“Pulpit Pimps”…Too Harsh?

The term “Pulpit Pimp” has been floating around the black charismatic church for quite some time. In fact, one of my blogger colleagues has an excellent blog of the same name - and he exhaustively chronicles the escapades of the PP’s and their games. I purposely hesitated to add his site to my “Blog Roll”, because I didn’t know if you were ready for such direct truth. My mandate, however, is to expose false doctrine, and that site is yet another voice crying in the wilderness, so I’ll welcome them to the fold as well.

Let’s face it – it’s a harsh term to digest, especially if you’re under the spiritual teaching of such a pimp, but it’s worth taking the time to explore so that you truly understand the nature and allure of false teaching, and (hopefully) reject it and flee from the pimp’s control.

So, What Is A Pimp? 

pimp.jpg

The “gentlemen’ pictured above may not be your local pastor (although he does have a cross around his neck), but he is a “former” pimp – and now he claims to be an Archbishop…perhaps he’s pictured with one of the members of his “congregation” (there’s not enough time for me to break this down – just know that I’m keenly aware of the heresy and lies even in that “pronouncement”). Even if your pastor doesn’t dress like this, this clown’s former profession may parallel the influence that your pastor may have on his congregation.

Anyway, when used as a noun, the word pimp means “one who derives income from the earnings of a prostitute, usually by soliciting business”. Of course you may be thinking “well, I’m certainly not a prostitute!”. Really? Well, when used as a noun, the word prostitute means “a person who willingly uses his or her talent or ability in a base and unworthy way, usually for money”. You may not think you’re a prostitute, but if you’re sitting under a pulpit pimp every week, then he (or she) may think you are.

Today’s pulpit pimps align themselves with their seedier colleagues by:

  • Dressing the same (custom made suits that cost thousands of dollars, alligator and ostrich shoes that go for $1500 per pair, expensive jewelery and eye-wear), 
  • Driving the same cars (the Cadillac was always the car of choice, but now there’s a steady parade of Bentley’s and Rolls Royce Phantoms parked in the pastors parking spot – they’re even flying in G4 corporate jets to “spread the gospel” because flying Delta just isn’t convenient enough for them),
  • And living in opulent mansions (complete with guard houses and gates) to keep them away from “the great unwashed”.

Clearly, today’s charismatic pastors derive their incomes from the earnings of their congregants. Whether they shame you into pouring your hard earned money at the alter with the promise that God is “gonna bless you for your sacrifice”, or whether they cajole you into “sowing a seed into good ground” (i.e. them) so that they can spread the Gospel message to the nations. In turn, you go out and use your talent and abilities to work hard at your 9 to 5, collect your paycheck and give it to an unworthy cause (corrupt ministries).

Think I’m wrong? Ask your local pulpit pimp for a report on where the contributions are going – and see what he says to you (if you can get a meeting with him in the first place). Most of us are too lazy to actually care for the financial needs of our neighbors, so we give it to the church to be distributed throughout the community. Jesus expressly said that we are to care for those in need, because by doing so we’re ministering to Him (Matthew 25: 31-46).

The problem, however, is that your money usually ends up going to the “needs of the ministry” (i.e. salaries, mortgage for the new multi-million dollar facility, honorariums for other pimps, etc.) so the single mother that needs help with daycare gets turned away (I’ve worked in benevolence for a mega church, so don’t insult my intelligence by challenging the validity of that assessment).

This is a dire view of the state of the Body of Christ, and it should serve as a wake-up call to everyone who attends a church where the pimp reigns supreme. The only way to break away from a pulpit pimp is to seek God’s truth. Stop getting your Word fed to you by someone who is twisting it for selfish gain – study your bible for yourself, and see if what the pimp is telling you is God’s truth (2 Timothy 2:15).

When you finally see God’s truth in context and break away from false teaching, you’ll laugh at your former pimp – just like you did when you saw the picture of his colleague above.

35 Responses to ““Pulpit Pimps”…Too Harsh?”


  1. 1 Kwesi February 27, 2008 at 3:36 pm

    Maybe not harsh enough! People are becoming religious addicts and are repeatedly being abused. We that are free and healed need to cry out loud and long. Maybe we’ll save one from devastation! maybe one

    you’re going on my Blogroll, keep on speaking truth!

  2. 2 Speaking Truth February 27, 2008 at 3:43 pm

    Brother – I’m just getting warmed up!

    I was knee deep into this foolishness for over 11 years until exactely 40 days ago. Through God’s grace, the scales fell from my eyes and I had to repent for ever being a part of such foolishness.

    Our God is awesome – and His Truth is being willfully exchanged for a lie. I join you in crying out loud and long.

