ.

    Yet, he further solidified his militant status by bombastically addressing the moderator (when all she was doing was reading questions that were submitted to her) and breaking his own arm to pat himself on the back.

    And this guy has been preaching for over 40 years!

    No cross indeed. And also no…I’ll stop there.

  10. 10 Douglas K. Adu-Boahen April 30, 2008 at 5:40 pm

    A bit of an afterthought: John MacArthur has appeared on the worldwide talk show Larry King Live. In all the clips [and one full show...] I’ve watched, he has CONSISTENTLY made a case for the truth found in God’s Word – even with about the same amount of preaching years between them. Just a thought, bro…

  11. 11 Speaking Truth April 30, 2008 at 9:42 pm

    You know, Doug, I’m learning more and more everyday that age does not always equate wisdom…

    Look at you – you’re 17 years old(?) and contending for the faith! I’m 36 and “re-learning” everything I thought I knew about the Word of God.

    Go figure…


Comments are currently closed.



AddThis Feed Button Add to Technorati Favorites
twitter

Get Daily Email Updates:

Sign up for email updates and get the latest articles in your email inbox!

People Looking For Truth:

  • 914,022 ...and counting

RSS John Piper Sermons

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Categories

Archived Articles…


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 90 other followers