    Oh…you’re on my blog roll as well – maybe we can double team this evil spirit until God is glorfied again!

    ST

  3. 3 Melvin Jones March 9, 2008 at 5:09 pm

    Thanks for the mention sir. As an additional comment, I’d like to think that the site is nicely entertaining as well. I figure there is no better way to help people resist the pimps than to rip away the facade of respectability and “anointing” they use to intimidate the person who may actually start reading their bibles.

    Melvin

  4. 4 Speaking Truth March 9, 2008 at 7:22 pm

    @ Melvin – it’s an honor to have you stop by.

    I read your blog even when I was “on the plantation” (I thought you were sent straight from hell to harass the “mand of Gawd”) – I never thought I’d join you on this crusade.

    Keep up the good work – I’m glad that we’re on the same side!

  5. 5 standingforthetruth May 25, 2008 at 1:53 am

    Well! You got a sista here starting out on my blog standing for the truth about the lies. My experiences may not be as deep as yours (and they are DEEEEP!) but nonetheless they need to be revealed. I have always been skeptical about pastors/preachers/teachers/leaders/self-proclaimed prophets of today. I stopped going to my ex-church in march of this year and feel more at peace NOW than when I was a member. Tithing was a struggle for me being a single mother on a budget and I NEVER saw the difference of when I started tithing to when I never did. Also, whenever “the church” buys your pastor a Mercedes for Christmas BUT there’s no church van, and there are many members who have to take public transportation to get to church AND the pastor who was given the Mercedes in the first place stands at the pulpit telling one of the congregants not to come up there asking for a ride, SOMETHIN’ AIN’T RIGHT! ::sigh:: (Just had to get that one out there)

  6. 6 Speaking Truth May 25, 2008 at 9:09 am

    Welcome SFTT,

    Glory to God that you left your former plantation, and stumbled by this blog. I must caution you that you’ve got to process your emotions and take your time to find an assembly that the Holy Spirit will lead you to, otherwise you’ll drag that old baggage into the new assembly – and constantly (and unfairly) compare your new pastor to your former pimp.

    Oh, and my former pimp drives a Bentley – and he told the women of the church (from the pulpit) that he would have to pass them on the street and not give them a ride if because it “wouldn’t look right if he was seen driving them around”

    The arrogance is stiffling. Thank God through Jesus Christ that the sheep are waking up and starting to learn the truth for themselves.

  7. 7 standingforthetruth May 25, 2008 at 4:25 pm

    Thank you Bro! Yes indeed, I need a break to heal from the abuse in the church. I truly want to find one that teaches the truth. But how do I go about that? I don’t know of any churches who don’t demand the tithe or preach against it, for that matter. Do you know of any? I was so conditioned to the pentecostal way of worship, the shouting and carrying on that goes on in the services that I have to be delivered from all of that. Just watching some of the videos makes me STILL want to shout and act a fool when I hear a good word! I was also “slain in the spirit” twice and fell backward. My knees buckled both times. And I still to this day don’t know if that was the power of God or something else. And since He is not the author of confusion, I’m venturing out to say it wasn’t Him. The Bible says that there is fullness of joy in the presence of God so why are pentecostal churches always weeping and sobbing….Ugh..I could go on and on…Thanks for being a light shining so brightly in the darkness! I am so grateful to have found your blog! =]

    • 8 Vivienne Maragh December 29, 2009 at 11:39 pm

      You simply cannot stand in the presence of GOD, it was not something else, if u got hurt during that time then maybe you could doubt, You see his presence is always around simply because the spirit of GOD lives in us we the vessel that house his spirit. Tithing my dear friend is is needed to keep the ministry going the building where we meet has bills, and the man of GOD has to b taken care of by the church. One more point your tithe covers your health, your job, your kids, your home. Go back and read all the scriptures on giving in the BIble it will help u. Just remember try GOD does not need our money it is just a principle we have to show FATHER THAT HE CAN TRUST US IN THE KINGDOM. we r just in training right now. what ever u do , please do not stop tithing.

    • 9 N'Catina January 2, 2010 at 10:31 pm

      standingforthetruth, ignore Vivenne’s words. Defending pulpit pimp’s behavior, and expecting to pay these people based on a false premise, is unscriptural in any aspect. Take time to RE-READ this blog entry (and look up previous posts) and do the work needed to reference scripture as outlaid by IST.

      No amonunt of scripture twisting justifies minimizing your pain and being expected to pay money towards a system that damages you in the first place. Your best relief would be the total destruction of the apostate religious church system.

  8. 11 Speaking Truth May 26, 2008 at 12:17 am

    SFTT,

    There are plenty of churches out there that preach and teach biblical truth – generally, they aren’t on tv, headed by a “bishop”, “apostle”, or “prophet”, or housed in a building that looks like a sports arena :roll:

    Sorry to sound cynical but you’re going to have to put your feet to the street and visit assemblies to listen to the Word of God being preached (or not) in person. Also, make arrangements to speak with the pastor to get his views on tithing, benevolence, the authority of scripture, his leadership team, etc. (or at least ask these questions via email and keep moving if you don’t get a response).

    You can’t just look for a church with a “great preacher, good children’s programs, and a tv ministry”. First, seek the Holy Spirit and ask Him to guide you to a church where you can learn more of Christ, your job as a child of God, and where you can roll up your sleeves to work!

    Next – check out the “9 Marks of a Healthy Church” – this could be a “scorecard” as you’re evaluating assemblies (I’m not endorsing any of the churches on the site, but it’s a great place to start).

    Having come from the charismatic backbround myself, I had to reject the “motivational speaking” phenomenon because it did nothing but entertain me. Even when I was in ministry training, I found myself seeking deeper meaning to scripture vs. catch phrases and theatrics (see my post on expository preaching). I firmly believe in the power of the Holy Spirit, but we must remember Paul’s instructions to the church at Corinth (1 Corinthians 14). If God’s Word can’t be preached because of the circus atmosphere within the church, then there is a problem.

    It’s certainly a wake-up call…to go from seeing folks run around the church screaming “money cometh”, to seeing orderly worship were God is revered and the Word is clearly exegeted. Your flesh will initially miss the “show”, but your spirit will crave more unvarnished truth, so don’t give up and go back to the fluff.

    All in all, remember the Word – let that be your #1 reference source!

  9. 12 Kyle July 25, 2008 at 6:55 pm

    I just stumbled upon your blog. You may or may not know but I have been on Melvin’s PulpitPimps.org since nearly its inception. I was surprised by your story in that you were delivered from this nonsense early this year. WoW! How did it happen? Mine was a process over time. I would really like to know your testimony brother.

    Kyle

  10. 13 speaking truth July 25, 2008 at 7:24 pm

    Kyle – you “just stumbled on” the blog? We’ve both been commenting over at gcmwatch’s blog and it took you this long to finally get over here? :-)

    Seriously, it was a wild and bumpy ride. You can visit the About Me page to get a little more insight, but I’ll have to shoot you an email sometime soon to fill in the details, but the bottom line is that once God allowed me to see the truth, I didn’t waste any more time supporting false teaching.

  11. 14 Kyle July 25, 2008 at 8:33 pm

    LOL!

    Come on now. You know how it is when you are on so many blog sites with so many other people. Besides man you know blogging is like an expanding spider web. Once you click on one and contribute you wind up clicking on another and another and another. Soon you don’t know where to go or where to start. Blogging is addicting. But in this case it’s a healthy addiction.

    Peace,

    Kyle.

    P.S. I’ll keep you in my favorites now and continue to comment.

  12. 15 joyfulfreedom1 August 2, 2008 at 6:26 pm

    Pulpit Pimps fits just fine. I love brother Melvin’s site, and the other cat that uses the term. It’s been around for a good minute, but it fits. And hasn’t been used enough.

    But the biggest tragedy is that there are those that allow themselves to be put out on the stroll!

    Oh, I did make you a link at my joyful freedom addy!

  13. 16 Sick and Tired August 5, 2008 at 5:01 pm

    It has amazed me how so-called preachers and alike can get into the pullpit and preach: God sent his only Begotten son, Jesus, to die a horrible death on the cross for us for our sins and this same God is loving, caring and compassionate toward His creation, but when offering time come, out of that same mouth they will say this same loving, caring God who sent His son to die for us on the cross will curse us to damnation if we don’t give 10% of our salaries to the church and a hefty offering along with it. To me this is a great contradictory of who Christ really is. The God I know is the God who created the Heavens and the earth and all that’s with in it. To say that He will curse you for not bringing something (MONEY) to the church that He, Himself has created through man and has no need of….makes no sense to me. I beleive that we should give money to the church to keep the power on so that there will be air,heat and money to help the widows,orphans and members in need etc. BUT 99.9% of the time; the widows, orphans and members in need have to go through an act of congress for $25.00 or $50.00 or if you are in a really faith based church they will loan you money (that you contributed) but you must pay it back. If these so call “whatevers” are really who they say they are and preaching the word then they should accept 10% of cattle, goats, grains and etc because if you read the bible, that is what people in the Old Testament tithed. If a preacher is going to preach “tithing” which is Old Testament and expect the congregation to live by it, then he should preach the entire word and not just a small part of it.

  14. 17 speaking truth August 6, 2008 at 7:33 am

    You hit the nail right on the head Sick and Tired.

    I don’t know if you read my post on the disappearing middle class in the church, but it is a widespread problem with many “preachers” today. The Gospel has ceased to be the life giving Words of God and turned into a career for con artists.

  15. 18 escapeetoo August 6, 2008 at 11:03 am

    ST,

    It is time for folk to call a pimp a pimp and “escape”. A pimp can only control his women if they allow themselves to be controlled.The Lord has given his saints a way of escape called His word.

    It is time for the “sheeple” to wake up!

    http://escapee.wordpress.com/2008/08/06/asleep-at-the-wheel-how-far-will-you-follow-a-pimp/

  16. 19 hiscrivener August 30, 2008 at 10:55 pm

    In a word, ST – Nice!

    Pulpit Pimps are the scourge of the Church. They fleece the sheep to make their own Kashmir sweaters while the rest of us are half butt-naked shivering in our doubt asking Jesus, “Was it me? Where’s my blessing?”

    I know you have mentioned it, but one day an I.M. marathon is coming up between you, me and Melvin to share war stories. I have seen more insider information in some of the largest churches in the country, and frankly, it almost took my religion.

    But God… but God.

    Keep up the faith. Fight the power. And all that jazz. Just don’t stop.

  17. 20 Douglas K. Adu-Boahen August 30, 2008 at 10:59 pm

    Hrmmm…welcome to the big question, ST.

    I use the term because it is 100 per cent accurate in relation to these people. Harsh? Maybe a little – but at times it requires a LITTLE harshness in order to be kind.

  18. 21 Melvin Jones September 1, 2008 at 12:47 pm

    If I haven’t said so yet – nice site, good material.

    And no, this isn’t spam!

    Melvin

  19. 22 speaking truth September 1, 2008 at 8:22 pm

    And no, this isn’t spam!

    Ha!

    If you came by more often Melvin, then your comments won’t get stuck in my spam filter (like the one above was).

    Seriously, thanks for the recognition. I read your blog for a few years while I was under the influence of my pimp (never commented, just lurked to see what was being said about my favorite “men’d of Gawd”). Never thought I’d join you out here in the wilderness.

    To God be the glory!

  20. 23 Melvin Jones September 2, 2008 at 7:01 pm

    It’s comments like yours that make keeping the site going more than worth it. It’s really nice when every once in a while, I can actually see that the site is making a difference. Faith is one thing. But seeing is a lot more fun.

  21. 24 Job September 11, 2008 at 11:01 pm

    My hesitancy in using the term wasn’t because it was harsh. Quite the contrary, I used to say much harsher things when I first went up with my site last year and was a bit more combative :-) I just thought that the term was a bit coarse for my taste is all. Then again, I am being somewhat hypocritical, because I would employ terms from the Bible that meant the same thing and worse. I suppose that I was feeling that their being used in the Bible, particularly in my preferred King James Version :-) made them OK to use.

  22. 25 Former Abused December 26, 2008 at 9:47 am

    I know this post is a few months old, but I just stumbled upon it today. I spent almost 4 years in another large Charlotte NC Non-Denom church and since I was a member of the Pastor’s “INNER CIRCLE” (those of you who have been there know what that means)I saw alot that I really wish I didn’t see.

    What did I see? Every service, everyone walking the circle to the front of the church to give their “offering” – We were told straight from the Pastor’s mouth that if we didn’t give God would curse us.

    I saw Ministry heads ask for paper, or other basic supplies – told to buy it themselves.

    I saw special offerings asked for items needed for the church (one in particular was for new chairs, at a cost of $40.00 per chair and after three years those chairs never materialized.

    I saw a Pastor who had no accountability to anyone, and who would throw out money to people during service but expect them to turn around and sow it right back into the church before it even the altar.

    I saw people in the ministry lied to, after they were told an event or some other form of ministry would be paid for, and the Ministry Head wound up paying for it instead.

    I saw the fancy cars, and the building fund (never any new building) a bunch of scantily dressed “choir” members, and people who were long standing members and TITHERS turned away when they honestly needed help with something.

    I wont even go into the ALTAR call prayer. All I will say was there was no call to repentance whatsoever.

    I could go on and on and on – but I won’t. All I will say is that I have no trust at all in the “contemporary” BIG CHURCH and I really wish that I could find a place to worship God were the leaders were honest and preached the real gospel.

  23. 26 joyfulfreedom1 December 26, 2008 at 10:39 pm

    Wait I had a new thought for the whole pulpit pimp thing. We need more spiritual police! We need biblical whistle blowers, and apologetic detectives, and theological Vice Squads! These charlatan heretics need to be put out of business!

  24. 27 WoundedSaintofGod April 21, 2009 at 5:52 pm

    I found this on Tangle.com I don’t know who this brother is but he is on to something. Check it out

    http://www.tangle.com/view_video.php?viewkey=3d00d46ee7efa3add8d7&sp=1

  25. 29 Zi May 1, 2009 at 2:08 am

    Pulpit Pimps is a tad-bit harsh… As True Ladies and Gentlemen representing GODs Eternal Kingdom. We should show the world our good doings, sayings while using our poise, savvy and conversation piece that is GOD given. Of course we do it to: “Put Satan to Shame!” Remember: Satan wants us to use degrading; negative words. That caters to him and lifts him up! We want to tear him down GOODNESS will do it.

    *YAHWEH*

  26. 30 Melvin January 3, 2010 at 12:23 pm

    So tell me Zi, do you think the men and women who fleece the sheeple and lie to then each Sunday are harsh> Or perhaps you think the same men and women who shipwreck the faith of those following them are harsh?

    I see them as the equivalent of child abusers and molesters.

    You, apparently, simply see them as nice men and women of God who occasionally make a mistake during a sermon.

    Your attitude and you self-generated ideas are exactly what keep the pulpit pimps operating in the communities.

  27. 31 escapeetoo January 3, 2010 at 6:13 pm

    Vivienne Maragh,

    You sound like an idiot! Sorry but you do! When are you people going to learn that giving money will not cover you. Your entire life rests in the completed work of Jesus Christ 2000 years ago on the cross. His blood is what saves, not you giving.

    If tithing covers your health then I dare you to tithe religiously and eat poorly to the point your blood pressure and blood sugar fail you. Then see if your giving will save you!

  28. 32 Pastor Wolfy January 24, 2010 at 3:45 pm

    Assuming for a moment you all are right, and tithing is actually anti scriptural as is giving offerings to ministers, what paradigm do you think would be the fairest and have the most potential for both taking care of administrative costs and meeting the needs of the community. 1 Cor 9:8-14- says that:
    8 I do not say this by human authority; God’s law also says the same thing.9 It is written in the law of Moses: “When an ox is working in the grain, do not cover its mouth to keep it from eating.”[a] When God said this, was he thinking only about oxen? No.10 He was really talking about us. Yes, that Scripture was written for us, because it goes on to say: “The one who plows and the one who works in the grain should hope to get some of the grain for their work.” 11 Since we planted spiritual seed among you, is it too much if we should harvest material things? 12 If others have the right to get something from you, surely we have this right, too. But we do not use it. No, we put up with everything ourselves so that we will not keep anyone from believing the Good News of Christ.13 Surely you know that those who work at the Temple get their food from the Temple, and those who serve at the altar get part of what is offered at the altar.14 In the same way, the Lord has commanded that those who tell the Good News should get their living from this work.

    What type of giving should the new testament be doing that would benefit the taking care of the ministers, while having plenty to reach out to the community.

    I really want to know.

    • 33 speaking truth January 24, 2010 at 5:24 pm

      Pastor Wolfy,

      I addressed your question in these 2 articles specifically: here and here. We have an obligation to provide for the men who labor in the Word – as well as the administration of the church and the spreading of the Gospel. We don’t, however, have an obligation to pay a tax that was never leavied against us in the first place.

    • 34 Reverend yeah you right March 29, 2010 at 6:13 am

      First, if you are a minister of the Word i’m quite sure you know that the law was no given to gentiles, only Jewish people. (Lev. 26:46) Second, we are not under the law but under grace through faith. (Romans 3:20,28). Christ has delivered us from the law, including tithing. (Galatians 3:13). Giving is what the New Testament is all about. If you are a believing Christians, God will supply all of your needs, you should have munipulate your congragation into giving, God will supply your needs if your teaching and preaching His will to the people.

  29. 35 Reverend yeah you right March 29, 2010 at 5:44 am

    I’m so happy someone is keeping score of what these pulpit pimps are doing to our communities. It’s time that we (Chrisitians) stood up for what is right. The pulpit pimps are reaking havic on poor people and the middle class. Please stand-up and STOP THE INSANITY!!!!


Comments are currently closed.



AddThis Feed Button Add to Technorati Favorites
twitter

Get Daily Email Updates:

Sign up for email updates and get the latest articles in your email inbox!

People Looking For Truth:

  • 888,492 ...and counting

RSS John Piper Sermons

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Categories

Archived Articles…


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 88 other followers

